reviews for: listing #60623 - La Quinta, California House rental

EcoFriendly Desert Oasis, Saltwater Pool, 3BR, View Home!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  La Quinta Cove
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $250 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,295 /wk

sort by:

great find, great home, great trails, great owners

Review submitted: December 13, 2009   Date of arrival: November 24, 2009

All was as described. the home is actually even nicer than it appears in the photos. the main living area was spacious and comfortable with great ventilation with doors open and great HVAC with doors closed.
If you are looking for a nice home rented to you by nice people, Mark was great, this is for you. We were in town for the national field hockey festival, which was 5-10 minutes away at Empire Polo. My wife and I were able to run up the street from the house 2 minutes and be on a great trail network into the desert. Great trail runs up a long ridge line to an oasis, along the flats then up the "risky trail"(so labeled on the trail sign) for a great view east over lake Cochelo(sp.?)

Could not have been better, Thanks Mark

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 30 / 30

 

Super Holiday Villa

Review submitted: August 19, 2014   Date of arrival: July 22, 2014

We rented the villa last July from Mark.
The villa was immaculate clean and the contact with the owner was perfect, he answered all my questions.
They made our vacation really enjoyable.
We are from Belgium, and when we would come back to La Quinta, we sure would come back here.
Hans.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Week

Review submitted: July 29, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

This home is everything & more as described and shared in the pics! We spent a "fabulous week" in this home and can't wait to return. Every detail is thoughtful and carefully planned. The location was quiet and enjoyable - we walked the neighborhood and trails daily. The owners could not have been more helpful and friendly through the entire rental process. You will not regret reserving this home - you'll be happy you did!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 22, 2014

The house was perfect and clean. Owner was always easy to get a hold of. The views in the cove are stunning and would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved the hiking

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: November 17, 2013

Beautiful, comfortable and well equipped house made this a lovely stay in the desert.
Enjoyed the close proximity to the "Cove to Lake Trail" which we hiked every morning.
The owners were very helpful and pay attention to the details.
It was also a real treat to have bicycles available, which we used to explore the neighbourhood and quaint town of La Quinta.
One of the best restaurants is just minutes away in the village centre - Stuft Pizza - great Sports bar.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another great family vacation

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

Our friends and family were lucky to be able to enjoy another vacation time at Mark and Judy's lovely home in La Quinta cove. Their well appointed home lends itself very easily to quarantee a wonderful family holiday.
The quiet setting is welcomed in our busy lives. My adult children and family friends all know they will have been able to enjoy all the attractions of the desert community as well as find a relaxing retreat at the house. Looking forward to more times there in future.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A fantastic find!

Review submitted: February 14, 2014   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Casa Calliandra and would highly recommend it. Mark was pleasant and efficient to communicate with and made sure all our questions were answered before we booked the house. We traveled with our young children, ages one and five, and specifically chose this house because it was clutter-free and therefore easy to “kid proof.” There was a small playground a few blocks away – just a pleasant walk in the morning sunshine. There was also a picnic area a short walk from the house at the Cove Oasis – an easy half-mile walk from the house on a sidewalk and then a dirt path. The bikes were greatly appreciated and we really enjoyed exploring the neighborhood pathways. The pool is wonderful and the hot tub was a great place to relax in the evening and watch the desert sky. The home is spacious, well-appointed and very comfortable. We look forward to our next visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

MEMORABLE STAY

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

In regards to the photos accurately reflecting the property...absolutely. The property was beyond clean and definitely well maintained. Pride of ownership abounded. Yes, I would highly recommend this property to friends/family.
First off, the property owners are just wonderful and so personable! They truly want their guests to have a memorable stay. Of course I am one to ask millions of questions and they graciously emailed me with answers. This was our first time renting somebody's home on-line and the owner helped me to understand what was needed from me and how to go about doing it which was greatly appreciated.
His home is absolutely lovely and extremely spacious. It accomodated six adults beyond comfortable! We absolutely felt at home with all the furnishings, electronics, stocked kitchen ec cetera. The nights were complete with a wonderful dip in the beautiful salt water jacuzzi. My girlfriend who is allergic to cholorine very much appreciated it as we all did. The home has so many windows to enjoy the beautiful view of the mountains that surround the area. The neighborhood provided quiet days and tranquil evenings which we very much appreciated coming from the busyness of the OC. Lastly, even upon arrival and needing questions answered, the owner took our calls and checked in with us to make sure everything was up to par. Oh by the way, they are so sweet by leaving their guests a welcome basket of goodies and wine. I definitely would recommend adding Casa Calliandra to your stay while in La Quinta. While you are you La Quinta, make it a point to enjoy the dinner show at Indian Wells Resort with Frank DiSalvo. You will NOT be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great experience

