reviews for: listing #60413 - Manuel Antonio/Quepos, Costa Rica Villa rental

Tulemar Resort-Private Beach-Sleeps 9-Ocean Views
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Tulemar Gardens
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $4,500 - $6,500 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous!

Review submitted: June 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 25, 2014

This is our second stay in Tulemar. We loved it as much as we did six years ago. Mauricio makes all your arrangements for dinners and any activities and they are all top notch. This is one of our best vacation spots ever!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First time in Costa Rica

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2013

First time in Costa Rica and we had a great time at Tulemar. Staff went way out of the way to meet every need and even took us on a private snorkeling and surfing trip. House was amazing with great views, great pools and monkeys all around you.

Walked to some great restaurants and close enough to zip line, and all other activitie

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We learned the true meaning of pura vida

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

My family and I spent ten beautiful days in Tulemar at Villa Kiskadee. We shared a part of Manuel Antonio national park (literally -- only our panoramic glass windows separated us from it all) with butterflies, monkeys, sloths, toucans, Kiskadees, bats, spiders and other wonderful creatures visiting our terrace and lap pool. The people all care deeply about their environment. Everything about our trip was perfect. Mauricio Jara, our concierge, Luz, our housekeeper, and Rodolfo, our gardener, made sure that our needs were met -- including scheduling chefs for dinner preparation, arranging restaurant reservations and activities (fishing, white water rafting, zip line rides), cleaning the mud stains from my white stained linen pants, and pointing out wildlife. We saw amazing thunder and lightening storms, rainbows, and blue and rose skies. I could go on and on about this place. I will most certainly return to paradise.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mauricio arrived with a tray of home-made brownies

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2013

For two days in June and five in July, 2013, eight family members from California, Oregon, New Jersey and New York gathered at Villa Kiskadee in Tulemar for a family reunion. Ranging in age from 15 to 79, we arrived at Villa Kiskadee, a three-level, four-bedroom house overlooking the Pacific, a few minutes from Manuel Antonio National Park. Spacious, with great views from every room, and a fully equipped kitchen, the property exceeded our expectations. .

But an outstanding facility without guidance can be a stumbling block. The help was there, long before we flew to Costa Rica, in the person of Mauricio Jara, the concierge assigned to Villa Kiskadee. He arranged for transportation to and from San Jose, provided trips to the local market, arranged for tours, suggested restaurants and made reservations as needed. He showed genuine concern when one of our grandsons returned with a swollen foot from an accident while taking surfing lessons. Mauricio arrived with a tray of home-made brownies. On short notice for that evening, he arranged for dinner to be prepared for the eight of us at “home”. It turned out to be one of the best dinners of our trip. Mauricio also recommended restaurants, each of which was better than the next and arranged for transportation to and from each restaurant.

Though the private beach on the Pacific with chairs, kayaks and boogie boards was only a short walk, shuttle service was available for older members of our group. Tours were readily arranged, although the continuous wild life sightings available from the house-- monkeys, toucans, sloths, kiskadees and others—made nature tours seem unnecessary.

The house, combined with the caring service of all involved, made our week at Villa Kiskadee an outstanding experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Villa Kiskadee is a great home - lots of room and

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

We just returned from a one week stay in Tulemar. We stayed in Villa Kiskadee and boy, what a vacation we had! A total of 3 families (2 stayed in Kiskadee and 1 in a bungalow) with teenagers definitely had the time of their life!

Most of the arrangements were done with the help & expertise of Mauricio, from the moment we landed until we left. We landed in San Jose and picked up by Luxury Transportation (arranged by Mauricio). They were there the moment be got out of the airport terminal. Since it was going to a 3-hour ride, I made arrangements with Mauricio to pick a place (Villa Celletas - great food & view) for lunch half way and then grocery shopping before we checked in. All of these was done without a hitch.

The view from Kiskadee and Tulemar was unreal. The wild life that visited (monkeys on our patio) were thrilling. Who would think you'd actually see a sloth move? You can get a lot of exercise by walking (uphill) - we opted to do this. However, should you rather not walk, then transportation within Tulemar was only a phone call away. But, I strongly suggest that you walk - enjoy the rainforest and Mother Nature. In general, the staff working to keep up Villa Kiskadee were good. I've never seen a gardener/pool man work so hard everyday.

