reviews for: listing #60151 - Tybee Island, Georgia Townhome rental

Kee Kee's Cottage -Pet friendly - Shared pool!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $130 - $190 /nt
    $750 - $1,075 /wk

sort by:

What a Gem!

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

Wow! What a value! We LOVED this cottage. The neighborhood was quiet and still only a short walk to the beach. The house is just perfect. We (especially our dogs) loved the balcony. This was my first visit to Tybee and 4th to Savannah. I absolutely love this area and staying on Tybee is so ideal. It was a dream to find such a great place to stay that is pet friendly and so convenient. I definitely have plans to come back! Thanks for being a part of a wonderful stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a complimentary review for KeeKee's Cottage. We are always so pleased when our guests enjoy their stay on Tybee, their visits to Savannah and especially the location & accommodations of our beach cottage. Please come again! Kay & family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a value!

Review submitted: December 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

With Savannah being a top ten destination in just about all major world travel publications every year, we've always found Savannah beach (Tybee Island) a little out of our financial reach. Motel rooms with two double beds (NOT good for us with 3 kids) can be $300 a night by the time you pay the taxes easily. We were thrilled to find this great cottage with plenty of room for us (two bedrooms and two baths and sleeper) that is so well equipped and comfortable at SUCH a great price! We're coming back in summer for sure! Interesting and lovely owner....we found out her family has been in the area over 200 years. Part of the road to Tybee is named for her family. We didn't have any issues, but she called twice to check on us. Oh, when we come back in summer we'll have the pool to use which is impossible to find at a cottage, especially at this price. We are so pleased and appreciate our stay very much.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

GREAT property for us and wonderful ownes!!

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 17, 2013

Normally I never write reviews; I think the process is silly and often a tool for people to take their life problems out on someone else, OR for those who have unrealistic expectations. (like giving low ratings if they don't get a Mercedes for the price of a Volkswagen Bug.) I have to on this though. I'm on an extended trip to spend some time with family in Savannah AND I wanted to spend a few days at the beach. I logged on since I'm at the family house now to try and see if this cottage has dates open I need for spring. I noted a couple of reviews that are absurd in my opinion and had to comment. I am a four time repeat guest to this darling cottage and I love it. First, for people to expect to visit a southern beach area and NOT face the possibility of Palmetto bugs is silly. It's going to happen if they want to come in; it doesn't matter WHAT you rent. (look like roaches.) BUT, if I did, I know this great owner (Kay) will respond. I've had a couple of minor issues and she went far, far beyond the call to handle them and very quickly! I think (another reason I hate reviews) is that once people feel they have an issue like that they make up other ones to add often. I know the mattresses were new when I visited a bit earlier than the person saying they had old mattresses, for example. The review calling children in the pool "infested" is really something! Do they think the rest of us hate children? I think on that review the people wanted the Ritz Carlton for a Motel Six price too. This cottage is comfy and charming!!! Its price has been kept down for years and you couldn't get a motel room now for what it costs I don't think. It's 2/2 with a nice kitchen and living room and pet friendly...and there is a pool to use!!! It's not luxury; you're not paying for that. If you want a $600 a night place; get one.On Tybee you pay for closer to the beach. It is a few blocks but I ADORE the quiet neighborhood myself! I can come more often by not paying about $100 a night more for every block closer to beach. I've been coming to Tybee/Savannah for 26 years and this is the best value for what my family needs that I have found yet. Be sensible about what you want for what price and what you get for a price..and don't come to a Southern beach if bugs will freak you out if they want to come in. Then come make up your own mind. You don't know me OR other review people.:) I LOVE this cottage and the owners. Oh..if disabled don't choose this..steps to get in!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful cottage at great price!

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 28, 2013

Caloonie's Cottage ....Thank
you so very much for a wonderful stay at the cottage!!! The
accommodations and thoughtfulness in the little things that were present
there were so appreciated. Thank you again for a very memorable
stay. I'm sure that we will return in the future for another visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We couldn't wait to get out of this rental!

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: September 30, 2013

Pros: Easy to contact owner.
Friendly owner.
Safe location.
Quiet location.
Walking distance to park and beach.

