reviews for: listing #59945 - Long Beach, California House rental

beach cottage - between the ocean and the bay
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  the Peninsula
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $950 - $1,050 /wk
    $2,150 - $2,300 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

"...a perfect retreat..."

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

Dear Natalie -
You have created a perfect retreat from all the cares of this life! We really felt quite at home in your perfect little cottage by the sea and bay. We wanted for nothing, seeing as you had thought of our every need and made sure it was met. The supper in the basket was great; the soaps and amenities, special!
We will be back to enjoy your place again, soon.
We hope to have time to get to know you better next time we stay.

Thank you and many blessings.
D and T
Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...cozy, lovely, perfect beach cottage.

Review submitted: March 8, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

I love your cozy, lovely, perfect beach cottage. It was just what I needed to get away from the snow & cold of the east coast.
Thank you for all your lovely thoughtful touches of wine, snacks, and details to make my stay so wonderful. All you have done is so appreciated.
I can't wait to see your new book, too!
All My Best -
Judith - Virginia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...a very special experience!

Review submitted: March 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 20, 2014

Thank you so much for everything. We so enjoyed staying here. Thank you for letting us bring "Stitch". This has been a very special experience fur us. Getting to see all the children and our grandson on a regular basis! And now our grandson actually knows who we are. Thanks again and hopefully you will have us back....
All The Best -
J, B and Stitch

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We LOVED staying at your beach cottage!

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

We loved staying at your beach cottage! It was our home away from home while visiting our son and daughter-in-law.
The cottage had everything we needed - - beach gear, a cozy living room, well equipped kitchen and lots of info on the area.
The location and neighborhood atmosphere was great. We enjoyed our conversations with you and we enjoyed Buddy-Dog's company, too.

Thanks for the hospitality.

Tony and Dee - Maryland

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...the location was awesome!

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2013

We enjoyed your lovely home. The location between the bay and the ocean was so awesome!
We spent a wonderful time here visiting our daughter, and your home was truly like a home away from home.
We will definitely be returning in the Spring, and hope your home will be available.
Back to Indiana, we go, with such wonderful memories....

M and D from Indiana
October 2013

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...the perfect home....

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Thank you for providing the perfect home to arrive to for someone landing in a new Country!
The cottage is wonderful, and all the provisions were much appreciated.
Hope to see you again one day.

J from Australia
June 2013

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"...looking forward to the day when I return."

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

Such a wonderful retreat. Everything I needed was here.

Warm sun.
Beautiful beaches.
Cozy bed.
Great books.
Family & friends.
Wonderful walks.

I arrived tired and sad. I leave feeling healthy and happier!
Thank you for your hospitality and friendship.

Looking forward to the day when I return.

Best Wishes.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"I hope to stay with you again!"

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay!
Your warm welcome was very much appreciated for me and I can't wait to stay again.

The beach cottage was peaceful and had all the amenities I needed for my business trip.
It was also a wonderful place to relax when I had a free weekend!

I hope to stay with you again!

Many Thanks.
Max.
(international business traveler)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"...perfect in every way."

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

The cottage was perfect in every way. Comfortable, laid back, but with everything you need. Blessing to you and Buddy. My husband enjoyed visiting his old haunts and I enjoyed everything!
Many Thanks.
T and R

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...what a wonderful home away from home...

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 27, 2012

What a wonderful home away from home you have created.
It has been the perfect spot for us to get away
& reconnect with family.
We will definitely be returning!
Thank you.
G & S

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...this place is Amazing.

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

(from a corporate exec, who made the beach cottage his home during an extended project assignment)

Thank you very much....it has been a great 8 months. This place is amazing.
I will miss you and Buddy-dog...
I'm sure I will have a chance to visit again.
It has been GREAT to call this place home.
Best of luck, and best wishes, Jeff.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"...it was great to be back "HOME"!

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 19, 2012

...it was great to be back "home"!
Thanks for making us feel so welcome.
Even my local family likes to hang out here!
(a recurring visitor...)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We can not thank you enough!

Review submitted: October 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

We can not thank you enough for sharing your beautiful home with us during our mother/daughter vacation. You provided the perfect little get away that we both needed. Long Beach ended up being everything we could have dreamed of and more. You certainly have picked a beautiful place to live!! Once again, thank you for the incredible hospitality; it was greatly appreciated. Love always.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The first three months of our grandchild's life...