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

Casa Calliandra is a wonderful choice if you are heading to the Palm Desert/La Quinta area. The property has up to date finishings throughout and is extremely clean and well kept. The owners certainly take pride in their property, and it shows. We were there for a golf tournament at PGA West, and the proprety was less than 10 minutes from the courses, located in a quiet location on a side street at the edge of town. The property is also very reasonably priced in comparison to other units in the area. We will be back the next time we are in the area!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation to Date!

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 29, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a great long weekend getaway to lay low and check out. This place was the perfect spot. It is on a quiet street but just a few minutes away from any emmenity that you might need. La Quinta was a great town to be in and it had all brand new construction with restaurants and stores for us to utilize. The home is in excellent condition and had everything we needed. It was extremely comfortable and every time we had a question about something a lable or direction previously provided by the owners was available. They have thought about everything and they were great to rent from.

The owners were pleasant and passionate about their home and they always communicated effectively and with purpose. This home had great technology, wifi, and a kitchen that you could cook any meal in. The grill was excellent and everything we needed was right there. We absolutely loved this place and I loved working with the owners. They do business the right way and are very customer service oriented. We very much appreciate their hospitality and hope that we can stay here again on our next weekend getaway.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic getaway for a weekend!

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

Our stay at Casa Calliandra was great. The house was very comfortable and the kitchen was well stocked. The layout of the house is open and inviting and it is even better than the pictures show. The pool and hot tub was just what our kids needed. We swam all day and night and when not swimming we enjoyed movies on the several flat screen TVs. In addition, the house is located right near trailheads, which lent itself to easy access to fun evening hikes. Finally, Mark was very accomodating and friendly, making everything easy and worry free. We couldn't have asked for a better stay and look forward to returning soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful House

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

We had a beatiful vecation in this house. My little son loved playing in the pool. The house had everything that we needed and everything was lovely decorated and clean. The owner Marc was always helpful, when we had questions. We will surely come again to that house, when we are arround.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Memorial Day stay

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

We loved the house and its location was excellant. At first we couldn't find the pool because we were looking in the backyard, but the pool is in the front of the house. Mark and Judy were so nice to deal with and everything they said about the property was true, it had everything you could possibly need for your stay no matter how long you were to be there. All features in the house were top of the line and extremely clean. The house is in a quiet area and really nice if you are looking for a peacefull place near lots of great eating places. We will deffinately go back to stay again. I would highly recommend this house to anyone. Be sure to eat at Mexicali Cafe on Washington between 48th and the 111.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Great Escape

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 13, 2013

I highly recommend this home for a worry-free vacation experience. The owner's extensive attention to detail ensures a superior guest experience. The layout of the home is smart and environmentally sensitive. It is exceptionally clean and well equipped with quality appliances, cookware, furniture, towels and linens. The home offers causal luxury and uncompromised comfort throughout. We arrived during a heat wave and found the outside living area was ideal for basking in the gentle morning and afternoon sun, for cooling off in the salt water pool, and for enjoying the warm desert winds in the shade. The home's proximity to the hiking trails was a great bonus, and the quality of the bikes was a welcomed surprise! The owners leave nothing to chance, and having rented several vacation homes in the area, we will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great time at la Quinta vacation home

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

The vacation home was such a wonderful experience from the owners being available for us and generally concerned about our stay,. The home was in immaculate condition, well maintained and stocked with everything we needed. I would most definately recommend this home to friends and family. There is plenty to do in this little piece of paradise, we were kept busy with great weather, wonderful golf courses, fine food.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

Delightful home located in a quiet neighborhood. The house was spacious, clean and well appointed. Everything we needed for a comfortable holiday was provided. Bikes were available for exploring, a pool and quiet garden for relaxing and hiking trails are only a block away. We look forward to returning again to the blue skies and warm temperatures of La Quinta. Thanks for the great memories we don't hesitate to recommend this property to others,our experience was greater than we imagined.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Happy Holiday at Casa Calliandra

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

This is our 5th visit to Casa Calliandra. Obviously our family enjoys our time there!
Mark and Judy have created an oasis for anyone visiting the wonderful vacation spot of the desert.
There is lots to do and see in this area, but coming "home" to the house is always so welcomed. It is a relaxing and very well appointed vacation home...really your "home" away from home. I think it can meet the needs of family and friends of any age and stage.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Luxury stay, very relaxing.