Villa Kiskadee is a great home - lots of room and very modern. The infinity-type lap pool as welll as the outdoor living space were thoroughly enjoyed by everyone. Kiskadee is furnished very well from the utensils, appliances & furniture. The beds could be softer but not a big deal. The bathrooms are spacious. Each room had its own wall safe which was good. We had issues with the ice maker but Mauricio made sure we had plenty of ice for the entire trip.

In my opinion, these are the MUST places to eat (all recommended & reservations made by Mauricio): Kapi-Kapi (my fav), Ronny's & Escape Grande. Go for drinks in Mariposa, the view is spectacular.

MUST do activities: So on the canopy tour (ziplining), go on guided fishing trips both off-shore and inland. This can be expensive but definitely worth it. Our group caught tuna, sail fish, barracuda, amber jacks, etc. We also did the catamaran tour to go sailing, see dolphins and get an ocean view of the Manuel Antonio National Park.

Other services that came to the house: How would you like to have your massage done in your patio? We did and it was relaxing. Todd & Cynthia came to Kiskadee. Then we had Chef Desiree make our dinner one night - that was yummy. Finally, w

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This place is tough to top and we will definitely

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

What a beautiful place for the perfect vacation! Our family of five stayed at Villa Kiskadee for a week in January and it was fabulous! The home is gorgeous with amazing views and the beach is fantastic! Our concierge, Mauricio, took care of everything (and more!) and he couldn't have been nicer or easier to work with! The beach cafe was a fun place for a breakfast or lunch; heaven! Restaurants are close, excellent and we so enjoyed eating in an open air environment in January! We loved zip-lining, jet skiing and touring Manuel Antonio National Park as well as our days on the private beach. People here are amazingly friendly and kind. This place is tough to top and we will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a beautiful place for the perfect vacation!

Review submitted: January 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

Our family of five stayed at Villa Kiskadee for a week in January and it was fabulous! The home is gorgeous with amazing views and the beach is fantastic! Our concierge, Mauricio, took care of everything (and more!) and he couldn't have been nicer or easier to work with! The beach cafe was a fun place for a breakfast or lunch; heaven! Restaurants are close, excellent and we so enjoyed eating in an open air environment in January! We loved zip-lining, jet skiing and touring Manuel Antonio National Park as well as our days on the private beach. People here are amazingly friendly and kind. This place is tough to top and we will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I can't wait to go back!

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2011

From the moment I found the website and starting booking this trip everyone has been extremely helpful! I booked through Dave at -------. I was then assisted by Mauricio the house manager. I was able to email him any questions I had and he responded within the hour. We went to the national park, canyoning, sailing and white water rafting. Mauricio assisted with all booking and the companies picked us up at our front door to go on the excursions! The villas were breathtaking! I can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Tulemar Staff was EXCEPTIONAL!!!

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 18, 2012

We were fortunate to have vacationed in the beautiful Villa Kiskadee this past summer. Not only was the house more beautiful that we anticipated, but the Tulemar Staff was EXCEPTIONAL!!! We had the pleasure of being taken care of by both Mauricio and Chris, and also splurged on a few nights with personal chefs cooking in our home so that we enjoyed fantastic meals overlooking the ocean right on our deck. Every tour we took was also arranged by the staff and we were picked up right at our doorstep! Daily we were entertained by many varieties of monkeys climbing in the trees feet away from us. We were truly in a tropical paradise surrounded by friendly people and plenty of wildlife. We canon thank Dave, Mauricio & Chris enough for all. We are all still talking about our stay months later . We hope to be back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Feel the beautiful outdoors

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 20, 2011

Treat yourself to this unmatched experience, all the way around! The property, house, staff and private beach are all amazing! Feel the beautiful outdoors from inside your kitchen with the all open main living space. Keep the master bedroom open as well or close up and chill out with the crisp air conditioning. The private negative edge pool offered gorgeous views overlooking the ocean. A+++++ I will definitely return someday!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The views were absolutely breath taking,

