reviews for: listing #60613 - Lincoln City, Oregon House rental

Ocean View and 3 Master Suites! Sea 'Scape at Roads End
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Roads End
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $350 /nt
    $1,000 - $2,100 /wk
    $4,000 - $9,800 /mth

sort by:

Sea mistake

Review submitted: August 6, 2014   Date of arrival: August 3, 2014

I was a little upset with a few things with the house, but I must say it's a nice home in a good location. I just want folks to be aware of things so the don't get surprised.

The family room with the pool table is the garage. I don't think there is one end table in the house, all of the tables are tv trays, and no coffee table. We only had working cable in the garage. (Nancy said it was getting fixed, but not while we were there) The cleaning was OK in the house, but around the outside there is litter and I don't think there is any kind of yard maintenance. I did find old coffee in the coffee pot and some dirty dishing in the cabinet. The deck has no furniture on it and it is very small. We wanted to cook on the bq, but there was no propane, the cleaning folks brought some when we called them, Nancy told us to go get it and bill her. I never like to put in bad reviews, but the house just had a feel like know one cares about it. I have rental properties myself and I am probably more sensitive with the little things than other folks. I am glad we only stayed a few nights.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you, Mike and Jackie for your feedback. I hope you enjoyed your stay in my home.

I would like to take this opportunity to respond to each of your comments individually.

Your comment that "no one cares" about this home could not be further from the truth. Having a home in Roads End has been my dream since I was a young girl vacationing there with my family every summer. I manage the property myself because I do pay attention to many small details that perhaps you did not notice. Thank you for your comments.

As the garage is nicely painted and situated within close proximity to the main living area, it is perfectly suited for use as a rec room. This setup works well for many groups, especially those with children, as they are able to have their own space for indoor activities such as watching movies & TV, playing pool, enjoying board games, reading etc and are still within close proximity to the kitchen and main living area.

I chose to supply wooden folding tables (or TV trays) instead of furnishing the home with end tables because they are both portable and plentiful. Also, they can be placed wherever a guest will need one.

Regarding cable, the cable company had upgraded to a digital signal in the area and had not yet come to my house to upgrade the TVs which previously did not require boxes. Prior to your arrival, you were notified that the cable on the 39 inch flat screen in the rec room worked perfectly and that the remaining TVs could still be used for movies and gaming. I informed you that the first available appointment was after your stay and that I was on a waiting list with the cable company for an earlier appointment.

I personally arrived after your departure and saw no litter. Perhaps the coastal winds blew something in, then back out again.

Finding an available landscaper in the area has proven to be quite challenging. In the spring, I researched online and also received 3 local referrals. Upon contacting the one company found in this search, I learned that they were completely booked until the end of the summer. As your stay was in August, they were not yet able to tend to my property.

I will speak to my cleaning company about the coffee pot and will request that they check for dirty dishes that a guest may have it away in a cabinet during their stay.

Wicker chairs which are used on the deck are sometimes moved indoors by guests.

A new propane tank was purchased in the spring. I will purchase a spare.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break Get-Away

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: March 27, 2014

This is great place for a family vacation. We stayed with our 2 adult children and their spouses, so the 3 Master Suites were exactly what we needed. The house was very clean, roomy and comfortable. A good time was had by all!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cheryl

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

Stayed at this wonderful house with six other women for a fun girl's weekend. The house is exceptionally clean and neat and there was plenty of room for all seven of us. This was our third time staying at the home and we always have such a great time here. Beautiful views of the ocean and we have even seen the deer walking in the yard. Such a warm, inviting place for a girl's retreat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Very nice quiet home

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

The house is a wonderful retreat; quiet, comfortable, well equipped. Three women on a quilting retreat found the facilities with three master suites perfect for us. The big dining table worked perfect for our sewing. It's about a 3 block walk to get down to a very nice beach. We did have a couple of issues with the situation: had a difficult time communicating with the owner; in fact did not get the final details needed for the trip until 10 PM the night before arrival. The cleaning fee is advertised at one rate, but we were charged 35% more than advertised (new cleaning company, but the website needs to be updated). One bed had not had the linen changed, though the house was otherwise nice and clean. We were told there was an iron/ironing board, but the board has no pad/cover on it. We did enjoy our stay in this nice home, and would go back if plans allow.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Donna, thank you for your thoughtful comments. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in my home.

I would like to take this opportunity to address each of the issues raised.

Every effort is made to be responsive to guest questions. The address of the home and cleaning fee were both provided in the rental agreement containing the terms you agreed upon at the time of booking. The lockbox code was provided to you Sunday evening prior to your arrival. The code is often changed and is always provided before a guest arrives.

