reviews for: listing #60630 - Julian, California House rental

Volcan View House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $200 /nt
    $800 - $800 /wk
    $2,000 - $2,000 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Super comfy

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 16, 2014

We had a wonderful overnight. The place was super comfy and it was nice to walk downtown in the quiet morning hours.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Weekend

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 5, 2014

We had a wonderful weekend in Julian. Thank you for opening your lovely house to us. Everything was meticulously organized and reflected the thought that you put into making our stay comfortable and memorable. My husband, baby, and I had a great time and hope to return in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First Time in Julian

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

This was our first time in Julian and we enjoyed it very much. The house is really nice and we played a lot of board games from the toy shelf. It is also close to the pie places and Volcan Mountain where we hiked. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family holiday

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

It is a wonderful place for a family vacation. We spent two nights with lots of fun and joy. This place was far better than our expectation from the pictures on the website and the price. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas in Julian

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 25, 2013

We had an excellent time. The house is beautiful and you gott love the view! We had a fun Christmas Eve playing Uno and listening to music. It was an excellent choice. We want to return next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

I rented this house for a little family get-away/birthday celebration. My Mom's 50th birthday was coming up and she didn't want a party. Getting away with her kids and grandkids was preferred. Needless to say, this house was fantastic. The toy closet blew the kids minds, they were 2 happy kids all weekend! While the kids played with the toys and watch kiddie movies/shows, us adults played games. We favored Uno Spin the most!

Shariyln has truly thought it all out. Everything you need is there and she is fantastic about communicating what you may need to bring (like food to cook), but she has what you need to cook the food (pots, utensils, cooking oil, etc).

The view- gorgeous! It was great waking up and sitting/standing on the wrap around patio just smelling the fresh air and clearing my mind.

In all, this is a fantastic place to stay while in Julian or a surrounding area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quiet weekend in Julian

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: January 13, 2013

We had a great time here. We were hoping to see snow, but there wasn't any; but that was totally fine. The house is amazing and it's huge. We went into Julian and it wasn't very crowded in our usual lunch place, which was a first. We played around in the small amount of snow and then went sledding in the back country, which made my day!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

New Years

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

As usual, our stay here was wonderful. We celebrated the New Year here again. It's becoming our tradition! All the amenities are great. We loved the snow in the back yard. We hope to come back again. Thanks for sharing your beautiful house. Our friends who stayed with us loved it too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing Escape for us all

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

Thank you so much for opening your home to us. My 3 year old boy loved all the toys in the closets and the puzzles were great entertainment for me and my mother. The home is so clean and comfortable and has such amazing views. This was a nice and relaxing escape for us all! We hope to stay here again. Happy New Year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas Eve

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

Christmas Eve in Julian. Awesome house. Much better than the pictures online. We were very impressed. Beautiful views, clean and comfortable. Great location. So glad we found this place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving Weekend

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Packed up the family and the food. Had to get away from the same ol' house. The instructions were perfect. We found the house easily and it was much more than expected! The four of us could stretch out and not be on top of each other, or collect for a game! Made dinner here easily in the more than adequate kitchen. Walked around the area, up the street and out the fire-break road. Friends met us today on we hiked the Old Banner Road Trail, which is super close to the house. We saw deer and wild turkeys at Heise Park. We took the Cedar Trail. Had pizza at Wynola Pizza. Very good. Tomorrow we head back. Lovely home; well appointed. Great getaway!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beutiful home, town and weather!

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 28, 2012

Beautiful home, town, and weather. We'll be back for next year's apple season.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful time

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

We had a wonderful time here. Thank you so much! The house is very beautiful. I'll definitely recommend this to others and I hope to come back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Retreat

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

Thank you so much for a wonderful experience. This is a fantastic retreat, and I enjoyed the sunrise over the mountains. We would definitely recommend this place to family and friends, and we already have.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Grape Stomp!

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2012

We came for the Julian Grape Stomp. I proposed on the balcony! We had a great Labor Day weekend. The house has a great view and is in a great location. We enjoyed the "blue moon" with the telescope. We hiked Volcan Mountain.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our second trip

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

We really enjoyed being here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wedding!

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We were up here for a very special weekend. A wedding at Mingei Winery! The house was the perfect place for the bride and her bridesmaids to stay and get ready for the wedding. The view was spectacular and made for some wonderful pictures of our bride. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memorial Day Weekend

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We needed a break from the bustle of the city and this was the perfect getaway. My husband and I and our two year old son had a very relaxing time. Our sister and brother-in-law joined us for what was a much needed mini-vacation. Such a lovely house! It had everything we needed. We kept saying that they owners of this house have it figured out. Thanks for sharing your place with us. We love it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

All the reviews were accurate

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

What a lovely house. It was our first time here and all the reviews we read about this place were accurate. We had a wonderful time and we will come back many times!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another Lovely Trip, this time with snow!

