reviews for: listing #60640 - Lake Arenal, Costa Rica Villa rental

Casa Lago Arenal
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lake Arenal Resort
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $175 /nt

sort by:

Exotic villa at Lake Arenal

Review submitted: December 2, 2009   Date of arrival: November 8, 2009

Thank you George for the wonderful time we had with our family at casa Lago Arenal. The property description and pictures are exact as advertised. Thanks you for your superfast responses by emails. There are beautiful lake and mountain views from the house and casita and we loved sitting around and walking on the deck. The pool by the clubhouse is awesome with great views of Lake Arenal. The house was maintained spotless. This house is in a resort with round the clock security where there is an office with well maintained yard and trees and flowers around the resort property with other similar type octagonal villas. This is a high end house especially in Costa Rica. I would surely recommend this house to anybody wanting to rent a house around Arenal area. The amenities in the house are 5 stars. There is a full kitchen with 6 burner stove, Granite countertop,dish washer,Microwave, DVD/Satellite TV, WII console, Broadband Internet with a Laptop Computer for use by guests. And most of all great big showerheads with
24 hrs hot water. The linens and towels and all the items provided were high class. There is also a First Aid kit which I have not seen in any houses I have rented anywhere. George gave us exact details on the house and activities nearby and the office also helped in guiding us with directions and activities etc. There is maid service available. The maid is the private cook and the same person cleans and does laundry for you if needed. It’s a good way to pamper yourself when on vacation. The house is kid friendly with high chair, munchkin inflatable bath tub, and flat aero bed if needed. Overall we had the best and relaxing time in Costa Rica. I will surely rent it again on my next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks a lot! I make every effort to make your stay a memorable one. Quality is very important to me. Thank you again for your comments. I appreciate it.

Helpful votes: 26 / 27

 

Beautiful Stay

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

We had an exceptional stay at Casa Lago Arenal. It is so peaceful and serene and the house is equiped with every thing you need to call it home. I would recommend this house to anyone. They were even able to accomodate us for an extra night.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pura Vida

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Our first of many visits to Costa Rica, our eventual retirement destination. The house design and feel is simply exceptional. We believe, without a doubt, it's one of the nicest rentals on the entire lake. The developers on site are very caring and attentive, even allowing us usage of their kayak for an afternoon of paddling. We'd recommend a rental car for the flexibility of exploring the entire area as we did. I enjoy cooking on vacation, and the six burner gas stove as well as outdoor grille were chef quality. We look forward to visiting again next year. Thanks, George!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Vacation in beautiful home on Lake Arenal

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

What an amazing place! Lots of space with two bedroom and a free standing Casita for our guest. The house has a gorgeous view of Lake Arenal. The kitchen is large and has ample equipment including an outdoor grill. This is on the sunny side of Lake Arenal and the I used the condo lap pool daily. I tend to shy from gated communities, but the condo complex only has 18 free standing houses, so it felt wonderfully secure while still feeling like a neighborhood. The owner's were very helpful in meeting all our needs. I certainly plan to return next year.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Fantastic Vacation!

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 22, 2013

Our stay at Casa Lago Arenal goes down as my best vacation ever. Our house was very clean, comfortable and accommodating. The kitchen/living room area was huge and all 4 of us staying there had plenty of space. The pool area is great-very relaxing and with great views of the lake.
One of my favorite things was the gorgeous view that surrounds the area. It was impressive!
We really had a good time at this beautiful house. This home is very spacious, very well equipped with all what is needed to spend a relaxing time.
I felt right at home. thanks Pablo. He is great at making everyone feel comfortable from day 1! I left feeling like I had made some new friends while on vacation. They strive hard to make your stay top-notch from the very moment that you check in.
This house is very affordable, especially if two couples are staying there. We couldn't believe how much we saved staying there vs. a quality hotel room. We never had any problems with the broadband internet available 24 hrs a day. Even though we were not wanting any TV while on vacation it was still available. The Kitchen is very well equipped with very good utensils. The linens were all new and nice. No cheap items.
We saw Howler monkeys on the trees and toucans and a lot of other birds.
Very safe and calm neighborhood. The office staff on site are very friendly and gives a lot of advice for activitities. We would love to to come back to stay even longer.
Thank you George!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Not up to par

Review submitted: May 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

We arrived at May 4 with 6 persons and stayed for 4 days in this house. the house was not very clean (we were forced to do some cleaning ourselves...) and there was no one around to show us how the TV works or the wifi. They did not know the password of the wifi. Later on the management said that we arrived on a weekend and the office is closed.... Strange for a vacation home. There we venthood did not work at all. We were not very happy with the view or the privacy of the house. We cannot recommend it, unfortunately.

