reviews for: listing #60174 - Hilton Head Island, South Carolina House rental

Your perfect getaway home in Hilton Head
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Palmetto Dunes
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $285 - $575 /nt
    $1,000 - $3,995 /wk
    $2,500 - $15,980 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

“Great location and excellent owners”

Review submitted: August 13, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

We had a great stay at 4 Dinghy. The house is an awesome location to the beach and other Palmetto Dunes amenities. The house was decently well equipped with things but a few kitchen items may need to be purchased or brought with you. The beach towels that were provided were a huge plus and helped in packing with kids. The pool was very nice- some shade and some sun. The beds were comfortable and in general we were very happy. We had some issues with hornet nest and the owner/rental property managers responded within hours of our inquiry for help. They also followed up to confirm that things were ok. I highly recommend this house for rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Spot

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

Perfect house for multiple family vacation. The location was perfect and very short walk to the beach. We cooked almost all our meals at the house. We loved the open kitchen/living area and having the additional refrigerator in the large laundry room. I would highly recommend this house and I hope we can book again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable and Private

Review submitted: May 24, 2014   Date of arrival: May 10, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Hilton Head and this beautiful home. It was great for 6 adults and 3 very young children. The bedrooms were comfortable and spacious and the bathrooms were too. The kitchen area was huge with plenty of dishes and equipment and seating for everyone.
It was beautifully decorated and the lighting was very good.
The pool area was wonderful and fairly private even though you are surrounded by other homes. The landscaping gives you a lot of privacy. Also the walk to the beach is very easy and surprisingly close.
We could have stayed on and on.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful spacious home for families to share

Review submitted: May 24, 2014   Date of arrival: May 10, 2014

This house was wonderful for 6 adults and 3 very young children. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable each with a bathroom and the large open great room with kitchen, dining, and lounging areas was more than we expected. Great porch and gorgeous pool. Short walk to beach. We enjoyed our stay very much. the kitchen was very large, and had a great supply of dishes, glassware, pots, and even cleaning equipment, but some appliances may need an upgrade. There were plenty of beach towels for everyone and a huge laundry room. The house was beautifully decorated from the foyer to the first level and second level. The 4th bedroom was in an attic with entrance from a winding staircase and no door. But it was beautifully done for children with lots of beds; the 3-year old loved it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

just what we needed

Review submitted: March 22, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

Well appointed, close to beach and amenities. Family and dog had a most enjoyable and comfortable beach. The heated pool was perfect for the cooler March stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter getaway - 2014

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

What a beautiful home...so comfortable! This pet friendly property was perfect for our little 5 pound pup; she romped through the home like it was her home! We were worried about the wood floors; but there was enough carpeting in the home that made it perfect for her to get around. This home is so spacious; the 2 living areas make it great for 2 families, or in our case adult children giving everyone privacy when needed. The property was beautiful inside and out, we couldn't have been more happy. The kitchen was well supplied and the beds were very comfortable, a must for a return. Beach access is so close; and biking on and around the property is a must. Thank you for having so many family games in the house to play with as well. Last but not least, the personal attention from the owner was so appreciated; communication from her was outstanding. Hope to return!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

exceeded my expectations

Review submitted: February 16, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

This is a beautiful home that is very conveniently located on the island in Palmetto Dunes. It is beautifully decorated with lots of open space. The living room/kitchen is huge. The master bedroom and bathroom are huge. The home is arranged in such a way that the space is divided and would work well with multiple couples or families. We had a wonderful time. The home seems secluded because of all the beautiful landscaping. It has it's own pool and is only steps from the Atlantic. We would stay there again, but I'm sure it will stay rented!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great visit

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

We had a wonderful time, the house was fully equipped and the decorating was very pleasing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great family house"

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

My family of nine loved this house. The location and the layout were wonderful. The bedrooms and bathrooms were all a good size. The open concept living area was perfect for being together but having room to spread out. We ate nearly all our meals on the screened porch and it gave our little ones a safe place to play. The pool area was nice and private. The walk to the beach was only a fraction longer than the houses actually on the beach. A great family house that we would love to rent again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Fantastic Family Vacation Home!"