Review submitted: December 27, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2012

Beautiful location and house. The house was absolutely spotless when we arrived and everything was top notch. We went hiking and running at the park 2 blocks away. The hot tub was so relaxing. The house was supplied with lots of helpful accessories, games, videos, book of suggestions, etc. I would recommend this house for anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Casa Calliandra

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

Great home in a perfect location. Everything was as described or better. The owners were a pleasure to deal with and responded quickly to all our questions and requests. Getting use of the bikes made it fun to ride down the hill to play tennis every other day at the community courts. We would definitely stay at this property again. Thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Another Wonderful Weekend

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

My family had another wonderful stay at Casa Calliandra over Labor Day weekend. The kids just love having the pool just a few steps away. Mark and Judy have thought of everything to make your stay as pleasant as it could possibly be.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

We were so happy when we arrived at this beautiful home. It was like staying in a 5 star resort. We were pleased to find the home elegantly decorated, sparkling clean, organized and comfortable. There was nothing we would change. We checked out a lot of other vacation homes before making our decision and we found this home to be extraordinary. Mark and Judy are the most gracious hosts you could hope for. They go above and beyond to make sure your stay is exceptional. They have a winning combination between their lovely home and the wonderful people they are. We highly recommend Casa Calliandra for a wonderful relaxing stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

This is a well organized, nicely furnished desert home away from home, and well worth checking into.

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

Our purpose was to relax in a home that would offer us the opportunity to see what it would be like to spend the hottest days of the year as a resident instead of a visitor. Of all the places available this property's completely detailed description fit our needs. We received a prompt and courteous response to our inquiry. The few questions we had were answered accurately and competently. There were no surprises. If anything, our experience surpassed our expectations. The owner was totally involved in ensuring we were enjoying our stay. Every request was accomplished to everyone's satisfaction.
This property offers first-rate accomodations that matched our needs.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Girls Just Want To Have Fun

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

My two sisters and I just wanted a week in the sun, good food/wine, lots of shopping and time to enjoy each other’s company. This home provided all of that! The pool was a perfect size for the 3 of us to just lay around in, the home and all it's bedding, TV's, kitchen items, washer/dryer,gas barbecue, etc. were ALL first class. The neighborhood was quite, we were able to relax and enjoy the lovely weather and outdoors. The owners were very accomodating to our requests and easy to work with and we were even greeted with a welcome basket of wine and cheese. We enjoyed our stay at this lovely home and plan to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A relaxing and sunny stay in a beautifully furnished home - with very good levels of service

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 3, 2012

We stayed at Mark and Judys home for ten nights during a recent stay in California. The home is furnished to a very high degree and everything is catered for. Their personal service was very reassuring and I feel that they really care about getting it right. The area is very peaceful and located in a tranquil residential setting immediately adjacent to beautiful mountain trails. La Quinta and the local desert cities offer lots of shopping and eating experiences when you want to step out. It was lovely to spend days sitting by the pool (back garden in the morning and pool in the afternoon to catch the sun). The home is equipped with a high amount of technology, which once you get to grips with, is great. The weather was perfect when we stayed, hot but not unmanageable, and it is very peaceful to sleep at night. Well recommended for a quiet, relaxing get away. Thank you Mark and Judy for being such lovely and genuine hosts.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

My 3 Day Relaxation Experience

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

I recently spent 3 days at Casa Calliandra and it was fabulous! We arrived in the evening, the cable TV's weren't working due to of some problem w/the cable company. After I contacted the cable company they walked me through it and we got all the TV's back on line without any problems. The numbers to the house were visble and allowed me to answer all the necessary questions. I was so glad. I spent most my day in the pool and using the grilling in the evening. The kitchen was great, every thing I needed was there; the bedrooms were spacious and the bed were as if I was in a 5 star hotel. It was all one could ask for and more. Oh... the the use of the computer was perfect. We were able to get directions to local places and check our emails. Thank you to the Host and Hostess for sharing their home, I can't wait to return next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Getaway