Owners response: As an owner let me assure the future renters that cleanliness is the number one priority for me. so many families have stayed in this home and there has never been an issue with cleanliness. I checked with my management and they assured me that the house was clean and this group was very hard to work with. They want 5 star hotel like service every day without hiring a maid service. Even though it was the weekend the office staff waited for this group to come until late but never came until very late. But the security is available 24 hrs to show the house and operated the TV for them. He did not know the password to the Wi-Fi but it was given to them the next day. The next day the office manager offered free cleaning again but they were adamant they did not want it. Let me assure the new clients that we make sure the clients are communicated early prior to arrival and also know the time when they arrive so everything is well taken care of. Communication is important. We have no idea what this client is mentioning in terms of privacy. All rooms have doors and all windows have curtains. If future clients have questions feel free to contact the owner. We pride in the cleanliness and beauty of our home. We want clients who wants to enjoy and relax in a private beautiful location.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Somewhat Disappointed

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

Location, Location, Location. George’s place was located perfectly for what we had planned on the 3 days we stayed, a day trip to Santa Elena Cloud Forest and a day trip to Aernal Volcano. While location was important to us, we also wanted certain amenities as well. We were informed that there was satellite TV as well as air conditioning in the condo. There are 3 air conditioning units in the condo, one in each bedroom and one in the living room/kitchen. The one in the living room/kitchen didn’t work nor could we leave the sliding door or front door open due to mosquitoes, so those rooms were warm and stuffy smelling during our stay. The satellite TV didn’t work at all during our stay. We contacted George and he informed us that someone was coming out the day we left. This didn’t help us nor did he offer a discount the price we paid for the condo. Had we known the unit didn’t have satellite TV, we would have booked another place. The ceiling fan in the master bedroom had two speeds, extremely high or off. The chain on the fan was broken; therefore, you could not change the speed of the fan. The toilet seat in the master bathroom was so loose that I couldn’t use it or I would have fallen off. I tried to tighten it, but was unable. We told the management company about all these issues, but nothing happened while we were there. And the last disappointment, there is a great deck on the back of the condo, but only a table. We had to drag the dining room chairs out to the porch and back every night.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Marty for your review. Yes this is the best location for anyone traveling to Arenal Volcano and Monteverde because this right in the middle of both these areas. Also I want to let you know that this is Costa Rica and not the USA or other developed country where everything is available at the touch of the button. I am sorry to know that the TV did not work when you were there. Unfortunately the day before you arrived at our home there was a rainstrom and the reception for the TV was damaged. It was the weekend and the operators do not arrive until we schedule them to come and as you know it is not going to work on a saturday or sunday. But you checked out on monday and we could let you watch the TV in Costa Rica. The air conditioning in our home are small units individually set up in each room. we have these as complimentary without any extra charge for our clients. The unit in the living room is very hard to maintain owing to the high ceilings and clients letting the A/C on and not closing the doors and so this unit is not connected. The Bedroom units work well and maintained appropriately. This was communicated to you in the email.All the other issues have been taken care of. And I invite you to come and stay with us one more time for a free night stay. Thanks for your review. I appreciate it.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Deeply Staisfied

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

I took my four adult sons, son-in-law and oldest grandson to Costa Rica to fish, have fun and relax. And did we ever! The house and Casita we rented was as advertised: delightful, quiet, pleasant and cool. The view of the lake magnificent, and the on-site manager was very professional and helpful. We will go again and rent the same house.
Thank you, George! You have a wonderful house in a great country.
Roland P. Perdue, 111

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Can't Wait to Return

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2012

We could not have had a nicer stay. The house was great for having friends and family with us and we had lots of them. The staff on the grounds were always helpful and attentive. The kitchen was amply stocked with decent pots and pans and nice dishes and the linens were lovely as well. It was a pleasure to wake up each day and see the exotic plants, the lake and the mountains all around the us. I loved the winds in the windy season and the weather was a perfect blend of sunny and warm with some rain from time to time to cool things down. The house itself was something special--wood floors, vaulted ceiling, granite counter tops. I didn't want to leave.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fantastic place in lago Arenal

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 3, 2012

We stayed in the house for 5 days in early January and although the weather was a bit capricious, we just absolutely loved the place. Not only is it fully equipped with everything you can think of (even Nintendo wii!) but also George has organized everything perfectly. All the information needed for excursions etc is available at the house and the local helpers are very nice. It is a short drive to Tilaran for grocery shopping and there are all sort of nice places on the way to Arenal, I highly recommend the springs resort and spa.
Anyway, This is a fantastic place, go there if you can and thank you Geroge again for everything

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful home, Beautiful setting

Review submitted: February 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

We have stayed in many vacation rentals and this home was just as described. The home has wonderful amenities such as wifi, video gaming and a host of television stations. The interior of the home is very nicely appointed and there were plenty of kitchen implements for cooking if you are staying more than a few days. The staff at the guardhouse was most accommodating and at night it was just so peaceful listening to the breezes off Lake Arenal and the distant sounds of nature.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful House on the Lake

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: December 20, 2011

I was at this property over the Christmas Season with three other people and we all agree that it was a beautiful house. Everything was upgraded and clean and the kitchen was great. I wouldnt recommend renting this property unless you have a rental car as it is about a 5 min drive from Tiliran (to buy food, go out, ect.) It is a fair drive to many of the 'adventerous' activities you find around the Arenal, Monteverde area (around 1hr). However, if your purpose to relax in the Tiliran area this is a beautiful house. We also found the management and neighbors to be extremely friendly and helpful.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful place

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

We spend some wonderful days in this beautiful place.