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2010

I am so fortunate to have traveled to Costa Rica and no less to an amazing destination in Tulemar! I traveled with family and friends and can't think of a more fantastic magical place to have traveled. The views were absolutely breath taking, better than any magazine or photograph could have captured. The entire experience was unbelievable from the amazing staff; Mauricio especially truely exceeded my expectations, the private beach below and the stunning house. We even splurged one night on a personal chef, Desiree Brassert...all I can say is I was part of the clean plate club and was asking for seconds. Absolutely declious and amazing!
I will definately be back! Nothing else compares to this trip! I have been to Eurpoe, Italy, Hawaii, to name a few. Costa Rica by far exceeds these previously traveled destinations. Thank you Mauricio for making this trip an experience I will never forgot and I will most certainly be back in the near future. To those who haven't had the opportunity, all I can say, is that you are missing out on a truely amazing experience and travel destination! Until next time, "Pura Vida."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dave could not have been more helpful

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2011

My husband and I booked a last minute Christmas vacation trip to Costa Rica. Given this is the busy season in Costa Rica, Dave could not have been more helpful and resourceful. Even though they did not have availability for our entire stay, Dave went out of his way to find us accommodations for the other days (he knows everyone in Manuel Antonio!). Our Villa was very charming with a view of the ocean. We also loved the fact that there was a beautiful private beach. While you could walk down and back to the beach we had a car so we chose to drive down (it's only a minute or two by car) because the walk back up looked a little strenuous! The breakfast down at the beach was not great but since our room had a kitchen and there was a market near by we just stocked up on breakfast items and ate breakfast in our bungalow. When we arrived we were greeted by our personal concierge, Mauricio. Mauricio had contacted me prior to the trip to help make suggestions and arrange for our activities. Mauricio was absolutely fantastic! He was always available, he was professional and his restaurant and activity recommendations were wonderful. He was so valuable to the success of our trip. My husband and I were so happy to stay at Tulemar - we would definitely go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We were amazed with everything

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

We were amazed with everything we experienced in Costa Rica - the natural beauty of the country, the ease of travel and the warmth of the people. We were well taken care of and always felt safe at Tulemar (we booked thru Dave at www.4tulemar.com) and had a constant flow of good ideas, tips and guidance from Mauricio Jara on capitalizing on all the country had to offer. The high quality of the flora and fauna, in their natural state, was extremely impressive and we found that the ability to witness sloths, rare birds and monkeys up closely will be memories we will relish forever! You should go!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Villa at Tulemar was amazing

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

I can not say enough good things about our summer vacation in Costa Rica. We are a family of 5 with 3 children ranging in age from 7 to 17. There was something for everyone on this vacation and I can not always say that.

Our Villa at Tulemar was amazing! It had an outstanding view, was beautifully decorated and well maintained. The service provided by Tulemar was excellent. Julien helped set up our vacation activities, answered our many questions and even stocked our Villa with specific food items I requested. We had a couple of small issues that needed to be taken care of and they were handled promptly. The Tulemar beach is beautiful. It has boogie boards, kayaks, lounge chairs, a restaurant and a bar. We saw a few other beaches while in Costa Rica but this was the nicest. The family pool was also lovely. We had our own car and the beach was a 2min. ride. All the restaurants are very close as well. And the wild life we could see just from our balcony was amazing. I would absolutely stay here again. Thanks to all at Tulemar!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One of our best family vacations

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

. One of our best family vacations, so close to Manuel Antonio park and beach. it was like living in a zoo for a week! The private beach was beautiful, boogie boards great to have and kayaks. We ate amazing dinners out every night with an awesome variety and quality of restaurant choices. The guided tour of Manuel Antonio was totally worth it, the z line did not impress pur boys however...they thought it was too tame (they rock climb so the safety rprecautilns made it too touristy for them, they were 14 and 16). The bus system wqs really easy to navigate, we didn't need a car staying at Tulemar. be prepared to walk stemhills to and from the private beach. we didn't mind, but others might...there was a shuttle to the beach offered.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our concierge, Mauricio, was wonderful

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 10, 2012

At Tulemar, we found the perfect mix of adventure and relaxation. We loved the zip line tour, hiking through the park with our guide ("Mop"), kayaking at the private beach, and just relaxing on the beach or our deck overlooking the Pacific. Our concierge, Mauricio, was wonderful, and took all the stress out of the experience by providing recommendations, booking reservations, and answering all our questions (even helping us choose between unfamiliar brands at the local grocery store). A highlight of the trip was our our evening with Chef Chris and his assistant, Michel, who came to our house and prepared a fabulous dinner, complete with exotic drinks (passion fruit Mojitos - yum!). Although we were told the resort was full, it was so peaceful and serene, we felt like we had our own private slice of paradise.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our concierge was MORE than helpful!

