reviews for: listing #60322 - Pigeon Forge, Tennessee Cabin rental

The Bashful Bear, 6Br/8Ba Mtn Top Elevator Theater WIFI
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  8
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Sherwood Forest Resort
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $529 - $1,029 /nt

sort by:

So amazing!

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

This cabin was spectacular! The pictures were very accurate. My family visited Pigeon Forge for the weekend (it was about 20 of us ranging from age 3-60+). We had an amazing time and will surely consider returning to this great cabin!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

We were on our very first all family vacation to the Great Smokey Mountains. The Bashful Bear cabin was the best place we could have stayed. The cabin was just terrific and the view absolutely beautiful. The owner was great to work with and answered all questions we had. I highly recommend contacting the owner if you are planning a family vacation.

We visited Clingmans Dome and watched the mist freeze into frost on the trees - an exciting experience. We also drove the loop of Cade's Cove and saw gorgeous scenery and wonderful animals.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Ever...Definitely Going Back!!!

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

The cabin itself was EXCELLENT!!!! It was exactly as described in the pictures. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it lacked privacy and there were no internal stairs. The cabin is located in Sherwood Forest Resort and the cabins are very close to each other. I could (and did) stand on the porch/patio and have conversations with the group staying in the cabin next to us...they were very friendly :) But the lack of privacy was worth the trade off as the location was very convenient to everything. It was a relatively quick drive to the water/amusement park, horseback riding, ATVs, rafting, zipines, and other tourist attactions. The cabin has an elevator which was GREAT for bringing in the luggage, going from the 1st to the 4th level, and for after being super tired from a long day of activities, but it would have been nice to have internal stairs for those occasions when you didn't want to wait for the elevator or when someone forgot to close the door and the elevator wouldn't come when called. Another AMESOME feature was the intercom system. It was perfect for calling everyone to the main level and for reminding everyone to close the elevator door. We had a group of 19 people ranging in age from 4 months to 49 years old and the cabin had more than enough space for all of us. No one felt crowded and there was always somewhere to go if you wanted a quiet moment to yourself. We stayed at the cabin for 5 nights and no one wanted to leave. Because we were outside the cabin so much doing different activities we didn't have time to enjoy the cabin and all its amenties. Next time we are going to stay at least 7 nights. The cabin has a movie theatre and game room which were also GREAT. The owners were also SUPER!!! They were very responsive to all our needs. Again, although I didn't rate it 5 stars, I would and have recommended this cabin to friends and my family is already looking forward to coming back again next year for a longer stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Everything and more

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

This place is exactly as pictures. Absolutely beautiful views, wonderfully warm and comfy cabin made you feel like you were far away from civilization....yet it was just down the mountain. AMAZING!! First all family vacation since our kids are grown with families of their own and it was all we hoped it would be. Great communication with Management company and owners. All in all it was an easy vacation home and we would stay here again. One of our sons stated " this place has everything except a DRUM SET"
Thanks goodness, our grandchildren provided lots of singing, dancing and noise ...: ). Highly recommend!!!! Sad to leave at the end of our week.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Greatest FamilyVacation Ever

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

The grand kids did not want to leave the cabin. They watched movies, hooked up their X-Box, band and microphones to the big screen in the theatre room. When not their, they were playing air hockey, pool, shuffle board, fuse ball, or sitting in the hot tub. The view is breath taking. They also enjoyed zip lining, zorbing, NASCAR, and mini golf. The outlets were great. Everyone found something they could not live without. When not cooking in the well equipped kitchen, we ate out at some fantastic local restaurants. The apple barn was our favorite. The kids put this vacation right up there with the family cruise, which they loved. The only thing missing at the cabin was the free/anytime ice cream. I would recommend this for all families. A great bonding experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Disappointed