I want to appoint the terrific service we received.

We really enjoy to be there and hopefully we expect to return very soon, also I'm recomending to rent this house and have some marvelous vacations.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Volcanic Adventure

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Our group had a fantastic time in this upscale, very well appointed house with A/C!!! There is fantastic attention to every detail in the house....great place to visit with kids. Our group consisted of 2 mom's traveling with our 4 teenage kids and high school graduates - from Key Largo, Florida. The location of the house is perfect for adventure. The kids were able to wake board on the lake and we enjoyed a perfect clear day of volcano sight seeing right from the lake. Our best adventure by far was our visit to Rio Celeste....a perfect full day tour and back to the house by sunset. The care takers of the property are very accomodating and the restaurant across the street is a huge convinience. As Homeaway property owners we are very picky as to what we expect from rentals and this house met every expectation! Can't wait to come back for our next visit.....knowing all the comforts and adventures that await us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks a lot . I appreciate it. George

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Must Place to Stay.

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

July 2011
We just got back from the BEST vacation ever. 2 couples and a 16 year old (she was thrilled to have her own room and full bath). Although we only stayed 3 nights at the lake house it was very conveniently located and more than enough room for all us. The pictures do not do it justice at all. Although in a gated community we woke up to the sound of Howler Monkeys in the not too far distance and 20+ Parrots every morning. Lots of restaurants to choose from close to the house.

Our big highlight of these few days was the Viento Fresco Waterfalls only 16 km from the house. I had read a review in the guest book and on a whim we decided to go. On private property 4 waterfalls 2 with nice with pools to swim in they built flush toilets and shelters at each waterfall. Saw 10 or so Howler Monkeys right as we pulled into the lower parking area. A little nerve racking for me on the drive down to the lower parking area but our 4 wheeler did just fine. As a matter of fact it had just started to rain slightly as we got there and after the 3 1 /2 hours we hiked and swam the owner was a bit concerned and came down to check on us. (we had the place to our selves) Best 15 dollars each we spent.

Juan Diego the Property Manager took care of our every need and was quite exceptional. Even hooked us up with Captain Ron for an early2.5 hour morning fishing and boat tour of the lake. We caught 10 fish 2 good size.

We would definitely recommend staying at this lovely home. We never made it into the club house but the pool was great. The lake was 82 degrees Costa Rica's best kept secret.

Thanks Again
Nancy & Eric
Paul & Ted & Lauren
Glen Ellyn, IL

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks a lot Nancy and Eric. I appreciate it. George

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Stay at Casa Lago Arenal

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

One of my favorite activities was to sit on the deck with my coffee and watch the birds and listen to the monkeys. The house is beautiful. Everyone in our family enjoyed staying here. We were greeted nicely by the staff and security people. The location was great and we felt very safe. We would definitely recommend this house to others and we look forward to our next trip back. Thanks George.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Arenal house

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: February 8, 2011

The gated community right on Lake Arenal was lovely, quiet and very safe and the staff extremely nice. The location was wonderful, allowing us to easily get to all the hot spots easily. We sat on the porch each morning and watched the parrots fly and enjoyed the lovely lake breeze. The setting was very pretty and the house very comfortable with high-end appliances and granite tops which made cooking enjoyable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Casa Lago

Review submitted: April 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

This is a great house in the mountains in a quiet little development community. House is fantastic, extremely comfortable and up to date. The office staff is friendly and they went out of thier way to make our stay as relaxing as possible. Cant say enough good things about our vacation there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful two week stay

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

We had a wonderful two week stay at Casa Lago. The house is comfortable, well taken care of, and has lovely views of the lake and surrounding hillsides. With the availability of the casita, there is plenty of room for friends and/or family. It's location works well as a base for exploring that whole area of Guanacaste. It's about equidistant (1 1/2 hrs.) from Liberia, La Fortuna, and Santa Elena. As the weather was quite windy and a bit rainy the first week of March, we took frequent day trips, easily driving into sunnier spots.
One of our first trips was to Tenorio Volcano. Even with a 4 WD, that was brutal. The hike to the falls was very muddy and slippery so best to go there after a long dry spell. However, after that one, everything else was a piece of cake. The road to Santa Elena, although unpaved, wasn't bad at all. There was one rough area on the other side of Tilaran, but then easy with 4WD. A good place to stop on the way - or go another day- was Viento Fresco. It's a nice hike (but with a lot of steps) to several waterfalls and a swimming hole. There are also resident howler monkeys and a sloth.
Our second week was absolutely beautiful. Such a treat to see multiple views of the volcano from everywhere. Our favorite viewing spot of it in La Fortuna with the plaza and church in the foreground. On the way back from La Fortuna, near Nuevo Arenal, The Ladybug/Caballo Negro has delicious food, especially the schnitzel! All the more enjoyable while watching the toucans and various other birds feeding.
We also enjoyed the nearby town of Tilaran. The people were friendly and very helpful, going out of their way to give directions, etc. Be sure to stop at La Troja for a good casado.
George provided good info and maps ahead of time and the house has various guidebooks, but as there is no immediate tourist office around, a laptop is key and a phone helpful. We made most of our arrangements and asked lots of questions on line after arriving. Our only disappointment was not being able to arrange for lake fishing at the nearby marina. Perhaps that is better pursued from La Fortuna.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our stay on March 2011