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

My boyfriends family and I all got the privilege to stay in Tulemar, villa kiskadee. We were a group of 8 and our villa had a room to meet everyone's needs/standards. Our concierge was MORE than helpful! We called him for everything, from booking activities to asking him his personal recommendations for sight seeing. We even called him on his day off and he brought us homemade brownies! Our villa had a BREATH TAKING view, front or back! We had great privacy, except when our new friends the monkeys would come see us in the afternoon! You don't even need to leave the comfort of your own home to have great pictures from wild life to scenic views. Also, I strongly recommend whomever to get the chefs! They are fantastic cooks, they're very accommodating for picky eaters to adventurous eaters all in one meal! The cooks serve u from breakfast to late night suppers and they even bartend for u! I loved how everything was quick, simple and easy to get - all from a phone call and in 5 min whatever you ordered/requested is at your front door! This trip was more than a dream come true and it definitely brought all the bars of standards for future trips significantly higher! I cannot explain how great and welcoming this villa, the staff and our experience in costa rica was in words but I can say that you will need to buy a second, if not a third memory card for all your wonderful memories and adventure to be made!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

They have a quaint bar-restaurant at the beach

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

My wife and kids (2 teenage girls and 2 boys) spent five night at Tulemar and had a wonderful time. We booked our reservation with Ed at www.1tulemar.com and were very pleased with the service and the accommodations. When we were not zip lining or snorkeling on tours arranged by our amazing concierge, Mauricio, we were spending time on their beautiful private beach swimming, kayaking and boogie boarding. They have a very quaint bar and restaurant at the beach where the food and service are terriffic. My kids were thrilled to find 8-10 monkeys on or balcony at a time. I should say more about Mauricio as he is not your typical concierge who sits behind a desk waiting for you to find him. He was available by cell phone at any time and was extremely resourceful in making arrangements for tours, dinner reservations and anything else we wanted (including driving us to the grocery store when we first arrived). We have taken several trips as a family and Tulemar has been the best place we stayed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The grounds were fun to explore -

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

We had a wonderful 8 days at Tulemar. It was hands down one of the best vacations we have ever had. The unit we had was big enough for our large family and spotlessly clean. Shay was extremely helpful and helped us organize our days and most of our evenings too. we found cappucians, sloths, spider monkeys, howler monkeys, lots of geckos and one night TONS to crabs out on the roads.

We split our time on the property between the WONDERFUL beach and the family pool. Both had a lovely bar/grill for breakfass and lunchs and drinks (although the pool grill was not open every day). The food was great and there was something for everyone on the menu.

At the beach there was a wonderful attendant who helped us all get out in the kayaks; got the kiddies sorted with the boogy boards and planted lots of umbrellas in the sand. And thankfully, the shuttle from the beach UP the hill ran regualrly!!

Tulemar is very centrally located - there are lota of great shops and restaurants close by. Technically within walking distace but the UP and DOWN the hill can be a bit daunting! Good exercise though ... ;o)

My husband and son did some fishing charters for 2 days. We had a day of Surf lessons that Shay helped us book with Todd (the Surf God! lol!) ... He was fabulous (and doubles as an RMT if you are in need of a treatment)! Very knowledgeable and definitly a man of infinite patience. We booked a second day but the water wasnt too co-operative. I would highly reccommend the surfing - even if its just to take pictures of your children while THEY surf!

We did a half a day of Sailing, Snorkling and Dolphin watching - fabulous fun and great food but unfortunatly we didnt find any dolphins. We also did a half a day of Ziplining. Absolutly a blast (and a bit terrifying) ... we had Zipped before but nothing like this!

We were picked up and dropped off right at our unit for all of our out trips and even a trip to the grocery store ended with them "delivering" us back home with our snacks and drinks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My stay was absolutely fantastic!!!!