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

We just returned from four days at Casa Callandria. I had never rented a home and wasn't sure what to expect. Mark walked me through all the details and was so gracious throughout the process. The home is beautiful and absolutely anything you might need is there. We cooked all the days we stayed and just relaxed in the pool and napped. Our travelers included 2 couples, 2 kids, and 1 baby. We are looking forward to returning and if you are unsure about going with this rental don't hesitate you will be delighted.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

EXCEPTIONAL EXPERIENCE

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

What an excellent experience. Everything was first class and everything in the home was first class. Definitely an excellent vacation regardless of the hot temperatures. Homeowner did not miss a thing in the house--better than home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Serene Hideaway!

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

We had a delightful 11 day stay at Casa Calliandra in late April of 2012. The house is exactly as described. The open floor plan creates a spacious and comfortable interior. All the furnishings are of the highest quality. The neighborhood is quiet and views from the pool deck are stunning. We loved walking on the paved trail that follows the mountains toward La Quinta. The pool is great for a cooling dip, if not for swimming laps. The owners are very attentive and available for all inquiries. We have already recommended this property to our friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Makes you never wanna leave

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We loved this home. It has a very welcoming feeling.Every time we visit California this will be the home we stay in. It is a perfect location,Very quite and comfortable neighborhood. Mark and Judy were very great at making sure we had everything we needed and that everything was well taken care of.We recommend this home to EVERYONE who is looking to visit California.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Another wonderful visit to Casa Calliandra

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

This is our second visit to Casa Calliandra. Again we had a great family holiday! Everyone was able to relax, either by the pool or family room (watching playoff hockey on the big screen). Meals on the patio or around the dining table set the stage for hours of board games. Being so close to great walking trails and use of the bikes gave each member of family, aged 66-23, a chance to do something different.
Mark and Judy have made sure that the house has everything one needs for an excellent holiday...even arranged for some nice warm weather! Casa Calliandra pretty much guarantees everyone leaves with wonderful family memories.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Minnesota

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 24, 2012

Great property, concerned and active homeowner. All necessary items to make this vacation home like being at your own home. Homeowner always looking for feedback to make your experience even more enjoyable. We have been there the last three years and will be back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Outstanding Home in the Desert

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

We largely based our selection of this property on previous reviews and we were not disappointed.The owners have spared no expense in outfitting this home,from the very comfortable beds to big screen TV's to the BBQ!
We stayed here for a break from our winter rain and had our 3 children with us.We enjoyed the easily accessible desert hikes as well as the proximity to attactions such as Joshua Tree National Park,The Living Desert and even spent a day in the LA area which is an easy drive of less than two hours.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

TRULY BEAUTIFUL HOUSE & GREAT OWNERS

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2011

My wife and I have been using VRBO for a few years now to locate great places to stay for our holidays and we’ve never been disappointed. Staying at Casa Calliandra in La Quinta was everything that the owners, Mark and Judy advertised, and even more.

The house itself is a beautiful, well-kept example of a modern open floor plan with ten-foot ceilings and all the amenities. The kitchen is a delight to cook in and is fully stocked with appliances and cooking utensils. The dinnerware and glassware are top-notch. The professional propane BBQ worked like a dream. The HDTVs throughout the house were great and Mark and Judy provide a library with popular DVDs for your enjoyment.

The bedrooms were well-appointed and the beds were equipped with great mattresses. The small pool and spa worked perfectly and the deck/patio area was a pleasure to rest in. The emphasis on being eco-friendly throughout the house is notable.

The house’s lighting was extraordinary, capable of creating many different moods. While I’m a tech-type person, a neophyte might be puzzled by the high-tech electronic switches throughout the house. Even the wonderful entertainment centre and sound system programming are not for the faint of heart! I’m sure that Marc will continue to refine the explanations of the switches and systems, in the house guide that they provide.

The great location in La Quinta provides a remarkable view of the mountains and easy access to hiking trails and world-class golf.

