reviews for: listing #60323 - Pigeon Forge, Tennessee Cabin rental

The Elegant Elk, 6Br/8Ba Mtn Top Elevator Theater WIFI
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  8
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Sherwood Forest Resort
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $529 - $1,029 /nt

sort by:

Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

We spent the week of 8/4/2013 - 8/11/2013 and it was one of the best family vacations we have ever had and the best rental property we ever rented. The cabin was everything promised and more. We had 18 of our family members there for a week from 2 years - 57 years old and others that came for a day or two and then left. There was plenty of room for more. The best thing is that the kids had entertainment with the theater room and game room when we were not out doing things.
This is the cleanest property that we have ever rented. The rocking chairs on the porches are the best as we spent our evenings catching up and enjoying family time. The view at sunrise and sunset was spectacular.
There is a lot to do locally too. We hiked, zip lined, white water rafting, visited Gatlinburg, and did Dollywood Parks on different days. We needed a vacation from our vacation when we came home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family vacation at the Elegant Elk

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We would highly recommend this cabin for a family vacation. The listing photos were accurate, the cabin was clean and well-maintained. The questions and concerns we had where promptly answered. Our family did picnics at Chimney Tops and the Laurel Falls areas, took in the Dixie Stampede, went tubing (River Rat), and more.... We loved the pool and our hot tub. The layout of the cabin was great for meals, games in the evening with the family and just hanging out with siblings and cousins.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Ray and Char, we are so glad that you and your family had a wonderful time at The Elegant Elk. We look forward to having you again as our guests on your next trip to the Smokies!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Smokey Mountain Escape

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

Loved the property.Exactly as described.No problems,would stay there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks. Love to have to stay with us again, just to relax, sit and sip coffee on the deck watching the sun set and overlooking the clouds roll through the smoky mountains.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Time

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

Absolutely beautiful! The cabin is top of the line! from location, furnishings, rental process, etc. could not ask for nicer. Thank you for sharing you cabin!!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for having your family reunion at The Elegant Elk. We look forward to having you back. Earl & Sandra Martin and Patti Byrd.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEAUTIFUL!

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

Six couples met at the Elegant Elk for a weekend of MTSU football. Our team lost, but we had a great time! To start the views are spectacular! Cooking for 14 was no problem. Each suite was an oasis to itself. The game room was great! Frankly we did not spend much time in the theater or the sports bar, because we spent our time together in the living room, dining room, kitchen and the porches! Two kids were with us, and they loved the theater room. When the sun hoes down, WATCH OUT FOR RACOONS! They know where the garbage goes and where it came from. They must know they are the state animal, because they are not the least in fear of humans.

Earl is a great owner, and I have nothing but kind regards for the way he managed our stay! Everyone agreed to make this an annual trip, and The Elegant Elk closed that deal.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We’re glad you all had a great time watching the MTSU game. Remember there is always next year to win. And now you know the best place in the Smokies to watch the BIG game next November…The Elegant Elk!

You are right about the raccoons. They’ll be wearing Royal Blue if they know they can beg some food from you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Incredible Property!

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

My husband and I searched for two years to find the ideal location to celebrate our 25th anniversary with our family of 9 adults, 1 teen, and 2 young children. With Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg the chosen destination, finding an accommodation was made so easy when we contacted "The Elk" reps. Patti was especially helpful in letting us see the property while on a visit to the area. From that point on, there was no doubt "The Elk" would be our intended address for the family celebration! The location is perfect (away from the Parkway madness), convenient to acitivities both in Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, and in a lovely, quiet country setting. The VIEW is unbelievable from every deck. The home is elegant, roomy, and the floorplan was perfect for us (family with young children on the first floor--never heard them once), couples each in master bedrooms with en suite bathrooms, wonderful commons areas for gathering, playing games, porch sitting, privacy, movie watching, etc. The kitchen was a delightful place to cook for a crowd, with tons of room for helpers, and a refrigerator I wanted to take with me (HUGE!). Parking for four cars was tight, but we could have used more road space if needed. The pool (down the hill) was too cold at our June visit to be of much use. We enjoyed the movie theater instead with some streaming videos from Netflix (preloaded by Patti)! People went every direction for activities, from zip lining right down the road, to DollyWood, to Cades Cove for hiking. Something for everybody. And we didn't even begin to touch the surface of activities available and we were there a week! Obviously the house itself is grand, but the location is a real plus, given the traffic that can bring the Parkway to a standstill. We would definitely stay here again, and working with the rental agents was a real dream.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you all for coming to “The Elegant Elk” our mountain top jewel! We’re so glad you all enjoyed the beautiful sunrises, and sunsets over the mountains. And, YES, Patti does a great job for our guests and wants each stay to be special and someplace you will want to come back to. We’d love to have you stay with us again. Earl & Sandra Martin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Birthday in the Mountains

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

Our family totally enjoyed our stay at the Elegant Elk. We were celebrating a special family birthday and people had travelled from Alabama, California, Maryland and Tennessee to be together. We had everything we needed at the cabin to enjoy our time together. We had opportunities for privacy as well as ample space to be together. We highly recommend the Elegant Elk!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AMAZING FAMILY GETAWAY

Review submitted: June 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

We would like to Thank the Martin Family for such an amazing vacation. We had a group of 14 people, ages 9 to 78 and the Cabin was absolutly perfect. The views are spectacular and we always had something to do. It's funny we spent one week there but we will be talking about this forever. We hope to make this a regular annual trip. Thanks again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Parmer Family

Review submitted: June 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

We want to thank the Martin Family for a vacation that we will never forget, We had a group of 14 people ages 9 through 78 and the place could not have been any better, the views were spectacular and there was always something to do. We have decided that we would like to make that an annual trip.

Sincerely,

The Parmer Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow! What a place!

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2009

There are 10 of us here from Metairie, LA and Conyers, GA., all family. Wow! What a place! It's gorgeous. The view is breath-taking. The whole area is just fantastic.
I highly recommend the Dixie Stampede, great show and food.
I love that Gatlinburg is just a short ride away from the cabin. There are shops galore, and I love to shop!
Our stay here was heavenly. Thanks again from our gang to yours!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Time flies while you're here!

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2009

We had such a great time at The Elegant Elk! Do everything you can while you're here because the time flies! We can't wait to come back next year.
Peace and love!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love your cabin!

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 30, 2009

We had a great time this weekend! We are here with my fiance's company. We stayed for 3 nights and 4 days. We took the old time pictures, rode Go-Karts, went to Splash Country and shopped around. The cabin was huge and has a great view; we love it! We plan on coming back next year around the same time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our "Adults Only" Getaway!

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2009

We really enjoyed ourselves! This was our 'adults only' getaway!
We took the trolley to beautiful downtown Gatlinburg. The Mirror Maze is so funny when you use the 3D glasses! We also shopped alot along the strip in Pigeon Forge, rode alot of go-carts, played Putt-Putt golf, and of course, the SkyScraper Ride! Loved it all!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ideal Place for Family Gathering

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at The Elegant Elk. We had a very peaceful and relaxing weekend. The location is wonderful. We will highly recommend The Elk to our friends, and we can't wait to come back!
We found the cabin very clean and everything was so perfect. It was the ideal place for our family gathering.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love the movie theater!

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2009

We loved our stay at The Elegant Elk! We especially loved the movie theater! Thanks very much! Nina, Jon, Zach, Kevin, Olivia, Sophia, Dan, Kelli, Ryan, Joey, Julie, MacKenna and Chris

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review