reviews for: listing #60735 - Lake Norman, North Carolina House rental

Beautiful Lakefront Home with Private Beach
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $400 /nt
    $2,200 - $2,200 /wk

sort by:

The Lewis Gang

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Well, I wasn't able to rent from Pam this year because I was to late trying to make my reservations? But I was able to rent from Pam last year and had a wonderful time. Barney's is great and convenient. This review is about Pam and her husband. Even though I was unable to rent from Pam this year, she went out of her way to help with a couple of things that came up during my week vacation. Couldn't reach the person I was renting from? It's so rare to meet people like Pam and her husband, that are so helpful, that I thought it should be mentioned and show my appreciation? Thanks so much Pam and BC for helping to make our vacation a success. I am scheduled to rent from Pam next year and my whole family is already looking forward to it. The Lewis Gang

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: My renters are always special to me. The Lewis Gang is no exception. I just love all of them! I am happy they are visiting Barney's Home next year.

I always try to offer Southern Hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Thanksgiving

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Once again we enjoyed our Thanksgiving holiday at Barney's Lakehouse on Lake Norman. All the kids and the grandkids in one place. Lots of hooks to bait, smores around the campfire, and laughs between it all. The location is beautiful and the hosts are very gracious(thanks Pam). Great memories for all!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Lewis Gang

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

My vocabulary fails me when I think of describing our vacation at Barney's? This was our fifth vacation at Lake Norman and I can assure you that this was the best place that we have stayed thus far. And according to what everyone said, this is the place that we want to stay in the future. My two daughters, 2 grandchildren and myself enjoyed every minute we stayed at Barney's. But it was so close to all the other places that we like to visit. It was the perfect home base. Everything was covered? Couldn't think of a thing to suggest to make it better? The game room in the basement for the grandchildren when we weren't out on the lake. The full deck facing the lake. The beach area was perfect for the kids to play in, Lift to change levels. Queens Landing, Captain's Jim Seafood, Lake Norman Marina, Shopping Centers, etc? Everything was very close to Barneys and everything inside Barney's House worked perfectly? Being in a wheel chair normally causes some concern, but not at Barney's? Barney's is completely wheel chair accessible and the master bedroom and bath worked perfectly. The owners even INQUIRED and provided specialty items that I needed being no two handicapped people use the same methods? Pam and BC were great host and it is our hopes to repeat our stay at Barney's in the years to come. Houses that accommodate people with special needs ARE RARE as you may or may not know? But the host at Barney's went out of their way to make sure that our stay was not only enjoyable, but meet all of our needs. Please believe me when I say that it exceeds all of our expectations. We are looking forward to booking Barney's again next summer. Maybe sooner! What a great vacation place.

Owners response: The home was originally built as a handicap facility. We didn't try to address all the "laws" of ramps, grab bars, etc. We made it usable for our son who was the original owner of the home. He specified how he wanted things done and that has worked nicely not just for him but for others.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

If only there were 6 star reviews...or 7.

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Reviewing Barney's Home on Lake Norman isn't as simple as telling you that it's a beautiful home, tucked away on 7 acres just outside of Mooresville. It's more than a beautiful deck that spans the whole back of the house, with a kayak and a paddleboat for the kids, a large dock for fishing and launching your boat. Thats right, it's more than that. Its more than the beautiful hardwood floors, the perfectly (Thanks, Barney!) manicured lawn, the labels so you can find everything, the flat-screen TV's and Wii and Xbox for the kids downstairs.

Pam & Barney make this place what it is. They *LOVE* this house. The house is family to them, and as a result I can honestly say they make their guests feel that way too. They make the house what it is, because every SINGLE little detail is attended to, and then on top of it they just treat you SO DARNED NICE! Seriously, they're the kindest, most hospitable owners you could ask for as a vacation renter.

The area is wonderful. The lake is fabulous, especially during the week when less busy. Being up in Mountain Creek, however, it's distinctly less busy than main lake. Check out the local tourist traps, "Big Daddy's Restaurant" and "Queens Landing." Big Daddy's was actually pretty good. Avoid the mini-golf at Queens Landing, but the Thursday night boat-dinner is both reasonable and tasty. It's buffet style and again, the lake and the homes-tour is beautiful.

I have three kids. They are never happy, because they're kids. For 7 days of my life this year, my kids were happy. They unanimously told me that this was the best vacation ever. Better than Disney World. We swam. We fished. We tubed.