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

In the twelve years of our Hilton Head family vacations, this beautiful home helped make this years trip the best ever. We had twelve family member all under this pretty roof and somehow, everyone had privacy and a place to get away for a little peace and quiet.
We were traveling with three generations and the easy beach access combined with a nice sized pool and a great location in Palmetto Dunes for biking and tennis gave everyone plenty to do.
I loved the master bedroom, plenty of space, a private balcony and a fantastic room were nice to come back to after our active days.
My teen daughter and her friend loved having their own room and the five teen boys (sons and nephews) all had a bed in the loft. The boys were able to stay up late without keeping anyone else up and then sleep in without the morning activities in the kitchen and living spaces to disturb them.
My sister in law and her husband thought the other guest bedroom with bath worked great for them and said their bed was very comfortable too.
I can't say enough about this bright cheery house, and am already planning next years trip back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Fun

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

We rented this comfortable home with our friends. Each family has two teenage boys. We loved the open kitchen, dining, and living room area. There was plenty of room for cooking and gathering, and we could easily entertain friends who came to visit. The kitchen was well appointed. The laundry area and extra refrigerator were very convenient. The screened in porch got lots of use. Beach towels were plentiful and nice. We spent most days on the beautiful beach, only a two minute walk from the house. Then we would come back and jump in the refreshing pool. The adults went to Alexander's one night for an outstanding dinner, located within Palmetto Dunes. The area is great for walking and riding bikes. Our week was relaxing and stress-free! Luann is a sweetheart and makes sure that everything is in order so you can enjoy your vacation!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

We had a wonderful family vacation at this home. The house was great for being able to spread out and not be on top of each other. We took our 4 teenagers/young adult children and the pool, beach and house provided us lots of activities. Well equipped kitchen allowed us to cook and eat right there. We even grilled out several times. We look forward to returning to Hilton head and to this lovely home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

4 Dinghy

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

The house met all our needs and expectations for a family reunion at Hilton Head. The four grandchildren had their own "loft" and there was plenty of room to spread out. The large family/dining area was great with cheerfully coordinated decor. The large screened in porch was served as fun headquarters for the children to play chess and other games. Everyone enjoyed the swimming pool and easy access to the beach. I would recommend this house for families with children. You have everything you want to enjoy very close - beach, pool, bike rentals, and beautiful, quiet surroundings. You really know you're on vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love this house!!!

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

We are regular Hilton Head vacationers, although this was our first time staying at this property. We were very pleased. The house is gorgeous, it is designed to fit many needs, but most of all, it is comfortable. It was perfect, not only for us, but for our dog. The house is on a very quiet street and is only one house away from the ocean. It was pleasure working with the owner, Luann. She is very concerned with making a vacation all that it can possibly be. This house and your rental experience will not disappoint! Book it!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation Home

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

Our family has enjoyed our vacation on Hilton Head three times and would go no where else but 4 Dinghy! The description provided in the listing is completely accurate, perfect location to the beach, Palmetto Dunes is an ideal vacation community. We have always rented bikes and are able to safely ride all over the community including on the beach. This year we tried out the Dunes House on the beach, just a quick afternoon walk and it was great for live music and food. Our family of 6 have been more than comfortable in the spacious rooms and have taken Grandma with us each time, she loves having her own space as well! We cook all our meals out on the grill and in the spacious kitchen then gather in the beautiful kitchen as well as enjoy our meals on the porch.
The owner provides customer service like no other! She responds quickly and is more than accommodating, such a pleasure to work with.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Home....Beautiful Island

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

We had an amazing time at this beautiful home in Hilton Head. Home is fantastic and well equipped..you will not be lacking for anything. We rented bikes (which was a great deal) for the week and I have to say riding on the beach when the tide was out was one of the most wonderful experiences...it was so incredible. If you have not ridden a bike in a while (like me) don't worry it is so flat around Palmetto Dunes with nice bike paths everywhere and smooth hard packed sand on the beach which makes riding very easy. You will want to go out everyday...it is great riding to the general store, to play tennis, hit some balls at the driving range, have a bite to eat at Big Jim's restaurant overlooking the gold course (Robert Trent Jones Golf Course). You could even bike to Alexanders restaurant in the evening if you didn't want to drive. I just cant say enough. It literally is a 2 minute walk to the beach and the beach is spectacular. It was only in the 60's while we were there but we walked or rode on the beach daily. The home is bright, clean and just plain enjoyable. So much room..there was only 2 adults and 2 children (kids had their own wing they called it lol) could easily had lots more people would have even made it more fun. We enjoyed several restaurants (Gillians, Dry Dock-local gem hard to find but great food, Fat Babys which is great for lunch wonderful pizza and subs worth going to, Steamers Seafood was great for dinner. There are so many places to choose from and we enjoyed every place we went to...no complaints. The home is also perfect for cooking and entertaining. The screened in porch is so enjoyable, we had our morning coffee out there each day. The home is clean, spacious and very well equipped and best of all is the owner Luann. She was there and available for any questions, helpful in every way and made the whole process easy. You do not need to worry about booking your dream vacation home(s)online with Luann (she has 2..we may try the one directly on the beach next time as we rode our bikes past and it looks wonderful). From beginning to end she was accommodating, helpful and kind. I have already told friends about Hilton Head Island and all the wonderful things to do but also about the great home we stayed in. You won't be disappointed. oops I can't forget the pool..it was great, nice and warm..there are lots of loungers and chairs..perfect for that afternoon swim, snack and a glass of wine!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great home..great beach location

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this second row ocean home in Hilton Head. It met all of our families' expectations and more. Also, the location is excellent with easy access to the beach. We couldn't have asked for more :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful, well kept home!

