reviews for: listing #60001 - Bonaire, Caribbean Condo rental

OceanScape Bonaire Vacation Rental with Incredible View
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Port Bonaire
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,200 - $1,500 /wk
    $3,700 - $5,775 /mth

sort by:

Best vacation place yet.

Review submitted: July 18, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

The condo and view were better than the pictures. The property was spotless and since we had an additional week rec'd a mid-term cleaning and the crew did a fantastic job. Kitchen has all everything. BBQ came in handy as did the beach chairs. Spent most of our time diving and having a great Dive shop like Dive Friends Bonaire was perfect and they will take you over to their Yellow Sub location for the boat dive. Cannot wait to come back again. I cannot say enough about Connie the owner very responsive as was Mark the Mark for any needs we had during our stay. My wife is a light sleeper and she was never bothered once with the airplane traffic. It is so quiet and peaceful day or night.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Location

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

This condo was perfect for my husband and myself. Close to the water and very comfortable and clean. We'll be staying here again on our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

no surprises

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2014

The description of the property is dead-on accurate and both the off-site owner and on-site maintenance man are accessible, friendly, honest and extremely helpful. The only reason I did not put excellent is due to the size of the bed, as we are spoiled and used to a King size at home for many years now...a personal thing really. My wife especially appreciated the kitchen and appointments and we lounged often for meals on the main balcony overlooking the ocean. Could not ask for a more convenient location.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for budget minded

Review submitted: April 28, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

Great place located right across from the airport. No taxi needed....Just walk across the road and you here. Very well furnished with great view of Kline Bonaire and port. Our main purpose of this trip was for diving and the dive shops location is attached to these condos.
You can walk out your door and in two minuets be in the dive boat or shop. Condo has all the items you need to do your own cooking, or you can be down in the center of town for a nice meal in a few minuets. This is the 3rd time we have been to Bonaire and would deffinetly stay at this condo again. You would be very pleased.......

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellant Vacation!

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

The condo was immaculate. The view from the patio was even better than the pictures. The location was wonderful (across from the airport, close to the southern dive sites, not far from town, laundry or grocery store). The property is well taken care of and the manager is always available and willing to help with questions/information. The information provided by the owner prior to arrival is very useful and complete.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful vacation condo

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

We stayed at OceanScape for two weeks (as we had in 2012.) We enjoyed a lovely tastefully furnished (and most importantly comfortable!)1 bedroom condo in an excellent central location across from the airport.. The Port Bonaire property is very well kept and the gardens very attractive. There are plenty of lounge chairs, the pool is beautiful, I swam afternoon and evenings almost every day. We are avid snorkelers, and the central location made it nice to come "home" for lunch when changing snorkel sites (we visited 2 different sites each day.) Some of the best snorkeling is right in front of the condo across a small channel - 18 Palm; while Windsock (just around the corner) is good too. ( I saw a gorgeous spotted eagle ray there!) There are steps into the ocean providing an easy entry for snorkeling - something that is very hard to find in Bonaire! The condo looks better than the pictures (and they are goodacdcurate), the condo is clean and the bed is very confortable, there is AC in the living room as well as bedroom, though the breezes are great and there is a balcony off the bedroom for a truly flow-through breeze. There are great screens on all the windows and doors - a must have in Bonaire! Any time we weren't in the water snorkeling or at the pool swimming, or out & about, we spent on the porch! It was very interesting and peaceful to watch all the small boats, sailboats, even fish activity from this lovely location. The sunsets were beautiful too. The owners have really thought of everything to make the stay a great one from nice wine glasses, to cooking utensils and pans (I cooked a full meal every night), to the internet. We brought our computer and stayed in touch with our family as well as downloaded our picrures! We even made reservations for a snorkel sail on the Woodwind (highly recommended.) It was a wonderful vacation and we look forward to the next time.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Quality Rental

