reviews for: listing #60482 - Nosara, Costa Rica House rental

Los Pericos ~ Playa Pelada/Guiones
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Playa Pelada
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $185 /nt
    $950 - $1,350 /wk
    $2,400 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful Retreat

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

Hola! We just had a short stay at Los Pericos and it was wonderful. Every part of the process was smooth and easy, thanks to the property owner Kevin and his property manager Agnes. They both went out of their way to accommodate me and to answer all of my many questions. Agnes picked me up from the other place I was staying in town and drove me to the house to give me the keys and drop off my luggage, and kindly offered to drive me BACK into town again so I could make a yoga class. This was so helpful.
The house itself was equipped with everything you will need for a perfect stay. You don't need to buy coffee filters- the coffee maker doesn't need them and there are plenty there left over from other renters.
The house is beautiful- the pictures do not do it justice!
If you are looking for something off the beaten path that is quiet, where you can hear the howler monkeys and see the stars, with very little traffic around, then this is the place for you. It was a short 5 min walk to my favorite restaurant La Luna, and to the beach. The only thing that is not in walking distance (comfortably) is a grocery store. There is a super mini in town, about a 15 min walk, but I chose to take a taxi to the Super Nosara where everything is cheaper and you won't pay beach prices. The taxi was $30 USD to take me there, wait, and bring me home and helped unload my groceries.

The only thing that could possibly have made the house and pool more perfect is if the pool was saltwater instead of chlorine. I know that this is initially more expensive, but I have read that over time it costs about the same. This of course is a personal preference and nothing that would ever deter me from staying here again.

Bottom line, the house is beautiful, comfortable, luxurious, and in a great quiet location. Kevin and Agnes are wonderful and so easy to work with. My security deposit was returned the day after I checked out. Do yourself a favor and stay at Los Pericos. You will not want to leave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice find!

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

Decided to make our way to Nosara for a few days based upon what a couple we met in Samara had said. Went online and came across "Los Pericos" and managed rent it for 3 days last minute. My advice — Stay here, you'll be happy!

Note to the owner, thanks for working with us on such short notice. My only suggestion is that you post some additional photos of your place. The ones you have are good, but I don't think they do it full justice. Hope to make it back here someday, thanks again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Patty,

Thanks for taking the time to review our home! We will definitely take your advice and add additional photos... Just as soon as we get back to Nosara to take some. Very happy that you enjoyed our home, sorry that you couldn't stay longer. We would love to have you as our guest on your next trip to Costa Rica.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Warm & Sunny!

Review submitted: February 13, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

We had a wonderful time in Nosara and loved every minute of our stay at Los Pericos! This trip was a much needed break form the winter we have had this year, wish we didn't have to come home. If we ever return to Nosara we would definitely stay here again, this house is well maintained,nicely decorated and close to the beach. The monkeys came right above the pool one day, we got some awesome photos!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi ej,

Thanks for taking the time to review our place, and happy that you were able to spend some time in a warmer climate! We would love to have you as our guest anytime. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Thanks for sharing your home!

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Great trip! We spent a lot of our time just chilling around the house and pool with the occasional deviation to go surf. My family wasn't sure what to expect, but we came home happy. The town is remote, but this gave us the opportunity to really explore the secluded beaches and small town on our own terms and timeline. It was quite an adventure. Have to say the the large, like really large, iguana by the pool took us by surprise, but hey we were in its home, not the other way around. The occasional visit by the howler monkeys was cool too!

Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you guys had such a wonderful time! You pretty much covered all the things that make us love our little beach casa so much! The monkeys, iguanas, pool and surf -- need there be more? We were happy to hear that you felt like we were sharing our home. The last thing we would want is for a guest to feel unhappy due to their choice of staying in our place. We do strive to keep the house well maintained and stocked with all the essential non perishables. No bad reviews yet, so it seems our love of Los Pericos is being passed to our guests as we have always hoped it would. A note to anyone thinking about renting our place, if you have (within reason) a special request please feel free to ask. If you choose to stay and later have a suggestion that would make our home more pleasant for future guests, please send us an email when you return home. We have always relied heavily upon our guests input as a way to improve the property.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Thanks!

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

Our family spent a week here at the beginning of December, we had a wonderful time. This was our third trip to Costa Rica but our first time to Nosara. We took this trip with my in-laws, although they stayed in another rental property. If you are looking for something off the beaten path then this town is for you. It has all of the services you need to have a nice vacation, such as restaurants, bars and a grocery store, but Nosara is considerably less developed than the other towns we visited on our previous trips. We were reminded of this several times during our stay when the howler monkeys would hang out in the trees above the pool area. I wish I could upload photos as part of my review as this was one of the most memorable vacation moments my family has ever had.

My husband and I read all of the reviews before we decided on this place and found them to be accurate in their description of the house. So rather than repeat a bunch of stuff that has already been said, I'd rather provide some detail about the pool. Hands down, this was our favorite amenity. I already mentioned the monkeys, so it will come as no surprise that the area is very private and and lush with tropical landscaping. The pool itself is a decent size kidney shape, probably nothing you haven't seen before. However, the pool is impeccably maintained, we saw the pool guy everyday (he was pretty nice to talk to as well). What we came to appreciate the most was that the pool is laid entirely with dark blue tile making it noticeably warmer than the concrete bottom pool at our in-law's rental. It seems silly to write this, but in the heat and humidity of the tropics, their pool felt cold.