We spent time as a family.

For that, I thank Pam & Barney for an amazing vacation and we cannot wait to book for next year.

We came "home" after a week, but we left our hearts in Lake Norman.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: That was such a nice review! BC and I try to make the home as much like your home as we can possibly make it! It is good to hear we got it right !

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lakers Dream

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

This home is perfect for a family. My daughter loved the large lawn and dock for fishing. We traveled with 3 families and were very pleased with the amount of space this home has. This was a home away from home, everything was so clean and well maintained. We look forward to spending more time on the lake and at Barney's Home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Property!

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

I recently looked at this property for a small wedding and was extremely impressed! The pictures are very accurate and actually do not do the home justice. It is very clean, updated, and comfortable. The owner is extremely polite, professional, interested in making sure you get exactly what you are looking for in a vacation home. I was very impressed by the number of sleeping areas and the multitude of places to relax outside. There are many comfortable places where you can get full, partial, or no sun. The property is very large and well maintained. There is ample parking for any needs.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

5 stars

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

Very nice accomodations, our party of 8 was comfortable...owners were very accomodating with our check in and check out times..I would highly recommend this property for families or fishing groups..sand beach is very kid friendly...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect in every way!

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

Pam,
Thank you for the use of Barney's home. The house and the location exceeded our expectations in everyway. The home was well appointed and the inside and outside enviroment for our grandchildren was just perfect. Our stay over Thanksgiving was just great and in the words of one my grandsons, "Can we please do this again. Thanks forall of the your kindness extended to us during our stay. We will be back.
Mike Edwards

Owners response: Hi Mike! You and your family were a pleasure to have around! I hope you all come back soon!
Pam Lineberger

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Fun

Review submitted: August 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

What a wonderful time. It has everything you need. It is just like your own home. I loved being able to walk to the boat and go. The lake Norman area is awesome. So much to see and do. We had the whole family there. Will definitely go again. Pam was a terrific host.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

AMAZING!

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Thank you so much Pam and BC for letting us stay in your amazing home. It was all we were looking for and so much more! You are wonderful and genuinely warm hosts who made our stay so pleasant and memorable! We were moved by all your kind gestures such as putting the pedal boat in the water for Joshua, (our 11 year old), so he could get right out on the water as soon as we arrived! When we experienced a storm, (Grandma loved it), you checked to make to sure we were ok and upon learning such storm had knocked out the WII system, you went out and bought us another to use...it's people like you that make for a wonderful world and we are so thankful for Barney's House!
Bless you,
Allison, Steve and Joshua

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We had a wonderful vacation. Thank you for sharing your home withus. See you next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2010

Thank you for allowing us to use your home. We loved every moment we spent here. take care and we will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

The house was perfect. Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

We had a wonderful time and the house is wonderful!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

Pam & BC, Thank you so much for your hospitality. We enjoyed our visit very much and hope to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

Thank you again for allowing us to stay at Barney's Place. It was a BLESSING to our children and to the family as well. Relaxing doesn't bgin to describe our stay! God's Blessings.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A Vacation to Remember...again and again!

Review submitted: July 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

Our first stay at "Barney's Home on the Lake" last summer was so memorable we just had to come back again this year! And to our delight, "Barney's" was even more enjoyable this time around ! "Barney's Home on the Lake" is a true gem offering a rare combination of personal touches, amenities, and lake-front family fun. Our young children played for hours on end on the remarkable, expansive beach and in the gentle sloping shore-line lake waters. Whether swimming, fishing, boating (kayak and pedal boats are included!), or winding down on the full-length wrap-around back deck, we love to leave our cares behind and unwind at "Barney's Home on the Lake". This home is immaculate and oh-so comfortable! The owners offer a warmth of hospitality and availability that is unmatched. We will definitely be back again and give "Barney's Home on the Lake" our highest rating and recommendation.

Thanks Pam and BC! See you next time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: June 6, 2009   Date of arrival: June 6, 2009

What a wonderful home! The photos do not do it justice. It was immaculate and a great location, private and hardly any boat traffic! Most of all, the owners were the true definition of "Southern Hospitality". They were attentive, thoughtful and a wealth of information on places to see. This home was built with love and we are already planning our next trip to "Barney's Home on the Lake".

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review