reviews for: listing #60100 - Flamingo Beach, Costa Rica Condo rental

Ocean View 2 BR Condo in Flamingo Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Flamingo Cove
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $275 /nt
    $700 - $2,200 /wk
    $1,600 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Unfortunately its less then Pure Vida

Review submitted: December 8, 2013   Date of arrival: November 30, 2013


Condo is nicely furnished, and has a beautiful ocean view, with gorgeous sunsets.

Diego the resident dog, is the nicest things about this condo. He is very friendly his smile will make you laugh. He loves bacon, and especially rib bones, and a scratch or 2 under his chin. The security guards are very friendly.

A/C was very refreshing. The décor inside is very tastefully done. There were plenty of towels for both the pool and bathing. The pool was nice, clean, & very refreshing, nice after being at the beach all day.

Kitchen was good for cooking. Flamingo Beach is the best beach period. Recommend “Coco Loco” for lunch and drinks (Bahama Mama). Its right on the sand, 12 minute ride by car. The local “Ticos,” and ex-pats we met during our stay were nice.


The beds are as hard as a rock, and we could not sleep, kept waking up with a sore back. Mentioned to Blue Water Properties, they just kind of shrugged it off and smiled. The shower in 2 bath shoots water out over the floor. The master bath shower does feel prickly. Maybe change out the shower heads?

The walk / climb downstairs to the pool is not recommended. Use the route via the guard shack much easier. An umbrella down by the pool would be nice, as sun is very strong. Kitchen utensils ok, the knives were dull.

As to Blue Water Properties, (BWP), can not recommend them for anything other than renting this condo. We suggest getting a private tour guide to show you around, places to eat, etc. The concierges from BWP were not very helpful, they seemed to be “put off” when asked for directions. But did tell us where we could buy a map. (REALLY?) Maybe a map in your welcome package?

Booked a zip line tour with BWP. Glad we didn't pay a deposit, we never found Monteverde Canopy Tour. Wasted time driving from BWT office in Flamingo Cove, to be told info was in Tamarindo. Went to Selvatura Tour instead, guides are great! Be sure to leave a tip. They work hard making it fun, but are not paid well.

**Be careful when driving at night. The roads are narrow and the Tico's stand in the road instead of on the shoulder. There's many stray dogs, watch out for them, may even see a loose horse or cow. Get a 4X4 vehicle!

Overall, loved our stay. Ask fellow tourist / locals where to eat, BWP was no help here. Condo only 3 stars because of the beds & BWP. We saw owner, Rebecca 3 times, but she never said, hello or bothered to ask how are stay was going.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Dear Tony: I am glad to hear that overall your stay at Flamingo Cove 318 was great and that you enjoyed Costa Rica and the Ticos alike. I am, of course, disappointed, that you feel that our company and customer service was not up to par. We pride ourselves in a 99% customer satisfaction rate, and unfortunately you were part of that 1% that we were unable to please. As you see below, all the reviews based on our customer service have been 5 Stars thus far. I would like to address your complaints below:

1. Our concierge staff always answers emails within 24 hours. When you were spoken to on the phone, you told them that you don't always check all your emails. I also told you that many emails go to junk folders when sent from Costa Rica, and you did receive my emails, so unfortunately I am not sure what happened there.

2. Directions are given at the time of booking (printed on the 2nd page of your confirmation) as well as clear and concise directions on where to check in (ie: Tamarindo vs. Huacas/Conchal office) and how to arrive. That same confirmation is sent again 30 days before arrival. You emailed me, the night before your arrival in Costa Rica, and my staff once again emailed you the directions. We take the time to send out directions and instructions to every single guest that stays with us so that they have a better experience with us, so we only hope and assume as a guest, you take the time to read the valuable information that we provide.

3. Directions were provided to you by our Concierge staff to Monteverde. You also had a GPS. Not sure what more we could have done there. Our staff booked that tour and you no-showed. The staff printed directions at the office and you asked where to buy a map, so they instructed you on where you could do that. That was AFTER they provided you printed directions.