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2011

We had a wonderful time in Costa Rica. The property was everything it was shown to be and more. Perfectly maintained, friendly staff, pool area was wonderful. The kids seen two monkeys and a toucan on day 1 near the pool area. The kitchen was equipped with every utensil etc. you could need.

George's advice on where to go and what to see was perfect. The weather was great - not too hot and a beautiful breeze blowing every day.

I would stay here again and would recommend the accommodations to a friend (in fact I already have!!!).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice stay near Lake Arenal

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this house a lot. George was very organized and prompt with communication. Although he was not in the country, there was an on-site manager who was 100% available and was very quick to address all small issues that came up.

The house is in good shape--it has a deck with nice views. The community itself is pretty small and was mostly vacant while we were there (we were the only ones at the pool each time we went), but seemed quite safe.

Most of the roads to the area were very good--the last 1/4 mile is a fairly bumpy downhill for which it was nice to have 4WD.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pastoral and well-located

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2010

We could not have been more pleased with our experience. The house was clean, well-equipped and in excellent working order. Any questions or remedies we required were promptly addressed by the office staff. Food shopping in Tilaran at the Pali made using the well-equipped kitchen a pleasure. You'll want to take home lots of 1821 brand coffee from there! Take George's suggestion and rent a four-wheel-drive SUV - not because you'll be four-wheeling through a jungle but the potholes are a way of life in Costa Rica and the Arenal area has many unpaved hilly roads that you may wish to climb for the beautiful vistas. There is plenty to do within and hour or two of the house. We went horesback riding, viewed the waterfalls and the volcano (we splurged on one night at the Tabacon Spa - the hot springs are amazing), toured the cloud forest and went kayaking. Fabulous trip. We highly recommend it!

Recommended for: ELDERLY , PETS , ADVENTURE , GIRLFRIENDS , TOURISTS , FAMILIES_TEENS , FAMILIES_YOUNG_CHILDREN , ROMANTIC

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular Vacation Home

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2010

My family and I had a great time at the villa. We enjoyed the breath-taking views from the deck of the lake and mountains. The house was spotless and was beautifully furnished with all the necessary amenities. The first aid kit was a great addition. The property was very well maintained and we felt very safe to be in a gated community with security gaurd. George and the office staff were very friendly and helpful in assisting us with planning our daily activities. The maid service was a plus. The full kitchen was very handy and made the house cozy and comfortable. We also loved spending time at the pool, which also had a great view. We would love to go back there on our next visit to Costa Rica and would highly recommend this place to anyone planning a trip.

Recommended for: ELDERLY , ADVENTURE , GIRLFRIENDS , TOURISTS , FAMILIES_TEENS , FAMILIES_YOUNG_CHILDREN , ROMANTIC

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great base for our first trip to Costa Rica

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2010

My wife and I stayed for a week in the middle of August. Don't let the "rainy" season or "green" season keep you away. It was a wonderful time to visit. The house was very nice and the location felt like a nice balance between being in the middle of nowhere and on a landlocked cruise ship which is the impression I got of some of the oceanside tourist resorts. In other words, we felt safe, but not isolated. We are still amazed at how much room and functional space was offered at the price. Plenty of bathrooms, bedrooms, deck space, kitchen space and all the amenities. The booking, arrival and departure process was all totally easy and George, the owner, did a thorough job at answering our questions at each step. Thanks!

Recommended for: ADVENTURE , GIRLFRIENDS , TOURISTS , FAMILIES_YOUNG_CHILDREN , ROMANTIC

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great staying at lago arenaal

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

Review Submitted October 18, 2010 Date of Stay July 2010
We stayed on this amazing villa some time ago and really enjoyed the place, the views, the taste of the architecture, the amenities, and the service provided. I really appreciate the peace and the beauty of the surroundings. We had everything we need in this villa and more.

Recommended for: ELDERLY , TOURISTS , ROMANTIC

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Serene

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

Caso Lago Arenal is a peaceful, secluded haven, just off the beaten path. With great views of Lago Arenal it was a beautiful end to the long eventful days of our Costa Rican vacation. The amenities are endless, with a beautiful decor, new appliances and reliably hot water. The cabin offered excellent views, with birds dropping by the porch daily. The sunset views are memorable and the beds comfortable. With easy access to Canas, Tilaran and La Fortuna, this hideaway was offering us unlimited access to the places we wanted to visit. The staff of Buena Vista 1 and the resort are cordial, assisting with any matter you may have, and always greet you with a smile. From the beginning of the booking process, through the final emails, the owner has provided quick responses and was very informative of the guest expectations. I have recommended and will continue to recommend this property toall of my friends and family visiting CR, and WILL choose to stay in Caso Lago again in the future. You won't be disappointed, and in fact will be breathless.

