reviews for: listing #60481 - Gulf Shores, Alabama House rental

Bon Secour Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Bon Secour
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $95 - $115 /nt
    $600 - $700 /wk
    $1,000 - $1,200 /mth

sort by:

Relaxing away from the beach

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

Pictures don't do this place justice for sure. It's a lot larger than than the pictures make it seem. Very clean and quite. Bon secour is the perfect place to get away from it all. The cottage is well stocked with everything you need. We bought some fresh fish from the open air fish market at the end of the road and we had everything we needed to prepare a great meal. It's obvious all linens are cleaned everytime. My wife and I enjoyed running cycling and coffee on the pier. We spent two solid days on the beach which is less than 10 minutes away. I highly recommend this cottage.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm happy to share my piece of paradise with others. It's my favorite place to be! I'm not able to use my cottage as much as I'd like to, so I'm glad visitors can enjoy it. Everyone who visits falls in love with Bon Secour and my cottage. This makes me happy!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

This was a epic vacation not only was this place 5 star but also like home with everything you need in the kitchen to fresh clean towels in the bathroom. Lynn has a little piece of heaven here made me home sick for the place as soonm as I left. Right ascross the street is a dock you can crab fish and fish off the locals are friendly and always willing to chat. Yet the main thing I loved was being so close to Gulf shores Beach OMG I was in love with thier beach clean white sand and clear water perfect for snorkling. The kids enjoyed Boogie Borading on the waves as well. We were able to get a whole box of sea shells for those of you like me that love to hunt for the perfect sea shell. Got to see some cool fish while we were thereas well. If you want to relax and live the lazy life this is the place everything is on its own time and all i can say is Im coming back and this will be the only place i can think of staying. :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: I agree that Gulf Shores beaches are some of the prettiest on the Gulf of Mexico! My cottage in nearby Bon Secour is a great getaway after a busy day at the beach. The quiet area, the chance to relax or fish on the pier, viewing water foul and dolphins on and in the river, and watching the shrimp boats come and go from local fisheries adds charm to a south Alabama vacation. It's the best of both worlds!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Place

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Let me tell you if you are looking for a great place to relax and have quite time this is the place. This was an excellent spot for my Family and I to stay for a week. It is in a great location you are really ten minutes away from everything that you would need. The house is great and is very open and alot of space. I recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Quiet Getaway

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We loved our stay! There were 6 of us in our group, and there was plenty of room. The beds are all very comfortable. We cooked breakfast & supper each day at the house, it is fully equipped with everything you will need. Has wi-fi, Satellite TV, washer/dryer, iron & ironing board. Even a cake mixer and blender. We enjoyed our morning visits to the swing on the pier across the street. Great place to enjoy morning coffee. Only minutes away from the beach & hustle & bustle of Gulf Shores. We would definitely recommend this cottage, and hope we can return in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Owners response: A "Quiet Getaway" is the perfect description! It's just right for those wanting the convenience of driving to the nearby Gulf beach, yet enjoy the peace and quiet of the river.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Michigan to Bon Secour

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Lynn's cottage for two months. Enjoyed our stay and found plenty to do in the area. We had such a great time, that I've booked, two and a half months, for the year 2013.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm happy that these guests have decided to return! I have many guests who make return visits. That lets me know they were pleased with the accommodations.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A little Bit of Paradise in Bon Secour