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

The location was very convenient, the view was great, and the cabin was beautifully decorated. However, the jaccuzzi tub/shower on the top floor would barely drain and it was disgusting getting in the shower behind someone and standing in dirty water with soap scum and shaved hairs floating. Housekeeping would have had to have known this when cleaning it last. Also, I was very embarrassed when my 30 yr old step son and his girlfriend told me they had a bathroom on the ground floor that couldn't even be used because of rat droppings all over the floor. I went to see for myself and sure enough, I wouldn't have expected anyone to walk around in there. Another thing, the theater room is a completely wasted feature unless you pack your own DVD's to bring. There are absolutely NO movies kept on site and the children were so disappointed not to get to hang out in front of the big screen. I would probably never stay here again because it was extremely over priced considering our experience.

Owners response: I apologize for the problems you found. While regrettable, Smoky Mountain critters do seek warmth during the winter months. Regardless, I had our Pest Control Company take the necessary actions to minimize future intrusion. I’ve instructed the housekeeping staff to start using the “Zip-It Drain Cleaner” and continue bleaching the tubs to prevent future issues. I have now bolded the section in our Welcome Letter stating that we do not provide DVD’s. The Theater is connected to the Internet, allowing you to access your Netflix account for unlimited online movies. Also, the Theater has a HD Cable box with The Premium Cable Package. Although we value all of the positive comments, we do take very seriously any concerns and address them immediately so our future guests will continue to have great experiences.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Siblings and Spouses Weekend = 18 People

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 13, 2012

My husband is one of nine children and was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer (non smoker) 15 months ago. I wanted to give him a gift he would never forget for Christmas. So, I got all eight of his siblings and spouses together and we spent the weekend at Bashful Bear. It was a total surprise to him. This was the first time ever that all 9 were able to do this...and without our 28 kids! The house was perfect for what we wanted to accomplish and we had a great time. Like most families, we spent most of our time in the family room/kitchen area. The table was large enough to fit many of us around it and we ate together and played many games. The fireplaces added a cozy touch. The views were perfect from all floors. The game room was awesome but the room I didn't think we'd use much, ended up being a favorite! They loved the media room! Being a divided family of both Kentucky and Louisville fans, we watched both ballgames in the media room in great comfort! The elevator was perfect for my husband, who can't do all those steps with his medical issues. The kitchen was plenty big enough for our brood. We had a sink issue on the first morning and water leaked everywhere in the kitchen but all we had to do was call Earl and he had someone there to replace it instantly. No worries. We usually stay up in Gatlinburg so this was my first time staying that close to Pigeon Forge and it was perfect. The neighborhood was perfect - just far enough away from town to feel like we were miles away. The house was perfect and I wouldn't change a thing. Patti was great to work with and very accommodating! Thanks for all your help! I'm sure we will be back again in the future!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Fairy Tale Wedding

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: November 29, 2012

Imagine a marriage in a precious chapel and traveling a short ride to the reception site at a beautiful cabin with a spectacular view. As you travel up the mountain to the reception you see the lights from the four story cabin shining like a beacon. When you arrive at the cabin, guests flow from inside the beautiful living area with a fireplace to the large porch overlooking a magnificent view of the mountains. My daughter wanted a small intimate wedding and reception with close friends and family and that is exactly what she had at the beautiful Bashful Bear. We had 30 guests ranging from 5 to 95 years of age and everyone felt comfortable in the cabin. Ten of us actually stayed in the cabin and were able to do all the preparation for the reception right there. The catering company easily worked around the large kitchen preparing the food. Earl and Patti were amazing in helping us with every detail as we prepared for the wedding. They could not have been kinder with their assistance and time. The pictures are exactly what you will experience at the Bashful Bear. The beds were super and everything was clean. The floors are beautiful, the rooms comfortable and attractively furnished but the very best is the view, the view. Our time at the Bashful Bear will be a treasured memory our family will have forever. We just can’t wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm glad you had such a fantastic wedding at our spectacular cabin. We are so glad we could provide your dream destination and help make your daughter's wedding at The Bashful Bear so memorable. We look forward to having you and the rest of your family stay with us again.
Thanks, from all of us at SkyView Rentals.
Patti Byrd & Earl Martin

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Girlfriends Getaway 2011

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

Fourteen of us, from all over the U.S., met for several days at The Bashful Bear. We had a WONDERFUL time!!! The house was as beautiful as the pictures show! We were all blown away!!! During our week, we went to Dollywood, did loads of shopping and went to the Titanic Museum--which all of us loved.

