reviews for: listing #59985 - Nevada City, California House rental

Lost Mine Retreat
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Cascade Shores
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $200 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,400 /wk

sort by:

Better Than Expected!

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

The cabin was perfect for our family gathering. The kitchen was especially wonderful to cook in and spend time together around the large table. We enjoyed every minute at this lovely cabin. I have already recommended it to several friends for their own getaways.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

house hunters

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 3, 2014

We had a wonderful and comfortable stay in this lovely roomy cabin. Perfect location in the foothills for a family reunion and house hunting in Nevada City area. The large kitchen was very well equipped for a household that enjoys cooking together. Great for biking and hiking in the area. Also, the park down the road was a welcome surprise. This cabin is a very peaceful and relaxing setting. Thanks to the owners for sharing this lovely cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing! This place was perfect for us. Exactly as advertised, actually no, It was better!

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: January 6, 2014

The Lost Mine Retreat was perfect. It was exactly as stated, it was nice, everything worked and very easy to get in and out of.
I would recommend this to anybody I know going up to the Nevada City Area looking for a place to stay.
The owners were great and easy to work with. They respond extremely quick to any questions or concerns as well.

Thanks
Giancarlo

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

birth day retreat

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

Excellent!
Thankyou for your wonderful hospitality!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Home in The Trees

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

We found the "Lost Mine Retreat" to be as shown in the photos, and descriptions, which was a very charming, spacious and homey cabin in the woods with nice ammenities. The bathrooms were updated, luxurious and clean and the kitchen was very spacious, and well stocked. We would definitely recommend this home to anyone looking for a comfortable and restful house in the trees.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Can't Wait to Return!

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

My friends, family, and I had a wonderful time at the cabin! The owner was prompt and clear in all communications. The cabin was immaculate, comfortable, and even nicer in person! We can't wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great For A Group

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

This is my second time staying at Lost Mine Retreat. The kids loved using the kayaks down at the pond. My parents (seniors) stayed in the master bedroom and three adults and two kids stayed in the two bedrooms upstairs. Cooking in the well equipped kitchen was great fun and we all had enough space to ourselves when needed. We went to Nevada City for Summer Nights and the rest of the time we spent on the Yuba River Swimming, all within 1/2 hour of the house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer vacation 2013

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We had 6 adults and 4 young kids the first half then 2 adults and 8 grand kids ages 4-14 the second half. We had a great time with every age group. The house was amazing and very spacious. I love how it was fully stocked with basic items. We just had to purchase food. We were there for 4th of July and we went to the parade and fireworks display. We were able to take the kayaks out which the kids loved. We are most likely going to make this an annual trip. I highly recommend this property and Beth the owner is so easy to work with!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer vacation 2013

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We had the max of 10 and it was very spacious and had everything we needed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful house on a hill...

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

We came to the house to race the regatta (Go For The Gold) on Scott's Flat Lake. We had a wonderful time. We had 3 couples and a handful of Children from 6mo to 7 years. Every single person who could talk, expressed love for our temporary home and even the babies seemed pretty happy playing on the floor and exploring the house.
The interior of the house is amazing. The house is well cared for and well appointed. Every time we had a thought of, "I wish we had...", we were able to find it in the house just by looking. Every bedroom was well outfitted and pleasant.
We enjoyed sitting outside on the porch at night enjoying the night air. There were plenty of distinct common spaces in the house so that the kids could play while different groups of adults could have conversations. The layout was perfect for our group.
The kids loved the board games and sleeping in the loft. They loved the log cabin nature of the house.
The owner was nice, friendly, and (important to parents with small children) flexible.
It is a short drive to downtown for food and supplies and only a slightly longer driver to the main lake launch ramp.
We woke up refreshed and ready to go every morning. We definitely want to come back. Next time we want to come up for a week to enjoy the house and local amenities more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family wedding

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

The perfect accommodation for 3 families - 6 adults, 4 children. Very comfortable with all amenities necessary. Short walk to the playground and lake - just what we needed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful Vacation Rental

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

A group of ladies rented the house for a 65 year old pre-retirement/birthday party. The house was perfect as it easily accommodated the 6 of us. The house is very well equipped with everything you need to have a comfortable stay. It feels like a home away from home. The setting is beautiful, serene and quiet after the noise of the San Francisco Bay Area, which is what we wanted. We were able to do bird watching, saw lots of wild-life, such as deer (no bears!) The location is convenient to Nevada City, Grass Valley and all around. We highly recommend the Lost Mine Retreat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sierra Foothills hidden jewel

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

The Lost Mine Retreat is fabulous. We came up with the kids for Labor Day weekend and had the best time. Hiking right out the door, a great playground 200 yards away, and a small lake for kayaking (there are two kayaks at the house). The area is beautiful, access to Scott Flat lake for swimming is 5 minutes away. Cycling out the door, and great cycling at that, wonderful mountain biking too. As for the house: spacious, comfortable, great kitchen, very well stocked. Decks, and nice outdoor seating, and a grill.
We loved it and plan on coming back soon. Oh, three full baths, all nicely appointed. Beth was a pleasure with whom to work, and has great advice on everything from the town, to things to do.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

LMR is Great

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

We had a great time at LMR. A beautiful, clean, comfortable home that is close to the lake and has wonderful views. The only thing I would recommend is new pillows for the master bedroom to make it perfect.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas at Lost Mine Retreat

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

I found this property through vacation rentals and I am so glad I did. We took all our children and grandchildren for Christmas. This beautiful 'cabin' in the woods was cozy and comfortable. All our physical needs were met, allowing us to just enjoy being together. The owners were easy to work with and the whole experience is one I would repeat in a heart beat.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What I want HOME to be...