Mark and Judy bend over backwards to provide their tenants with an enjoyable experience, starting with a welcome telephone call and immediate response to any questions you might have.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Canadians Enjoying Sunshine and Warmth

Review submitted: November 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2011

We would not hesitate to recommend this immaculately maintained home and setting to anyone wanting to step into a modern slice of tranquility! All the amenities were available including large flat screen televisions, fully equipped kitchen, computer and wireless network access, bicycles, relaxing deck furniture, comfortable beds, pool and hot tub. This home provided a serene and relaxing atmosphere on the edge of desert and yet was just minutes from downtown La Quinta. The easily accessible bike and hiking trails were a bonus and were used daily. The owners cheerfully answered all our questions and provided us with peace of mind by dealing with our concerns in a timely fashion. We are not golfers but found the trails, shopping malls and quaint village center, lying in the sun and local attractions were more than enough to entice us to return again in the future and to encourage friends and family to stay at this excellent home.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Equiped and Best Administered!

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

My wife and I have been renting homes in the La Quinta area for many years but we have never seen anything like this home. First of all the owner's have thought of everything that you would need to make your stay the most pleasant. The proper dishware, glass ware, pots and pans, table mats, first class linens, home in spotless condition, bikes, etc that you would have in your own home is what has been provided. They even provided a gift basket of a couple bottles of wine and tea to make your stay even that much more enjoyable. The owner's care about your experience and they check up on you to make sure everything is to your liking. The home is in the high cove area and has great access to trails and the desert park land. I recommend that you stay at this home but leave me some space to come back as soon as we can.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Love, love, love this place!!!

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

Our rental plans changed at the very last minute, and we ended up staying at Mark and Judy's place, sight unseen....
It is just gorgeous! Everything about their beautiful home is first class. It would be perfect for any vacationer. It is so comfortable and inviting, spotless, just lovely! The design of the house is wonderful, we enjoyed the morning sunrise off the kitchen/bedroom on their very nicely appointed patio, and the afternoon and evening in the front where the beautiful salt water pool and hot tub are. Their home is very private, just perfect for a stay in the desert! I especially enjoyed the open conscept of the main living area. I could be in the kitchen preparing for the barbeque, have a glass of wine, enjoy the reflections of the sparkling pool, and watch the very large screen tv!
They haven't missed a detail, any questions are laid out in their information binder, or if needed Mark was just a phone call away, and is very pleasant and helpful.
We got out and enjoyed the hiking trails that are only a couple of blocks away. Started our day with our usual Starbuck's, which is a short drive away, and is also close to everything you may need, like restaurants, and groceries.
After saying all this, I just hope it isn't booked up the next time we would like (love!) to visit!?!!
Thank you for the welcome basket Mark & Judy, very thoughtful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A real treat.

Review submitted: October 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

I only have 2500 words to describe my stay in Mark & Judy's home so I will keep it short. From the moment I walked in I felt right at home, the house was immaculate. It was better than described. Thank you guys for the nice "Welcome" basket, nice thought. The most unfortunate thing was, I was staying in the house by myself, no one else to share it with and that was a shame. I had a great stay, everything was perfect, the pool was very refreshing after a hot morning of golf. Mark was great, the whole process was easy, everything went as planned. I am planning on a return trip and if that works out there is no question about where I will stay. Oh yeah, the Stuffed Pizza was a great place to eat. Thanks you guys, it was a pleasure staying in your home. I highly, highly recommend that you consider this property if you are planning a visit to La Quinta.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

Our week long stay was very enjoyable not only because of the lovely home and all its amenities, but also because of the owner who was so responsive. Mark is very thoughtful and cares that his guests are comfortable during their stay. I would recommend this property for families with young children and anyone looking for a clean, well appointed rental.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The best of the best!

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

Our stay at this beautiful rental property was absolutely awesome. Mark & Judy have put so much care into making it a 'home away from home'. ......they have thought of everything a person would need or want for comfort. They are very responsive and were always available to answer any questions that we had. The surrounding mountains, old town La Quinta, birds, flowers, quiet, walking trails, etc. all added to our enjoyment. I highly recommend this home and we will surely stay here again when we go back to La Quinta!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A home away from home

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

The owners have made sure you have everything to enjoy their lovely home. We had a wonderful time in La Quinta. The location is super, the house is fully stocked, clean, convenient, walking distance to parks and hiking. My kids enjoyed having their private pool most!!
We will surely stay here again if in La Quinta

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Casa Caliendra

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

The home is absolutely beautiful and well-maintained. Owners are thorough and consciencious. Any amenity that you could ask for is provided. Pool area is a little small for six guests and hot tub does not have jets.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

It just does not get any better!!!

