reviews for: listing #60368 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii Condo rental

Absolute Oceanfront!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Alii Villas
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $180 - $220 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,540 /wk
    $4,050 - $4,930 /mth

sort by:

Comforting Kona Condo

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

Centrally located 2BR/2BA unit in Ali'i Villas. Everything a vacationer needs for a wonderful stay in Kona.

Nice touches include bikes, boogie board, coolers and more. Cute beach-themed decor in unit. Wonderful balcony overlooking ocean from two sides. Sleeping at night to the sounds of crashing waves. Relaxing beachy comfort and a good place to come home to at the end of each day. Nice extras and owner takes great care to have all the incidentals that make a vacation perfect. In fact, I have never stayed at any other VRBO property where the owner provided so many of the comforts of home like soaps, lotion, cleaning supplies including dishwasher and laundry detergent, trash liners, etc. The kitchen has everything you need for chopping, cutting, cooking & dining.

The condo, its views, its parking space, and all the extra touches make this one to return to. In a few words... Comforting Kona Condo in a great location at a great price!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful!!

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

We (5 people) had a fantastic time on our trip to Kona and our stay in this condo was one of the highlights. The location directly on the ocean with the sound of the waves, the dolphin, whale, and water sport viewing is wonderful! Oh, and the amazing sunset right off of the lanai. We also appreciate all the items the owner had for us to borrow during our stay (cooler, beach chair, mats, boogie board, etc.). That was very considerate, helpful, and much appreciated. I would not hesitate to stay at this condo again. I hope it is available for our next return trip. Mahalo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Location location!

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in this condo for 4 nights and it was perfect for us!! We absolutely loved hearing the waves all night and seeing the water as we opened our eyes each morning. We had breakfast on the porch, watching the dolphins go by. We packed picnic lunches for our beach days; there are coolers and beach equipment to borrow. I would recommend a car so you can tour the island and see all there is in the area. The weather was a bit humid, but there were plenty of fans to keep the ocean breezes moving. The owner was very helpful and responded to all our questions promptly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome!!!

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

Well I can't say I agree with the previous review and it certainly sounds to me like nothing short of a 5 star hotel would satisfy them. This condo was great and Barry could not have been better to work with. Is it a little older and used? Yes, but overall, there were no major complaints. Quite frankly, I don't really think you go to Hawaii to spend much time in your condo anyway! The kitchen is smaller, but more than sufficient. The views and overall location are absolutely perfect! As for anyone looking in, I am not sure how this is possible unless someone had really good eyes or binoculars? The owners asked very nicely if guests could water the plants (which we did twice in our five days), but if people aren't doing this and no one is staying there, then there is not much to do. Besides, they aren't dead, just a little "dry" :). The bikes were fine as my teenage daughters used them with no problems. The space is a little tight, but we are a family of six and had more than enough space for all of our belongings. There are plenty of extras which were super nice (groceries, toiletries, etc.) Certainly saves having to go buy them all which we have done at other condos. Barry was also super nice and let us check out very late (6pm) so we could fully enjoy our last day there without having to pack the night before. For the price, this condo is spectacular and I would absolutely rent again without thinking twice!! Thanks so much Barry for making Our stay the highlight of our trip!! Mahalo!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Condo!

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

Well, I can't say I agree with the previous review and I suppose if you are planning to spend all of your vacation in your condo, some of this might have been an issue, but for the price, the value of this condo was AWESOME! Barry could not have been more helpful and accommodating and I would absolutely rent here again. We are a family of six, and yes there was not a ton of open space but certainly plenty for all of our belongings. As for plants, the owners asked kindly that guests water them (which we did twice in our 5 days), but if no one is staying there, there is not much one can do. The views were awesome and I do not know how neighbors could be looking in unless they have really good eyes or binoculars! As for kitchen, it is small, but more than sufficient. I am not sure anything less than 5 star hotel could please the last reviewers, but let me assure you this is a very nice condo...a little used, but the location, the views, the customer service, the price and the sounds of the ocean more than make-up for any of the insignificant shortcomings. Having stayed at other condos, I would most assuredly recommend this location to anyone. Barry was also SUPER kind and let us check out VERY late (6pm) at no extra charge so we could fully enjoy our last day in Hawaii and didn't have to pack the day before! Thank you Barry for making our trip to the Big Island the highlight of our vacation. We can't say enough about how much we enjoyed ourselves and spend our last hours trying to think of ways to "miss our plane" so we could stay longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Never again