Cons: infested with roaches- we had exterminator return a second time and STILL had roaches walking around. This was the worst part, being crawled on by a cockroach while nursing my child in the rocking chair.
Kitchen had so many roaches that I refused to use it-put all food and silverware/cups in the microwave and fridge to keep the bugs off.
Second worst thing was the filth. Had the cleaning company come out upon our arrival because the home needed a major dusting but they weren't allowed to clean crumbs from drawers, silverware trays, baseboards, or even wipe down the pantry with food smeared on the wall and crumbs on the shelves. The owner has to authorize them to do a deep clean and they hadn't done that since before the summer season. Every surface above eye level, shelves, tv cabinet, ceiling fans, had THICK layers of dust. The wicker bedroom furniture had dust and dirt on all of it, you could see the thick dust through the wicker headboard. Under cabinets, beds, chairs had thick dust. There was even sand on one bedspread upon arrival.
Furniture is SO old which is ok but it's super uncomfortable. The beds at a minimum should be updated.
All of the sheets for the queen bed had a tear or two, some towels had holes.
Kitchen was minimally stocked with cooking equipment-all very old and overly used.
No paper towels, one roll of toilet paper per bathroom, no trash bags, and an almost empty can of roach killer spray upon arrival.
The cracked shelf in the fridge makes that whole level unusable and makes fitting much food in the fridge difficult.
Really just felt like a dirty home and NOT a vacation. ESPECIALLY with roaches crawling across the floors. If it were better insulated to keep bugs out and remodeled it wouldn't be so bad but I NEVER want to return.

Owners response: Goodness. We had pleasant communication with this renter which makes this review shocking. We always respond quickly to any issue. My feeling is that perhaps those from Utah are not familiar with the fact that one cannot always avoid palmetto bugs in a southeastern beach area. One can't "insulate" against them...and a $1,000 a night property is just as vulnerable. We do send the "bug people" very quickly if we are advised of a problem, which I think has happened twice in 13 years. That issue has nothing to do with this property vs. any other.
I think when something like that upsets someone, perhaps it's easy to try and decide emotionally that "everything else" is wrong. We knew in advance that this person loved to cook so the owner made a special call to see if everything was OK in the kitchen in terms of cookware, supplies, etc. We were told it was fine. The mention of beds makes me feel that all of these side issues were perhaps "emotion." I can provide receipts for NEW beds the month before this guest visited. It is not possible that our cleaning company would be told there are certain things they are not allowed to clean! :) Also, the cleaning company had left the normal "starter kit" of supplies including paper towels and toilet paper and garbage bags as is standard for all guests. If we had been asked for more supplies though, we would have assisted.
Any issues expressed to us during this long stay were addressed immediately. Again,we can't control the palmetto bugs but took care of the issue.
We have investigated and can find no holes in linens or towels. The cleaning company has been told to of course keep an eye out for anything like that as always
Sometimes people expect one of the a $500 a night properties for the price of this one, which is lower than many motel rooms. This is a comfy and precious and spacious two bedroom two bath cottage with a pool to use (VERY rare with a cottage) that the HUGE % of our guests VERY much enjoy, as does our family!!!
We are local owners and will respond quickly to any issue about which we are called. We can't do much after people go home and haven't told us of "issues", like feeling that one month old mattresses are old.
We look forward to many future very happy guests as we have had over many years. If there is an issue a guest informs us about when here, it will be most certainly addressed!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Amazing value!

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

I'm sorry it's taken almost 3 months for us to get to this review..busy summer with the kids! We are frequent Tybee visitors and normally stay in a one bedroom condo, but we needed more room for this last visit but also wanted a pool. This cottage is an Incredible value for the price. If you know anything about Tybee you know what even motel rooms cost! This is very, very reasonable for 2 bedrooms, two baths and plenty of living space and I don't think there is anywhere else on the island where you can get a pool with a cottage. It's well decorated and supplied and the owner is so charming. I don't know if it's OK to comment on another review, but when I started to write I read down a few. There is one that is totally nuts to me. I object to children being in the pool being referred to as "infested." My children love the pool and they are not roaches. That would be infested. That gives you an idea about the rest of that review I think. Yes, the cottage is a few blocks to the beach. If anyone wants closer (which is too much noise and crowding to me) they can pay for that! You aren't getting a $500 a night place certainly, but you are getting a clean, cozy cottage with nothing wrong with it at all that we could see except one small bend in a fridge shelf. One thing I forgot to mention to the owner though is that I think the grill on the balcony is bad. I'm pretty sure grilling on condo balconies on Tybee is illegal.
This is a great place to walk a pet around the neighborhood if you bring a pet. Oh..this is a raised cottage so if you have a handicap don't take it. You have to climb steps to get in. We'll go back to our one bedroom condo we always rent next time we have only 1 kid with us, but, when we have all three, we'll be back to this great place. I've looked around Tybee for years for something like it for anything like a price we could afford. THIS is it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great July Vacation