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

We had such a wonderful time in Bonaire and this condo played a big part of it. OceanScape at Port Bonaire is a quality rental. The only time we heard someone was when we were out on the deck and even then it was very quiet. We never felt unsafe there, or in Bonaire in general. It was the most relaxed vacation we have ever had and we have traveled a lot. My husband said many times, " you did good", in reference to the island and OceanScape. We are low maintenance people but still like things nice and clean. Owner Connie and caretaker Mark have done a very nice job making sure that this place makes people feel comfortable. I certainly hope that we make it back to Bonaire and I would not hesitate renting from them again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Quality Rental

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

We had such a wonderful time in Bonaire and this condo played a big part of it. OceanScape at Port Bonaire is a quality rental. The only time we heard someone was when we were out on the deck and even then it was very quiet. We never felt unsafe there, or in Bonaire in general. It was the most relaxed vacation we have ever had and we have traveled a lot. My husband said many times, " you did good", in reference to the island and OceanScape. We are low maintenance people but still like things nice and clean. Owner Connie and caretaker Mark have done a very nice job making sure that this place makes people feel comfortable. I certainly hope that we make it back to Bonaire and I would not hesitate renting from them again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Condo in Bonaire with Great Owners!

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

Hopi bon!
I can't say enough good things about this condo or its owners. Connie was amazing to work with and she literally thought of everything in the documents she sends to you prior to the trip. This was our 4th trip to Bonaire and this condo is by far our favorite.

The location is perfect and don't let the thought of the airport being across the street scare you. You really don't notice the air traffic noise. KLM is the largest that comes in and they are considerate to do so at 7:30 in the evening. The runway runs parallel to the condo so the engine noise is not directed at the condo.

Okay, now the best part of Bonaire... the diving right across the boat channel from the condo is terrific. Since it's a little private, not many divers destroy the reef right in front of the condo - lots of diverse marine life. The entry and exit is easy and the condo provides a really nice fresh water rinse shower and rinse tank with hooks to dry equipment. Having Dive Friends right on site was another big plus!

The condo is just the right size and with the great cross ventilation from the screened patio doors and window, you never need to run the air! We really liked how the shower was in one room and the toliet in another with each having their own sink. The furniture was comfortable, the TV huge (just to catch a little news) and the kitchen is really well outfitted. The view from the patio was great and it's fun to see which cruise ship is in port each morning.

While we dont speak Dutch and can't even pretend that we understand Dutch, the other owners and/or guests on site were really friendly and quickly switched to English to accomodate our lack of European training. To sum it up, this condo exceeded our expectations and we won't hesitate to rent it again in the future.

Thanks Connie for a wonderful week in Diver's Paradise!! Or as they say in Papiamento, Masha danki Connie (okay, no, our Papiamento is no better than our Dutch but we are trying!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Love it!!

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

As usual everything we needed to have a great week! Awesome view and great location!!
Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful property!

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

I don't generally gush about lodgings, but am making an exception. This place was marvelous! It wasn't the height of luxury, but it was clean and comfortable and cozy, the kitchen was well-stocked (utensils, basic spices), I felt safe, it was quiet, the grounds were beautiful... I can go on!

The photos are exactly what you get... and walking in the door that first time, the view from the main balcony was breathtaking. Actually, I remained in awe all week! That balcony got a lot of sitting time, especially at dusk when some local pelicans would circle, coming within feet of the balcony, then plunge into the water for dinner.

The owner sent materials describing not only the property but also with a lot of helpful information about the island. I had a few very specific queries not addressed in the materials (that was not easy... they are comprehensive!), and the owner emailed me back within hours each time.

We did wind up renting a car (we weren't sure we would), because even though we are walkers, walking into town isn't a particularly good option considering the road between the property and the center of Kralendijk. It was a good choice because we also wound up traversing the island top to bottom to see what there was to see above water too.

We ate in for all breakfasts and a few lunches and dinners, but also ate at Paradise Moon, Appetite (upscale dining - wonderful food, and the chef's menu selections were exceptional, but odd wine temps), Maiky's Snacks ("local" food, down an unpaved road... but worth the effort), the Tuesday bbq buffet at the Plaza Resort (very well done, and only $17.95), pizza at Pasa Bon Pizza (quite a ways north, and the sausage was very spicy, but otherwise as good as it gets), and lunch at Chibi Chibi.