Review submitted: June 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

An extremely comfortable home set in between stunning mountains. This home has it all--equipped with high end linens and furniture. The pool is sparkling clean, the sky bluer than blue, and the only sounds heard in the neighborhood are the birds chirping. Great location for early morning runs or walks to the near by trails.. The pool patio is perfectly positioned for the late evening sunsets. Judy and Mark's home is much better than we could have imagined.
Many thanks for a much needed get-away.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Casa Calliandra

Review submitted: May 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 17, 2011

We had a wonderful time at this home. Very quiet. Furished with high quality items. There wasn't anything we needed that wasn't supplied. The pool was well used by our 3 kids, could hardly get them out to eat. Very easy to find. We will be staying at this rental again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Gorgeous, clean, comfy & every thoughtful ammenity

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 19, 2011

Mark & Judy's rental Casa is a delight! Luxurious, high end furnishings & finishings yet comfortable and very clean. The pool was fantastic, and I loved the kitchen. They supplied every kitchen gadget I could ask for (we like to cook in on our holidays as we have young children) as well as daily living ammenities like dish soaps & laundry detergent & extra tp - (so thoughtful)
La Quinta is a beautiful, quiet spot to get away from reality and have a relaxing vacation- and Casa Calliandra is the cherry on top!

Thanks so much - we can't wait to come back.
KMK-S

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great vacation destination

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 12, 2011

What a treat it is to arrive in La Quinta with its bright blue skies
and sunshine after a long winter in Michigan. Casa Calliandra is a
delightful destination and has all the amenities that you could possibly want.
It is located in a quiet neighborhood with great mountain views from the
beautiful pool & patio courtyards. The floor plan is very spacious and we instantly felt right at home. Old Town La Quinta is just minutes away & has lots of charm with excellent restaurants & unique shops. Silver Rock Golf Course, Palm Desert, El Paseo, Joshua Tree N. P. and The Living Desert are all places of interest. Of course just hanging out by the pool is the best of all, while feeling part of the impressive mountain environment.

The owners were very accommodating and helpful. They thought of everything to
make their home one that anyone would look forward to coming back to.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Wonderful Holiday at a Wonderful LaQuinta Home!

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

We recently enjoyed a wonderful holiday at Mark and Judy Shaughnessy's home in LaQunita.
Firstly, Mark and Judy give you very detailed information on the house and its' operations so you are able to enjoy all it offers right away. The house is well appointed...great floorplan and beautifully furnished. It has full amenities.The pool and hot tub in the front outside area and the back yard patio complete the relaxing feeling for this lovely vacation home. The terrific mountain views and the morning's pleasantly chirpping birds are an extra bonus. Our family had a relaxed and happy visit and hope to return again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Desert Oasis

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2010

A beautiful house set back in the desert with all amenities of home. If you are looking for a quiet vacation home to relax this is it, close to golf courses and only a few minutes drive to many shops and dining in quaint La Quinta.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Calliandra

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

The home was very nice, spacious and clean. I enjoyed the central location in La Quinta and the proximity to the park where we walked the trails everyday.
The weather was not good when we there but we still enjoyed the pool.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Girls getaway experience

Review submitted: October 31, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2010

This home was the perfect place for a girls' getaway. It was very comfortable, relaxing and luxurious. The owners have thought of everything!
The house has everything you could need, is close to great hiking trails and in a wonderful community.
We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to La Quinta and will definitely return.
Mark and Judy, thanks for sharing your home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Trip to La Quinta

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

We would highly recommend this property in La Quinta. The house is absolutely beautiful and has all the amenities of home. It is extremely spacious and the layout is great for visiting. The owners are extremely pleasant and easy to deal with. It was perfect for a relaxing vacation to visit with a small group of friends.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Family Retreat With All You Need Included

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

What a great weekend! My family thouroughly enjoyed the house over the Labor Day weekend. The neighborhood is extremely quiet and it is such a relaxing environment. The house has EVERYTHING you need to really make your self at home. The pool was a big hit with the kids!
If you are looking for a comfortable house to rent you absolutely can't go wrong with this gem.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best rental property experience ever!