If you're thinking of staying here, you won't be disappointed! The house is huge, very comfortable, the movie room is awesome, loved all the games in the loft, the mountain views are spectacular, and it's the perfect place for a large crowd.

While there, be sure to eat at Bennett's Barbeque--really really good...and for breakfast, nothing beats The Pancake Pantry in Gatlinburg!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Terry! We loved having you and all the girlfriends stay at The Bashful Bear while you enjoyed Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. Hope you all can come back another time in the future and be our guests!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Look no further...BOOK THE BASHFUL BEAR!

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

Simply Amazing!! My family (16 of us!) decided last minute to do a family get together due to our grandmother falling ill. We wanted to all be together to make memories, but also needed some space! We LOVED the Bashful Bear. The cabin is amazing! We had a wonderful time cooking together, playing in the game room, watching movies, and sitting on the decks overlooking the mountains. Unfortunately my son got stung by wasps as soon as we got there. We called the owner of the cabin to ask where the nearest hospital was and he had someone come out as soon as possible to spray for wasps! We had everything we needed in the cabin to prepare large dinners..The booking process was simple and convenient and the communication was WONDERFUL! Thank you to everyone for giving my family a weekend we will treasure forever!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Making plans to return!

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2009

There were 18 of us here this week from ages 3 to 89! We came from Seattle, Michigan, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia and North Carolina. We had a great time.
The cabin was awesome with plenty of room. Morning coffee on the deck, watching the Smokies, was a great way to start our days. The week was filled with fun, food and laughter. Our families got to reunite and make more memories together. We are already making plans for our return!

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I felt like Donald Trump...

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 3, 2009

Three days was not enough! We had a great time here at The Bashful Bear. I'm so full now after the incredible cooking we did. This is my second time here and we plan on being back real soon.
The cabin was wonderful. I felt rich for once in my life! LOL! I felt like Donald Trump! Thanks for our great weekend!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A time to remember...

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2009

Had a great time and a heck of a work out up and down the steps! Spent time with friends and family...party, party, party! A time to remember...got to spend time away from work. Both my wife and I loved the cabin, the view, and the food: man was it good!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Marriage Celebration

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2009

The cabin was beautiful. My family from all over the country joined us to celebrate my marriage. Everything was wonderful. We all enjoyed ourselves: from Grandparents to small children! We want to make this a yearly tradition!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A lot of fun!

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2009

So much to do, so little time. A lot of fun!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breathtaking views!

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2009

I am with the Youth Group from Roan St. Church of God in Elizabethton, TN. There are 19 of us staying here this weekend.
I think your cabin is amazing! Four of the lady chaperones came down one night early to relax before the rest of the gang came. I haven't spent such a relaxing evening in a very long time.
We enjoyed the hot tub so much, and the views from here are breathtaking! I'm sure when the rest of the Youth Group gets here, they will find it amazing also.
Thank you for such a wonderful stay. God bless!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Youth Group from Roan St. Church of God in Elizabethton. TN

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2009

My name is Sheila Lyons, I am with the youth group from Roan St. Church of God in Elizabethton, TN. There are 19 of us staying here this weekend. I think your cabin is amazing. Four of the lady chaperones came down one night early to relax before the rest of the gang came. I haven't spent such a relaxing evening in a very long time. We enjoyed the hot tub so much, and the views from here are breathtaking. I'm sure when the rest of the youth group gets here, they will find it amazing also.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review