reviews for: listing #60398 - Mission Beach, California House rental

Grace's Beach House - Ocean Front South Mission Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Mission Beach
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $600 /nt
    $1,500 - $3,800 /wk
    $4,500 - $15,200 /mth

sort by:

Great Vacation For Any Group

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: April 13, 2014

We stayed here for a week with two adults and two teenagers. The home is wonderful. We used the bikes and volleyballs every day and the access to the ocean is easy. The house is clean and well equipped - every detail has been thought of. Pat and Mike are easy to work with. We will definitely call them next time we rent a home in San Diego. Thanks for a great vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

From the desert to the beach family get-away

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

We had a great time! Graces Beach House is close to attractions like Sea World, Old Town, The Zoo, and etc. but the best part is it sits right on the board-walk. There are volleyball nets, surfers, and waves right out the door. The bay is just around the corner, and the board-walk connects it all. The house has all the toys--bikes, sand castle building pails, beach towels, and boogie boards--more than we could ever need or want. Inside the house is clean and comfortable--it looks just like the pictures--with a well stocked kitchen, all of the linnens (even extras) and furniture made for relaxing. There was plenty of room for the 5 of us and activities to keep each of us occupied (from the five year old to her grandparents). My favorite activity was riding the bikes on the board-walk. My granddaughter's favorite was Disneyland, Sea World, and the zoo. My daughter voted for shell collecting on the beach and her husband chose the fish tacos at Oscars Mexican Seafood. We would recommend it for anyone, we'd love to return and in fact we didn't want to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Grace's House Perfect Spot

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

Great house right on the Mission Beach Boardwalk. The pictures don't do this place justice. Owners were very helpful. Plenty of kids beach toys, 4 bikes, parking for only 1 car. The property was clean, had everything we needed, everything worked. The volleyball courts are directly in front of the property so you always have action in front of the house. Enjoyed the patio to relax and watch the activities, ocean, and have a cool one. We could walk to Belmont Park and bought breakfast burritos at Mr. Roberts. The best happy hour was on our patio so didn't head to the bars on the walk, but plenty not 4 blocks away. We would recommend this property to our friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Beach Cottage & Volleyball Vacation

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Our stay could not have been better! The volleyball courts are right off the back patio and always provided entertainment to watch. My daughter played volleyball every day with the neighbors who were renting the house next door. Sometimes there were pickup games with others too. The amenities were as is we were staying at a friend's house. There was some basic pantry stuff (Ketchup, spices, etc) as well as some leftover coffee and peanut butter from former tenants. There's a market about 3 blocks away that has anything else you'd need, even meats! The owners provide liquid hand soap at all of the sinks and detergent to use the washer and dryer. There was even shampoo and the like in case you forgot yours! There's a cd and dvd player but not many leftover cd's or dvd's so bring your own if you want. The outside shower is fabulous for rinsing off after playing in the sand. It's such a great space, private house on the boardwalk so you definitely don't feel isolated but it is at the south end so you don't feel like you are in the middle of a frat party either. We can't wait to visit again. It's like a home away from home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

travellers from canada

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

What a wonderful house!! The house was very comfortable and clean--a real "home away from home". It was great to be so close to the beach and right on the boardwalk, especially since our kids are older. I would, and will. recommend this beach house very highly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Location, Comfort, and Hospitality!

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our vacation at Grace's Beach House. I am always a bit nervous about booking a place sight-unseen, but no need for worry here. The pictures and descriptions provided are accurate -- nice updates, new appliances etc. (The king bed was SO comfortable!) The house may seem small compared to the other houses along the boardwalk, but we (family of 5 -- mom, dad & 3 teenagers)found it very comfortable. Both Mike and Pat (managers/Grace's sons) were very friendly and so easy to deal with. They provide a lot of the extras too -- from beach towels to laundry soap to boogie boards. Being right on the boardwalk was incredible -- beautiful sunsets, fantastic bike rides, lots of volleyball action, . . . Grace's Beach House was a great escape from a LONG Minnesota winter! We certainly hope to return!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is a Single Family Home Not a Condo which consist of 2 or 3 units that is why our home looks smaller than the other properties. Most ocean front properties are condos and very few single family homes remain.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Cozy and clean!

