reviews for: listing #60919 - Glenwood Springs, Colorado House rental

Sunshine Ridge Guest House on 40 acres near hot springs, ski
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $650 - $1,050 /nt
    $4,300 - $6,300 /wk

sort by:

Expectations Far Exceeded

Review submitted: October 7, 2009   Date of arrival: September 24, 2009

I completely agree with the other reviews that I had read on the site prior to booking the guest house. Pictures are not able to do this property justice. The well cared for house and its surroundings are dramatic. The floor plan works extremely well for families and other groups. The location feels private and secluded but the town is still close enough that we could easily do the things we wanted (and get the things we needed) without a lot of driving. We loved that house isn't visible at all from the road yet still offers incredible views. One practical suggestion, if you are driving in from Denver and are Costco members, consider making a stop at the Gypsum warehouse on the way. We were able to get much of what we needed for our large group in one quick trip.

Glenwood Springs and the Roaring Fork Valley are hidden gems with all the natural beauty and year round recreation opportunities of other Colorado tourist areas but with far greater value. I highly recommend staying long enough to take in all that the guest house and surrounding attractions have to offer. I can't recommend enough the guest house, it's owners and their local hosts.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We love your practical suggestion to stop at Costco in Gypsum on the way up from Denver. There are also 2 grocery stores in Glenwood Springs for last minute items, but Costso offers the best selection and price for large groups to cook meals at home in the great kitchen at the Sunshine Ridge Guest House.

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Family Trip

Review submitted: July 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 13, 2014

Wonderful vacation home for a large group. The location was perfect for daily sightseeing, hiking and adventures. The kitchen and dining room was large enough for a few of us to cook and all to enjoy together. The pictures and description were very accurate but still beyond our expectations. I highly recommend this beautiful house for your next vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Special House

Review submitted: July 13, 2014   Date of arrival: July 2, 2014

This is an extraordinary house in a private, beautiful location but with easy access to amenities. The house is very well maintained and clean, and extremely well equipped for a large group, including small children. For summer use, the outdoor decks are well furnished terrific with beautiful vistas and include both private and a large shared deck. The owners and caretakers are accommodating and responsive. Our family group can recommend this property without exception.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfectly Relaxing Getaway

Review submitted: April 26, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

What a wonderful place to getaway for the weekend or longer. This beautiful house easily absorbed 15+ members of my son's high school kayak team and the 5+ adult chaperones. We were close enough to the river valleys to paddle or fish during the day, visit Glenwood Springs, and return to the house for the evenings. The kitchen and dining rooms provided everything we needed to feed the kids. After dinner there was plenty of room to hold team meetings then allow the kids to play in the game room, socialize in groups, or yes, even do homework while the adults could spend time together. We look forward to returning in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for your kind thoughts. It is always nice to have you back again; the Dawson team is wonderful. We hope the white water kayak races went well for all!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful home and vacation!

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

This house lived up to the reviews and pictures online. We rented at the tail end of ski season and had more things to do than we had time-skiing, fishing, hiking, shopping, hot springs...plus great restaurants all within miles. The property managers down the street had us over for breakfast and gave us tons of helpful tips which included a great running path and where to see elk and deer herds at sunset. If you never left the house you would have a wonderful vacation too-the house itself and the amenities were above and beyond. Hope to make it back to this incredible oasis!

Owners response: Wow, you really took advantage of so many of the activities that this wonderful mountain town has to offer. We visit each month to update the house and are always discovering new things to do in town; we would appreciate any tips you have of fun things you enjoyed. We are always tempted to stay on the property and soak up the therapeutic views of wildlife on the patio, though. We are sure you saw that they are revamping the town; so please come back soon to enjoy several new restaurants, new stores & the beautiful promenade. We love that Glenwod is "growing up" but still has that small mountain town feel. Thank you for visiting the Sunshine Ridge Guest House.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular. Highly recommended.

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 25, 2014

Amazing. Everything was perfect, from the initial communication with the owners, to the beautiful location and the spacious, yet cozy place. We could not have asked for a better location for our family reunion of over 20 people, including kids.