Recommended for: ELDERLY , ADVENTURE , GIRLFRIENDS , TOURISTS , FAMILIES_TEENS , FAMILIES_YOUNG_CHILDREN , ROMANTIC

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Serene

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

Caso Lago Arenal is a peaceful, secluded haven, just off the beaten path. With great views of Lago Arenal it was a beautiful end to the long eventful days of our Costa Rican vacation. The amenities are endless, with a beautiful decor, new appliances and reliably hot water. The cabin offered excellent views, with birds dropping by the porch daily. The sunset views are memorable and the beds comfortable. With easy access to Canas, Tilaran and La Fortuna, this hideaway was offering us unlimited access to the places we wanted to visit. The staff of Buena Vista 1 and the resort are cordial, assisting with any matter you may have, and always greet you with a smile. From the beginning of the booking process, through the final emails, the owner has provided quick responses and was very informative of the guest expectations. I have recommended and will continue to recommend this property toall of my friends and family visiting CR, and WILL choose to stay in Caso Lago again in the future. You won't be disappointed, and in fact will be breathless.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

very nice

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

The house is very nice. It is very nice looking inside and out. Quality construction, well stocked kitchen, well managed, safe area, WiFi, satellite TV, 24 hour security. The house is big and roomy and can sleep 6 very comfortably - 2 per bedroom.The price is very reasonable. The washer and dryer was very convenient. Definitely ranks "5 Excellent". It's in a very quiet area without many tourists at all around. I would not recommend this area if you're looking for adventure, entertainment, or night life.

There are some things that could be issues for some people. They didn't bother me very much. The house is not close to any tourist attractions. MonteVerde looked close on the map, just 20 miles. The road to get there is horrible, it took almost 2.5 hours to get there. After driving back, I was completely exhausted. You must have a car. I'd recommend and SUV.
The pool water is too cold too swim in. No one uses it.
Costa Rica has lots of micro-climates. The house is in one that gets a lot of rain. Bring rain gear.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise in Costa Rica

Review submitted: November 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

This serene villa set on the shore of Lake Arenal was the perfect vacation home to bask the sights and scenes of the island. The combination of luxurious comfort and serene exclusivity made this vacation experience unrivaled in my travels.

To begin, the owner was extremely helpful in getting our reservations set and gave us an amazing deal. He was able go get us rates that were much better versus comparable vacation homes I was considering for this trip. In the end, it was the price and the owners helpfulness that sold me on this place.

Without question,the villas are absolutely stunning. Once you enter the private drive, you'll be met by the friendly staff on site and guided to the beautiful villa. The first thing you notice when you enter is the floor to ceiling windows that fills the great room with light and lends amazing panoramic views of the mountains and the lake. The interior appointments are clearly of the highest quality-- stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, accent lighting, gourmet cooktop with high-end cookware, a spacious breakfast island and comfortable seating throughout the adjacent living room The quality and refinement found inside honestly convey a feeling that you're in a celebrity vacation home.

The place was immaculate inside and out, which is extremely important. The linens were fresh and the bathrooms were spotless. The master suite is cavernous and appointed with a gorgeous master bath with jacuzzi. The 2nd bedrooms is equally spacious with a well-appointed bathroom as well. The key thing to note is the high-end choice of faucets, fixtures and materials chosen, as these details create a truly luxurious look and feel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great staying at Lago Arenal

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

We stayed on this amazing villa some time ago and really enjoyed the place, the views, the taste of the architecture, the amenities, and the service provided. I really appreciate the peace and the beauty of the surroundings. We had everything we need in this villa and more.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great base for our first trip to Costa Rica

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

My wife and I stayed for a week in the middle of August. Don't let the "rainy" season or "green" season keep you away. It was a wonderful time to visit. The house was very nice and the location felt like a nice balance between being in the middle of nowhere and on a landlocked cruise ship which is the impression I got of some of the oceanside tourist resorts. In other words, we felt safe, but not isolated. We are still amazed at how much room and functional space was offered at the price. Plenty of bathrooms, bedrooms, deck space, kitchen space and all the amenities. The booking, arrival and departure process was all totally easy and George, the owner, did a thorough job at answering our questions at each step. Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Spectacular Vacation Home

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 25, 2010

My family and I had a great time at the villa. We enjoyed the breathtaking views from the deck of the lake and mountains. The house was spotless and was beautifully furnished with all the necessary amenities. The first aid kit was a great addition.
The property was very well maintained and we felt very safe to be in a gated community with security gaurd. George and the office staff were very friendly and helpful in assisting with planning our daily activities. The maid service was a plus. The full kitchen was very handy and made the house cozy and comfortable.
We also loved spending time at the pool, which also had a great view. We would love to go back there on our next visit to Costa Rica and would highly recommend this place to anyone planning a trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular Vacation Home