The diver in our duo went out with Dive Friends every day - they have a store on the premises, but the boat left from another branch north of the city - thus, the car was necessary. In any case, he had nothing but praise for the dives and the dive operation. I can barely swim, but a "float on top" snorkel on the beach next to the property left me amazed - according to "my" diver, some of the things we saw just offshore were critters even divers don't regularly see.

I highly, highly recommend this property!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We Loved this Condominum Unit - Owners Thought of Everything!!! Great Location!

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

We traveled to Bonaire with high expectations about the island and this condominium based on all of the reviews we've read, and I'm happy to report that the reviews were spot on! A beautifully decorated, very clean condominium with everything anyone could need - maps and information, extensive kitchenware, an up to date media system, and grill!! Due to a flight delay, we arrived a little after midnight, so it was a relief to just push a luggage cart across the street to our condo - it really is that close, yet, the aircraft noise isn't noticeable! Our last dive of the vacation was a night dive straight across the lagoon area on the other side of the rocks - saw 2 huge green moray, lionfish, octopus, spotted eel, and a small school of 4 ft tarpons that accompanied us all the way out and back. We dove and snorkled on the other side of the rocks on the left, and saw another huge green moray, barracuda, a couple of the largest parrot fish I've ever seen, as well as lots of various types of tropical fish. Our favorite dive was Salt Pier - THICK with sealife - squid, various types of eels, porcupine fish, trigger fish, barracuda, etc, Love it that Dive Friends is right on sight - they stored our gear for us overnight and just kept a running tab - prices are very reasonable - especially with the 20% discount you get from staying at this condo. Did two boat dives with them at Klein Bonaire - saw turtles and a large ray. Highly recommend the Tuesday night barbecue buffet (grilled fish, chicken, pork, and beef) at the Coconut Crash Bar @ La Plaza Resort just across the lagoon - steel drum band, tiki torches on the beach, and great food for $17.95 per person. Also recommend diving at Buddy Dive resort (gorgeous reef formations, lots of sealife), then having a lunch afterward at their bar - good menu and reasonable prices. Jibe City is a great place to have lunch and watch the windsurfers - ample and tasty salads, especially the seafood salad. We shopped at the newest supermarket east of the Warehouse and was amazed at the extensive selection of wines. They also have various marinated meats and fish ready to throw on the grill. The beef kabobs were excellent accompanied with white asparagus and a salad. We like going to a different island every year, but we know we will definitely be back to Bonaire and this unit or the bigger one if we bring family. Actually, we may have to break tradition and go again next year - it is that nice!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

This was our second stay at Oceanscape Bonaire and what a fantastic time we had - again!
The first time we visitited Bonaire we decided to do Discover Scuba Diving with Dive Friends and loved it so much that we came home and got certified in the balmy 44 degree waters of Georgian Bay, Ontario. Since then we have completed our Advanced and Nitrox certification so this trip was a diving trip for us.
When we arrived in Bonaire there was someone at the airport to meet us and take us to pick up our rental truck then we drove back to Port Bonaire. The next day we woke up early and stocked our fridge from the Warehouse grocery store - everything you need!
Having the Dive Friends shop on the property was great - and so easy! Just load up your tanks and go. Jamal and staff there were so friendly and always came to talk to us about what sites to visit and where we had been the previous day.
The condo itself truly feels like home away from home! It is SO comfortable with a great kitchen, comfortable bed and all the ameneties you could ever want/need.
Our favourite part of the day whas returning from a full day of diving and sitting on our private balcony overlooking the ocean. This is when we would indulge in shrimp, delicious local cheese and a cold glass of wine. The sunsets were unbelievable!
We love cooking so we only ate out twice.
We drove to the southern end of the island to go to Jibe City for our favourite seafood salad. If you are looking for serious chill time on the water, this is the spot. Friendly staff, laid back, cold beer and delicious food. We wondered in in our wetsuits and were almost overdressed!
Norca's Deli Cafe in town is one of our favourites and that is because of Norca herself. She is such a great lady and always has something daring for my husband to try - this time it was iguanna stew. He loved it!
We struggle with travelling somewhere different but we love Bonaire and Oceancape because it is so easy there - especially as divers! You can dive when you want, as much as you want.
The Port Bonaire complex is relatively small and quiet and the few people that you do run into are very friendly. There was always a chat by the water about what people had spotted that day. One of the best dives we did was right off the ladder in front of the condo.
Thank you Connie for being such a great hostess once again. You are so helpful and provide so much information.
Book us in for 2013!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Condo