The comment stating that one of the beds was not made with fresh linens is incorrect. I had personally washed all bedding, including sheets, comforters, pillows, throw pillows, shams and bed skirts prior to your arrival. Linens are always fresh on every bed prior to a guest’s arrival. No exceptions. In this instance, I had cleaned the home prior to your arrival, but I am very clear with my cleaning company on this point as well.

The ironing board cover had been damaged and was disposed of. A new one will be made available.

Great pride is taken in the comfort and cleanliness of the home. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Great Rental for Families!!!

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2013

Nancy, Thank you once again for such an amazing experience and for opening your beautiful home to vacationers! We had a blast. My parents, my brother & his family and my family spent a week in this amazingly beautiful and family friendly home. When we first walked in the door it was such an inviting and CLEAN home. We could tell that the home had just been cleaned, it was fresh and clean, which is always a great thing! We had young children with us (6yr, 3yr, 8months) and this home was prefect for our families. Our kids enjoyed playing video games and watching TV in the rec room while the adults hung out in the kitchen area making dinner and enjoying "adult time" with the kids still being in close perimeters. The bedroom set up is perfect, comfty beds, perfect size! The walk to the beach seemed a little longer than 1/2 block, but it wasnt anything that kept us from walking there any enjoying the beach! It wasnt crowded, ever!! This was our first trip to the coast and we are planning on coming back every summer! Our kids are already asking when we can go back to "the beach house!" Thank you again!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Very peaceful and welcoming

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2013

Since this was my fist time staying in a vacation rental, and sight unseen, I was a little nervous. I was in charge of picking and renting a place for a two night girls get-away. We were all so thrilled upon arrival. The house is clean, well maintained and soooo inviting. I am hoping to come back with my husband and a couple friends. Thank you for the use of your home. We enjoyed it very much, and hope to return someday soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Queensryche @ Chinook Winds

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

Very nice house, very clean. We were only there for 2 nights and enjoyed every aspect of your sea side home. Great views and excellent location. We only had 2 couples. This place would be comfortable with many more.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Spring Break in the rain!

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2012

When we got to Lincoln City we heard there will be a horrible storm coming through. When the storm started, we had to spend almost all our time in the house. This house was so beautiful and fun. We had the fireplace going, played pool downstairs, the girls played on the Wii downstairs, we played board games on the large dining room table. One member of our family even took a bubble bath on a stormy nice. Very large and new, yet cozy and fun.

Very close to the beach and you can see the waves crashing on the shores from the main side of the house where all the living areas are. Very cool to see the storm coming in and waves crashing on the surf.

We will definitely seek out this home again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Girls Gey Away

Review submitted: October 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 17, 2011

Your home was beautiful the pictures don't it do justice. Our pinochle group (6 women) enjoyed having 3 bedrooms each with their own bathrooms. A must for women. Both nights we had beautiful sunsets. We couldn't have asked for better weather. Yes, we saw the deer. The mother and her two young fawns paid us a long visit. We enjoyed long walks on the beach. A trip to the outlet Mall and the Casino, and oh yes we did get in some pinochle. We are looking forward to a return visit Thanks for the use of your home..

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A Peaceful Getaway Retreat

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2011

We had a wonderful week and a half vacation staying here. We traveled to see family at the coast as well as inland and this was a perfect home base. Lot's of great dining - Gallucci's Pizza, Mo's and Fathom's. Quick walk to a beautiful beach that was never crowded and had a great tide pool. Enjoyed seeing the local deer a couple times during our trip. Leaving a window open a bit upstairs and down gave us the ever so peaceful sounds of the crashing ocean waves to keep our relaxation levels right where they should be. Amazing views. While it is not mentioned much in the listing there is even a small deck with a great view that we enjoyed each day as well. We would definitely stay here again and recommend this home to others. We had various family come and visit for an afternoon here and there during our trip and they were all very impressed by this home.

Our only issue (which was very minor) is that we felt the cleaning & maintenance service being used had not been very thorough. A number of light bulbs were burned out and there were a few things around the home that could use a bit of TLC to get them back to 100%

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

wonderful vacation home!

