reviews for: listing #59870 - Hutchinson Island, Florida House rental

Waterfront Home Great for Reunions, Weddings Relax & Enjo
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Jack Island
  • sleeps  17
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $2,100 - $2,100 /nt
    $2,800 - $4,900 /wk
    $9,000 - $13,500 /mth

sort by:

The perfect getaway in paradise

Review submitted: January 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 3, 2012

Me, my wife and our two dogs stayed at this house for a week early January. The property is spacious, exceedingly private (there are two key-coded gates to get through) and quiet. There is lush greenery surrounding the entire house and yard, in addition to the river, which all create a beautiful landscape and natural fence so that the dogs can run free and explore without having to worry about car traffic or them getting loose. The temperature during our stay ranged from the low 60s to mid 70s, but even in the low 60s the sun is hot and the weather is suited for sun-bathing and spending time outside on the various patios or sitting on the dock that overlooks the river (which is especially picturesque when the sun is setting). The hot tub was perfect for the nights when it got chilly. The house itself is clean, updated, very open (we didnt even use most of it because there were only 2 of us and the dogs), and fully-equipped with TVs, cable, wireless internet, games, a jacuzzi tub, a large kitchen (there is a Publix grocery store about 7 minutes away by car). The garage is stacked full of equipment for playing games on the property or exploring the island, including bicycles and a small boat. There is a beautiful beach about a 5 minute walk across the street, as well. We saw manatees just a few feet offshore and followed them for about a mile as they swam parallel to the beach. This property had everything we needed for a comfortable, relaxing, and quiet getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Memorable Memorial Weekend

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

The house has a beautiful and spacious layout. To us, it is a shame that the upkeep of the house is lacking attention. The views are magnificent; the tranquility very relaxing, the location is perfect. If the pool and terrace areas were screened, we would have enjoyed the outdoors more but the bugs were a challenge it is after all mosquito season in Florida. We would definitely consider coming back in a season where the mosquitoes are not so active. They provided a fog repellent machine and it works wonderfully, we were still able to stay outdoors sometime and not get beaten by mosquitoes and no-seems. The house is so huge and each of the bedrooms has their own little charm. When I mentioned to the kids that no video games were allowed, they all complained but when they found all the toys, board games, bicycles, canoe, etc. they never missed the video games. The improvements that should be considered when I compare to previous homes of this size that we have rented, would be to add a second BBQ grill, to provide beach towels, to screen the patio and pool area, to leave room for at least one vehicle to park in the garage and to make sure the house is clean. Just as the owners are expecting that rules are followed: number of guests is restricted, pet fees are added, gate rules, garbage rules, the guests also have expectation that the cleaning fee is for a thorough cleaning. Another thing to consider is to have a side table and a couple chairs in the cottage. The cottage comes equipped with a small refrigerator which is very convenient for night time snacks. The dogs had a wonderful time exploring the property, chasing crabs and swimming in the lake. The kids caught enough fish for us to BBQ.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

I want to go back already

Review submitted: December 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

Last November my boyfriend and I got engaged and we were looking for a place where my family (8 adults, 4 children) from Europe could stay for our wedding.. Having my whole family together should be a wonderful reunion. When I found the Jack Island house on vacationrentals.com I thought it was a little costly at first, though after carefully considering cost of hotels (which would include many restaurant visits) it would be considerably cheaper after all. I contacted the property manager and she was amazing assisting us to rent the house. She let us check out the place before we rented it and to be honest it was even better than the pictures make it look! The house has everything you could possibly ask for! Some of the bathrooms have the jet whirlpool bath tub! The living room has a huge tv, cabinets with toys and games and a foosball table. From the living room you can go straight to the patio with the swimming pool (and Jacuzzi)! There are sooo many water toys for the kids and the pool was a lot of fun. There is a gas bbq at the swimming pool so we ate outside almost every day (the weather was gorgeous)! The backyard is so big and nice that we decided to have our wedding reception there (+/- 60 guests). We put a couple tents out there with lights and torches and flowers and it looked AMAZING! (especially since we saw a real nice sunset over the park and river). In the yard there is also a little dock for boats. The boys fished there a lot (There are a couple fishing rods in the garage) and they were able to catch many fishes. We often took the canoe to go around the river from where we could see a lot of wildlife. The garage is stocked with toys for the kids! They really did not want to leave! When my family left the house they went to a house in the keys and it was very disappointing after this amazing place. Fort Pierce might not sound like the most touristic or amazing place (like Miami or the Florida Keys) but for a family or for people that don’t care so much about busy roads or fast pace life this place is perfect. The beach is in walking distance; we went on an airboat tour west of Vero Beach (which was more entertaining than the airboat tours I have done in the everglades); the boys went deepsea fishing in Fort Pierce; there are museums, state parks and malls close by …
So… there is no reason to go anywhere else!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Our own little paradise on Jack Island

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

This house is absolutely amazing!! We had a reunion with family from Colorado, Tennessee, Ohio, and Florida. There is everything you need, no need to bring anything, not even toys. There are plenty. You are gated in on your own personal island with your own swimming pool. We had kids ranging in age from 1 to 12 and they loved the pool & jacuzzi. The wide concrete steps into the pool made it accessbile to even the smallest ones. Some of us took canoe rides..thank you for the canoe, some of us swam half the night, a lot of us older people sat together in the HUGE living room and watched the big screen tv. We were so close to the beach, it was unreal. It took all of 5 minutes to get there by car. The bicycle built for two was an added bonus too. The house and the guest house were very very clean and well furnished. We didn't lack for anything. It was so neat each having huge bathrooms of our own. We all felt completely safe and visiting the nearby restaurants was great too. I would love to be able to come back to my own island again someday. What great memories!! The person we rented from was very helpful in every way. I cannot say enough about this place. Come for yourself and see. The only thing you might need is walking shoes because just being in the house and walking from room to room you burn up a lot of calories because it is so huge. The bedrooms in themself are very big with huge closets. Our dogs enjoyed it too. It's like being in your own little paradise. No noise, no lights, noone to disturb you. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. Very clean and well maintained! Thank you for sharing it with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review