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

What a wonderful house; clean, comfortable, well supplied, great owners to work with. Everything you need for a beach stay - boogie boards, bikes, sand toys, kites, beach towels, laundrey! Location is excellent - not the rowdy end of Mission Beach, yet still right on the beach and boardwalk. We loved the beach volleyball and basketball court nearby. Covered and outdoor patios (with BBQ) are great for any weather. The pictures don't do this place justice - a real jewel.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved our week at Grace's

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We just returned home after a wonderful stay at Grace's Beach House. This was our first time to San Diego and we were thrilled with the location and the amenities that this rental had to offer. Everything from beach toys (which were thoroughly enjoyed by our 2 year old), to the up-to-date magazines were provided and everything in between. We definitely hope to return some day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our 2nd home

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2011

I visit San Diego 1-2 times a year, and have stayed in some very nice places. None have felt as comfy, especially in this price range. Despite several rainy days, we truly enjoyed every moment at this rental. We we warmly welcomed, everything was high quality and worked, and there were many extras you wont find at other rentals. When we entertained our friends and family there was plenty of dishware and seating inside and outside. I am already looking to book another week or two in the future. Thank you so much for sharing your property with us, we had an amazing week at the beach!

JS - Firefighter and family, St. Louis, MO

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our 2nd home

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2011

I visit San Diego 1-2 times a year, and have stayed in some very nice places. None have felt as comfy, especially in this price range. Despite several rainy days, we truly enjoyed every moment at this rental. We we warmly welcomed, everything was high quality and worked, and there were many extras you wont find at other rentals. When we entertained our friends and family there was plenty of dishware and seating inside and outside. I am already looking to book another week or two in the future. Thank you so much for sharing your property with us, we had an amazing week at the beach!

JS - Firefighter and family, St. Louis, MO

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise in South Mission Beach

Review submitted: October 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

Grace's Beach House is truly a little bit of beachfront paradise. The house is as promised - granite countertops, top of the line appliance, pride of ownership shows. The location is magical! Right on the walk, near the volleyball courts and seconds from the ocean. You will have trouble leaving to see the sights. Pat & Mike were so helpful and welcoming, a pleasure! The house is right near the Gaslamp district, Balboa Park and the incredible San Diego Zoo. But the challenge will be ever leaving the house! Thank you Mike & Pat for a week we will never forget!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise on South Mission Beach

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

Grace's Beach House is simply paradise. An absolutely beautiful home thoughtfully mantained in the most incredible location. Beach front right along the walk and near the volleyball courts. You will have trouble leaving the house to go sightseeing!!! Grace's Beach House comes with everything - bikes, paddleball, beach toys, beach towels. But most importantly it comes with Mike Withey & Pat Withey who provided great service and were always available to us. The Withey's take great pride in this lovely home and it shows. We will most certainly be back!!! The house is near everything: San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Gaslamp District, LaJolla, Del Mar. Go and enjoy!!! You will have a memorable and wonderful stay!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The BEST!!!!!

Review submitted: September 26, 2010   Date of arrival: April 12, 2010

Amazing!! Pictures do not give this property due justice!!!! The view is fabulous... The location is prime... Gorgeous inside and out.... Super easy folks to work with....In fact we have already booked our 2nd trip!
This property is a true hidden gem.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our family had a great time, it felt like home...

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

What an excellent time we had at this beach house. We came into an immaculate setting that had everything we needed. All the rooms had comfortable spacing and each light in the house has an on/off switch, as well as a dimmer switch. The kitchen had all brand new appliances and utensils, a beautiful dining area to have dinner, and a beautiful family room that has comfortable couches and recliners. It felt like we could relax in there for days, until we went outside. The patio has comfortable seating for at least 7, a patio cover, and a grill to cook your family favorites. The view is great as well, you can sit on the patio and watch the ocean, as well as the volleyball games and full basketball court. If you have kids, they can play in the sand just a few feet away from the patio so you can watch them. Lastly, there were other amenities we couldn't find anywhere else on the Ocean Front Walk: bike cruisers, outdoor shower, a covered patio next to the open patio with windows, a Bose radio, and fire pits that are about 60 yards from the house (they are right by the beach shore near the lifeguard shack). For the price, there is no one that can beat this house in all of San Diego. Thanks again for an amazing week to remember!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful week!

