reviews for: listing #60126 - Vancouver, British Columbia Apartment rental

Your best value
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Downtown (Yaletown)
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (CAD) $59 - $69 /nt
    $413 - $483 /wk
    $1,416 - $1,656 /mth

sort by:

A Nice Alternative to a Hotel Stay

Review submitted: July 22, 2014   Date of arrival: July 17, 2014

Location: This property is at an older apartment building (eg. pink bathtub/older light fixtures etc.) in downtown New Westminster, BC. It is a short walk to the local Skytrain station which will make it easy for people to get around without needing a vehicle. There are many local restaurants and an area Farmer's Market up the hill from the apartment held on Thursdays.
Unit: My husband and I were unexpectedly treated to a one bedroom unit for our stay instead of a studio. It was clean and well maintained. There is a full kitchen in the apartment suite with pots, pans, plates, glasses, cooking utensils etc.
Parking: There is free parking on site.
Wifi: There is free wifi in the unit.
Reception: Chris was very friendly and a wealth of information for places to see in the area.
Overall: This is a well maintained property which offers a homey environment. For those wanting to escape the hotel experience, this reasonably priced property allows a person to experience a home away from home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice stay in New Westminster

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: July 9, 2014

We spent four nights at the studio. It is located near the SkyTrain that takes you downtown in ~35min. The studio was clean and comfortable, even though it got a little cozy with three people. Overall a nice location with shops and restaurants just down the street!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for a great price!

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2013

We recently booked a stay here and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to be upgraded to a bigger suite at no extra cost. We spent a few minutes in the smaller suite and would have been quite happy there -- it was compact, but had everything you needed. Everything we needed was there, including some things that aren't necessarily always included at some places, like shampoo. The place was really clean and neat, and the location was excellent, with the LRT only a couple blocks away. Chris was very helpful with suggestions about the area, and we would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Worked out well for us!

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

This was our first time booking a place online and we weren't sure what to expect. Turns out our experience was a really good one! It was a cute suite and felt much more home-y and comfortable than a hotel. Bed was comfortable and it was a good location as it was a quick walk to the sky train which allows you to get to pretty much anywhere! We easily made our way to Stanley Park, Metrotown and Chinatown. Plus we walked down to the New Westminster Quay in about 10 minutes. Chris was great and chatted with us when we got there and made us feel right at home. He answered all our questions and gave us great tips! We took his suggestion and ate at a Mexican restaurant just a short walk up the street and it was delicious! We appreciated that the place was well stocked with pots, pans and anything else you could think of! There were even some chocolates in the basket on the table! :) It was a safe neighborhood and we felt very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Wonderful vacation!

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this vacation rental! Chris was very helpful and we hope to rent from his company again. We actually stayed at another location, but it was just perfect. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

This ones's a keeper!

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 27, 2011

We got an exceptionally clean, comfortable, well-equipped and ample-sized studio
suite just a short walk from the subway all for a budget price. This place proves
you really can have it all. We've recommended it to all our friends!

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Highly Recommended!

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

This place was a great find. Our suite was really cute! Lots of plants and a very warm, comforting atmosphere, just like home. Plus, the price was a deal.
The kitchen had all we needed to make some great meals at home. We even made some lasagna!
When we didn't feel like cooking, there were many good restaurants nearby. We enjoyed the Heritage Grill a few blocks away. Not only was the food satisfying but there was live music every evening. Hon's Wuntun House was also a find. Lots of authentic Chinese food for a very reasonable price.
We're nature buffs, and Chris recommended three places to hike. All were just gorgeous! Lynn Canyon Park has beautiful trails plus a suspended footbridge across a high canyon. Lighthouse Park has huge trees and beautiful ocean vistas. U.B.C. Botanical Garden has a dazzling variety of plants plus some interesting walkways suspended in the trees so we could walk through the forest canopy.
We really enjoyed our trip, and recommend this place to everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

Wow, this place is clean!