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 25, 2010

My family and I had a great time at the villa. We enjoyed the breath-taking views from the deck of the lake and mountains. The house was spotless and was beautifully furnished with all the necessary amenities. The first aid kit was a great addition.
The property was very well maintained and we felt very safe to be in a gated community with security gaurd. George and the office staff were very friendly and helpful in assisting us with planning our daily activities. The maid service was a plus. The full kitchen was very handy and made the house cozy and comfortable.
We also loved spending time at the pool, which also had a great view. We would love to go back there on our next visit to Costa Rica and would highly recommend this place to anyone planning a trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Pastoral and well-located

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2010

We could not have been more pleased with our experience. The house was clean, well-equipped and in excellent working order. Any questions or remedies we required were promptly addressed by the office staff. Food shopping in Tilaran at the Pali made using the well-equipped kitchen a pleasure. You'll want to take home lots of 1821 brand coffee from there!

Take George's suggestion and rent a four-wheel-drive SUV - not because you'll be four-wheeling through a jungle but the potholes are a way of life in Costa Rica and the Arenal area has many unpaved hilly roads that you may wish to climb for the beautiful vistas. There is plenty to do within and hour or two of the house. We went horesback riding, viewed the waterfalls and the volcano (we splurged on one night at the Tabacon Spa - the hot springs are amazing), toured the cloud forest and went kayaking. Fabulous trip. We highly recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Family from London, England

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

We visited Costa Rica between 29th June 2010 and 22nd July 2010 and stayed at Lake Arenal between 15th July and 21st July. George Ampalloor provided helpful communication prior to our departure from England to ensure smooth arrangements were in place for the booking and he also provided excellent advance information in relation to the property, how to find it, who to contact when arriving, and lots of useful information about the area and it’s many tourist attractions.

The property was beautiful, very well placed with a lovely view over the lake, and we really enjoyed our stay there. The site was well maintained and we had access to a good swimming pool. The property was evidently relatively new and was furnished to a very high standard. There were one or two minor maintenance issues and it was a little difficult to arrange rapid response from the on-site support staff but otherwise we have nothing but positive messages to give.

The property is of a good size and we found it very comfortable and we have no hesitation in fully recommending it to anyone thinking of visiting this part of Costa Rica. It is well situated for getting to areas of interest including the volcanos (within 1.5-2 hours drive) and hot springs and to Monteverde.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our stay at Lake Arenal

Review submitted: June 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2010

During this trip to Costa Rica we wanted to stay away from hotels, fine dining restaurants and all the things tourists typically do. The house was fantastic and the management office was helpful with anything we needed. If we are ever in the area again I will be staying in this home. If you visit Lake Arenal area you must make a trip from Tilaran to Libano, it is a beautiful drive on a new road, you wont be disappointed. The local Tico bar around the corner is a great place even if you don't drink the food was excellent. Birds are plentiful and heard Howler monkeys each morning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Great place to Honeymoon

Review submitted: May 22, 2010   Date of arrival: May 16, 2010

Casa Lago is the place to stay! We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was beyond our expectations! The house is beautifully done and has all the amenities needed! The birds you see here are amazing and so many different species. Monkeys playing in the trees at the edge of the property are so fun to watch. You can sit on the porch (deck) relax and enjoy the beauty of the lake and mountains and nature upon you. The staff here are all very kind and gracious! This place is a must!! A quaint little town, tranquility oh and you must visit Brisas, wonderful food at this little resteraunt! I can't say enough about this place, other than if you want a cozy, comfortable, beautiful place to stay this is it!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

wonderful visit

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 19, 2010

My family and I spent 4 nights therein April and had a wonderful visit. Sounds of holler monkeys and parrots. Nice breeze off of the lake daily. Close to shopping. Thanks George!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Best place to saty in Costa Rica

Review submitted: April 17, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

Our stay was wonderful. The house is exactly as it is pictured. We did not rent a car. It was easy to get around by bus. We went to town where we enjoyed the bakeries and the resturants. We walked to a local resturant and small store. The office was helpful. The place is up in the mounatins so the weather was wonderful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Our Beautiful Stay at Lake Arenal

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed in this Arenal Lake property in February 2010. This was our second visit to Costa Rica and we wanted to further explore the areas around Arenal Lake. The listing description is very accurate and the property is well-maintained and managed by friendly and informative staff. We treated this well-cared-for home as we would our own. It was very peaceful and quiet and we thoroughly enjoyed the pool at the clubhouse for cooling off and relaxing. We were able to take in day trips to Selvatura and Monteverde as well as other destinations. The kitchen is well equiped and all you need to do is pick up your groceries at Tilaran on your way in. The internet access made it so convenient to confirm travel activities and to stay in touch with family, as well as having TV and movies for evening entertainment. For bird lovers, there is an amazing array of beautiful birds to watch right from the deck and you can spot and hear howler monkeys in the surrounding areas. I would highly recommend this property and will hopefully return to it with family members on another trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So much nicer than we expected

