reviews for: listing #60566 - Islamorada, Florida House rental

The Great Islamorada Getaway
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Indian Mound
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,700 - $3,200 /wk
    $7,900 - $8,500 /mth

sort by:

Fabulous home & location

Review submitted: July 23, 2014   Date of arrival: July 10, 2014

This home was a perfect set up for our family vacation, 6 adults and 5 grandkids. The loft with 4 twin beds was a perfect get away for the Grandkids. Kitchen was fully equipped and laid out very nice. Loved the screen enclosed porch for morning coffe. So convenient to ocean and bay and also to grocery store, pharmacy and many excellent restaurants. Pool was very refreshing after a long day on the Atlantic or the bay. Dockage was excellent for our 30ft boat with lots of room to spare, great fish cleaning station and water on the dock for washing down the boat. Has a 2nd refrigerator down stairs which we really needed with the size of our family and a seperate free standing freezer which was great for storing bags of ice so you don't have to go out each morning to buy ice before hitting the water. Our week went by way to fast and grandkids were very sad to leave, wanted to know if we could return again next year. Craig, the property care taker was very nice and met us upon our arrival and walked us through the house to familiarize us with the features of the home. He also reminded us of trash pick up days the day before pick up. Excellect family memories made here. Thank you Joe & Marina for sharing your lovely home with us, we had an Excellent week, looking forward to next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Hi Lennie & Family, thank you so much for taking time to repond with a wonderfull review. We appricate the feedback. We look forward to having you back.

Thank you,
Joe

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We could not have picked a better vacation rental. Very clean and well kept. Kids has a blast . We have a manatees visiting every day . Perfect location . We will defenetly rent this House again :)
Thank you !!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Islamorada Oasis

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

Oasis by defination - a refuge, as from work or stress; haven. What a wonderful ten day vacation my family of five adults, just spent here in the Florida Keys. With almost daily visits from the wild manatees and perfect weather we couldn't have asked for much more.- This private home sleeps 6 comfortably in 3 bedrooms on main floor; 3rd story loft sleeps additional 4 singles & private granny flat on street level sleeps 2 more w/ kitchenette, living room. bathroom & walk out patio. Main floor has spacious living quarters with great screened in upper balcony. Enjoy the view with your morning coffee - my favourite thing. A variety of fun and fine dining restaurants are within easy driving distance, fish lovers heaven. Pizza around the corner for lazy, eat-in evenings. Grocery and liquor store a quick 2 mile drive to stock up on supplies. Generous stock of towels, sheets, etc available for use and full appliances made this stay for my family a great time. Beautiful private pool steps from the house and close to the canal. We would definately come back! And thank you Joe - the rental process was easy and hassle free. Craig, the on-site contact person, was friendly but unobtrusive. Thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Amazing Getaway Home

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

This house was amazing! I was there for a low-key bachelorette party, and the location was amazing. 9 of us slept comfortably in this house, beautifully situated on a channel from the bay. More than once we were greeted my friendly manatees checking out the scenery (and our fresh-water hose), and we were able to canoe out into the bay to see the fish, turtles, and mandrakes. The house comes with a beautiful porch perfect for board games and a few beers, and a great patio to relax by the pool.

It was close to several mini-marts for us to pick up any supplies we wanted, but the house was conveniently stocked with basic cooking supplies and spices. It was also near some lovely bars and restaurants (we loved the Hog's Head and the Islamorada Fish Company and Lorelei's!).

I would come back here in a heartbeat... it was the perfect getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent Keys Vacation

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

Went on an extended weekend with my friends. We had a wonderful time. This house is in an excellent location in the Keys, close to everything, beaches, fishing, restaurants, bars, dolphin experiences, etc. The house has all the comforts of home, is spacious inside and out. Has a beautiful pool and a lovely dock. The manatees visit almost every day which is a special treat. I have already booked again for next spring. Love this place that much, will be coming back a lot.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

The best vacation house we have ever rented

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

My family enjoyed every minute we spent in this beautiful house. We enjoyed our time here so much that we are already booked for next. The house is very spacious and the seperated appartment on the first floor is an added bonus for large groups or families vacationing together. The location is great for fishing, swimming, going to the beach, relaxing, ect. The kids had a great time in the pool and out back on the deck fishing. I highly recomend this house to anyone looking for the full Florida Keys experience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A great house for a great vacation!