Review submitted: October 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

Our suite was cozy like home and really spotless. Considering the low price we paid, we were surprised to find it so well set up. On top of that, it was only a short stroll from rapid transit.
The manager Chris was very friendly and helpful, giving us numerous tips on the best sights. This really saved us a lot of time.
One of his great recommendations, since we're both artists, was Commercial Drive. Its bohemian offerings had names like Beckwoman's and Wazubees. We meandered through them with fascination, then sipped lattes at artsy coffee houses. A real laid-back adventure.
South Granville Street, with art galleries lined up like dominoes, was also a real treat.
We'll definitely return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A Great Value

Review submitted: October 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. Our suite had a lot more than we expected for it's low price. Besides being exceptionally clean, it was very spacious for a studio suite, and was very complete. The manager was friendly and helpful too.
We enjoyed a pleasant walk along the riverfront and had dinner at a very nice restaurant called the the Boathouse as we watched the boats go by. Rapid transit was just a short walk from the building, and we used it to explore.
We're glad we found this place and have already recommended it to our friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Vancouver Getaway

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We were very pleased with the accomodations and location. This unit is in a charming area close to shopping, restaurants and a wonderful boardwalk near the river waterfront. It was easy to get into the city via Skytrain. The unit itself was very clean and efficient and Chris was helpful and very informative.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent place to stay

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: October 25, 2010

***REVIEW***
Review Title: Excellent Place to Stay
Review Text:
The place is very clean & friendly. You get the best tips about Vancouver from
owner Chris. Very convenient and close to everything. Skytrain, Starbucks just
around the corner. You can also have a stroll on the beautiful boardwalk just
blocks away.

I have truly enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend it to anyone planning a
trip to Vancouver.

James

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous accomodations

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: August 25, 2010

I was more than thrilled with my apartment at Royal Eagle. It was clean, comfortable, and a great location. I got upgraded to a one bedroom instead of a studio, and I had an amazing amount of space. Chris is awesome, and very helpful with any questions you might have about the area or the rooms.

You're just a short walk from the Skytrain, which means that all of Vancouver is easily accessible, including the airport, and the ticket prices are very reasonable. The trains are clean, and run frequently, and are usually only crowded during rush hour. New Westminster itself is absolutely worth a visit, with a lovely waterfront, restaurants, and shopping. There are some really interesting shops down on Front Street.

Vancouver is a beautiful, fascinating city, and the extremely reasonable price of this property makes it so much more accessible. If I get to go to Vancouver again, I will definitely stay at Royal Eagle again!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Allan

Review submitted: August 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

Great place! Has everything you need and nothing you don't. Two blocks from train to go in to Vancouver. 30 minute ride. Trains run frequently and all day - until 1:00am.

Chris was very helpful w/ directions and recommendations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Comfortable, Affordable Accommodations

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

This property is exactly as described. Very comfortable, the manager (Chris) is very accommodating and helpful. The apartment is clean, fully equipped and close to the skytrain. We were very happy with the apartment and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Comfortable and well situated

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

We stayed for several nights here during our time in Vancouver, both at the start and the end of our vacation (the last wasn’t even planned for, but we liked it a lot to come back to another time). It’s not situated at downtown Vancouver, which is no problem at all because it’s very close to the Skytrain and there’s enough parkingspace at the back of the building.
The apartment was very nicely decorated and clean and has got everything you could wish for. Even the kitchenette is fully equipped so you can make your own plans whether, where or what you want to do for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

The owner, Chris, is very nice and welcoming. Always there for a helping hand, giving information about what to do in Vancouver or a chitchat.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

A nice discovery!

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

This is one of those places that exceeds expectations. Instead of that bare-bones
feel that many places have, this one has those little touches that make a place a
home. Need something to open a bottle of wine? It's there. Need to iron a shirt? A
board and iron are in the closet. Like cushy towels? Tons of those. An extra comfy
bed? You got it. Heck - there's even a 'white sound' machine that imitates the
swoosh of ocean waves in case you want to be lulled to sleep. We liked that one. All
those little things that make or break a travel experience seemed to have been taken
care of here. Someone was definitely thinking!
We give it a BIG YES.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Impressed!

