reviews for: listing #6044 - Carlsbad, California Condo rental

Luxury in La Costa - Fine Living at its Best!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  La Costa
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,100 - $2,000 /wk

sort by:

Great Vacation

Review submitted: July 6, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

We were at this property for a week and will try and come back for two weeks next year. Perfect location, close to everything. Drive to many golf courses and also on the property of La Costa and they were also very friendly. Great plan for two couples, split bedroom plan both with private baths and lots of living space, formal dining, nice open living room. Underground parking, community pool and BBQ. First floor, over all, excellent. One of the nicest VRBO I have leased. Would definitely come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Condo!

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2014

Thank you for such a beautiful condo ! It was great, had a wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for family get together

Review submitted: December 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 16, 2013

We stayed in this condo for 2 weeks including Thanksgiving. The kitchen so well appointed that we cooked an entire traditional Thanksgiving dinner. One of our daughters and her family joined us for 3 nights. The second ensuite bedroom with 2 queen size beds suited the needs well. Additional family of 4 joined for Thanksgiving dinner and we did not feel crowded. King bed is very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Girls get-away

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 22, 2013

This condo was EXCELLENT! The listing photos and description did not do it justice; it was much nicer than expected. The unit was very clean, everything in great working order and interior was beautifully decorated. We have rented other VRBO units, and this is by far the best one!
Thank you, Claudia, for sharing your condo and we do plan to tell friends about it and do plan to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Mary for the wonderful note! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the property so much. I look forward to having you back another time.

Cheers!

Claudia Hanson

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 27, 2013

Claudia, my mom and I had the most relaxing stay in your beautiful condo! It was very spacious and perfect for our retreat at the Chopra Center. Your place is very comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed the convenience of this lovely property so closeby. We were just thrilled at finding such a wonderful place with all the comforts of home. I will most definately be using your condo when I come to La Costa again! It was just perfect! Thank you so very much!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank-you Tanys! I am so happy you and your mother had such a nice stay in my home. I look forward to your next stay!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

PENRY Stay - Rented for two consecutive seasons (last wk of Jan - first wk of March)

Review submitted: November 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

When we first saw the property on-line, my husband and I were excited about leasing the space, until we arrived in person. Seeing that it was very tired, we realized the condo needed an update. The T.V. was not a flat screen, but an outdated box TV. The sound system was also outdated & the bose speakers sounded muffled due to poor installation. The internet also wasn't working properly. We discussed the problems w/the owner, because we did expect most of this would be in working order. Our son, being an Arch. Lighting Engineer, fixed the sound system, installed all new recessed lights (4 were burnt out) and fixed a dimmer. We took the initiative to do this as we felt we could provide the owner this service on our own more easily and quickly. In addition, we purchased a small T.V for the extra bedroom & were reimbursed by owner. We also purchased plants/flowers for the patio. The owner did re-upholster two chairs upon our second visit. During that second visit, we had a terrible experience of water coming through the ceiling above from a vacant unit and experienced lots of water traveling into the kitchen pantry, destroying all of our food. We had no one to reach, after 6 calls to property management. We had to move out of the unit for 5 days and luckily we had clients in the area who allowed us to use their space. We experienced much apathy from the owner (not empathy) on a bad situation. On the positive, we enjoyed the area of La Costa and the grounds. The private back room for guests is a plus, as it is not located right next to the master bedroom but across the unit. The unit is spacious and the layout convenient for families or couples. We loved the location and all the amenities which LaCosta Resort offers (Deepak Chopra Yoga center) and the lovely surroundings. The parking garage offers convenient access and the pool/grill in the back area was used frequently by our family. The grocery store and outlets are close by and aside from the unit updates and inconveniences, I would highly recommend this rental. We hoped our initiatives to make the improvements would have been more well received by the owner.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Family Fourth

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

The location and accomodations were great. Nearby diners and grocery store were great to fill the huge refrigerator and bar. The beds were perfect for our 2 older boys and the split floor plan was great to give my wife and I an escape on a very comfortable king bed. Private, gated parking and seperate pool were nice with easy access to all North San Diego County offers. Short drive to Orange County for a Disneyland day as well.
Only negative was that one of the other condos was being worked on during our stay so we had grinding and construction noise starting some mornings as early as 6. Definitely would stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Excellent resort property!