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying in this delightful river cottage for two months. I arrived Nov.4 and reluctantly departed Jan.4. A second visit is a must for me. There is plenty to see and do nearby. The pictures don't do this charming home justice. All rooms are large. The living room is tastefully decorated. The kitchen is large and equipped with a plethora of appliances, tableware, cookware, mixing bowels, measures, cutlery and gadgets. I found everything needed to prepare and serve complicated meals.(I like to cook.) The two large bedrooms are well furnished. Both have comfy queen beds and large closets. The master bedroom has a front loading washer and dryer hidden in a dedicated closet. (Yes,you'll find an iron and ironing board too.) I found them to be an extra convenience. Bedding is "top Drawer". The bath is large and the fixtures are new. (Plenty of hot water.) Large bright-white terry towels are furnished. You'll even find a scale to keep your weight in check after enjoying the great selection of entries at the local restaurant,just a few miles away. The second floor is furnished with three twin beds, chest of drawers, large table and a love seat. I used this area as my "mini office" and reading room. A large window gives you a good view of the river. I would watch the shrimp boats come and go on the tides. I parked my car next to the cottage and docked my small boat at the private pier just across the road. The few times it was not docked, I found plenty of room to park it near the cottage, close enough that charging batteries wasn't a problem. The neighbors are friendly and accommodating. This is a quite place with a rural atmosphere yet it's only six or eight miles to shopping centers and so on. The pier is large with two roofed decks. It has water, electric and a fish cleaning station. It's a great place to fish. I caught spotted trout, sheapshead and flounder. With a cast net, I caught mullet, flounder and shrimp. Using a trap, I caught more than enough blue crabs. There's a porch swing on the far covered deck where you can spend hours reading and watching the resident dolphins, brown pelicans and egret. You can feed them if you wish! If you don't want to fish for your dinner,two seafood stores are in walking distance of the cottage. Lynn,the owner,is a super person to deal with. She goes the extra mile to keep the cottage neat and clean and truly wants her guests to have a good time while staying in her cottage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

We loved our stay here!

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

We loved this house! It was much bigger than the pictures show and right across the street are great docks to fish off of! It was just a short drive to the beach from there but we loved not being stuck in all the traffic of Shrimp Festival. We will definitely be staying here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: I agree with Chezney! It's nice to be so close to the beach, yet have the peace and quite of our small fishing community. The river offers the best of salt and fresh water fishing.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place to start a river adventure

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Cottage, comfortable, large and open, close to the river. Everything we needed for our week of adventure was there. We kayaked the Bon Secour and Magnolia Springs rivers, with put in's only minutes from the front door, you can spend more time on the water then in the car. The back roads were also great for bicycle riding with some routes laid out with arrows. In the area the local seafood markets provided for a good selection for dinner. We also liked Lamberts for that southern cooked meal with plenty to eat. We are not beach people but if you are, the drive is only minutes away.

Thanks for having us it was a perfect place to relax.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. It is great for kayaking, fishing, sailing . . . I love that you can head up the river to view the fresh-water habitat, or go out into the bay (and Gulf from there) to experience the salt-water marine life. Did you see the dolphins from the pier? They usually pass by every day. You're right about a great selection of seafood! You can purchase it fresh from down the street to cook yourself, or visit one of the many wonderful restaurants in Gulf Shores. Bon Secour is a French term meaning "Safe Harbor." That it is! I hope you'll come back to visit again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

This cottage was a pleasant surprise and like a breath of fresh air. My family and I were very happy with the look and feel of the place. It is well furnished and equipped and has lots of space. If your looking for a home away from home this is definitely it.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: I'm always happy to hear that my guests are pleased. That is my goal. I try to treat each visitor the way I would want to be treated and provide what is needed for an enjoyable stay.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

By Far The Best Place in The Area

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 31, 2011

As soon as we walked in to this cottage we were INSTANTLY impressed with the cleanliness and the modern look and feel (definately NOT an old run down cottage). We were on a fishing trip so the dock across the street was a really nice bonus. The village is very quiet, safe and private. We were not at all worried about leaving our boat or fishing equipment unattended (Unlike a hotel parking lot in a busy area). There are fish markets within walking distance where we bought fresh shrimp and crayfish for dinner every night. We caught lots of fish and watched the sunset and rise from the swing on the dock. Overall, we wer VERY well pleased with our stay and the accomidations. Wish I were still there!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Old Coast Amenity

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

If you like solitude and slower paced relaxation tied in a package with modern convenience, this place is perfect. The beach is 15 minutes out and great places to eat are everywhere. The Tin Top is close (5 min), serves good food and has a friendly staff, but just a little pricey.
To me this was a trip back in time I took with my wife for a short weekend. Overall it was much better than we expected

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review