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

Thank you for another lovely trip. We did soe hiking and hanging out in town for the first few days. Then it snowed for the remainder. What a wonderful surprise! Everyone was thrilled to watch the snow fall.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Week

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

Our family of six stayed the week here, and it was fantastic. The view is beautiful, the town is friendly and the house is perfect- large. Staying in a house that is fully stocked makes vacation so much better.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Anniversary

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

Many thanks for opening your beautiful mountain home to us. The views are spectacular and the weather has been warm and sunny. A perfect anniversary getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Birthday Fun

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

What a lovely home! Came to enjoy an early birthday weekend with our family. When we got here, we were so impressed with the spacious and beautiful accommodations that we called Sharilyn to ask if we could invite our sister and her family to join us. She said, "of course" and we had a wonderful time enjoying the view and playing games. Thank you for being so accommodating and sharing your home with us. We want to plan a return trip in the summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

We enjoyed our stay there for three days. We relaxed, played games, and enjoyed the view. The house is really comfortable. We are hoping to come back when it snows.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

What a wonderful place to enjoy the Thanksgiving weekend and plan for the upcoming holidays! We are grateful for this lovely place. The night sky was so amazing. We saw several shooting stars. Dinner at Romanos was delicious as always. This is a lovely place to relax and ponder life.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing and Beautiful

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

Wow! What a beautiful place! Simple, sufficient and relaxing mountain retreat. I spent a great 2 days just reading, walking and resting from the buzz of the city. Thanks for going the extra mile to make this happen. I wouldn't think twice about doing it again. You really thought of everything.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kids loved it!

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 13, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in the rain, though we'd hoped for snow. We'll be back for sure. Our kids loved it here and say they will miss your home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Well equipped and clean

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 17, 2011

No bills to pay, phone messages, or emails to return. Just peace and quiet! A light and spacious house with an ever-changing view. Just what the doctor ordered! Thanks for being so well-equipped, orderly, and meticulously clean. We leave relaxed and content- looking forward to pieces of Julian apple pie!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good friends, Great memories

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

This weekend has been one of the best we have had in a while. My friends and I enjoyed the house and the beautiful view. The first night we watched thunderstorms coming from a distance and could see many stars. It was breathtaking. The second night we went on a strenuous hike and then came home to cook dinner together. The weekend has been filled with good friends, bonding time and great memories!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Starfest!

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

We cam with 3 other adults for the Julian Starfest. It was super convenient, cozy, and great for stargazing. Had tons of fun locally, cooked in, cuddled up. Will be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great for a large family

Review submitted: January 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

We love this house! Our children pretended the deck was a fort or an upper balcony in a cowboy scene. My husband and I enjoyed our coffee and tea together while gazing at the beautiful view. With a large family, it is so helpful to have a house well stocked with all the amenities.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect!

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

Our family came to Julian to escape the heat in Yuma. Although locals thought this weekend was warm, for us it was cool. This house was perfect. It had everything. My girls loved the game closet. The adults loved the deck and views. Thank you for sharing your home with out family. We definitely recommend your place to anyone looking for a getaway.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Birthday

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We had the most amazing weekend celebrating an amazing birthday. We loved this adorable place. We made great dinners in the lovely kitchen and our conversations outdoors under the stars were astounding and priceless. Thanks for such a great stay in this calm and glorious town.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Getaway

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay. The view was outstanding, the peace and quiet was very relaxing. We enjoyed our stay at this lovely home. The owners were great to deal with, and I would love to stay there again perhaps in the fall or winter. We truly enjoyed every minute of our stay. Thank you for sharing your lovely home!!!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great time in Julian

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

Our family was very comfortable and we had a great time in Julian. We came up for the weekend to attend the Blues Bash. Great time- good bands. We are happy with our decision to stay in Julian for the weekend and I don't think we could have made a better choice about where to stay. We will come again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great View

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

Great view, cozy house. Our family hadn't had a vacation in forever! We were able to really get away from it all and connect again. We really enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful house!

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

Wonderful house! We loved it. The owner was very responsive to all our questions. We also loved the stargazing at night. We will definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful place

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

What a wonderful weekend. Beautiful layout, amenities, and extras all over. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll be back!

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2010

My fiance and I came up for a few days to relax and get away from work for a while. It rained the whole time, but the house was very comfortable and we really enjoyed the experience. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy New Year

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

Happy New Year! Thanks for the wonderful weekend. Our family enjoyed your home once again. We celebrated my Mom's birthday and had a great time. Hope to come back again next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Fall Getaway

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

We had a wonderful stay. Loved the crisp air and sky filled with stars. It was a perfect trip for a fall getaway. The views are spectacular and the house is very inviting with all we needed. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing View

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

Our family loved the house. The view was amazing, the beds were cozy and all the games were fun. Thank you so much for letting us enjoy this place for a week and to everyone who is reading this, come up and have fun too!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sledding!