The whole place was in perfect shape and clean. This property added to the overall enjoyment of our vacation. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Word to the Foodies: The Kitchen is Beautifully

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

I was the chef for a Yoga retreat at Sunshine Ridge in the fall of 2013. The aspens were at the height of their colorful glory. The property is quiet and beautiful in ways that only the Colorado mountains can provide. It was a restful and restorative experience, even for someone responsible for feeding everyone 3 times a day. The best guest house I have seen in Colorado. A word to the foodies: The kitchen is beautifully equipped with plenty of prep space and a Viking stove that was truly a pleasure to cook on.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fall Gathering of Yogis

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

We used Sunshine Ridge Guest House last fall for gathering of yogis. The layout allowed for privacy as well as group gatherings. The kitchen and dining area were a DREAM! We even gathered for group cooking. The patios all around allowed for peaceful repose any time of day. The fall colors were spectacular and the stars at night were breathtaking. It's difficult to get the scope of the feeling of serenity just from pictures. Everything about the process of renting this house was ease-ful. In fact we are so pleased with our experience that we immediately booked for the same weekend this year! Everything was clean, comfortable, well stocked. This home is well loved and cared for and those qualities surround you the moment you walk in the door.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So happy we chose this Guest house!!

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

Dream house! First of all I would like to thank Jim for being so helpful and kind. The house has a beautiful layout and great amenities. The views were spectacular. My entire family really enjoyed their stay and were very impressed. I loved the heated floors! The kitchen was awesome. I could keep going and have only positive praise for this wonderful house.
I feel like the pictures do not do it justice, walking in to the place was astonishing. Very clean and welcoming. Sunlight Mountain resort is nearby and we enjoyed two days of snowboarding during our stay. We followed this up with an evening at the hot springs. My favorite place to eat was Peppinos pizza.
Our family really had fun right outside the house, we made snowmen, had snowball fights, and went sledding up and down the hill.
I would definitely recommend this place!

Owners response: Thanks Brenda,
I love my job when I hear that our guests had a great time at the house and Glenwood Springs. We are happy that you enjoyed many of the great activities in town; the hot springs at night can be amazing, especially after a day of skiing. The heated floors in the house are also a warm welcome after a cold day outside. We hope you will carry your happy memories for a long time and hope you took some great photos to remember them by. Happy 2014!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The touches of luxury really make this home shine

Review submitted: December 21, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

We held a Thanksgiving family reunion here and the house is superb. The touches of luxury make the experience truly unforgettable. The house is filled with beautiful paintings and lovely furniture and the bedding is top-of-the-line. My husband and I stayed in a tucked-away bedroom on the lower level and the sheets, blankets and pillows were soft and comfortable, as good as any five star hotel room. We even had a flat screen tv if we wanted some quiet time. Each room is spotlessly clean, welcoming, and decorated with an artist's eye. The kitchen is set up for a large group and we used every inch and every dish! The large granite countertop with bar stools was just right for entertaining. At one point we had a difficulty with a locked door and the manager arrived within minutes, took care of the lock and left with a handshake and a smile. We enjoyed the beautiful views from the deck and spotted some coyotes and some turkeys too. This home is less than fifteen minutes from the world-famous Hot Springs, just a short drive from Sunlight Ski Resort and is within minutes of the gold medal Roaring Fork trout river. I would definitely recommend this exceptional property and I hope to rent it again someday.

Owners response: Thanks Bonnie! We really appreciate your kind words. Our property managers are true artists, and take great pride in helping us create a unique and beautiful home. We're very grateful to have them as our partners - especially since they live so close to Sunshine Ridge and are available to help our guests whenever needed. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Home Away, Best Family Thanksgiving EVER