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

My stay was absolutely fantastic!!!! From the time we checked in it was pure heaven. The service was impeccable and exceeded all my expectations!!! The home was amazing and every night I looked forward to watching the sunset on the bay from the patio!!! The food that was served on the private beach was probably some of the best food I had on the whole trip. The service from the friendly staff was amazing and they catered to my every need. I cannot wait to book my next stay!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Sloth visit was an awesome experience

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

We walked into a beautiful 2 story home in a jungle like setting over looking the pacific ocean. The home was beautifully decorated with live tropical flowers, had all the amenities you would have at home including a large fully equiped kitchen.

The Sloth visit was an awesome experience not to mention the group of small monkeys that made their late afternoon visits. There's a beautiful private beach down the steep road which I recommend anyone to walk at least once to enjoy the scenery and wildlife. There is also transportation to and from the beach within minutes. The beach also has a bar and outdoor restaurant. They have an amazing menu and I must say their fish sandwich was the BEST I've ever had. The beach also provides beach chairs, towels, umbrellas, boogie boards and kayaks. The whole week we were there the beach was quiet and a real enjoyable place to grab an ice cold drink and soak up some sun. We got to experience a thunderstorm on avg once a day late afternoon.

Mauricio and Dave were outstanding hosts, available at anytime to help with recommendations, planning our excursions, dinner plans, and arranging our transportation. I have to say the staff were truly amazing friendly people. It was always nice to come back to the house after a long day of fun to see my laundry clean and folded on the bed. I can't wait to come back and see Mauricio, Dave and the staff smiling faces.


I would definitely come back and recommend this place to anyone who is looking for an enjoyable vacation in the jungle with superior service.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is truly a vacation home

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

First of all, the home was amazing. The view from the house and the pool actually made it hard to get motivated to go to the beach. Why leave when you have everything you need? Of course, we got out and about, and when we returned, it was like walking into a brand new house again. Housekeeping was that good. The entire staff was incredible. Dave, Mauricio, and Julien make you feel like old friends. This is truly a vacation home where one can sit back, relax, and let someone take care of you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Villa Kiskadee was truly amazing.

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

Our stay at Villa Kiskadee was truly amazing. From arrival, Mauricio and the other staff at Tulemar made it a point to make us feel perfectly welcome to our vacation. Even the drive in, arranged by Tulemar staff, was great for sightseeing and hospitality. The house was perfect for our group of 6, coupling the perfect amount of relaxtion and leisure with proximity to adventure and wlidlife (ex: monkeys climbing the trees daily, 5 feet from the pool). I have traveled through Central America before and the location of Tulemar and specifically Villa Kiskadee never ceased to amaze me throughout the week that I was there. Mauricio consistently provided great recommendations for restaurants and excursions, and he was always available when needed without ever being over-bearing. Dave's hospitality was much appreciated in showing us around the resort and welcoming us to Tulemar. I cannot think of a bad thing to say about Tulemar, about Kiskadee, about the excursions we took, and about the towns and restaurants surrounding the resort. The villa and the service were impeccable and I would recommend it to anyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent Sunset Views

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

Chris and Michael came to my Villa for two and nights and both were major successes. We shared the cost with three families so the price was extremely good, but I was most impressed by the food, service, and talking with Chris and Michael. Both are excellent cooks and people. If you ever go to Tulemar make sure you get Chris and Michael to come cook for you. They will not disappoint.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The beach is private

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

We haven't stopped talking about our stay in Tulemar. The villa you select will be based on the size and preferences of your party, so talking about just one isn't necessary. The area is beautiful, the beach is private, and you are a short drive to Quepos if you want to be in a little town. We reserved again for Christmas and can't wait!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Having the beach was wonderful

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

Mauricio and Dave couldnt have been more attentive to our needs. Mauricio anticipated just what we needed and took care of things. We didn't have to ask! The house was perfect- super clean and great views. Having the beach was wonderful and the property is hone to monkeys and beautiful birds. The shuttle service was much appreciated. We highly recommend Tulemar.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The villa itself was lovely and open

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

From the staff, to the location, to the facilities themselves, our experience at Tulemar couldn't have been better. Everyone went out of their way to make us comfortable, and to anticipate our every need. Before our arrival, our concierge had been in touch (extensively!) and we were able to set up a number of activities and excursions (all of which were top-notch). The villa itself was lovely and open, (identical to the pictures), as was the private beach area. Our concierge checked in daily, setting up reservations or recommending local places to have a bite, and even brought us brownies on our final day. Can't say enough about the place- really really nice.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tulemar is perfect for a family vacation