Anyhow, out of our three trips, this one was by far the best. It is obvious that this home is not just some business rental for the owner, the house is clearly loved. We would stay here again, thank you for sharing your beautiful home, we had a great trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Kfins,

Thank you for circling back to review our little piece of paradise. Happy to hear that your family loved our home as much as we do! Funny how a 70-75 degree pool in Costa Rica can give you goosebumps, haha! We are in agreement - anything less than 75-80 degrees is simply unacceptable. Glad you made it home safe and should your adventures ever bring you back to Nosara, please consider staying with us again.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A peaceful retreat, we would stay here again :-)

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

We had a great vacation. This house and the quiet town in which it is located are two of the best kept secrets in Guanacaste. My husband and I have been to Cost Rica several times before, but this was our first trip to Nosara. Playa Pelada and Guiones are now our favorite beaches in the country, both of which are only a short walk from the house. As another reviewer mentioned, you can hear the waves at night as you are falling asleep.

What we truly loved about this house was its design. While modern, it feels as if it was designed to be a part of the surrounding jungle, it has a very tranquil and organic feel to it. The entire house faces an undeveloped area of the jungle, this includes a large covered outdoor patio that overlooks the private pool and garden area. We were here in June, so we did experience some tropical rains (mostly in the afternoons). We used the patio a lot! Surprisingly, some of our greatest memories form this vacation came from sitting on the patio playing cards and sharing a bottle of wine.

Awesome house, great town... can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Avall,

Thank you for coming back to review our house, it really means a lot to us. Glad you made good use of the patio and that you enjoyed our house so much. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Paradise

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

Second time I have stayed in this house. Both times were great. Very well constructed with Costa Rican style. Walking distance to the surf/beach was a plus. Nice cool A/C for the summer time, along with a pool makes this place very comfortable. Lush plants make it feel like your own little retreat. Highly recommend a vacation to Nosara and a stay at Los Pericos.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi dm,

Glad to hear you had a nice time in Nosara and that you enjoyed staying with us a second time. Thanks for taking notice of the surrounding plants, we are amazed at the growth with each trip we take. Hope you will find time in life to make another trip to Nosara, and when you do, we hope you will choose to stay at Los Pericos!

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Good value

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 11, 2011

We were only in Nosara for 4 days in the middle of August... and it rained. Since we were only staying a few days, our first inclination was to get a hotel, boy are we glad we came across this place! Considering there were 4 in our party and we needed 2 rooms, for the price it was considerably less expensive than any of the moderate hotels we thought about staying at. Plus we had the benefit of a kitchen and a living room, as well as an extensive collection of DVDs to enjoy. Not that we went to Costa Rica wanting to catch up on our movie viewing, but OMG... the rain was crazy the first 2 days! When the sun finally showed its face on day 3, we were able to explore a bit more. This place, as secluded as it seems it really close to the ocean. In fact, on the last two nights (when it wasn't raining) we could hear it at night when were on our way to sleep.

The house is great, the owner was responsive to our questions and even warned us well in advance that we would probably experience some wet days. Thanks for the DVDs and all of the various card and board games -- we enjoyed/appreciated them all!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi jacks,

Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to review our place. Wish the sun had been out for your your entire vacation but glad you guys managed to have a good time regardless. Hope you guys come back to Nosara soon!

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

You put the lime in the coconut...

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

We fell in love with Costa Rica on our first trip to Tamarindo in 2002 and have made our way back several times since. On our most recent trip we decide to branch out and check out some other towns. After landing in San Jose, we made our way to Limon on the Caribbean side, it was okay. Next headed back to San Jose and caught a little plane to Tambor where we spent 3 days, we had a great time - no regrets. Next we caught a flight over to Nosara where we spent the last 4 days of our vacation before heading back to San Jose and returning to the U.S. We wish we had made our way here sooner, but left knowing there is always next time.

This house is walking distance to the beach but is still very secluded. The property is well maintained and the pool and garden area provided my family and I with some of the best memories of our trip. We would definitely rent this house again.

It did rain while we were there, but this is fairly normal for this time of year. We still managed to get it in plenty of beach time and left with the feeling of relaxation we have come to expect from this wonderful country - pura vida!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi serg,

Sorry to hear your Caribbean experience was just okay. About 5 years back, my family and I spent the week in a town just south of Limon, called Cahuita. Sadly we had a similar experience. The town and the people were nice, the bummer of it was that we had rain for all but 5 minutes of our trip -- literally. Apparently, September and October are the best months to go to Caribbean side. Sure wish we knew that before we went, but nothing a deck of cards and a bottle of wine can't fix! Thanks for taking the time to review our casa and happy to hear you that you will keep us in mind for your next trip.

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Our second time here

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

This is the second time my family (4 including myself) have stayed at this house. Our last trip was just over two years ago and were very happy to find the house, pool and garden area to be exactly what we remembered. Everything has been extremely well maintained since our last visit.