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Absolutely loved staying in this home. Our first impression was how clean it was. The pool and pool area were also clean. Loved how close to the beach is was. Didn't have to pay beach front prices, but literally took 1-2 minutes and an extremely short walk to the beach. Very spacious as well. I could see many people staying in this home at the same time and having plenty of space and bathrooms.

Seems like the owner cares about the condition of the home and asks for feedback, good and bad and actually makes changes needed, which is great and not always typical of rental homes. This was our second trip to Hilton Head and we would definitely stay in a home that this owner rents, either this one or another. I've already recommended this home to our friends!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and for completing our guest survey. New knifes and knife sharpener are on the way to the house as a result of your suggestions!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Beach House!

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We just returned from a great week in HH. For the second year in a row we stayed at 4 Dinghy and loved it. It is perfect for families with children of all ages. It is just a 2 minute walk to the beach! The features we loved the most were the swimming pool and the screened in porch. This house is in the ideal location! Our kids cried when we headed North!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely property

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

This is a lovely house with a wonderful, open floor plan. The colors were bright and cheery, and we used the screened in porch every day for nearly every meal! The pool is nice and sunny, no heating necessary. Luann is so sweet, attentive and easy to work with. Thank you for a fabulous week!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This place is a Gem

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

This property is fabulous. Not only is it close to the beach and tennis,it is bright and colourful.
The screened in porch right off the Great room gives you the feeling you are outside and the set-up of the bedrooms gives everyone a sense of personal space.

It is well equipped and roomy...perfect for entertaining and great for families with children of all ages.
The owner was attentive and personable and responded quickly to any questions we had.
We will certainly return to this place and would recommend it to groups of all sizes.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing house! Great Family Getaway!

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

My husband and I went there with his father, wife and kids. This house was set up perfectly so we could all have our own space and yet get together in one room and not feel cramped. This house is full of charm. The kitchen was perfect for preparing thanksgiving treats. The bedrooms are big and bright with lovely bathrooms attached. There is lovely porch to sip coffee in the morning and listen to the ocean which is two minutes away. We took our dogs to the beach every day for a multi- hour walk (in November dogs are allowed on the beach during the day). We saw lots and lots of dolphins each day. I would recommend this time of year to travel there if you want decent weather and low crowd volume. It was perfect. This would be my first choice for a place to stay when I go back, no questions asked. It was well worth the price. The owner was great to work with and very helpful. She gave me great information about events going on in the area. In the house there is also a book of information about the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Time Ever !!

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We have had a number vacations in Hilton Head over the years, but this one was by far the most enjoyable. On this trip, it was just my wife, myself, and our golden retriever. We used only the main level of the house -- with two more bedrooms, each with its own bathroom, and a loft with bunks for children, the house could have easily accommodated another family or two. Luann was a pleasure to deal with and stayed in touch with us via phone and emails.

A major attraction for us was a screened in porch, not common in most beach houses. When we weren't on the beach, we spent most of our time on this large screened in porch that looks out over a big swimming pool.

We all, especially our dog, enjoyed the beach which was a very short walk from the house. We have had other vacations that were advertised as just "steps away from the beach" but this was the closest we have been, with only one house between us and the beach. We really enjoyed the complete peace and quiet. In the evenings, and early morning, we felt like we were right on the beach, since we could hear the surf from the screened in porch.

We found the home very roomy, fully equipped with modern appliances, and furniture made for comfort. Our only regret was the short time we had to visit. We look forward to returning next year and spending much more time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another awesome stay in 4 Dinghy!

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

This was our second time in this beautiful HHI home. We had nine people and had loads of space. The kitchen is so well supplied we had no problem at all cooking for all nine people when we ate at the house. The lay out of the home is so that you have a wonderful, bright and cheery great room/kitchen area with a lovely screened porch overlooking the pool or you can get away for privacy to your own bed room and private bathroom. Luann is a delight to work with during the rental process and makes the entire vacation very accommodating. She truly cares if there are any problems or suggestions that one may have regarding her home. We will definitely be back!!! It's just a very short walk to the beach as there is only one house between the rental home and the beach walk. Very convenient.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Vacation Experience!!!