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

The accommodations at Tulemar were absolutely incredible. From the beginning, when we booked our trip, the entire Tulemar staff was extremely accommodating, friendly, and helpful. The set-up at Tulemar is perfect for a family vacation, couples vacation, or group vacation, with villas accommodating 2-14 people at affordable rates. There's easy access to a beautiful private beach with its own beach bar, in addition to 4 different pools. Our concierge was Julien, and he was absolutely incredible. He promptly (within minutes!) answered a large number of emails answering every question our group had before we arrived in Manuel Antonio. Once there, he arranged excursions for our group, made multiple dinner reservations, drove us to the grocery store himself, and provided numerous recommendations for how to best spend our time in Manuel Antonio. He even brought me brownies on my birthday! My only regret is that I only had 6 days to spend at Tulemar. For anyone going to Costa Rica, I highly recommend staying at Tulemar. I can't think of a better set-up for the perfect tropical vacation. If I'm able to make it back, there's nowhere else I would even think of staying.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We were treated like royality

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Tulamar for the first portion of our honeymoon, in Costa Rica. After Delta lost our bags for 3 days, let's just say we were getting a little on edge. However, what started out bad turned into the best honeymoon ever. We had the staff of Tulamar (Chris and Emily) who went beyond their call of duty by getting in contact with Delta and figuring out where our bags were. Wihile waiting, we were treated like royality. We were transported to Kapi Kapi where Tulamar arranged for an amazing meal with delicious appitizers and desert. By the time we arrived back to our villa, our bags were waiting for us.

Then the night before leaving we were treated with a beautiful starfruit tray. The staff at Tulamar, from Dave, the owner, to the bartenders and grounds keepers, the whole team is amazing. They go the extra mile to ensure you have a memorable experience, and that we did. To Dave, Chris, Emily and the rest of the staff at Tulamar, thank you very much for an amazing honeymoon....we will be back!

For anyone who is reading these views, like we did prior to going, just know this. Tulamar's location, private beach, staff and neighboring restaurants and coffee shops make it the best place we have ever stayed at while on vacation. After traveling to other parts of Costa Rica and various Countries, Tulamar was the best customar service my wife and I have ever received.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We saw wildlife everyday

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

Our house at tulemar was an amazing design with every amenity you could need. And if you did have a need the helpful staff goes out of their way to accommodate. The house is a short walk from the private beach and a short drive from an amazing national park. We saw wildlife everyday (even from the backyard) and the local restaurants, shops and bars provided just about everything else we could want on a vacation. But honestly, we liked to lounge around the private infinity pool most of our vacation.But thanks to our concierge Mauricio we were able to get away from the house and do some hiking, white water rafting and sight seeing. Thanks again Mauricio! Kind of hard to put into words what a wonderful time we had.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tulemar has its own private beach

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

We spent a wonderful week in Tulemar. It was absolutely beautiful. The resort surpassed all of my expectations. Mauricio was great in helping us book our excursions, massages and dinner reservations. Whenever we needed anything he was there to assist us immediately. The country is beautiful and the people are so kind.

Tulemar has its own private beach. The food and the service there were great. Luis and Daniella were wonderful!
I love to body board and the resort offers the use of body boards, and kayaks for free. I even noticed a bunch of shovels and pails for kids to use on the beach. I loved watching the monkeys from my balcony. The rooms are great, but I especially loved spending time on the balcony looking out at the Pacific Ocean. I would tell all my friends and family to spend some time at Tulemar.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Top notch staff and just a relaxing place

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

This was one of the nicest most beautiful places we have ever stayed. Really fantastic. Beach was wonderful - walk down is easy but take the shuttle back up! Pretty easy to walk to dining - try Sanchos (its a fantastic hole in the wall place a few blocks away) and Aqua Azul. Top notch staff and just a relaxing place. Its pricey, but you get a wonderful place to spend a few days.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An incredible stay

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

I agree with the other reviewers: the houses in Tulemar are beautiful, stocked with everything you'll need, and extremely well maintained by an incredibly attentive, generous and patient staff. We stayed with two adolescent kids, a 6-month-old and three adults and it was perfect for everyone. A dear friend referred me to Tulemar and we're so happy we listened!