We were also very happy to work with the same local property manager (Agnes) -- she was extremely helpful in setting up an airport transfer from Liberia and arranging for a turtle tour in Ostional. What else can I say that the other reviewers haven't already. If you are planning a trip to Costa Rica, Nosara is the place to go! If life brings us back to Nosara we will absolutely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi k-so,

Thanks for taking the time to review our place. Great to hear you and your family had a nice time on your return trip and thank you for staying with us a second time!

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 

We love Nosara!

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

We had a great trip. The house is close to the beach and walking distance to several of the best restaurants Nosara has to offer (La Luna, Olga's and Pancho's). Although the property is walking distance to quite a lot, the house itself is quite secluded and we were able to see the howler monkeys and other wild life right form the back yard. The pool was great and we would definitely stay here again. On another note, the water hammocks were a nice surprise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks erik, glad you and your family like Nosara as much as ours does! Great to hear that the howlers made their way so close to the property. I take it the monster mango tree was full of fruit? We really appreciate you taking the time to review our house and hope that you guys will stay with us again in the near future.

Pura vida!

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 

paradise

Review submitted: August 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

Our vacation here was unbelievable. We stayed for two weeks and did so much stuff that the two weeks went by quickly. Very safe, clean location. The beach is very close as well as restaurants and bars. The pool at the house was a much needed necessity as well as the air conditioner because we had a heat wave. Costa Rica was a unique experience for us and we would recommend this area and place to stay at.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi chuck,

Glad you guys had such a great time and thanks for taking the time to comment on our house. We were actually in Nosara the week before you arrived... that was a brutal heat wave. We spent a good part of our vacation in the pool as well, my time usually with an Imperial. Keep in touch and hope you decide to stay with us again.

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Wonderful Vacation!

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2009

From our arrival to our departure, we loved this home and all that it offered. Check- in was smooth & efficient. The house was immaculate; the towels were plush and abundant; the appliances and utensils in the kitchen were all that we needed. The pool and its surrounding area allowed everyone to have their own perfect spot: in the pool, sitting by the pool, or enjoying their time sitting at the covered patio at the beautiful table and chairs carved from local wood. The air-conditioning was welcomed and much appreciated; the 2 bedrooms were spacious and very comfortable, and the sleeping loft was exciting for the kids and adults as well. We were even able to watch howler monkeys in action from that vantage point! Restaurants offered anything from simple, local cuisine to gourmet meals and food from around the world. Our favorite little family-operated restaurant, Olga's, is a short walk, is very casual, is beachside, and will prepare whatever meal you are on the mood for. Activities were varied and readily available, from zip-lining, to surfing, swimming, hiking, Yoga, or just relaxing by the pool or on the beach.
We plan to stay here again, and give this beautiful home our highest recommendation!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks JoAnn, we appreciate you taking the time to review our little casa in Nosara! Very cool that the howlers were so visible during your stay, it is always nice when nature cooperates. We look forward to having you stay with us again, and glad that you enjoyed Olga's so much... it's our favorite as well.

Helpful votes: 27 / 27

 

Nice place, great vacation!

Review submitted: July 15, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

My family of six (including myself) had a wonderful stay! The house is quite peaceful, yet walking distance to the beach, several restaurants and a little market. The property and its grounds were well kept and secure... the maids and pool service were polite and timely... and in fact, there were plenty of pool toys just as the description states (there was this really cool inflatable snake thing -- SWEET!-:). Check in and check out was a breeze -- and all in all, we could not have been happier with our choice.

On a side note, I mentioned in emailing with the owner that we were heading down for spring break and to celebrate my 40th birthday. A couple of days after we got settled, the neighbor up the road dropped by to say "Happy Birthday!" and deliver some wonderful fresh baked goods -- I was really touched... and in the middle of the Costa Rican jungle no less.

Thanks again for a wonderful, although WAY too short of a vacation! We will most certainly be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks evyb! Happy to hear that you and your family had such a good time. We look forward to having you as our guest on your next trip to Nosara.

Helpful votes: 32 / 32

 

Beautiful property and excellent vacation

Review submitted: December 20, 2009   Date of arrival: February 7, 2009

We couldn't have been happier than we were renting this property for our vacation. We look forward to renting it again in the future and would recommend it highly to others.

The house, grounds and pool were impeccably maintained and very clean. It was a beautiful and relaxing setting. The location was also very convenient, an easy short walk to the beach as well as several restaurants and stores close by. Additionally, it was a short drive to get there from the Nosara airport and also a short drive from town with plenty of restaurants and shops. There were a bunch of fun activities nearby. We enjoyed the canopy zip lines, fishing and surfing, as well as just lounging around on the patio and in the pool soaking up some sun.

The rental and check-in process was really easy and accommodating. We've already recommended this property to some friends going to Costa Rica next year and look forward to getting back ourselves really soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words VTHokie_Rich... and congrats on the Chick-Fil-A bowl win this year (Dec 31, 2009)!! Hope you and your family will stay with us again in the future.

Helpful votes: 40 / 40

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review