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Not only was this vacation condo everything it was described as - it was lovely! The photos were accurate, the property was very clean and well-maintained. The owners provided detailed descriptions for the operation of the appliances, and condo rules as well as very helpful information on snorkeling sites, grocery stores, dining recommendations, and more. This was our 4th visit to Bonaire, but first stay at Oceanscape, and we learned new information! What could not be described in print or photo was the lovely deck - we spent much of our time at the condo on this deck with its lovely expansive view, constant trade breezes, and interesting small boat passings. The property is immaculate, has lovely gardens, and the pool was wonderful. The airport was not an issue as the runway is situated in a different direction. One of the best snorkeling spots on the island is directly across from the condo with a stair entry - doesn't get much better than that!! We stayed 2 heavenly weeks, snorkeled 2 different sites every day. I cooked in (like to cook and grocery shopping was fun here!) so we only ate out once - restaurant 'At Sea' which was just terrific if a little pricey. The property manager was always available and very helpful. The owners provide a cell phone and internet for use during your stay!! We used AB car rental and were very pleased with their service. We will definitely be back to this lovely condo in Port Bonaire.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great vacation condo

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Not only was this vacation condo everything it was described as - it was lovely! The photos were accurate, the property was very clean and well-maintained. The owners provided detailed descriptions for the operation of the appliances, and condo rules as well as very helpful information on snorkeling sites, grocery stores, dining recommendations, and more. This was our 4th visit to Bonaire, but first stay at Oceanscape, and we learned new information! What could not be described in print or photo was the lovely deck - we spent much of our time at the condo on this deck with its lovely expansive view, constant trade breezes, and interesting small boat passings. The property is immaculate, has lovely gardens, and the pool was wonderful. The airport was not an issue as the runway is situated in a different direction. One of the best snorkeling spots on the island is directly across from the condo with a stair entry - doesn't get much better than that!! We stayed 2 heavenly weeks, snorkeled 2 different sites every day. I cooked in (like to cook and grocery shopping was fun here!) so we only ate out once - restaurant 'At Sea' which was just terrific if a little pricey. The property manager was always available and very helpful. The owners provide a cell phone and internet for use during your stay!! We used AB car rental and were very pleased with their service. We will definitely be back to this lovely condo in Port Bonaire.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bonaire Dreamers

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

We have been going to Bonaire for 10 years now and so glad we found this condo. Love the property and have recommeded it to several friends and family who now call it their vacation home. Headed back again in September.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean Scape

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

Wonderful condo. Beautiful views and easy entry to sea. Rainbows almost every day. Everything in kitchen available. Will return. We are divers and did dives right from property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great condo, super location

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

We were delighted that Mark had the condo ready by 11:15 A.M., especially since the rain hampered most outdoor activities on Sat. & Sun. Still managed to snorkel every day though, with some of the best just steps away from the condo. The unit is extremely well maintained--spotlessly clean, and with all the amenities listed. Bed was very comfortable; Internet service quick and reliable; safe in bedroom closet large enough to hold our netbook and assorted other stuff. The kitchen is super well equipped, allowing us to cook most of our meals. It was great having spices and some condiments available.
We occasionally heard flights departing or arriving, but nothing that was bothersome. It worked out great being so close to the airport, as we returned the rental car Friday night to avoid Sat. A.M. lines, then just walked across the street to check in for our flight on Sat.
Windsock & 18 Palms both had nice snorkeling and we tried many other sites around the island as well. Best by far though was Klein Bonaire--we took a water taxi (Kontiki di amor) with Captain Henk. He first took us to a spot to drop off our stuff (towels, water, snacks), then dropped us off down the coast so we could drift snorkel back to where the stuff was. He then came back to pick us up there about 2-1/2 hours later, which worked out perfectly.
LOVED dinner at At Sea--right up there with the best meals we've eaten out. Thought the prices were quite reasonable considering the quality of the food, the little extras they throw in, and the superb service. Also enjoyed ribs at The Ribs Factory and fresh catch of the day at City Cafe.
Overall, we were very happy with the condo and with all of Connie's in-depth information and suggestions. She is very responsive to questions, and goes out of her way to make sure everything goes smoothly. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Bonaire.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Oceanscape Is A Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