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Our family of five- ages 16 years and up- really enjoyed our first vacation on Tybee Island at Caloonie's Cottage. We were very comfortable and felt the pictures and amenities listed on the website were very representative of the welcoming touches the owner had chosen for the property. Although we did not use them, having beach towels and beach chairs available was really nice and thoughtful. My husband and I relaxed in the pool one afternoon while learning more about the area from neighboring residents. Tybee Island is a great place for a quiet vacation while having the necessary conveniences available- We loved the IGA! We are so glad our daughter chose Tybee and Caloonie's for our family vacation and to celebrate her high school graduation. We will keep Caloonie's in mind for future vacations and have recommended it to friends. The Herricks and Kay were easy to work with and provided many tips to make our vacation memorable.
Thanks!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxation at its best and comfortable accomodations!!!

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Comfy inside and out. The kitchen is fully equipped and even has lots of extras! The open great room is perfect to enjoy each others company has a wet bar and the bedrooms are private on the opposite sides of the home. The sun porch has comfy furniture, tables, a grill and a serving cart. The w/d is AWESOME to have and works great, there is even a dishwasher. Today is only Monday and we are so happy to be enjoying our stay so far and we get to stay here till Saturday! :) OK off to enjoy the pool.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice place to stay at a great price

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

The cottage was exactly as it was portrayed online; it was roomy, bug free and very clean and had all the amenities of home. It met all of our expectations and was very comfortable for the 5 of us..(6 if you include our dog, Bailey!) :) We loved the fact that there were 2 bathrooms and we had our private bathroom and the washer and dryer was a godsend. I did all my laundry before we returned home and didnt have to do anything but unpack when we got home and enjoy the last day of our vacation before returning to work. There is a little walk to the beach as mentioned, however, we are overpackers no matter where we go and decided to take the car and park right at the beach anyway, which was no big deal. Kay (the owner) came by to meet us and make sure everything was going ok which was a nice touch. It was a great place to stay and i would definitely urge anyone that wanted to go to Tybee to rent this property.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Big disappointment

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

I truly wish i could post the pics I have taken of the nasty scratched cabinet doors, the dirt encrusted bathtubs, the disgusting toaster (ick!), the broken shelves in the fridge, the spider web infested & gross entryway, the tattered hole ridden towels & linens, the disgusting broken medicine cabinets, the sign for the broken garbage disposal scolding previous guests for breaking it, the dust collections on the frames everywhere, the watered down hand soap in a pump (I mean, really??? I threw it away.) & lastly, the pathetic rusted out grill that would certainly dump coals onto the deck and catch the place on fire should I use it, but I can't. Take my word for it, unless you are used to sleeping in the biggest dives imaginable, this is NOT for you. I feel like the biggest fool ever for paying so much for this overpriced shack/duplex. Be warned, this is certainly NOT a cottage.

Please note, that the walk to the beach is a hike NOT an easy walk, especially if you want to take a cooler and chair. We just drove and paid for parking, you just need to figure parking into the overall cost.

The pool is a joke - chain link encircled & tiny with two lounge chairs & a patio set infested with children...not a bit relaxing or fun. We didn't use it at all.

Reading the other reviews, I can only surmise that the writers must be friends or family members of the owner or used to sleeping at the the Hotel Hell. Sadly, this place could be cute but a major overhaul would have to be in order. First, a change in cleaning companies, more comfortable mattresses (All of us, including our young daughter had backaches by the third day), major decor changes & appliance repairs would be needed. Cleaning supplies are NOT provided. Owners should help guests keep the place clean! My advice? Pack almost everything imaginable, even for the kitchen, extra linens, fans, cleaning supplies.

The pros? Washing machine/dryer worked & were handy. Wifi & password provided...a welcome distraction from the sad surroundings, albeit at a crawling pace if more than one person uses it. Two fans are provided which you need to keep the shack cooled. Strangely, surround sound is here.

What a waste of hard earned money. So disappointing.