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Our week at Grace's Beach House was wonderful! It truly lived up to all the promises. We loved the remodeled accomodations and all the special touches that made our stay like living in a home, not a hotel. We relaxed, sun-bathed, rode bikes, played games, watched volleyball and even played a little when the pros went home. The sunsets were lovely and we just had an overall fantastic time. Thanks for the opportunity to stay at Grace's!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Beach House!!

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

Grace's Beach House was the perfect rental for me and my family. They did a great job with the remodel and unlike other places we have rented, everything actually worked. We brought along 5 young children for a weeks worth of sand and boogie boarding. The location was great being right on the strand but down far enough that there wasn't tons of people. Volleyball courts where right in front of home and a huge hit with the kids. The home has everything you would need including 4 bikes, boogie boards and all the beach toys we needed. The hose worked well for washing off the toys and yes the kids. LOL. Pat and Mike where great in making us feel at home and welcome. We will be renting this home again next summer again hopefully.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Beach Hose

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2009

Grace’s Beach House was modern, immaculate, and equipped with everything you want during a beach vacation: free use of beach bike cruisers, BBQ grill, outdoor furniture, TV and WIFI. The house also included nice extras like coffee, soap, and shampoo. We truly felt like we were at home. house is perfectly located on the beach next to volleyball courts. It was wonderful to enjoy our breakfast everyday on the patio while watching the waves. You can also walk just a few blocks to restaurants and bars. We can’t say enough about the house and the gracious owners – we will definitely return during our next trip to San Diego!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Beach House

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2009

Grace’s Beach House was modern, immaculately clean, and equipped with everything you want during a beach vacation: free use of beach bike cruisers, BBQ grill, outdoor furniture, TV and WIFI. The house also included nice extras like coffee, soap, and shampoo. We truly felt like we were at home. It was wonderful to enjoy our breakfast each day on the patio watching the waves. The house is perfectly located on the beach next to volleyball courts. You can also walk just a few blocks to restaurants and bars. We can’t say enough about the house and the gracious owners – we will definitely return during our next trip to San Diego!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Beach House

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2009

Grace’s Beach House was modern, immaculately clean, and equipped with everything you want during a beach vacation: free use of beach bike cruisers, BBQ grill, outdoor furniture, TV and WIFI. The house also included nice extras like coffee, soap, and shampoo. We truly felt like we were at home. It was wonderful to enjoy our breakfast each day on the patio watching the waves. The house is perfectly located on the beach next to volleyball courts. You can also walk just a few blocks to restaurants and bars. We can’t say enough about the house and the gracious owners – we will definitely return during our next trip to San Diego!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Birthday getaway

Review submitted: June 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at the beach house! My husband and I were familiar with the area and return to San Diego 1-2 times a year. We decided to go with another couple and their kids and stay on the beach instead of a hotel. Best location for families with young children. Easy access to boardwalk, biking, walking on the beach. We were able to watch our kids play on the beach without leaving the comfort of our back porch. Very peaceful and quiet. When we wanted to visit our rowdy friends, we rode our bikes down to Jersey Ct. The pictures on the internet do not give it justice. The owner's were very pleasant and helpful. We felt at home and now look forward to an annual trip to Grace's Beach House. Can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a Wonderful Getaway!

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 21, 2010

The house was absolutely gorgeous; beautifully rennovated and stocked with everything we could need and more. The kitchen was well equipped to prepare great meals that we almost always enjoyed on the front patio. The location is ideal; close enough to walk or bike to the bars/restaurants/clubs/shopping, but far enough South to enjoy peace and quiet when wanted. The bikes at the house were such a plus, we rode all over the place. Volleyball is right across the Boardwalk, as well as fire rings where we enjoyed a bonfire one night. There are a couple of Markets within walking distance for anything needed, but the best part is that the ocean is right there! I can't say enough about this house, we just can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review