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

We found the location of this condo extraordinary but that is where it ends. The condo itself needs to be gutted and started over. The smoke detectors were missing. A stool was broken and shoved in the closet. We reported it but no one came to fix it. The plants on the lanai were dead - we asked if we could buy a few and plant them, but this was not to be - we stayed with dead plants for 3 weeks. The shower floor was black with dirt, which no amount of cleaning could remedy. There was no privacy - sheer curtains could not stop the neighboring building from looking right into the bedroom. The stove and fridge were rusting. There was bedding piled high on the floor in the bathroom closet. There was no mattress pad for the bed, just an old foam mattress on top of the mattress. The kitchen utensils were old and worn - the non stick pots and pans were losing their finish. The closets were stuffed with the owners things - there was little space to store our suitcases. We tried to use one of the bicycles but it was not safe - the brake handles were in the wrong place. The lanai furniture was torn and old. Electrical and speaker wires were draped haphazardly over the floor and curtain rods. We cannot recommend this unit. The view is wonderful, the neighbors are great, there are many other units to stay in at the Alii Villas - this one is not it.

Owners response: As the owners of "Absolute Oceanfront" we take great pride in maintaining a clean, updated, and well supplied unit. Appliances are high quality stainless steel and were purchased and installed in 2011. Kitchen utensils and cooking ware is replaced annually, as are potted plants. In addition, in 2012 we replaced the television and home theater system as well as several of the pieces of furniture. Although "Never Again" informed us upon arrival of the plant and stool situation, they did not advise us of any other items of concern and therefore had no opportunity to address them. We did inform them we would replace the stool immediately, but they responded that they had repaired it instead.

In addition, we make every attempt to keep the unit well stocked with items that our renters will find of use for their explorations. This includes extra bedding, coolers, beach chairs, etc. which are there not for our benefit, but for the use and benefit of our guests. We are saddened that not all our renters enjoy this amenity, but offer as further support, the following email we received from the renters that immediately followed "Never Again"

"Just a note to thank you for the use of your home for our vacation. We had a marvellous time, but then, what’s not to love about Hawaii ? The condo certainly met all of our needs, and we took advantage of the bikes, cooler and beach towels and chairs. Everything was clean and the unit well stocked. Some of the neighbours were lamenting a lack of amenities in the units they were renting; we could only rave about how well ours was stocked."

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Fantastic Views - Great Location

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

We've just returned from celebrating our anniversary with 8 fabulous days staying at this Alii condo. As promised, the condo is right on the shoreline. The views are even lovelier than the photos. And it's true - dolphin swim right past the lanai!

The unit was clean with lots of thoughtful extras, and the kitchen well-equipped with everything we needed to cook meals at our leisure. The condo community is situated close to shops, activities, and beaches.

The owner gave us great tips on activities and restaurants. There just wasn't enough time to do it all. We'd definitely recommend this place to our friends and family.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

property 331619

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2012

I was so pleased with this condo. The best thing was the view. It was fantastic, we could see so much ocean, waves, dolphins and manta rays went right by. The condo was clean and fully equipped. There were towels and bikes to use. There was a very nice pool and barbecue area that my son used often. The condo was an easy walk to the town. The condo manager, was very helpful with telling us good places to visit and excellent beaches. The condo is right near an awesome snorkeling beach, with the best fish we saw during the entire visit. We went to two other snorkeling beaches by car that were not nearly as good. There was nothing that was promised on the review of the property that wasn't true!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

incredibly ocean view condo

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

This is a super place to stay with a family for your Kona vacation. Because the ocean was calm during our stay we were able to enter the rocky shoreline and snorkel right below the condo! Very interesting and fun!

Comfortable for six, a bit cozy for eight. The kitchen was very well stocked for easy meal preparation, and the grill not too far away by the pool. The pool was also lots of fun after dark when we had it all to ourselves.

The price is exceptionally reasonable for the incredible view and location. It also felt very safe.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

# 1 Vacation in March 2011

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

The best part about this condo is that "Absolute Oceanfront" is NOT a lie - there is nothing more oceanfront than this! It is perfect.

This condo has is completely worth it. You can see the boats out in Kona bay, and there's enough room to comfortably relax and eat meals overlooking the sea.

It is also the most perfectly maintained vacation property I've ever stayed at. For an affordable condo.

The area is great - so much to do. Downtown is a 10 minute walk away, and there are tons of great restaurants and shops. Fantastic beaches and snorkeling are only a short drive away.

My whole stay there was excellent. I can't recommend it enough. I will be back next Summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular View!

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 27, 2011

that's about the most spectacular view from a residence we've ever seen, and really liked how the waves varied.

Also, the stone surfaces in the main bathroom are a nice touch, altho less quote-worthy. (Quote if you'd like, though.)
Yes, we had a very nice stay. One other observation - the daily gatherings for the sunset are a nice social aspect of your and neighboring complexes.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review