We just returned after a two week stay at Oceanscape. It was a great vacation and the facilities met all our expectations.

The Oceanscape condo is a one bedroom unit in a small condo complex across from the airport. The proximity to the airport was not a problem. The condo is positioned so that runway noise is barely noticeable. There are very few large planes that land in Bonaire and these are the only ones that you can hear even slightly. The smaller planes can not be heard at all.

The condo is well kept with everything that you need for your stay. The location of the condo provides one of the best views on the island. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony that overlooks the bay and the island of Klein. The condo is at the mouth of the marina and this adds to the interest. The dive boats come and go past the condo. Not too busy but it interesting to watch the boat traffic. We were entertained every day by the pelicans that fed right off the front of the condo. They would glide around until they spotted something and dive for fish. Quite entertaining.

We were in Bonaire for the diving and were not disappointed. We did mostly shore dives with a couple of boat dives mixed in. Dive Friends has a shop at the other end of the condo complex and we worked through them. They were friendly and took care of us very well. The shore dive sites to the south of the island are close to the condo. We would sometimes do a dive and return to the condo for a surface interval before doing a second dive. Windsock and Bachelor's Beach are two very easy dive sites that are close to the condo. We did these sites a couple of times for a second dive because they were so close and easy.

We ate in the condo for many of our meals and mixed in some restaurant meals. We had dinner at Chibi Chibi's a couple of times. This is a nice place on the water. The food was good. The bar area at Buddies and Rum Runners was a good place to go to meet people and have a quick meal.

Connie is the best owner that we have worked with. She is professional and responsive to any request. I would not hestiate to recommend Oceanscape to anyone looking for a one bedroom condo. You will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise... FOUND!

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

Everything was exactly as described. We found the condo and its furnishings perfect.
Connie is a fantastic owner to work with. Her detailed instructions were a source of comfort in a foreign land. When I booked, the proximity of the airport was a (noise) concern for me. However, the only plane that disturbed our sleep was the big early Saturday morning one. The other smaller ones are barely noticeable with the A/C running. The snorkeling at Windsock, just through the condo property gate, was fabulous. We saw all of the critters mentioned in an earlier review PLUS a manta ray. How totally cool.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Piece of Paradise!!

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

We are back home now after being in Bonaire and staying at Oceanscape for a week...and what a week it was! Best trip we have been on so far!

The condo unit was perfect with everything you could need. We love to cook and absolutely everything is provided...even spices! We ventured off to the Warehouse supermarket our first morning there and filled the kitchen at a reasonable price. We were worried that things might be expensive since everything is imported. We found some amazing tasting shrimp in the meat section and ended up having them with lovely cheeses on our private deck every late afternoon with a cold beer.

The snorkeling right off the condo is some of the best we did there. We were so excited about seeing all the divers that we signed up and completed the Discover Scuba Diving with Dive Friends and then did another additional dive. We are defintely going to get certified back at home!

We toured all around the island and loved Jibe City at Sorobon beach and all the wind surfers and the fact that you can walk out in the water FOREVER! This is where you find that clear turqois water you see in travel mags! Make sure you try the seafood salad at Jibe! We also did some snorkeling here and the coral is unbelievable!

We toured up to the other end of the island and went down at "1000 steps" and got in the water there too - very cool - and totally unpopulated.

We didn't eat out much as we love to cook our own fare; however, we did hire a chef to come in one night and she cooked us a Rijstaffel. This is a sampling of many local dishes. This was such a treat and Norca, the chef, was great to talk to to find out all about the island.