I have not contacted the owner as there is nothing that I would want from her except for a goodly portion of my money refunded. Barring this, having my very ACCURATE review show up here is the only reward necessary. You have been duly warned, traveler.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

WOW....SO NICE! GREAT LOCATION

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

Vacation this Easter April 6-16, 2012 was a great get away. Caloonie's Cottage is a wonderful place to stay. Accommodations are top notch. Pool was out of order but the owner made sure parking on the beach would not cost us a dime for the week, genuine family. The location on the island makes it perfect, close enough to 'down town' and the Pier, yet far enough away for peace and quiet! Would love to make plans for next year, vacation at Easter.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Caloonie's cottage is our family's Tybee hideaway and we are always happy when our guests have such good things to say about their stay at Caloonie's and their experiences in Savannah and on Tybee. Thanks so much for sharing these comments and we hope y'all will return soon. Sincerely, Kay

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WONDERFUL COTTAGE

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

We have been coming to every summer for years. Last year we rented this cottage for the first time and were extremely pleased. It was everything it was advertised as. We particularly liked being away from the hustle and bustle of the beach, but within walking distance. We enjoyed the "neighborhood feel" when we came home from beach each night. The cottage was comfortable, very clean and Kay was a great help.

I should have written this review earlier, but didn't think about it until I looked it up to rent again. I would highly recommend it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Randell and Rebecca...We so appreciate your looking up Caloonie's cottage to return AND taking the time to write a lovely review for us. We're glad you like our spot; we think it's a great location on Tybee for convenience.... BUT also for a little privacy. We can understand being away a bit from the noise and crowds as being a preference; we feel the same way.
You are always welcome and your thoughtfulness is appreciated!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A great, well equipped, clean apt.

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Just spent four nights at Caloonie's.
Really a great experience.
Very clean, very well equipped, with all the little details one might need.
A truly, highly recommended place to stop and visit Tybee Island.
An easy walk to the beach, yet away from the noise of Butler Ave.
A wonderful place.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wished we could have stayed longer!!!!

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 27, 2011

We had such a great time and Caloonie Cottage was just perfect. It was so easy to rent and meeting Kay the owner was great. Very nice lady with lots of information. We took some of her advice and were very pleased. Remember to take lots of quarters for parking in town and at Savannah. We will definitely return. The Mallory's.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Simply Wonderful

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

This was not only easy to rent due to the helpfulness of everyone involved it was exactly as described. The house was clean and comfortable. My mother, my three sons and myself stayed a week and didn't want to leave. The pool was fun and the neighbors that live there were very nice. The owner and the staff did everything possible to accommodate my requests and they succeeded. The customer service was something you do not see anymore. I would recommend this house. The only problem at all was that the dishwasher door didn't want to close well. Once we figured out how to get it closed properly there were no problems. I would definitely stay here again and am already planning to do so next year. I can only hope that when I get my date to go, it is available.
Thank you all for a wonderful stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Hi Gayle,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of Caloonie's. We are always so happy when our guests enjoy their stay. We love Tybee and want all our visitors to leave with a desire to return. We hope you and your family will come again soon. Be sure to mention that you have stayed with us before. Best Regards, Kay

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ignore review from York,Pa-This cottage is very clean and no bugs!

Review submitted: October 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

Exactly as described and pictured. No hassles. Split bedrooms and baths are perfect for privacy, then all can meet in the living room/dining area, on the deck, or at the pool.
Bring bikes if you have them because you can ride or walk everywhere on the Island.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

Thank you so very much for a wonderful stay at
the cottage!!! The accommodations and thoughtfulness in the little
things that were present there were so appreciated. Thank you again
for a very memorable stay. I'm sure that we will return in the future
for another visit.
Sincerely,

Dean
Grand Blanc, MI - Mercedes Benz

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Caloonie's Cottage...BUGS!!!!

Review submitted: July 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Caloonie's Cottage is dirty and infested with bugs. Don't waste your money.

Owners response: We'll always be VERY sad to have an unhappy guest, but we feel that this review has no basis in fact.
(We have emails files from many, many happy guests over the years and will be happy to share those...many have said they always welcome our sharing their emails.)
This guest arrived when Tybee was setting record temperatures for heat. Our surmise is that they didn't like the island or the temperatures.
Although the OWNER family used the house immediately prior to these guests and saw no bugs, and we know we left it VERY clean, we wanted to take this guest seriously. (there were about five hours between our departure and their arrival.)
Had they called us immediately, we would certainly have offered to pay for a motel until we could check for bugs. However, they called AFTER they headed home and indicated that we'd get bad reviews if we didn't give them a full refund. We expect that perhaps they wanted to go somewhere less than 100 degrees.
Owner Kay Arnold went that same day with a bug man to check the issue. Although islands can get Palmetto bugs on occasion, he could find no evidence of any bug, alive or dead. I (Kay) have that report.
We did not refund since we or "bug professionals" could find no problem! Thus, we received the review we were told we would receive.
Thankfully this was a "one time" situation and we're thrilled that our guests tend to be very, very happy. They have very attentive and responsive local owners always available.

Helpful votes: 16 / 24

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review