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

Luann is a pleasure to deal with. The entire experience was absolutely wonderful. This house was great for my wife, the two toddlers, nanny, and myself (plus the dog), but it could easily accommodate two or three families comfortably. I will definitely consider coming back to 4 Dinghy or possibly the Ketch house next year. Thanks for everything Luann, it was a pleasure.

Tommy & Cathy

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: March 18, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

To Luann,
How wonderful to have had the opportunity to spend a week in your beautiful Hilton Head home at 4 Dinghy. Our holiday with family has been fabulous, bedrooms lovely, amenities terrific, steps from beach, (10 miles of walking), so much to do and see. Our husbands are golpher's, better than Myrtle Beach in all aspects including cost, they say. Pool is lovely. Luann was very attentive, any difficulty was dealt with immediately, with graciousness.
Thanks again, we will see you again.
Sincerely,
The Families from Canada.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happy Place

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

We spent 6 weeks at this property in Feb/March. The house is airy, colourful, very well equipped and despite the enormous size of the great room, cosy. It exudes a cottage ambience due mostly to the fabulous screened in porch that extends the length of the great room. The space is wonderful for entertaining and large groups, with lots of seating. It is a happy place. And the utility room off the kitchen with the second fridge, laundry and tons of beach towels is a real bonus. Working with Luann has been an easy and very friendly experience. She is by far the best owner we have ever dealt with in the last 10 years. Any item we might have had an issue with she resolved immediately - like ordering a new phone system when informed that the existing one was inadequate. Bravo Luann!

All in all you are steps away from seascapes, sunrises, night skies and if the lunar calendar permits awesome moon rises as well over the ocean .... don't miss those!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

awesome beach house rental

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2009

My family and another family stayed here for a week in the summer. There were six of us and we had oodles of room. The decor is fun and beachy and we LOVED it. The floorplan is so that you can all be together for great times and meals yet still have the privacy of your own space with bedrooms and bathrooms being divided. The upstairs children's room is fun and large too. The girls loved having their 'own space' to go to when they got tired of the adults. The pool is awesome and so clean. The screen porch enjoyed so much and was very much appreciateddue to the bugs in summer months. You couldn't have a more convenient 2nd row house as it's just a minute's walk to the beach...which is large, quiet and clean. It was fun riding bikes on the beach in the mornings and through Pametto Dunes. Palmetto is so plush with it's natural vegetation that you always feel you have privacy when out at the pool, deck or porch. I would recommend this to anyone and we have hopes of coming back some year for another wonderful Hilton Head vacation at Dinghy 4. LuAnn is great to work with and always keeps us informed of vacancies and specials. You won't be disappointed.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

from a guest survey returned by our guest:

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

We had a fantastic vacation in this lovely four bedroom home. The open floor plan was great for family gatherings. We loved the screened-in porch for dining. The four bedrooms are generous in size and we liked the arrangement of the bedrooms on different levels. The children’s room is adorable and great for small children or teenagers. We recommend heating the pool as it really adds to the fun of the home. The pool is large with many chairs and tables surrounding it. The home offers just a short walk to the beach. We rented bikes and had a lot of fun riding on the beach and the many bicycle paths. We enjoying cooking on the grill by the pool. We ate out a few nights and liked the beach front restaurant that was a short walk down the beach. We had nine people in our group and felt that the home had ample room. This home is in good condition and in a great location.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great house in a great location

Review submitted: May 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

We had a fantastic vacation in this lovely four bedroom home. The open floor plan was great for family gatherings. We loved the screened-in porch for dining. The four bedrooms are generous in size and we liked the arrangement of the bedrooms on different levels. The children’s room is adorable and great for small children or teenagers. We recommend heating the pool as it really adds to the fun of the home. The pool is large with many chairs and tables surrounding it. The home offers just a short walk to the beach. We rented bikes and had a lot of fun riding on the beach and the many bicycle paths. We enjoying cooking on the grill by the pool. We ate out a few nights and liked the beach front restaurant that was a short walk down the beach. We had nine people in our group and felt that the home had ample room. This home is in good condition and in a great location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Vacation Home