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 19, 2010

We were absolutely pleased with our stay, quality of ammenities and offereing of this property. Owners are also very nice and pleasant to deal with.
This three bedroom home has everything 'just like home'...indoors and out!
A great place to vacation as a couple or a family, even 2 or 3 couples would be very comfortable.
Pictures are true to the real thing! We gladly enjoy recommending this property to all our friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect !

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

Dutch family, 2 sons 16&21, spent 3 days mid july in this fabulous house.
My review : This is what you get when owners strive for perfection: Everything was perfect ! The beds, furniture, kitchen, pool, home entertainment, BBQ. Every detail. No exceptions. And Mark seems to be available day and night for questions, advice or help.
So, there is no reason not to rent this house for a relaxing holiday.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

One of the best VRBO experiences!!!

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

Absolutely the best place!

The owners Mark and Jody take great pains to make your stay the best possible.

We loved every minute of our stay here. It was over 110 degrees every day and the A/C was on 24/7. Worked great! The pool was perfect - saltwater, w/ a saltwater jacuzzi. Very easy to heat up both.

One of the best things about the place was the detailed instructions the owners had for their place. It was the perfect blend of home and rental property. They really took the time to make sure we had the best experience possible. It was absolutely amazing!

The house itself is beautiful on the inside. Plenty of space. Modern appliances. Beautifully decorated. Master bedroom is a huge plus. Computer worked great (in attached room to master suite). BBQ outside was great too.

What more can I say - next time I'm in LaQuinta, I'll be staying here. No hesitation!

Thanks Mark and Jody!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Quiet, Comfortable, and well equipped for any need

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

Came to the area looking for a quiet place to enjoy and visit with a friend as well as to visit the desert. The house more than met my expectations, clean well furnished and furnishings were of high quality. It was off-season and hot, but I expected that. Kitchen was nicely laid out for cooking and had a very nice gas grill set up in the back, not a big TV fan, but they were HD and large with nice video collection if you wanted. The pool was nice to refresh in during the hot day. I did walk to the nearby cove area and hike a bit out into the desert in the early morning. Did some day travel in the area and found anything I needed. Had to do a little business while there and the wireless internet connection was adequate for that need. I would certainly come back in the future, it was a very pleasant week.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful & relaxing!!

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

We spent 4 nights here in mid July, and loved every minute. The home is immaculate...and the owners have remembered every single detail. The bed in the master bedroom is so comfortable, we actually wrote down the make & model so that we can get one of our own! Great location, a quick drive to everything that you need, as well as lots of great restaurants.

Mark is a pleasure to work with, very organized and friendly! They have done a great job decorating, and obviously take alot of pride in their home...

We will definitely be back.....we actually got engaged during our visit, so it's a special place to us!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful home for a great weekend.

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

We decided to have a last minute long weekend away and were really fortunate to find this gem in the desert! The owners are great. The home is well maintained and clean with excellent amenities. Located in a pleasant, quiet setting. First class everything. Even better than the photos.
In our case, we wanted to take a short break away from it all, chill in a pool and relax in the sun, but with the creature comforts of home. We could not have asked for more. It was a wonderful experience from beginning to end and we hope to return in the future. We highly recommend this home. Thanks Mark and Judy for really caring about your rental home and your guests.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Working with Mark was great!

Review submitted: May 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 18, 2010

I had a wonderful experience working with Mark. He was forthright and answered all my questions with ease and a very timely manner. It is really nice to come in contact with a VRBO home owner that really cares about the vacationer's experience. Thanks Mark!

Owners response: We are in the hospitality business and we made a decision at the onset to run our business as professionally as we can. This includes being responsive to all inquiries, whether they choose to rent our vacation home or not. We want to make our guests total experience, from their initial inquiry through to the end of their stay as effortless and pleasurable as possible. Our ultimate goal is to have all of our guests rent from us the next time they come to the California desert. After all, isn't that what it's all about?