Review submitted: December 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

The location: it really is set on a mountain with amazing views and only 13 minutes from everything in Glenwood. A steep left turn, easy drive up,large parking area. A garage with access to the hall to unload. The front door opens to an eye popping great room, with acoustics that let everyone talk, but be well heard. The design I would call "Top end Western" and is beautiful, and livable. The caretaker said they did all the designing (they should be PROS) and when I asked if I could lift the child’s saddle down so the little ones could sit on it he said yes, which they LOVED!
The Kitchen is now my dream, it has EVERYTHING you might need. We had 39 visitors Thanksgiving day, and there was PLENTY supplies for all. I put mine back in the car. Anything you need is there: the only supplies I used were our carafes for filling coffee from the 2 makers, foil (after we used theirs, I left the end of my box) some baggies, and some extra wine glasses. Every possible tool is there. Electric, hand, pans, all. Including a wok pan my Chinese family used to make a treat. They don’t mention they have a Pantry for storage, which we used cheerfully. The double dishwashers were in continuous use, and a real treat.The washroom has towels for the pool, which we used, washed and used again. The 2 washers were great, easy to use and handy. The top floor tv-less living area is radiant floor heated, the crawlers were happy. The games are varied and fun, not old, (my bag of games was not used.) The couches are cozy comfy and were a great visiting area. The outside areas in winter were fine, we saw coyotes, turkeys and deer on the opposite hill loved it and the other side deck with the pergola. The dining area held, creatively, ALL 39 of us. And the 85 Y.O. grandpa sat in the rocker 12 hours a day having a ball! The bathrooms were all sparkly clean and beautiful. All the beds were super comfy and perfect for the guests. The pool table area was where the 13 almost adult cousins hung out and became friends again (every 2 years makes it difficult for them.) Some played pool, others watched TV, others with games. Glad no cell service, it made them have to be social! The phone worked just fine for essentials. The Wine Cave was great. For $10 they had a great selection. Next time: I will use theirs! I only used a few bottles, yummy!
The caretakers were awesome. We only had to call them a few times, and they were the best people ever.
Sets a standard for Home Away

Owners response: Wow, the lovely account of your experience together with your family has encouraged us to plan another trip with our large family. Everyone under one roof is such a sweet experience, especially if grandpa is in the picture. Thanks for the details about the house; we update the house monthly and try to add items that are needed...like the second dishwasher :) Sounds like we need one or two more coffee carafes (and new frying pans for the Sunshine Ridge Guest House are on my holiday wishlist). Thanks again for sharing & please feel free to call or email us with any other suggestions for improvements. Best Wishes for a Happy and Healthy 2014!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stay Here!

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

We held a yoga retreat here in mid-October. It was the perfect place for a retreat! The home is beautiful and the view is amazing. One dishwasher wasn't working, but it didn't matter because there was a second one to use! The kitchen was well stocked and it was great for the professional chefs we brought in for the retreat participants. Overall, an incredible experience and we will definitely make the retreat at this house an annual event!

Owners response: Wow, yoga in the mountains sounds very therapeutic & professional chefs are the icing on the cake. Sounds like the perfect weekend. We hope everyone left refreshed and rejuvenated. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the house, kitchen & views....and we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for your sharing your thoughts. Namaste.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Reunion will be remembered for a long time

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We had a wonderful family reunion that will be remembered for a long time. Your facility is beautiful, well equipped and the entire family thoroughly enjoyed the experience. You are very well organized with your emails, the availability of Jim the manager and your follow up to insure that we had a great time. Thanks very much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Never had a problem getting the kids to go to bed!

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

I can’t thank you enough for allowing us to use your wonderful home in Glenwood Springs. How you must enjoy your time there!! Our extended family enjoyed biking, hiked to Hanging Lake, rode Segway's and horses, went rafting and rode ATVs. We also went to the community center to swim and use the climbing wall. Our day at the Adventure Park was also memorable. Some of our kids rode the Canyon Cliffhanger 9 times! Several of us took your advice and hiked up the ridge behind the house to enjoy the view of the valley, which is spectacular! The Vaudeville Revue was a fitting end to our week. We never had a problem getting the kids to bed at night!
We cooked at home almost every meal, and enjoyed eating on the patio most nights. What a lovely setting! Your kitchen is well-equipped and we made good use of the large pans and serving dishes. We will definitely recommend you to friends who are looking for a similar experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding Guest House

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2013

This is a wonderful and large guest house with owners who have decorated and continuously maintained the property with every detail in mind.

They recently added a large deck cover with separate lighting that provides an area for guests to meet and visit while enjoying the incredible views.

Our group of 7 couples have stayed at Sunshine Ridge for our last 2 gatherings and could not be more pleased.

The owners are extremely accommodating and are actively interested in immediately addressing any and all maintenance issues....something you do not often find.

Our group has been meeting each year for 23 years, and we can recommend this guest house to any large family or group for a quiet, beautiful getaway home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding Guest House

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2013

This is a wonderful and large guest house with owners who have decorated and continuously maintained the property with every detail in mind.