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

We throughly enjoyed our stay. We were able to bring Grandma along with the extended space of this home, and easily could have brought others. The location is perfect within walking distance to the beach, and having a heated pool was the key to great vacation. We stayed in and cooked meals in the spacious kitchen as well as grilled out several nights by the pool. and it was very convenient to have a second fridge for beverages. Sitting on the screened in porch was an added luxury, it is a perfect place for us all and sit to eat together and enjoy the outdoors. The location of the home is in a great location, Palmetto Dunes offered beautiful bike paths so we were able to ride with the children, they were also able to ride around the immediate area as the house is set on a dead end culdesac type street which was convenient. We had bikes delivered for the week and were able to take daily bike rides on the beach as well which we all enjoyed. The walking distance to the beach is very minimal, just through a wooded path and over the dunes and you are there. We enjoyed taking breakfast to the beach to watch the sunrise and were able to see dolphins as well. The property was as described and spacious. It is nice the way the kitchen and living area is set away from the bedrooms so you can easily have quite time if needed be and be away from the central living space and the kitchen. Two families could easily enjoy this location and not feel they were in close quarters. My children loved the upstairs loft room and gave them a quite place for a break as well. The owner is such a pleasure to work with and truly went out of her way to accommodate us and ensure our vacation was an enjoyable one. We will defiantly return to this location as well as her other properties for a larger family vacation. This vacation home is ideal for those that want the ocean close by but the convenience of a pool

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a wonderful week at Hilton Head!

Review submitted: October 14, 2009   Date of arrival: October 3, 2009

We were very pleased with our stay at this home. The proximity to the beach was wonderful. The pool and the space surrounding it are a very nice size compared to several others in the area. The landscaping made the pool feel very private. Inside the home is very bright and cheerful and was clean. We traveled with another family and spent the majority of our time in the kitchen and living area. Because of the open layout of this area, we never felt crowded. The laundry area is huge and has a great deal of counter space and extra storage plus a second fridge. While the bedrooms were nice with plenty of closet space, the mattresses were not the most comfortable. My favorite part of the whole house was the screened in porch. It was very spacious with plenty of furniture although some of the furniture was in need of repair. I read on the porch each evening and you could hear the ocean from the house. The location of the home is close to the general store, the grocery and shopping and dining. We biked to several restaurants and stores. I was very impressed with the rental company and owner's response to anything we needed. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding 2nd row home

Review submitted: November 20, 2008   Date of arrival: March 29, 2008

A bit of whimsy sets this 2nd row home apart from all of the others. The great room (living room, dining room and kitchen) is colorful, spacious and sure to elicit a smile, plus it works! The kitchen is well supplied and great for entertaining. The laundry room, which is located just off of the kitchen, contains a second refrigerator for entertaining. The master bedroom is located just off of the great room and includes a large bedroom and a huge bathroom with lots and lots of shelves and storage. The huge screened porch is wonderful and we used it a lot. There is a t.v. on the porch and it overlooks the pool and pool deck. The pool deck is supplied with lots of chairs and tables and just a short and easy walk to the beautiful HIlton Head beach. The second wing of the house (reached by a short set of stairs just off of the kitchen) contains a small reading/t.v. watching area with sofa and two beautifully decorated bedrooms - each with its own bathroom. There is a loft in this area that contains two bunk beds so 4 children can sleep there comfortably and there is a small play area in the loft as well. The house is beautifully maintained and the owner if very responsive if you need to call for anything. This house is located in a quiet area of Palmetto Dunes and yet within walking, biking or driving distance of the 3 Palmetto Dunes golf courses, the Marriott Hotel, the spa at the Marriott, tennis, boating, shopping or dining. You won't find a more beautiful beach than the one at Palmetto Dunes. My husband and I rented this home for just the two of us and look forward to returning with our kids and grandkids in the near future. You will love it! Judi

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Beach House rental

Review submitted: November 18, 2008   Date of arrival: July 9, 2008

My family and another family stayed here for a week in the summer. There were six of us and we had oodles of room. The decor is fun and beachy and we LOVED it. The floorplan is so that you can all be together for great times and meals yet still have the privacy of your own space with bedrooms and bathrooms being divided. The upstairs children's room is fun and large too. The girls loved having their 'own space' to go to when they got tired of the adults. The pool is awesome and so clean. The screen porch enjoyed so much and was very much appreciateddue to the bugs in summer months. You couldn't have a more convenient 2nd row house as it's just a minute's walk to the beach...which is large, quiet and clean. It was fun riding bikes on the beach in the mornings and through Pametto Dunes. Palmetto is so plush with it's natural vegetation that you always feel you have privacy when out at the pool, deck or porch. I would recommend this to anyone and we have hopes of coming back some year for another wonderful Hilton Head vacation at Dinghy 4. LuAnn is great to work with and always keeps us informed of vacancies and specials. You won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review