We loved Bonaire and Oceanscape for SO many reasons but the biggest one, we think, is that it is so quiet!! We did what we wanted, when we wanted and that was what made this trip perfect.

We met some other residents of the Port Bonaire complex who told us what a great unit we had and how helpful and wonderful Connie is and it is all true! Connie, you have found paradise and we truly thank you for sharing it with us.

We will be back.............next week available???? LOL

Emily and Rob

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Paradise

Review submitted: December 13, 2010   Date of arrival: November 27, 2010

We have had many wonderful visits to the island of Bonaire, but our visit to Connie's condo the first week of December topped our list of great places to stay. The condo was immaculate, had everything we needed and last but not least and most important to us -- the view was absolutelly gorgeous. We spent many an hour just sitting on the balcony looking out at the water and bay.

The condo provides everything advertised and a whole lot more. Connie -- you have this down pat!! We will be return vistors. Thanks for making our rainy week a ray of sunshine!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Oceanfront Paradise with Unbeatable Snorkeling within Steps!

Review submitted: November 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

We have never rented a vacation rental anywhere before, nor have we been to Bonaire before. This was defintely one of the BEST decisions we've ever made! I spoke to the owner, Connie, on the phone before we booked this unit and was very impressed with her! She was professional, had a great sense of humor, and was a great source of information on Bonaire! After speaking to her, I was fully convinced that THIS was the condo to book! Her unit is EXACTLY as pictured, so we weren't disappointed. The condo is well equipped and the view is AMAZING! I took some gorgeous sunset shots right off the balcony.

On our first day, we saw a pod of dolphins from the balcony, jumping out in the channel, several iguanas on the property, and the beautiful, yellow sugar birds on the railing of the balcony! It was just like a postcard! A true tropical PARADISE!

We are avid snorkelers. When we got in the water at the condo, using the convenient step ladder right in front, we were surrounded by colorful, parrotfish, trumpetfish, etc! It was SO gorgeous! Like being in your own private aquarium! In the channel we saw spotted rays, and TONS of parrotfish, and turtles.

We snorkelled around the island at different spots, and found that we enjoyed the snorkeling at windsock/donkey beach to be some of the best! You can snorkel there within a few minutes from the condo. We got out there for a few minutes and enjoyed the white, sand beach (very rare in Bonaire).

The pool was great too! We had an evening swim one night, and it was so refreshing and pretty at night.

The caretaker, Mark, was a tremendous help to us when we needed him. He was there very quickly and did not give up until the problem was solved. His hard work and determination in the Bonaire heat and humidty did pay off, and we were most appreciative.

This was our first trip to Bonaire, but definitely not our last! There are so many interesting things to do and see for such a small island. The locals are friendly and helpful, and the island is very diverse, yet still unspoiled and non-touristy, which appealed to us.

We were not able to stay the full 10 days in the condo, as it was booked for the last 5 so we had to switch to another condo, BUT we know now to book way ahead when we come back to Bonaire again.....which we hope to do soon!

THANK YOU Connie for all your help and tips! Everything worked out great and I will highly recommend you! You're wonderful and so is your condo! We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Everything we Hoped and so much more

Review submitted: November 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

The Rubeks have outdone themselves in making sure we were wanting or needing for nothing! The condo had more amenities than a luxury hotel suite would offer. Thanks to your clear and concise directions, we really didn't have to think at all on vacation. We tried several snorkel sites around the island, but honestly the very best were right outside the condo, particularily around the point to the left towards Windsock. The 1st day out we saw a Goldentailed Moray Eel, a school of Squid and a French Angelfish. Subsequent days: 3 White-Spotted Eagle Rays together, A school of huge Rainbow Parrotfish, Trumpetfish, Trunkfish,Cowfish,Filefish.....the list goes on and on. On 2 separate days we saw a Southern Stingray fly out of the water in the channel and bellyflop back in. The view was spectacular. Everything said, this vacation was easy, refreshing and relaxing. Bonaire is a gem of an island. So tranquil but not boring in the least. Lots to do and see out of the water as well.
So thank you for the lovely place to stay and that Mark is a hero of a guy. We called him for a rookie mistake we made on a Sunday and he was there in a flash for us. Good hand he is. There is much snow already at home and it makes us very sad to leave in 2 short days. We hope to be back and maybe try out your newest addition! (congrats). With Gratitude, Tricia and Jerry