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

Perfect weekend! Volcan View could not have been more perfect. Our kids LOVED it. A sledding hill in the fenced back yard. Parents didn't have to worry one bit. While the kids played in the snow, my husband and I did a jigsaw puzzle. We never have time for stuff like this. The home had everything we needed. Especially appreciated the dryer, as we didn't bring enough snow clothes. All we had to do was throw the wet stuff in. No worries. FUN FUN FUN

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Trip!

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

We really enjoyed the house, the views from the deck, and Julian. We will come back again later this year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cute and Convenient

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

We LOVED staying at your Volcan View House! My friends and I really enjoyed our stay and how cute it was! It was so convenient and so close to town and to the winery and apple orchard we were planning to visit.

We brought our own music and thought it was very nice that you had a cd player and some cd's available to listen to also. I think we listened to the Hootie and the Blowfish one all weekend!

The house was perfect for our getaway. Us girls loved the kitchen too! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Want to Come Back!

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2010

Thank you for sharing such a treasure with us! We had a wonderful time in your lovely home. Hope to come back again in the wintertime to see the snow on all these beautiful mountains. May all those who come enjoy it as well.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tree Lighting in Town

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: November 28, 2009

Our family came to enjoy the Christmas Tree Lighting in Julian. We had an unexpected surprise of snow! Our two active grandchildren loved playing in the snow then coming into your cozy house to sip hot chocolate. Thank you for sharing your lovely house with its picture-perfect view of Volcan Mountain.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas in Julian

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: December 25, 2009

Our family came to celebrate Christmas. We were very impressed! The house has more than we imagined. We had a very pleasant time. We enjoyed the view and the space this house offers. We look forward to staying here again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Rowing and Hiking

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

Definitely check out Lake Cuyamaca with a rowboat. Good work out. Hiking is cool, too! Love the view.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Snow

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

My family kept asking me to take them to see some snow, so I felt Julian would be the perfect place. Your home is so beautiful! My whole family felt very comfortable, just like home. Hope to visit again in summer. Your home is better than a "5 star" hotel! We love it!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great for Kids

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

I'm so glad we stayed at your lovely house. My two kids loved it. We had a great time and will come back some day.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Place Above the Clouds

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

We loved escaping from the coastal clouds of Carlsbad to this beautiful, light-filled, open retreat! It really felt like we were on vacation even though we were only 1.5 hours east of our home. The Volcan View House is so relaxing and peaceful. I would not hesitate to stay again in the very near future. Thank you for the opportunity to stay in such a wonderful sun-filled setting with an incredible view of Volcan Mountain!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Snowy Fun!

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: January 23, 2010

We had a great time, and we will be back for another weekend. We arrived at your beautiful home but there was no driveway. :) It was covered with snow, so we cleaned it out, and enjoyed every moment because it gave us the opportunity to play with the snow. This was our first time in Julian and it was a great weekend. Now we are back home talking about our next trip out there...

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great place

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

This was my group's first time visiting Julian and I must say, we definitely weren't disappointed. The house was just lovely and fit all of us quite comortably. We definitely spent some great bonding time thanks to the games closet in the living room and we're all in agreement that Qwirkle is the most amazing game ever played. I absolutely LOVE the view from the deck of the house. I spent the mornings sitting outside just soaking in the beauty of the natural environment. You just can't get such beautiful scenery anywhere else. It was also a great place to stargaze since there aren't city lights everywhere dulling the starlight. Everyone in our group had a great time staying here and it was definitely a good bonding experience. The drive into town is not bad at all and I loved browsing around checking out all the shops. The Julian apple pies lived up to the hype as well! Each of us came back with an entire apple pie so that we could enjoy the delicious apple pies back in the city. The owners were really friendly and helpful! I was on a fruitless search for vacation homes until I contacted the owners, who made my life so much easier. Overall this was a great place to stay for a nice getaway and I would definitely recommend this place. The house is definitely worth what you pay and the owners really try to make your stay as pleasant as possible. I know I'm definitely going to be contacting the owners again the next time our group needs a place for our retreat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First Trip to Julian

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2009

Your place is wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This was our first time in Julian. We explored Lake Cuyamaca and then took a hike around Volcan Mountain. It was nice that your place was so close to town. We were able to come back from the hike, then go enjoy apple pie and crafts in town. Thank you so much. The price was right and we enjoyed cooking a few meals to keep our costs down.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review