They recently added a large deck cover with separate lighting that provides an area for guests to meet and visit while enjoying the incredible views.

Our group of 7 couples have stayed at Sunshine Ridge for our last 2 gatherings and could not be more pleased.

The owners are extremely accommodating and are actively interested in immediately addressing any and all maintenance issues....something you do not often find.

Our group has been meeting each year for 23 years, and we can recommend this guest house to any large family or group for a quiet, beautiful getaway home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks a bunch, so glad that you returned again this year. Nice to hear that you appreciated the new outdoor space. It was a huge project for us but added more outdoor enjoyment day & night. We hope to see you again in Glenwood Springs.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

Amazing place. Amazing people. Incredible furnishings with high end fixtures, appliances, new patio cover, VIEW, and lots more. We would highly recommend this to anyone staying with a group. We had both our immediate families (5 couples and 5 kids) and there was plenty of room and everyone stayed in comfort/luxury. You won't regret staying here.

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We love to hear that the house had everything you needed to enjoy a nice time together, all under one roof. We are always trying to improve the experience by updating & glad the you enjoyed the views under the new patio cover. Happy Trails!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delightful in every way!

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

What an amazing floorplan on an amazing lot with amazing views! Our family of 17 gathered here, from different parts of the country, for Thanksgiving of 2012. We were in love from the moment we walked in. The kitchen, especially at Thanksgiving, is the hub of any home and this gigantic kitchen, open to two different dining areas, was spectacular. All the girls could cook without running into each other while the guys were all downstairs enjoying the ball games on TV, pool table and I'm sure, lots of beer! The views are spectacular thus making our only regret being it was too cold to be outside on the expansive deck for long. Both the owners and the caretaker were awesome to work with. I highly recommend this home, especially for larger groups. It's fabulous!

Owners response: Glad you were comfy with 17 people; we are happy you took advantage of the several large gathering areas inside and out for playing, relaxing & cooking together. We will be revamping the patio this spring, adding a covered area so you will be able to have shade in the summer and a dry place to sit in the winter. We hope you come back soon to enjoy the new-improved patio. Thanks for sharing!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Love this house!

Review submitted: February 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

We have just returned from our stay at this beautiful home. We have a group of 14 friends that take a weekend trip once a year. This house is by far our favorite, so we have returned the past 4 years. The owners are wonderful to work with and the caretaker is very helpful. The house is set up so that you never feel crowded, even in a large group. The huge kitchen and diningroom makes mealtime so easy and has all the cooking supplies you need. We love how the bedrooms are decorated and all have comfortable mattresses. The group has enjoyed playing pool and taking in the great view from the deck. This house feels very secluded, yet you are only minutes from town. We will be returning again and again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Family Christmas

Review submitted: February 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

Had 14 folks in our party and had a wonderful pre-Christmas, blended family celebration! Hosts both who own the home and their friends who show you around were great. Had a wonderful time - would go back again and again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time together in Glenwood Springs. You were our dream guests; thanks for coming to the Sunshine Ridge Guest House. Please come back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Property For Our Group

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

Our group of 17's expectations were surpassed immediately when we arrived to this property. The ample amount of space and privacy (40+ acres) is unlike any cabin we have rented before. The scenery and surrounding area is beautiful, and the interior has all the necessities and more for any-sized party. The photos and the description do not do this property justice and the owners and staff were more than kind and helpful to myself and the other guests. The rates are outstanding and I could not give this guest house any higher praise. Great property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are happy that you enjoyed the house and we wish you many happy memories from your visit. Thanks for coming. We hope you enjoyed skiing at Sunlight. Best wishes for a prosperous and healthy 2013!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely beautiful!

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

We are a Collegiate Nordic Ski Team and we have now stayed at the Sunshine Ridge Guest House twice and we always try to reserve the house when we are there for our races.

It is absolutely beautiful and extremely good sized for a large group. The kitchen is well stocked and has the best pots and utensils of any vacation rental we've rented.

We routinely stay in vacation rentals and this is one of the best!

There is plenty of space and great entertainment, pool, ping pong, air hockey, Tv's etc.

One of the best things for us is the huge garage where we can wax our skis for the races.