As far as service goes, I was a bit concerned that the nearest pharmacy, etc. was a bit far out of town, but when my baby needed acetaminophen because she was teething - I only had to call the front desk and they had someone deliver it. Mauricio knew we were having breakfast and came to deliver it to us personally. Unheard of anywhere these days.

An incredible stay and we hope to do it again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceptional

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

We were fortunate to have vacationed in the beautiful Villa Kiskadee this past summer. Not only was the house more beautiful that we anticipated, but the Tulemar Staff was EXCEPTIONAL!!! We had the pleasure of being taken care of by both Mauricio and Chris, and also splurged on a few nights with personal chefs cooking in our home so that we enjoyed fantastic meals overlooking the ocean right on our deck. Every tour we took was also arranged by the staff and we were picked up right at our doorstep! Daily we were entertained by many varieties of monkeys climbing in the trees feet away from us. We were truly in a tropical paradise surrounded by friendly people and plenty of wildlife. We canon thank Dave, Mauricio & Chris enough for all. We are all still talking about our stay months later . We hope to be back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Treat yourself to this unmatched experience

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

Treat yourself to this unmatched experience, all the way around! The property, house, staff and private beach are all amazing! Feel the beautiful outdoors from inside your kitchen with the all open main living space. Keep the master bedroom open as well or close up and chill out with the crisp air conditioning. The private negative edge pool offered gorgeous views overlooking the ocean. A+++++ I will definitely return someday!

Stayed December 2011

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Villa Kiskadee.

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 5, 2012

I am so fortunate to have traveled to Costa Rica and no less to an amazing destination in Tulemar! I traveled with family and friends and can't think of a more fantastic magical place to have traveled. The views were absolutely breath taking, better than any magazine or photograph could have captured. The entire experience was unbelievable from the amazing...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

In April my family rented Villa Kisskadee for spring break. From the moment Dave contacted me, I knew my vacation would be perfect. He explained everything from our travel plans, the area, the attractions and the house. Everything he said was accurate. He helped me plan our vacation and was able to answer all my questions. Having a family of boys (15,12 and 7) I needed a certain amount of adventure and my husband and I needed a certain amount of luxury and relaxation....Villa Kisskadee is the answer. Set on the grounds of Tulemar made our trips to the beach easy. The house is private and beautiful. The pictures dont really capture the beauty of the house. Mauricio makes sure everything "happens". Each day we would tell him what we wanted to do and he arranged everything. I did not have to plan anything ahead of time because Mauricio planned our activities each day. We did a wide range of activities...zip lines, rafting, waterfall repelling, national park tours, jet skiing, grocery store trips, private chefs....the list goes on and Mauricio was our expert guide. One day we wanted a banana leaf to cook some fish in and within minutes he was at our door showing us how to do it. Our trip was the perfect balance of adventure, relaxation (massages on the patio), great food and beautiful immaculate accommodations. I would highly recommend this property or anything else where Dave and Mauricio are involved. I hope I have another chance to visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

World Class

Review submitted: January 14, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

Our 1st trip to Costa Rica. Looked for luxurious, & romantic location for our honeymoon.
After much research, we were rewarded for picking:
- One of the best areas : Manuel antonio Beach
- The best gated communities in Manuel antonio : Tulemar Gardens (only one with private beach)
- One of the most secluded & luxurious homes w/ magnificent unobstructed ocean views : Villa Kiskadee (VK)!

Here, you'll appreciate glorious sunrises & sunsets, visits by monkeys & admire many exotic birds. Plus, there are 2 resident sloths in the trees @ VK. Plenty of photo ops for shutterbugs! Besides the visual treats, the home is spacious, spectacular, & lovely. Friendly housekeeping & property maintenance by Luz & Wiston was pristine. Free shuttle service to those not wanting to take the short steep hike to the private beach or to the main entrance. Make sure to have breakfast at the private beach and then work it off using the free kayaks to make it out to a great snorkeling point in the bay.

Accommodations are outstanding - service & attention offered by the staff is superb. We were pleasantly greeted by Dave & Mauricio upon our arrival. Even though we were delayed a few hours, they were still on the property to warmly welcome us with cool refreshments and gifts.