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 27, 2010

We just spent a glorious week in La Quinta at this house. It was just perfect - very large, totally equipped with everything you could need, and in immaculate condition. The rooms are large and the beds are comfy. It was a perfect get-away. Its also very close to tons of walking paths and hiking trails since its set at the base of the mountains. We loved it! Another great point, the pool is seperate from the backyard, so its a perfect spot with kids (you can keep the kids away from the pool while still outside playing). Mark and Judy were fantastic to work with too - very responsive. Couldnt give this a higher rating!Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: April 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 31, 2010

Mark and Judy
Thanks so much for letting us stay in your beautiful home. Everything that was needed for our stay was at our fingertips. The grandchildren spent most of the day in the pool. The hiking was fantastic just a few blocks from your home. We would certainly recommend staying there for couples or a family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Minnesota Visitors

Review submitted: April 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2010

Our stay at your home was extremely relaxing and refreshing. The furnishing and layout of the home were really comfortable. The proximity to the areas we enjoy made this a great vacation for all. We look forward to returning next year.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Our business plan is modeled on making our vacation rental a place that guests would want to return to and we are extremely pleased that this guest has already booked our home for next season.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

It was a lovely stay at the residence and the owners couldn't have been more accommodating! Thank you and I look forward to staying at your place again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation Get-Away

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 14, 2010

My friend and I just recently returned from a 3 day mini vacation and stayed at this lovely desert home. We were delighted to find it to be everything we had hoped for and more.

Everything was like new, quite contemporary with all the latest in tech equipment and appliances. There was a great theater sound system which did real justice to watching the Olympics on the high def. TV.

We were especially impressed with the wonderful comfort of the beds which had the most comfortable mattresses.

We would definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting to experience the desert in style.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful property with first class amenities

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

We spent the first week in February at Mark & Judy's home with our son, daughter-in-law and two grandchildren. Everything in the home is top quality and immaculately clean. The beds were the best, the TV's and stereo were great, and the furniture and decor was very well done. The kitchen was equipped with beautiful appliances, dishes, and cooking utensils. It is a very quiet home--you cannot hear sounds from one room to another. The spacious floor plan was great for all six of us. We also enjoyed the pool and spa. It was nice having a separate patio area.

The location was good with hiking trails just a block away, and yet very close to "old town" and shopping. Lots of excellent restaurants just a few minutes away.

Mark was great about staying in touch and answering any questions. We highly recommend this property to anyone!!

Dick & Karen

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Location, beautiful house

Review submitted: January 25, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

Highly recommend renting this home! Very professional, helpful owners, beautiful home, very tastfully decorated, exceptionally clean and organized with new appliances, utensils, linens, etc. Great layout (open plan) which is perfect for families with kids. Very user-friendly - owner provides thorough information on the area - suggestions for food, shopping, activities, as well as the ins and outs of the home, and makes himself very accessible for questions/issues. We loved the location, one block from the base of excellent hiking in a beautiful cove setting, beautiful mountain views from the house. Great neighborhood for hiking, leisurely walks, close to Old Town, which offers a great coffee shop, restaurant for take out, groceries nearby. Small neighborhood park 3 blocks away is perfect for young children. Ordered out from Stuft Pizza twice, loved it! Only went to one restaurant but highly recommend Jackalope Ranch in Indio (15 minutes)- sit outside on patio with happy hour menu...perfect for the entire family! Palm Desert zoo is great for kids! Golfing, spas, all so close. We explored all of the towns near Palm Springs and determined that La Quinta was the best for vacationing and offers the best views by far!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: As vacation rental owners, we take pride in being responsive to our guests and addressing their needs and concerns immediately. We worked hard to furnish our home with all the amenities that we would want in a vacation rental. We chose this home based on the views, the quiet location and the close proximity to mountains, trails, golf, shopping and restaurants. Try Casa Santa Rosa for your next La Quinta vacation! You'll love it!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful house. There were five of us and plenty of room for everyone. The house is equipped with everything that you need, it was almost like being at a resort but with your own pool and spa. It was very peaceful and relaxing. The owner could not have been anymore accommodating with all my inquiries regarding the property. He is a great person to work with and made our stay very comfortable. If I travel that way again I would definitely stay here.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: December 29, 2009   Date of arrival: December 29, 2009

We loved our visit at your beautiful
house. You have thought of everything
your guests would need. The beds were
very comfortable. The linens and towels
were lux! The location of your house was
perfect...walking distance to a park,
quiet neighborhood, short drive to shops
and restaurants. Thank you! We will be
coming back again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review