It's a wonderful place to stay and we highly recommend it!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sunshine Ridge Retreat

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

"Sunshine Ridge Retreat"

Sunshine Ridge Guest House works perfectly as a weekend retreat site for a group of 17 participants. The accommodations are quite spacious and offer sleeping options of all types for guests. The kitchen is generously stocked with dishes, flatware, glassware, utensils, and pots & pans of all types. The hillside setting is so scenic, it may lower productivity for those who are there to accomplish specified goals by the end of the weekend. Actually, the scenic view must have energized our group because, in the end, there was an extremely high level of goal completion. Both the owners and the caretakers were consistently helpful, friendly, and accommodating. Hoping to return for another event!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

By far the most accommodating

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at your beautiful home. We had four families there and we were all so comfortable! You would have never known there were children in the house as they headed to the lower level each day after skiing and we didn't see them until it was time for dinner. The adults camped out in the awesome kitchen and had a great time! We rent homes from VRBO often but your home was by far the most accommodating. Having dishwasher detergent, laundry detergent, Kleenex and hand soap in all of the bathrooms was a great surprise. We hope to continue the tradition we started this year again in future years.

Thank you again for opening your beautiful home up to guests. There were so many kid-friendly things to keep the kids busy that the adults were able to enjoy the time as well.

Hopefully we can get the house for the same week next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love to Come Back Again!

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

What a wonderful time we have all had. The home is beautiful and the kitchen was great. 19 to dinner each night for fabulous meals ( 1 chef, one restaurant owner and lots of big cooks).
The river rafting was great - great guides and fun. The ride up the caverns and all the fun up there was worth it. The little racer cars were fast. The 16 mile bike ride(down hill) and hanging lake hike in the middle was worth all the effort. The swimming pool is a must and the slides are fun. Love to come back again. Managers, Jim and Sharill are the best!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lots of Room, Well Stocked Kitchen, Fun Activities

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 22, 2009

We gathered from far and near. We had a glorious time - so beautiful inside and out!!
Lots of room to spread out -everyone found a spot. Time went by too quickly.
We enjoyed the well stocked kitchen, loved cooking together - and had wonderful meals together!
We ventured out to experience some fun activities-- hiking, fishing, rafting, horseback riding, gondola rides, hot springs, etc. Thanks for the perfect setting! We loved it!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

4th Year at the Sunshine Ridge Guest House

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

Being our 4th year, our family reunion is still an amazing experience.
We thank you for making your home our "home" for 4 years. Seems every year gets better & better and our family grows a little more. See you next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kitchen Good for Many Cooks at Once

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

Perfect spot for a family gathering, in our case our daughter's wedding on a nearby ranch!
Everyone who stayed here or visited loved the house. I'm sure some of us will return.
The house is well suited for gatherings - enough private space and common space.
Kitchen good for many cooks at once and cozy living room with fireplace - a good intimate spot.
Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the Kitchen

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2009

Really enjoyed being here. All the teens loved the lower level rec room. We loved the kitchen and deck in the evening. Great decorating, too! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Life Long Memories

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

Our family gathered from CA, UT, NM, IL, PA, NY and CO to celebrate birthdays. But it was more a celebration of us - 3 generations of us. We could have found no better experience than this - and this venue provided life long memories that will bond our family over the years. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Great House in a Beautiful Valley!

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

We had a fantastic time. What a great house in a beautiful valley! We saw a little bear, tons of birds and deer and ran out of time for all activities. What a wonderful way to spend time with our family. We enjoyed the house a lot!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Place for Annual Family Gathering

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

This was the perfect place for our annual summer week together as a family. The house was both spacious and functional. The weather very fine and the multiple activities interesting(Hot Springs, Glenwood Caverns, hike up Red Mountain, Blue Sky Adventure rafting trip).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Saw Deer, Elk, Bear, Coyote, Hawks & Eagles

Review submitted: September 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

Very Special time for our parents' 50th Anniversary. All 12 of us had a great time. Saw deer, elk, bear, coyote, hawks & eagles. Beautiful and very comfortable!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Seven High School Friends turn 60!