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Thank you Claudia for the beautiful condo in La Costa! The property was just as described, well maintained and spacious! The beds were the most comfortable beds away from home we have ever found. Claudia was very helpful with any questions as well. Would 100% recommend this to a friend and look forward to staying here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Megan!

I am so happy you enjoyed the condo and found the beds so comfortable! Please come back soon!

Cheers,

Claudia

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Nice Property! but....

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 5, 2012

We arrived on 6/5/2012 for a 5 night stay. This is a very spacious unit with very comfortable beds. The La Costa grounds are beautiful and if you want to use the main La Costa Resort pool there is a fee. The pool in back of the complex where we stayed was nice. The location is ideal; close to the beach, Costco and the Outlets are a short drive away. There is an Albertson's within walking distance. The La Costa Spa is just a block away for those who want to indulge in any of those services. The parking garage was an easy in/out. The only reason we are giving a 4 * is that we had 3 maintenance issues upon arrival. The garbage disposal was plugged up, the 1/2 bath door had a latch would automatically lock and the ice maker looked like it had melted and then became a frozen waterfall. To the owner's credit a repair man came in on the 6th and fixed the garbage disposal and ice maker. We worked around the self locking bathroom door. It seemed to us that the cleaning service should have noticed and reported these items for repair as it was obvious the garbage disposal and ice maker hadn't worked properly for sometime. The other problem was that a supply of basic items like bath soap, diswasher soap etc was very lacking. We don't mind buying these things but typically when we had used VRBO homes in the past we always found a supply of basic cleaning supplies and garbage bags to get you through the first week. Bath towels and kitchen towels were not in great supply either but we made do.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Cathryn,

Thank-you for your note. Again, I am sorry about the maintenance issues you found upon your arrival. I make every effort to keep everything in top working order.

As is stated in the rental agreement supplied to you prior to your booking, I do not supply personal bath items such as shampoo etc...

Regards,

Claudia

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great vacation spot!

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

This condo is exceptional! The location is perfect for a relaxation. Very clean and beautiful interior decoration. Close to everything and an perfect spot for a walk each day! We loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Condo

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We stayed for 3 weeks and the location and condo were perfect for us and our 4 year old. Close to the beach and all the southern Cal. kiddie attractions. The air was out when we got there and the owner was very diligent in getting it fixed in a timely fashion.

We are coming back next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank-you for the great review! I am so happy to have you back next summer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Quality!

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

My family come almost every other year from Germany, we love this area and this home couldn't meet our needs better. Everything is always clean, the decorations are comfortable and lovely. The owner makes us feel well cared for and welcome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Not True Mr. Blaser

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

There were 3 light bulbs out in an 1800sq ft. condo, far from "50%". My handyman was out of town over the weekend. The Blaser's did place numerous calls with the same complaint. The bulbs were replaced on the first working day possible. The Blaser's did not buy any replacement bulbs.

Helpful votes: 4 / 10

 

La Costa Rental

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 28, 2010

While the unit was clean and well furnished a few details were missed in the pre-rental set up.
Approximately 50 % of the light bulbs were burnt out and some switches did not correspond to any lights. Since the unit was on the dark side of the building any light was helpful. Both bathroom fans had burnt our lights and one fan did not operate. After contacting the owner/agent numerous times the fan was removed, not to be seen again in our 30 day rental. I replaced some of the bulbs myself and some, not all, of the others were replaced by a handyman. More sharp knives are needed. The unit is roomy and comfortable and met our needs. I would rent it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review