Review submitted: June 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

This place must be one of the best values on this site. We were really surprised at all we got for such a low price(especially the yummy chocolates!) The suite was spotless and comfy and the owner helped us a lot in finding the best attractions. He even picked us up from the skytrain station. We really wish we could have stayed longer. We're already planning a trip back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Value for money

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Eagle Suites in March 2010 and can honestly say we were pleasantly surprised. The suite was very clean,and well maintained. Chris, the manager was so accommodating very helpful . We only intended staying a few days, but extended our stay to just over two weeks. The suite is close to restaurants, local bus routes and the sky train. Parking is also provided. If you`re considering a stay in Vancouver, this suite is perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Place to stay

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful studio apartment last weekend. We were so impressed with how clean, comfortable and well stocked it was. Scott, the owner was so helpful and friendly. It was very safe and a great location for the sky train and close by restaurants while out of the hustle of the city. This is also a great deal which we loved!!! We plan to stay here again and highly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, Quiet, Skytrain and hot yoga close by

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

My and my boyfriend stayed for 5 nights in the apartment which was impecably clean and had everything you need for a short stay. It is a vary quiet location and everything needed is just 2 blocks away - Indian restaurant or pizza for take out, Hot yoga centre, pharmacy/drug store, Starbucks,beer/wine store, Skytrain station which in 10 min brings you to a big shopping centre (in case of pouring rain;) ) and 25 min max to downtown.
The listing description and pictures are very accurate of what to expect and the consierge (homekeeper) is extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with. Call him if you have any questions.
We liked the Indian restaurant around the corner, the hot yoga accross Columbia Station and the proximity to the station and a little french bistro with great sandwiches and coffee (6th and Clarkson Street). We had a sunny weekend so we biked in Stanley Park, visited Granville Island, shopped on Robinson Street, went to Capilato hatcehry and Suspension bridge and generally had a great time. I'd recommend to travellers, especially for a bit longer stays (2 days+).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WOW!

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

We cannot say enough good things about our stay. The owner, Chris, even picked us up from the Skytrain station that first night!! It is a FABULOUS location. So close to the Skytrain station and the waterfront. Lots of great restaurants close by and coffee shops just minutes from the rental. It would be a great place to stay at any time of the year to explore the whole Vancouver area. You would not need a car rental because you can get everywhere on the Skytrain. The unit was clean and well stocked. A perfect base for a fun vacation!!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Will definitely come back

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: July 26, 2009

Our two day stay at this studio was very pleasant. Although the temperature in Vancouver during our stay was in the 30 degree range our apt had a fan and AC so sleeping was quite comfortable. Chris was very helpful giving us directions to different places throughout the city and made several suggestions for sight seeing which was great!

The apt it self is very well stock, towels, shampoo and other toiletries were available in the bathroom. The same can be said for the kitchen, enough plates, glasses and pots, microwave and it even had cold water in the fridge as well as a water bottle! I recommend anyone thinking about staying at this property and I will be back next time I’m in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

New Westminster short term stay

Review submitted: July 24, 2009   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

The apartment was convenient for touring as the Skytrain station was very close and major routes into Vancouver were easily accessible by car (a back alley parking space was available which was great). The area is quiet and seemingly very safe. The apartment was clean, and well equipped with everything one should need on a short trip (except the laundry which was in the basement and meant when we started laundry we had to finish it before we could go out instead of starting it and coming back to it later. The ad misleadingly makes you believe it is right in the apartment, which would allow more convenience). The bed was quite uncomfortable despite the owner's repeated assurance that it was very good quality and comfy. This may be due to the fact that it is a fold into the wall style of bed with a spring type frame instead of boxspring, so it was very bowed down in the middle area like a hammock, and left us with sore backs in the morning.
Both the owner and the building manager were very helpful and friendly, which made our stay more comfortable.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Our guest's comfort is very important to us. Since this customer's stay, all beds in the building have been changed to new, high-quality, pillow-top queen beds. They're quite luxurious, and the response has been very positive. In addition, one suite has been equipped with a special memory-foam Plasma-Bed for guests with back issues.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

We enjoyed our stay!

Review submitted: June 5, 2009   Date of arrival: June 3, 2009

The Royal Eagle's a lovely spot. We felt at home. The suite was roomy, very clean and comfortable. The building was really quiet too. The manager Chris was friendly and helpful. If we return to Vancouver, this is the place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: June 5, 2009   Date of arrival: June 5, 2009

Suite was exceptionally clean. Must say after we stayed there that hotels just don't compare. The bed was just devine. We used the kitchen every day and even baked some muffins with pans the manager lent us. Chris was helpful, and steered us toward the best sights. We're glad he recommended Lighthouse Park, where we spent half the day watching sailboats and seals playing. Will definitely recommend this place to our friends!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review