4. The issue with the shower heads was never reported to our office. Had it been, we would have addressed right away. In regards to the mattresses, this is the first complaint ever received for that. The owners invested good money on the mattresses and would not allow for us to change them due to one guest complaint.

5. And lastly, how was I supposed to know that I saw you 3 times? I never recall seeing anyone I didn't know 3 times over the last month. I don't know what most of our guests look like. If you recognized me from my signature photo, you should have said hi to me. I would never purposely not say hi.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3


Family of Five- Amazing Family Vacation

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Our family loved staying in this Condo. Our mornings greated us with an amazing view of the ocean, nice breezes and tranquility. We brought our three teenage daughters to Costa Rica and they loved coming home to this amazing condo. The girls loved the pools and we all loved the security of the condo and the convenience of how close to Playa Flamingo we were. We just had a wonderful trip and our home away from home was so spectacular!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Costa Rica Condo at Flamingo Cove

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

We found the property to be excellent just as described and as picture perfect as the photos. We found the people of Costa Rica to be exceptionally polite and always most gracious. You will definately need a car. We used Adobe car rental and they were great.
We had a wonderful time and hope to return in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Patrick, we hope to have you back soon! Glad you enjoyed your stay at Flamingo Cove. All the best, Becky & the BWP Crew

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Family of four

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

We loved our visit to Costa Rica and we landed in this great area which my husband referred to as casually efficient. Our condo description said that sometimes in the mornings there were monkeys outside the balcony. There were! The sunsets were addictive and we made sure we were on our spacious balcony at 5:30 pm every night. The condo was very clean comfortable for four of us and the the view was magnificient! We loved Playa Conchal, great swimming and sand. We ate our way through the little restaurants in Brasilito. Went to Tamarindo a few times, but found we loved the quaintness of Flamingo cove. Becky and her crew were so helpful and accommodating and when I rented the condo, I thought that was it and I was on my own. Not true, we booked fabulous trips through Blue Water and I highly recommend the the all day adventure to Rincon de la Vieja - we zip-lined, tubed down rapids, went horse back riding and ended our day in volcanic hot springs. We visited the estuary by Tamarindo and the best was the Turtle tour at night, in the dark, with only the stars and moon lighting the paths of the turtles emerging from the ocean. I would do this entire trip all over again. Thank you Becky for leading us on this great journey!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Susan, so glad to hear you had a vacation to remember. Positive reviews and experiences is what we strive for. We look forward to having you back in the land of "pura vida"! All the best, Becky, Rob & the BWP Team

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Loved this Condo!

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

We stayed at this condo in July 2011 for 6 nights. We absolutely loved it. It was clean, beautifully decorated, and spacious. The view from the large balcony was amazing and we enjoyed having our morning coffee there every day. The property was very quiet and we had the pool to ourselves most of the time, which was warm and clean. The condo was well-stocked with all the amenities. It's an easy drive to restaurants, grocery stores, and beaches. With two small kids we loved Playa Flamingo for its wide beach and calmer waters. We would definitely recommend this condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3


Great time in Flamingo!

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 30, 2010

This condo was as advertised--luxury at a great price and the views were amazing. Our family of 5 fit comfortably (4 adults and one child). Flamingo Beach is a short drive away, or about a 10 minute walk down the hill. Also we really enjoyed Angelina's restaurant in downtown Flamingo. That was right up my alley.... beautiful place and awesome food!! Everyone wants to go back.. and we are saving your information so that we can get ahold of you for next time..
That vacation was much needed- and enjoyed.. Thanks again to Becky, Keith and the Blue Water Properties staff!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6


A wonderful time in Flamingo Cove!

Review submitted: May 24, 2010   Date of arrival: May 11, 2010

This is a beautiful condo in a quiet location, about 20 minutes walk to the centre of Flamingo. The beaches surrounding the condo are beautiful, and the people managing the property were very friendly. Luxury at an affordable cost!


Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7


Reviews are the subjective opinions of travelers and not of, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review