Review submitted: March 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

The pictures don't do the home justice. This home was so clean and comfortable, we could have stayed for weeks. The linens were clean and plentiful. The owner has an information book with home instructions, owners manuals and things to do in the area. The office staff was very friendly and willing to accomodate any request we had. The owner and office staff was very accomodating as we needed to check in a day early. We have stayed at rental homes in the ski country in Colorado and this home was as nice as any of them. We would stay here again if we ever return to Costa Rica.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful, spacious and clean house

Review submitted: March 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

Beautiful, spacious and clean house, well supplied with everything needed for a comfortable stay, from appliances to soaps. Everything in the house is high quality, and in excellent working condition. The internet was somewhat moody, probably because of the weather, but property management was prompt to address the issues. The owner provides excellent customer service and is pleasure to communicate. We would definitely recommend the house to people that like to stay in a comfortable, reasonably-priced place.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Luxury Villa

Review submitted: March 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 7, 2010

Words can’t describe the wonderful vacation we had while staying at Casa Lago Arenal! This spacious and comfortable villa was as beautiful as described and exceeded all our expectations. I don’t think we could’ve found any other place with so many amenities at this affordable price.

The villa was so luxurious with its comfortable beds, high end kitchen, cozy eating area and open, airy layout leading to spectacular views. You can tell the owners take pride in their home and provided everything we needed to have a relaxing stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The house was kept sparkling clean at all times. We enjoyed delicious, freshly prepared meals and tasty desserts.

You don’t have to go far to find something to do. The kids loved jumping into the pool everyday. A short walk gets you to the nearby yacht club where there are a number of activities available to experience Lake Arenal. My husband enjoyed kayaking and we all had fun on a sailboat across the lake. If you’re a bird watcher you can spot humming birds, toucans and other tropical birds just by strolling through the lush property.

Though the villa is in a very tranquil and secluded setting, it is very close to a number of attractions. There’s a little something for everyone. We highly recommend taking the canopy tour. Riding a zip line through the rain forest was amazing. Our family likes to hike so we really enjoyed the tour to the waterfalls. (Next time we’ll bring our suits so we can swim there) We also had a nice warm soak in the natural hot springs near Arenal Volcano.

After seeing all our pictures we have a number of friends and family who are planning to make Casa Lago Arenal their next destination.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing time at Lake Arenal

Review submitted: March 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 6, 2010

We had a big group that stayed at this beautiful house, and I can say that it was the nicest house of our trip, with plenty of room for us and our grear. The staff was very friendly and helpful. When I go back to CR, this will be the first place I call.
Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 16, 2010

We highly recommend this rental. We have stayed many places in Costa Rica and were delighted to find a home of this quality for rent. It is extremely well appointed, beautiful and spacious, with high quality linens, towels and furnishings. All the appliances in the kitchen are high quality as are the pots and pans and other amenities. Everything is exactly as was described on the web site. The staff on site extremely courteous and helful. The view of the lake and moutains is beautiful and breathtaking.
P.S. If you stay here you must try Las Brisas Restaurant on the road to Tilaran. The food is fantastic, the chef is a true culinary artist !

Owners response: Thank you Alice and Jerry. I am glad you enjoyed my house. Hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing time at Lake Arenal

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: January 6, 2010

We had a big group that stayed at this beautiful house, and I can say that it was the nicest house of our trip, with plenty of room for us and our grear. The staff was very friendly and helpful. When I go back to CR, this will be the first place I call.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Luxury Villa

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 12, 2009

Words can’t describe the wonderful vacation we had while staying at Casa Lago Arenal! This spacious and comfortable villa was as beautiful as described and exceeded all our expectations. I don’t think we could’ve found any other place with so many amenities at this affordable price.

The villa was so luxurious with its comfortable beds, high end kitchen, cozy eating area and open, airy layout leading to spectacular views. You can tell the owners take pride in their home and provided everything we needed to have a relaxing stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The house was kept sparkling clean at all times. We enjoyed delicious, freshly prepared meals and tasty desserts.

You don’t have to go far to find something to do. The kids loved jumping into the pool everyday. A short walk gets you to the nearby yacht club where there are a number of activities available to experience Lake Arenal. My husband enjoyed kayaking and we all had fun on a sailboat across the lake. If you’re a bird watcher you can spot humming birds, toucans and other tropical birds just by strolling through the lush property.

Though the villa is in a very tranquil and secluded setting, it is very close to a number of attractions. There’s a little something for everyone. We highly recommend taking the canopy tour. Riding a zip line through the rain forest was amazing. Our family likes to hike so we really enjoyed the tour to the waterfalls. (Next time we’ll bring our suits so we can swim there) We also had a nice warm soak in the natural hot springs near Arenal Volcano.