Review submitted: September 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 23, 2010

What a wonderful place for the seven of us high school friends to celebrate turning 60! Thank you so much for such a wonderful home. We now have more memories to treasure!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Favorite Ever

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

This beautiful home has everything we needed and more. It is very clean, roomy and comfortable. Family members came from all over the country. Everyone loved the house, inside and out. The sunrises and sunsets are picture perfect. It was a great setting for our family portrait. The guys loved the game room with a pool table and wine room. The kids loved all the games, air hockey and wildlife outside. We took hikes right from the house and the panoramic views were unlike any we have ever seen. We have rented other houses every year, and this is our favorite. We also love the town of Glenwood Springs. There were so many fun things to do for everyone in our family. We will be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cycling Group Loves Sunshine Ridge Guest House

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2009

This was simply the best! My cycling group loved it. We’ll have to plan a return. Thanks for making it so comfortable.'

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect

Review submitted: December 6, 2009   Date of arrival: October 30, 2009

This was the perfect spot for a retreat. Beautiful inside and out. Quiet. Had all of the amenities and wonderfully cared for. I recommend it highly

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

50th wedding anniversary reunion

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

Excellent facility for our 5 family reunion with 17 in attendance. The place was clean, well furnished, easily accessed but remote. All we heard was the sound of our grandchildren having a good time together. The pool table was particularly fun for the kids. The Glenwood area offered us good hiking to Hanging Lake, good rafting on the Colorado River which was a high point, and a fun Adverture Amusement Park for the kids. We ate most meals at the home since it had an excellent kitchen(particularly the stove).We would go back in a minute. Thanks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Experience

Review submitted: July 11, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

We've rented many houses for family gatherings and out of all of them this house was by far absolutely the best. We look forward to repeating this experience in the future. With all the different and large areas in the house - kitchen, eating areas, bedrooms, porches, porches and porches - there was ample room for everyone. The kitchen was very well stocked, there were more than enough linens and what a treat to have a washer and dryer! And the house didn't have a lot of breakables! Good when there are kids involved. AND the wine cellar was the "frosting on the cake." The family is still talking about the house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home

Review submitted: June 13, 2009   Date of arrival: May 23, 2009

It's a lovely home and it can accommodate 16 people comfortably. The location is seculed but yet not too far from central Glenwood Springs. The home's caretakers and owners are wonderful people who take pride in their home and it shows. I would rent this home again if the opportunity arises.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 6, 2009   Date of arrival: April 6, 2009

What an amazing place to stay! It retains that rustic log cabin atmosphere with its looks and fireplace, but there is ten times more space complimented by modern comforts. The interior design is perfect, everything was amazingly clean, the locals are very friendly, and the view is unlike any other. A great place for any type of gathering.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Incredible experience

Review submitted: April 2, 2009   Date of arrival: March 26, 2009

We rented this guest house for a wedding (9 guests) based on the pictures from the website. The pics provided enough detail that I was pretty certain we would not be disappointed, but what we found upon arrival was beyond the best case scenario! We were stunned by the architectural beauty, and the attention to detail in this guesthouse. It is clear that the owners and caretakers share a love for the mountains and for bringing groups of people together for a truly memorable experience. On a practical level, we found everything we needed in the house in a very clean and organized fashion--this allowed us to really relax and enjoy each other. The acres and acres of property also allowed for beautiful walks, runs and hikes. We'll definitely be back to continue to explore.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Yet!

Review submitted: March 12, 2009   Date of arrival: February 26, 2009

Our family has being doing at least an annual getaway for four years now. My wife and I are in our 60s, but we have three grown daughters, three grandchildren (ages 7, 12, and 15) and an adult boyfriend or two. This brings our total to 9-11 for these trips.

This particular getaway at the Sunshine Ridge Guest House was by far and away our best experience yet. I say this from a standpoint of cleanliness first, and then just overall condition of the property and vast spaciousness. With 10 people of varying ages you can understand where space is important. The huge open kitchen with two large dining tables is a big plus with a larger goup.

This property is owner-managed with the assistance of local caretakers as well. You cannot beat that arrangement. We have learned to absolutely avoid any vacation rental home that is coordinated through a property management company. No such company can provide the pride in ownership and a quality property that the owners can. Sunshine Ridge is a testament to that very statement.

This is the first property we have occupied that we intend to return to. If you plan on renting this lovely home, please call me first to make sure you are not conflicting with our plans. Just kidding, darn it.