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

I've stayed over at this house with my girlfriend and her family several times over the past couple years. House is spacious and comfortable, convenient location along the keys. Pool is terriffic! Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Truly A Get-A-Way

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

My family and I loved this place so much. We would love to make it a yearly visit. My sons enjoyed fishing off of the dock as well as cooling off in the pool. It was truly an amazing vacation for all of us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

My family and I have stayed here multiple times over the years and both kids and adults have never been disappointed! The inside of the house is clean and spacious allowing guests privacy. The outside has a beautiful pool that has been wonderful for hours of swimming and relaxation along with the dock for boating, fishing and searching for manatees and iguanas! I would reccommend this house to anyone who is looking for a beautiful and convient location along with great customer service from the owners!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Recommend staying at the Great Islamorada Getaway!

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

We had a great stay at The Great Islamorada Getaway! Our family stayed for a week at the house in August. The house was beautiful and spacious. Everyone was able to have a bed and there were TVs in every room. The kitchen is well equipped and nicely laid out for family dinners. The screened in porch is a great spot to relax and look at the water. The kids loved the pool and they also enjoyed fishing right off of the dock. Several manatees came right up to the dock as well and we were able to take some wonderful photos of them.

The house has easy access to the ocean and the gulf. We rented wave runners and we were able to use them in the gulf not 5 minutes from the house. There was plenty of dock space, we rented a boat and two wave runners and had room to spare.

We were very close to several restaurants and we were able to try several different ones. (There is a book of recommendations provided in the house for those looking to browse different restaurant and bar options). We liked Lorelei, Islamorada Fish Company and Hog Heaven.

We also went to Key West one day and the drive was not bad. We could go and come back in the same day.

Overall we had a great time and would rent this house again. We have stayed in other houses in the keys and we liked the location of this one the best.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect house, perfect location

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

This house plus its location made for the perfect vacation in the Florida Keys. Islamorada has so much to offer in terms of dining, relaxing, fishing, and water sports, and the location of this house made everything easy to reach. We even made a day trip down to Key West!

Our vacation was relaxing and fun, especially because of the amenities included with the house. We were able to swim in the pool, fish in the canal, and have dinner outside on the huge screened-in porch. It was the ideal vacation spot - I hope we can go back again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Experience of a lifetime

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

Time of my life!!! The property is well maintained and the open floor plan on the main level is great for large groups to socialize. The place was decorated well and felt comfortable like a home more than a hotel room. The loft is great for groups of kids, 4 twin mattresses up there and "privacy" for the teenagers without isolating too much. Not sure why its listed as only sleeping 8, you can comfortable sleep 4 adult couples in the 4 bedrooms as well.

I personally love to fish saltwater/blue water and being from PA the opportunities locally are limited. Here, they are literally just out back on the dock. Alternatively, A short boat ride (we rented one as well which was delivered right to the dock) puts you in some of the most famous sport fishing waters in the world. We did well with Black Fin Tuna, MahiMahi and various reef species.

The house is a manageable distance from Key West as well. We made a day of it and had a blast. Have made some nights of it with friends on several trips which was great as well. Just watch for the deer crossing on the way down supposedly, still have yet to see one!!

The local bars/restaurants have great poster card quality sunsets and most will even cook your fish caught that morning. They call it "hook and cook" around there. Friendly people, great music & VERY relaxing. A more romantic Brazilian Steak House is a short drive away as well for that get a away night with the lady.

The kids had a great time as well. They were feeding wild manatees with fresh water right from the dock hose, playing in the pool, jet skis, tubing on boat rides, the list just goes on and on.

I have gone down every year now as often as I can. Sometimes just with a group of serious fisherman or potential clients, sometimes with family to relax and laugh. Either way, every single trip has left me with hundreds of photos and memories that will last a lifetime.

Thanks!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Location!

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

We shared the house with 3 other couples. It was very spacious and comfortable for that many people. The central Keys location is perfect as it is easy to get up to Key Largo or down to Marathon in a short time. Mornings on the screened in deck were beautiful with the view of the canal and boats going by. We saw as many as six manatees right off the dock. Just amazing! I would definitely recommend this house for groups or families.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Keys Getaway

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

My family and i really enjoyed our time in this wonderful house. Spacious, clean, great dock and swimming pool. Great access to the bay and the ocean. We definitely plan to stay again. In fact we're already booked for next July.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Doesn't get any better!

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

A beautiful experience right on the water! Easy access to bayside and ocean. Also centrally located to all the best parks in the Keys. Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review