Mauricio is an ambassador of Manuel antonio. He and the staff at here, know all of the best places to dine or have a drink, many are w/in walking distance of Tulemar. Mauricio & staff happily arranged the best tours and activities of our liking. Call on Mauricio for any need you have, from arranging cabs - to a ride to the nearby market. He is a star at this place and you will greatly appreciate his knowledge, services, and hospitality. Even though it was our honeymoon and we felt spoiled by the staff by their gestures, I'm confident they treat all of their guests this way. We highly recommend this community and the villas managed by Dave and Mauricio.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Fantastic villa, great staff"

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

"Fantastic villa, great staff"

We just returned from a family trip to Costa Rica. Villa Kiskadee was beautiful. The views were outstanding and the villa was perfect for our 8 family members ranging in age from 7 - 80 years old. We had daily visits from monkeys, iguana, tucans and spied several sloths on the grounds of Tulemar. What made this place special was having the privacy of your own place (and Kiskadee is really private) along with the amenities of having the Tulemar Beach Resort on site. Just call and a shuttle will take you to and from the beach - and it was a great beach for swimming, kayaking, boggey boarding and watching sunsets. (Plus my 7 year old was preoccupied with finding shells - minimal, but still enough to keep her excited). Mauricio was the house manager and I can not say enough about him. Always there with a smile and able to easily fulfill all our requests. We ate out at many of the local restaurants (Cafe agua azul was our favorite) and had a private chef for a few nights at the Villa. Mauricio even arranged a private dinner for us on the beach our final night and it was spectacular. We did a lot of the tours and were especially pleased with the Whitewater rafting, canopy tour and sailing tour (spied a humpback whale and a pod of 10 spotted dolphins played with our boat). Everything was arranged by Mauricio and made our job of having a good time really easy. This was a great family trip in a beautiful country with warm people and truly amazing accomodations.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Unforgetable

Review submitted: December 4, 2010   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

This house was amazing...beyond our expectations! The
views, the monkeys, the private beach were all
incredible. The personalized attention and service
provided by Dave and Mauricio was awesome. I cannot
even think about going or staying anywhere else!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 8, 2010

Tulemar Gardens is the only place to stay in Costa Rica. The property and grounds are exquisite, the private beach is splendid, and the service exceeds expectations on a daily basis. If you are going to Costa Rica for the first time, or have been several times before, the staff at Villa Kiskadee will guarantee a most wonderful and memorable vacation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fit for King's

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

Our stay at Villa Kiskadee was nothing less than spectacular! The villa is located in a private gated community called Tulemar Gardens.

The house and the views were amazing and enjoyed the daily visits of the local wildlife (Howlier, Titi & Cappuchin monkeys, tucans, sloths, etc).

When we arrived at the villa, we were greeted by Dave, Mauricio and the staff. Dave and Mauricio made every effort to make our vacation a memorable one. Mauricio's recommendations on restaurants, activities and in-house chef were all spot on. He also arranged all of our transportation and grocery needs.

We would definitely recommend this to families or a group of friends and hope to return soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very proud of our Villa and the service we provide our guests. Its always nice to read that our guests feel the same as we do. Thanks Ed-Dave & Mauricio

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: August 17, 2009   Date of arrival: August 17, 2009

We rented Villa Kiskadee with some friends in
August. The house sits at the end of a private
driveway surrounded by lush tropical gardens, in
the rain forest, in walking distance to a nice private
beach. The house is specatcular with one of the
most beautiful views that we have ever seen. We
saw monkeys, sloths and toucans everyday. Our
children were were very happy and had a great
time. Mauricio handled all of our tours and activities
reservations. We loved the house and we plan to go
back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 10, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

My family rented Villa Kiskadee in April of 2009....you enter via your own private, curving driveway...very exclusive....the house sits at the end surrounded by lush tropical gardens.....when you enter, the entire back side of the house opens to the pool and the ocean views. Each bedroom suite has ocean views and balconies, so everyone was happy. Mauricio handled all of our needs, from tours, activities and restaurant reservations. Very professional and he made it easy for us. We saw monkeys, sloths and toucans everyday. We loved the house and we will be back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review