The Parker Pack
(Parker, CO)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much! We are very happy that you enjoyed your time at the house. We look forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 12, 2009   Date of arrival: March 12, 2009

Thank you, thank you, and thank you!! We had as my kids put it "an AWSOME!!" time. It is a beautiful, comfortable home. Great for any occasion business, friends or family reunions! We would definitely stay again. My children were impressed and still remember and comment on how much fun they had. We only went to town once and came back sooner than later because the house was the best part of our mini vacation. The only regret we have is the short time we were there. We would definitely recommend this home to anyone. It’s spacious! Beautifully decorated!! And the view!!! Especially at night we turned off all the lights and just watched the stars. All in all a great experience!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 11, 2009   Date of arrival: March 11, 2009

Where do I begin? We pulled up to the house and loved its welcoming charm. Then we went inside and were embraced with its warmth. From the coziness of watching a movie together to the allure of the landscape as we hiked through the backyard, this place has it all. No matter what you hope to experience, you won't be disappointed. We can't wait for our next visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 10, 2009   Date of arrival: March 10, 2009

The location and views are fabulous. In spite of the incredible spaciousness of the house, there is a cozy, comfortable feel due to the inviting decor. Our time there was wonderful!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 9, 2009   Date of arrival: March 9, 2009

WOW! What a gem of a find...both the lodge and ski area. Now this is Colorado...country living with a feel of the wild west but all the creature comforts. Seclusion with mountain panorama and still easy access to downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, snowmobiling, snowshoeing, hiking, horseback riding, river rafting and the list goes on! The lodge has room for multiple families, reunions or just romantic getaway for two. Our memories will last forever of the fun and functional kitchen and meals around the long wood table and happy faces around the fireplace. I think it was the extra care and touches that especially left us wanting to come back and share the experience with friends and family.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 7, 2009   Date of arrival: March 7, 2009

WONDERFUL, BEAUTIFUL, AWESOME, THEY ALL FIT!
STAYING AT YOUR HOME WITH FRIENDS WAS AN EXPERIENCE WORTH REPEATING. IT'S SPACIOUS ENOUGH TO FIND PRIVACY, YET HAS MANY ACTIVITY AREAS TO DRAW YOU TOGETHER. THE GREAT OUT-DOORS BECKON YOU TOO! ALL OF THIS WITH RESTAURANTS, SHOPPING AND HOT SPRINGS NEARBY, (IF YOU REALLY NEED IT!)
THANKS FOR KEEPING IT SO NICE AND COZY!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 7, 2009   Date of arrival: March 7, 2009

Amazing! Even more beautiful than I imagined. The house was ideal: definitely a cooks kitchen, loved the open floor plan and game room downstairs. My personal favorite spot was the expansive deck where I could enjoy the incredible views. We came with our family of six along with my sister’s family of four and her in-laws. I was a bit worried about the space because I have little ones but there was plenty of room for everyone. The activities were definitely not lacking. We went to the hot springs, cave tours, white water rafting, shopping/dining downtown. After spending six years of my young adulthood working at the ski areas throughout the Rockies it was so nice to “come back home”. We will definitely be back- although next time it will be in the winter months so we can take advantage of the excellent snow. (Not available here in sunny NC.) The BrunosNorth Carolina

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 6, 2009   Date of arrival: March 6, 2009

This place is superb! We have made multiple visits with friends and family and loved every minute. The house offers every amenity and the surroundings are sufficiently out-of-town to be stimulating but close to many small towns and every imaginable outdoor activity.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 6, 2009   Date of arrival: March 6, 2009

What a fantastic getaway! The location was so convenient to everything yet we felt like we were all alone in the wilderness. The house was large yet felt cozy and warm -- perfect rustic charm! We will be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 6, 2009   Date of arrival: March 6, 2009

What a charming place to visit ! The decor is so well planned for an atmosphere of casual elegance, but totally comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked for a sizeable group. Lots to keep us entertained on the lower level, when we are not ready to relax. Thanks for a most enjoyable home away from home !

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 6, 2009   Date of arrival: March 6, 2009

We had such a great time at the Sunshine Ridge Guest House. It was very relaxing and there was so much room in the house for our family. The house is beautiful and we loved spending time on the deck and patio admiring the view and wildlife. We will be back soon! Thank you!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review