Review submitted: October 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

After 85 days, what can we say! Thank you for the opportunity to see the first 3 months of our grand daughter's life. We will be back soon to watch more of it. We were happy to meet the neighbors and found them all to be kind and patient. We've already booked our stay for next summer; thanks again for being our home away from home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...it was perfect in every way!

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

We loved our stay--it was perfect in every way--just as described. We walked the bay or the beach every day--usually 2 or 3 times, watched lovely sunsets (and too few sunrises), talked with friendly neighbors, and found the local cafe a few blocks away. The house was well appointed and if we needed anything, Natalie was right there to help us. The best part is that I was able to host my Long Beach-based family for several dinners for the first time in nearly 40 years. This house was perfect and I would without reservation recommend it again and again. We are already planning our next stay. Thank you so much! Judith and Jim

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Holiday

Review submitted: December 30, 2010   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

This is a clean, charming rental in a great area of Long Beach! We used to live in the area so have reason to come down to visit family, and this was the perfect way to go. It was so much better than a hotel: the kitchen is charming, the bed comfortable and the living room is a spacious and relaxing place to hang out. Natalie is friendly and accommodating, and set us up for a wonderful stay. The whole neighborhood was twinkling with holiday lights!
Thanks Natalie! We'll call you when we need to come back in town.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just Like Home...in Australia

Review submitted: July 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 20, 2010

"We have read the previous notes and can only reinforce their sentiments. The worry and uncertainty of what to expect disappeared upon entering your unit. Everything that we needed was present. And then we met you and felt really at home. Thank you very much for making our holiday most memorable.
We will always remember you most fondly.
Don and Sue - Townsville, Australia

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...this perfect place...

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

"Hi Natalie.
Many thanks for this perfect place, that you shared with us. Your home was very welcoming with all the small attentions to detail. It was more than appreciated. Everything was there to make us feel like home away from home."
PS - "A very special thanks for your understanding and help in solving our little problem..."

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Modern Oldie AND Goodie!

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

Wow! I don't know how to start.
How about perfect location, perfect setting, perfect access to strand-back bay and ocean!
Besides that...quite, friendly neighbors, great owner and the rental is so 1950's beach house it is unreal.
This is the perfect [place if you have business in LA, The beach cities or Orange county...because oafter doing your business you come back to this secluded beach community and get grounded again.
The only reason I we don't give it a 5 star is because Natalie didn't put little chocalates on the pillows at night!...(hint, hint).
I recommend it to one and all...especially if you remeber what the So
Cal beach communities were really like when in the 50's and 60's...it was like coming home for us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place, Great Location, All the Touches

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

"This is the second stay for my wife and me to the "Cottage By the Sea" and we found the first visit / stay only exceeded by the second. In addition to being a great location, for getting anywhere in Long Beach, you will be only steps away from the Ocean or the inlet if you head in the other direction.

Natalie takes great care to ensure all the little nice touches are in place (for instance flavored coffee creamer) to help you enjoy your stay.

All in all we have absolutely no hesitation in providing a 5 STAR recommendation."

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Spot for Us...

Review submitted: February 28, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

"Thank you for sharing your home with us!
We have enjoyed our stay very much, and were very happy with the well-maintained, quiet atmosphere.
It was the perfect spot for us, with all of the walking that we do.
Thanks for being so quick to answer our every question.
We truly enjoyed your whole family!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love and Joy

Review submitted: February 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

"Thank you Natalie!
This home greeted us with love and joy from the very start. It was a perfect place for us to spend our Christmas holiday, giving us a lil' sanctuary from the busy holiday season.
It was a pleasure to wake up and walk to the bay and end each day seeing the sun sink into the ocean!
Thank you for everything, especially welcoming our special family member.
This is a perfect and peaceful location surrounded by everything we needed!
May all blessings find you in all of your surroundings."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peace of mind

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: November 14, 2009

My time at the beach cottage will forever be one of the best memories of my life. I am a 31 year old woman, and I was able to travel there alone without fear. I didn't have a single worry while I was there. Every item I could have needed was available. Even the smallest things like ziplock bags were provided in the kitchen. With the little things taken care of already, I had time to just relax. Time to consider my life without the everyday rush of life. One of the days of my stay I took the beach chair and a couple of towels to Huntington Beach pier and stayed there all day. I read books, walked barefooted along the beach, and wrote letters to loved ones. I've never been so peaceful. Thanks Natalie for creating such an amazing and inviting place to stay.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review