After seeing all our pictures we have a number of friends and family who are planning to make Casa Lago Arenal their next destination.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

Words can’t describe the wonderful vacation we had while staying at Casa Lago Arenal! This spacious and comfortable villa was as beautiful as described and exceeded all our expectations. I don’t think we could’ve found any other place with so many amenities at this affordable price. The villa was so luxurious with its comfortable beds, high end kitchen, cozy eating area and open, airy layout leading to spectacular views. You can tell the owners take pride in their home and provided everything we needed to have a relaxing stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The house was kept sparkling clean at all times. We enjoyed delicious, freshly prepared meals and tasty desserts. You don’t have to go far to find something to do. The kids loved jumping into the pool everyday. A short walk gets you to the nearby yacht club where there are a number of activities available to experience Lake Arenal. My husband enjoyed kayaking and we all had fun on a sailboat across the lake. If you’re a bird watcher you can spot humming birds, toucans and other tropical birds just by strolling through the lush property. Though the villa is in a very tranquil and secluded setting, it is very close to a number of attractions. There’s a little something for everyone. We highly recommend taking the canopy tour. Riding a zip line through the rain forest was amazing. Our family likes to hike so we really enjoyed the tour to the waterfalls. (Next time we’ll bring our suits so we can swim there) We also had a nice warm soak in the natural hot springs near Arenal Volcano. After seeing all our pictures we have a number of friends and family who are planning to make Casa Lago Arenal their next destination.

Owners response: Thanks Martha Alligator. Truely appreciate your comments! This will help future clients.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful, spacious and clean house

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

Beautiful, spacious and clean house, well supplied with everything needed for a comfortable stay, from appliances to soaps. Everything in the house is high quality, and in excellent working condition. The internet was somewhat moody, probably because of the weather, but property management was prompt to address the issues. The owner provides excellent customer service and is pleasure to communicate. We would definitely recommend the house to people that like to stay in a comfortable, reasonably-priced place.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exotic villa at Lake Arenal

Review submitted: January 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 8, 2009

Thank you George for the wonderful time we had with our family at casa Lago Arenal. The property description and pictures are exact as advertised. Thanks you for your superfast responses by emails. There are beautiful lake and mountain views from the house and casita and we loved sitting around and walking on the deck. The pool by the clubhouse is awesome with great views of Lake Arenal. The house was maintained spotless. This house is in a resort with round the clock security where there is an office with well maintained yard and trees and flowers around the resort property with other similar type octagonal villas. This is a high end house especially in Costa Rica. I would surely recommend this house to anybody wanting to rent a house around Arenal area. The amenities in the house are 5 stars. There is a full kitchen with 6 burner stove, Granite countertop,dish washer,Microwave, DVD/Satellite TV, WII console, Broadband Internet with a Laptop Computer for use by guests. And most of all great big showerheads with
24 hrs hot water. The linens and towels and all the items provided were high class. There is also a First Aid kit which I have not seen in any houses I have rented anywhere. George gave us exact details on the house and activities nearby and the office also helped in guiding us with directions and activities etc. There is maid service available. The maid is the private cook and the same person cleans and does laundry for you if needed. It’s a good way to pamper yourself when on vacation. The house is kid friendly with high chair, munchkin inflatable bath tub, and flat aero bed if needed. Overall we had the best and relaxing time in Costa Rica. I will surely rent it again on my next visit.
Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

So much nicer than we expected

Review submitted: January 15, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

The pictures don't do the home justice. This home was so clean and comfortable, we could have stayed for weeks. The linens were clean and plentiful. The owner has an information book with home instructions, owners manuals and things to do in the area. The office staff was very friendly and willing to accomodate any request we had. The owner and office staff was very accomodating as we needed to check in a day early. We have stayed at rental homes in the ski country in Colorado and this home was as nice as any of them. We would stay here again if we ever return to Costa Rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Review submitted: January 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

Thank you George for the wonderful time we had with our family at casa Lago Arenal. The property description and pictures are exact as advertised. Thanks you for your superfast responses by emails. There are beautiful lake and mountain views from the house and casita and we loved sitting around and walking on the deck. The pool by the clubhouse is awesome with great views of Lake Arenal. The house was maintained spotless. This house is in a resort with round the clock security where there is an office with well maintained yard and trees and flowers around the resort property with other similar type octagonal villas. This is a high end house especially in Costa Rica. I would surely recommend this house to anybody wanting to rent a house around Arenal area. The amenities in the house are 5 stars. There is a full kitchen with 6 burner stove, Granite countertop,dish washer,Microwave, DVD/Satellite TV, WII console, Broadband Internet with a Laptop Computer for use by guests. And most of all great big showerheads with 24 hrs hot water. The linens and towels and all the items provided were high class. There is also a First Aid kit which I have not seen in any houses I have rented anywhere. George gave us exact details on the house and activities nearby and the office also helped in guiding us with directions and activities etc. There is maid service available. The maid is the private cook and the same person cleans and does laundry for you if needed. It’s a good way to pamper yourself when on vacation. The house is kid friendly with high chair, munchkin inflatable bath tub, and flat aero bed if needed. Overall we had the best and relaxing time in Costa Rica. I will surely rent it again on my next visit.

Owners response: Thanks vijaya & Sona! I value your detailed description on my villa. Most of all I am glad you enjoyed your vacation at my house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review