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

My two dogs and I really did feel like we had come home when we stayed here. We took walks everyday to the lake and around it, which you can see from the house. I felt very safe as a single woman.
I enjoyed the large kitchen, with everything one needs for cooking and baking. The gas fireplace was cozy, beds were comfy. Beth was very accommodating with my special requests, and the place was clean and uncluttered.
Although there is a small convenience market a few blocks away, the major stores are about 15 minutes away and a GREAT natural foods coop, so stock up the large frig with all you need so you can relax and enjoy the peace and serenity. (I was secretly wishing we would have a big earthquake so I would be stuck here! haha)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WONDERFUL!!!!!!

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

What a beautiful place to spend some time, Beth the owner was very nice and helpful. I had my birthday party here in the spring and it was the best birthday I have ever had. This would be a treat anytime of year. Nice Loft overlooking the living room with windows everywhere. Nice kitchen and dinning area. I would go back in a heartbeat..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WONDERFUL!!!!!!

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

What a beautiful place to spend some time, Beth the owner was very nice and helpful. I had my birthday party her in the spring and it was the best birthday I have ever had. This would be a treat anytime of year. Nice Loft overlooking the living room with windows everywhere. Nice kitchen and dinning area. I would go back in a heartbeat..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Retreat!

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

We had family come visit last year for labor weekend on short notice. After searching the vacation network we came across this house for rent in the Nevada city area. We arrived there tired from traveling and with many tired children. We were delighted and amazed with the quality of this property. The house was in a beautiful and very serene location which allowed us to rest and to enjoy family activities. The local park was very close, just walking distance. We even played volleyball until it was completely dark! The drive to Scotts Flat Lake was very short and we enjoyed a beautiful day boating on the lake. The house was very beautiful, with many custom details which you do not usually find in rental property. We will definitely rent this properly again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Nights Sleep In Long Time!

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2010

We had a wonderful stay! We live in the country which is peaceful and quiet but for some reason, both my husband and I slept better on both of our nights at this cabin than we have slept in a long time. We met my brother and sister-in-law who live in Nevada for the two night/three day stay and everything was perfect! We walked up the road, down the road, around the lake and sat in the kitchen and on the deck and talked for hours. The cabin is decorated delightfully and the surroundings are beautiful. Everything was perfect and we loved it! I hope to go back some day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to relax or seek adventure

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

The cabin is very well thought out with plenty of room. We have a ski boat so it was located within five minutes of the cascade shores launch ramp which was free for residents. We enjoyed the historic downtown Nevada city. We also went to Bullards Bar reservoir which was an hour away and the Yuba River. Very clean and neat place. Our Aussie dog Josie enjoyed her stay as well swimming or wading in the pond just down the road. I would highly recommend this cabin!! Being a vacation rental owner myself I know what is out there and this one is what you see you get.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Woodland Ambiance

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 26, 2010

We stayed in this artistic, thoughtfully appointed vacation home for the week of our daughters wedding in Nevada
city lastMay. It was a delightful experience and the perfect place to create a beautiful family memory. It is very
welcoming down to the smallest detail. The owners are gracious and accomodating. I highly recommend
this home as a memorable setting for your own special event. We do hope to return one day soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great experience!

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

We love this place! It is beautiful, comfortable, and peaceful. The beds are super comfortable. The kitchen is really complete and thoughtfully planned. The owners of this property have really thought this out....the result is a delightful experience for visitors.
If you want a place for relaxation, beauty, and an escape from city life.....this is the place. I recommend it without reservation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our Stay at Lost Mine Retreat

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2009

My family and I stayed at the Lost Mine Retreat Cabin for almost 6 months, Sept through the first of March 2009-2010. We had a wonderful time there at the cabin. It had plenty of room for us, being 6 all together, and could have accomodated more. It is set just outside of Nevada City, in the foothills, but is not to far away to be able to get to several towns and other attractions. It is very peaceful there, as there are no neighbors right next to you and there are plenty of beautiful views from inside and outside of the cabin. You are surrounded by pine and fir trees. There is a small pond and park just minutes away that you can walk to and enjoy. Also there is a large lake just 1 mile away for walks and kayaking, the kayaks are avaliable at the cabin. Outside the house there are 2 decks, one with a table and chairs and a charcoal grill for your use. The inside of the house is very cozy and well decorated. Even on a rainy day, it is enjoyable to spend your time inside wathching Dish Network TV, playing board games (which several are avaliable there at the house), or reading a book. Everything you need for daily living is in the cabin. It is fully furnished. It has central heat and air. Also there is a gas burning fire place that's fun to use on cool nights. We could not have had a better place to stay and the owners were just as great. They were very kind and helpful, making sure that your stay was one that you would remember as an awesome experience. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone to stay at.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review