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

Well, well, well,
Finally, after 36 reminders to self, I am making time to write. Thank you for sharing OceanScape with us... two weeks was not enough. Loved the snorkeling, caught lots of fish and rested a lot...it won’t be long before we plan another Bonaire. Mark was great. Bonefishing is a great Bonaire secret. OceanScape is perfect. Thanks, Bert and Estela

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

Hello hope you are well. This is the first chance I have gotten to tell you what a wonderful time we had in Bonaire. Your condo is beautiful and the grounds are great. You made the whole stay easy with clean and precise instructions. Also the advise on restaurants and grocery stores was very helpful. The wireless internet and printer was a great help. You should be running a hotel. You had all bases covered. As for the island and diving, could not have been better. Dive Friends took great care of us and exceeded our expectations. And then there's Mark. What a treasure you have with him there for you. We met him the first day there and he was always asking if we needed anything. Then when we left, he picked me up at rent a car and helped with luggage and drove us to the airport. Thanks again Mark. I only hope we can come back to your beautiful paradise another time in the future. WHAT A WONDERFUL TIME WE HAD ,,,Nancy and Nick

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

Hello Connie,
First things first…WE LOVED BONAIRE. We want to come back later this year. We ended up getting our Open Water Scuba Certification. So, this last trip was mostly a set up and discover the island. We really can’t wait to come back (hopefully Thanksgiving week).
After looking at the pictures online and reading up on the condo online, we found the condo to be just as expected. The view is for sure way better than the pictures give credit for. We really love the porch!
Overall, we had a blast... Hopefully, we will stay at your condo again in November.

Rachel

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 20, 2010

Connie, Just wanted to say we had a great time. The condo was perfect. Mark met us at the airport, along with Poppy, but as Delta lost our luggage, it took a bit longer to get to the condo (had to fill out all the paperwork). It did arrive at 0600 the next day but we did miss out on diving Sat afternoon. Used Dive-Friends downtown and they were great as well. We are all ready talking about a return trip. Unfortunately we have already booked a Jan 11 trip to Aruba, but Lin has suggested to cut that trip short and go back to Bonaire.

Again, thanks for everything and we'll definitely get in touch if /when we go back to Bonaire.

Patrick

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 28, 2010

Hi Connie,

We loved your unit very much. The interior, the location, everything…We enjoyed the balcony a lot. The snorkeling out front was great. Saw a Southern Stingray, my daughter hasn’t even seen one yet. We enjoyed the boat dives with YS [Dive-Friends} from the port location, so easy .

We had a very nice stay at your place, it is now our #1 unit on the island!

Chris

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

Connie, we checked out today. Just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed it (already miss it) and how wonderful we both think all of you are. Mark was a jewel, the place was everything you said it was…just as advertised… We have been extraordinarily impressed with all you provide with the condo. Way above average.

You are wonderful hosts!
Ellen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2010

Hi Connie,
Just wanted to let you know we have returned to the US safe and sound! We had an amazing time. The condo was great, and the weather and snorkeling were fantastic. Your directions and suggestions were very helpful.

I should tell you that we acidentally broke one coffee mug, the orange one. The handle just came off as I lifted it out of the dishwasher. Please let me know how we can replace it.

At this point we are thinking we would love to go back next year, probably about the same time, but our schedules are not certain yet. We will be in touch later when our plans are more definite.

Thanks, again, for helping us have a wonderful time.

Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: February 17, 2010

Connie,
Just wanted to let you know that Cathy and I had a great time. Your condo was perfect and as you said the snorkeling out in front is some of the best on the island. We want to go back again next year and will probably get certified down there. We also really enjoyed the Roomers Hotel, thanks for getting us in there. The owners made us feel like family, we ate lunch and dinner there.
We’ll be in touch about renting again next year.
Thanks,
Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review