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

The home was very clean and surpassed all of our expectations. Everything looked better than the photos. We loved it and hope to return again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

We are so pleased to be able to be the first renters of this awesome beach house! Incredible views, sounds and smells. Future renters be sure to hike to the end of the road, up the deer path and there will be a lovely stroll along the road. We still haven’t figured out how to get to the top of the hill, though. That will have to wait for our next trip! Thanks, Nancy!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2010

Nancy, Your home is so peaceful! When we got here there were 3 deer on the front lawn and three more showed up out on the road. The view is spectacular with the waves really putting on a show for us! One question, how did you arrange for such beautiful spring-time weather in February? What a blessing it has been! Sometimes having a birthday in the middle of February can be challenging. The company of two of my dearest friends and my big sis made this the best birthday a person could ask for. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

Your house was awesome! Our family enjoyed a relaxing week at your beach house. We don’t have a Wii at home so our kids had a blast with it. We went to Newport, and other beaches around. We had some great walks; enjoyed clam chowder at Mo’s and saw the famous “3 deer” almost every day. We relaxed, and enjoyed the sounds and sights of the beautiful ocean. We left on Friday while it rained – and was very windy!! What a wonderful memory for our family. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

Your house was awesome! Our family enjoyed a relaxing week at your beach house. We don’t have a Wii at home so our kids had a blast with it. We went to Newport, and other beaches around. We had some great walks; enjoyed clam chowder at Mo’s and saw the famous “3 deer” almost every day. We relaxed, and enjoyed the sounds and sights of the beautiful ocean. We left on Friday while it rained – and was very windy!! What a wonderful memory for our family. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

Nancy, thank you so very much for letting us use your beautiful beach house. We enjoyed every minute of the time we sisters (6) spent here. We also went to garage sales and what a fun time. Looking forward t to coming here a lot more.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 28, 2010

Nancy, your ad on VRBO didn’t do your place justice. So comfortable and welcoming. I’ve heard (and read in this guest book!) about the “famous” three deer. We had the pleasure of seeing six! Thank you so much for opening your home to our group of eight. All girls with plenty of room to sprawl out. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

Nothing feels better than feeling 100% safe, 100% comfortable and waking up to the sound of waves crashing on the shore not even a football field away. Wow! That is all that needs to be said…Your home is warm and perfect for any beach getaway. Being this close to the ocean is so peaceful and with a house this nice, life could not get better!...A truly comfy getaway with beautiful views. Thanks for sharing your beautiful home with all of us. I will hope to see this place again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

Thank you so much !! …We had some great time on the beach and shopping in Depot Bay. We even took a trip to see Newport to see the aquarium. We also saw some deer in the neighbor’s yard and a sea lion on the beach, it was really cool! We hope to stay again later this summer, we love it here!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

Thank you for a great stay. We are friends from Albany and are turning 50. We have all known each other since our grade school and middle school days. …The 7 of us try to get together every summer. Great walks on the beach, reminiscing and DVDs of “Glee”. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2010

Nancy, your home was so beautiful and made it a perfect setting for the best vacation ever. We will be back! Thank you for opening your home to us!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

It is the most well kept and beautiful home we have rented here in Lincoln City. And, yes, there are deer in the yards!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

We’ve enjoyed our stay. Such a lovely and relaxing home. So beautiful , great views. We hope to come back on one of our sisters’ weekends.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2010

Nancy – The house was great, lots of room and very comfortable. 3 bedrooms with bathrooms are much appreciated. The 9 days sped past filled with activities, lots of laughter & wonderful family time. An added highlight was our daughter’s finding a glass ball on Christmas evening down by the surf. The next morning our grandson found one in the logs. Every day expeditions to the beach in hopes of finding more were undertaken. Thank you for allowing us to rent the house for our family gathering. It was a very special time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

Thank you for renting to us over the New Year. My family was over from the UK and they had a wonderful time. Great views, great company & a restful time

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2010

Thank you Nancy for such a wonderful time! This is the first year we have done a trip at the beach and your house was the perfect location! It was close to the beach and the store so we could make quick trips as often as needed. The kids loved having their own room with a view of the beach. There was plenty of space for everyone there and we loved the giant dining room table for meals. The best part of the trip was that we could be as busy as we wanted or as lazy as we wanted! We had a great time and are already planning for next year's trip! The pictures do not do justice to this beautiful property... definately a great location for your next vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Best Weekend of the summer!

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

What a great place for a three generation getaway. Three families, three suites and a wonderful living area to spend time together. Even better than the photos! Neat and clean, with all the amenities and plenty to do all the way down to the 7 year old. Beach access is a couple blocks away. I would definitely recommend this lovely house to family and friends. Thanks Nancy! We'll be back next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: April 29, 2010

Wow! What can I say except this place made our stay so enjoyable. Off the beaten path but close enough to shopping and the casino. And the ocean view and beach proximity were amazing! We also had the pleasure of being visited by 6 coastal deer. With eight (yup, eight!) women we all were comfortable and slept amazingly very well on the comfortable beds. Thank you so much for allowing us to rent your home!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Review submitted: November 9, 2009   Date of arrival: November 9, 2009

We have stayed at this beautiful home several weekends now and it is always more amazing than the last. Anyone would have a wonderful time! There is plenty to do whether you stay at home or go in to town or go out to the beach. Thank you so much for the best time ever!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review