reviews for: listing #602 - Mendocino, California House rental

Romantic, Garden Setting with Ocean Views and Japanese Hot
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Point Cabrillo
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $185 - $215 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Even better than it looks!

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

This property is amazing. Incredible views of the ocean, comfortable and clean beds and linens, a very romantic master suite, close to Fort Bragg and closer to Mendocino. The owner provided excellent customer service. Flipping through the guest book it was clear they have provided a rental for many happy and relaxed guests. It was perfect for our honeymoon getaway! If you're reading this, book it!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was the Most Cherished Stay

Review submitted: December 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

We had booked the place for 2 nights and every aspect of the house was great. This was our first rental on this site and were very apprehensive about the cleanliness etc. It all vanished the moment we stepped into the house. Picture perfect !
Great linen, has neighboring houses but still gives you that secluded feeling. Great tub ! Unlike the new plastic makes, the Japanese tub gives you a different sense of relaxation.
Kitchen was very well equipped, even had a good amount of groceries stacked up. Loved it ! and highly recommend it !

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Week!

Review submitted: December 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

Wow! That pretty much sums up in one word what the last week was to Diane and me. Your home is beautiful, relaxing, and well put together. We very much enjoyed the whole experience! While we have visited the Mendocino area before and knew what to expect, your home provided so much more than we could have imagined. The last night at the house, Diane and I were laying in the beautiful upstairs bed looking out of the window at a once-in-a-lifetime view of the moon surrounded by trees setting on the beautiful almost fog-free ocean. All in all a great experience. We’re already talking of booking next year’s vacation to the exact same spot, only this time for two weeks. We couldn’t get enough.

Thank you once again for the opportunity to relax in such a wonderful environment. .

Sincerely, Len & Dianel, Los Angeles, CA

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Romance with a View

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

To begin, our weekend stay at this charming garden get-away was spectacular. The romantic ambiance was stunning, but it was the details that made this stay incredible. Whether it was the charming piano, the antique fireplace, or the view from any given window, this home away from home is certainly a place we hope to visit again. - Justin A., San Jose, CA

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Dissappointed

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

First off, the setting is Very nice as the birds through the trees surround the house. The Ocean view is as described but then it got weird. The loft upstairs features the bathtub a few feet away from the headboard of the master bed with no privacy other than a shade. The view from that bathroom is to a roof of the garage. There are no dresser's or drawers to put any clothes so you will have to live from a suitcase. The downstairs bedroom is also unusual as the bed is on rollers reminding me of a hospital.
The Garden is very nice but not much of a focal as it is to the East outside the Garage. Also, better bring your shoes when going to the hot tub as you have to go from decking to sharp rocks and then a step up to the hot tub which doesn't have any lights in the area so don't plan on this trip at night. Also, the window sill couch is very dirty, full of mold and dirt which I almost left the house because of this but the upstairs was ok so we stayed for the last couple of days and had other people to visit when in town.

I don't know what else to say, but that I will never stay here again and I have stayed at 10 rentals in the Mendo area and this one is the worst I have been in.

Owners response: I am sorry that our house was not in the style that you were hoping. Our place was designed by a very famous architect. Most people view our place as being very unique; rather than being a typical Mendocino home; it is open to allow the light from the skylights to create a nice, warm atmosphere in every room.  The tub upstairs has been the feature that romantic couples love the most, because it is open, allowing for the view of the ocean.  We are in the art and design business and take a lot of time and thought in decorating our place. The bed downstairs is in fact a knock-off of a designer piece and collapsible if someone wants to use the room as an office.

Both bedroom closets have shelves for folded clothing and many hangers; there is ample room in both for many months of clothing without having to crowd the rooms with a dresser.  We prefer to have an open and clean design to our place rather than cluttered.

The walkway to the hot tub has round pebbles in the traditional Japanese style; slippers are provided in the downstairs closet. There is enough ambient light from the house for one to see; also there is a flashlight provided in the house.  Most people (including ourselves) prefer to not have light pollution while outside in the hot tub allowing for a more romantic viewing of the stars at night, surrounded with just the moonlight. Our garden was featured in the Mendocino Garden Tour; and we have a full-time gardener.

I am terribly sorry about the dirt on the sill couch; I have emailed our housekeeping staff immediately. The furniture in our house is white and fresh but sometimes people put their feet up without knowing.  Usually our staff is very good at keeping our place very pristine. The person who stayed there right before you in her review mentioned that our house was "extremely clean and fresh."

We have rented our place in Mendocino to hundreds of people in the last 10 years and I can honestly say that we have never received a bad review.  Most guests love our house to the point of asking if we would consider selling it in the future.  Our guests have been romantic couples, people wanting to explore the area, and honeymooners, many of which return every year and refer their friends.

Although most of your review seems to be a matter of personal taste and lifestyle, we take you comments very seriously and will continue to look into more ways to improve the comfort level of our guests and continue to maintain a 100% satisfaction.

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

The Perfect Vacation Home

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

The perfect home and location just minutes north of Mendocino Village. Beyond our expectations. Extremely clean and fresh! The Gardens were especially nice plus lots of Deck area creating a tranquil setting. The Hot Tub was clean and ready when we arrived. We would highly recommend this property and hope to return. Thank you for creating this special place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review