reviews for: listing #60958 - Austin, Texas House rental

Elegant Eastlake Victorian
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Downtown
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $475 - $1,000 /nt
    $2,993 - $2,993 /wk

sort by:

Phenomenal experience at Eponymous Gardens!

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 2, 2014

I would stay here every time I come to Austin! The house is quintessential Austin, extremely roomy, beautiful decor and a great backyard. The rooms were special and clean, the kitchen is huge, the beds are VERY comfy and the hostess is incredibly accommodating. I can't recommend this place enough!

Owners response: Thank you Marisa for your kind words!. It was a pleasure to see one of your friends doing yoga in our beautiful backyard. Eponymous Garden's purpose is to let our guests enjoy the tranquility in a spacious property but still be close to the most fun places in Austin.

Looking forward for your next visit,

Veronica Trevisan
Management and Sales

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

Several colleagues and I rented out all three places on the property. The houses were charming, the hot tub was a perfect escape away from the conference, and the house of wonders was our favorite. If I visit Austin again with fifteen friends, we're renting these places.

Other things: The places were very clean, ample towels and toiletries, the property manager was excellent and lives on the premise, and the places are about a 12 minute walk to the convention center/downtown.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lucious garden property with lots of room

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

Our extended family was very comfortable at this very conveniently located home. We were met in the front by Veronica who personally welcomed each one of us (including our young granddaughters) and gave us a tour of the accommodations and offered additional bedding if we needed it.
The back gardens were so gorgeous and open, the back porch was quite comfortable for visiting with additional family members, the back windows allowed us to soak in the property even when in the house!
The bedrooms were large and well appointed, the living areas offered tons of interesting furniture, the kitchen was grand and open with plenty of dishes and glasses along with coffee beans, etc...
The amazing thing to me was the fact that, given the age of this Victorian, we couldn't hear others walking around so slumber wasn't interrupted and we were able to keep the house nice and cool.
Overall, we loved our short stay and were glad it was listed on VRBO so we could easily find the perfect place for our needs!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Lane!. You and your family were excellent guests (your granddaughters are adorable!), I really appreciate how clean you left the house.
I hope you can visit us soon again!- Veronica Trevisan - Management and Sales

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Weekend in Austin!

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

We had a group of 3 couples staying over the weekend for a friend's wedding. We could not have been more pleased. Debora was very helpful upon check-in. The house was clean, inviting and had great charm. The porch and kitchen made for great gathering space. Jacuzzi was relaxing. The location was quite good as well. Highly recommend it!

Bob

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Eponymous Garden stay

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

Truly a spectacular home away from home - we loved that there was no tv in the central room, and our family passed a leisurely weekend cooking a feast in the giant kitchen, visiting in the parlor, soaking in the hot tub, and playing the baby grand piano.
The discription on the website was extremely accurate. The whole home was clean and complete, we all enjoyed 3 very large bedrooms with newly remodeled bathrooms. We had 6 people who had a comfortable 3 night stay.
Now we have a wonderful memory that starts out "remember when we stayed in the Victorian home in Austin?"
I plan on another stay.
Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Austin Home...

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 14, 2011

I couldn't be happier to write this review because Eponymous Garden has come to feel like the home I wish I had in one of my favorite cities, Austin, TX. My wife and I just spent our second stay at Eponymous Garden and are already planning our next visit there. Located in East Austin, just a short 15 minute walk from downtown Austin, this amazing Victorian home is one of the most unique vacation rentals (in a truly unique city) we have stayed in. The property features lush gardens in both the front and back of the house, which are perfect for quietly relaxing. Located in an actual neighborhood you get a true sense of Austin living. The house is immaculate with every amenity provided to make your stay as comfortable and special as hard-earned vacations should be. This house has one of a kind character in both its construction and furnishings, with a perfect blend of modern touches mixed in with true Texas antique sensibility. My wife and I have never needed a car to reach any destination, with taxis, pedi-cabs, and walking all viable and easy transportation options. East Austin is an exciting location with plenty of wonderful restaurants, bars, shops and antique stores just blocks away. Lorne and Deborah are always available to answer any questions and have been wonderful hosts. I highly recommend Eponymous Garden when considering a place to stay Austin. We plan on coming back many times over the years, I cannot express enough how satisfied we have been with our experience there.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely Victorian home in Austin!

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 28, 2011

Eponymous Garden was a perfect base for everything we did in the Austin area. This historical home was unique and lovely, with updated amenities where it counts for us...the baths and kitchen. In fact, if I had realized how great the kitchen was going to be, we might have planned to cook more while there! The upstairs bedroom had its own little patio with a great view of downtown Austin at night. It's located in East Austin and in a charming old neighborhood.

The innkeeper was next door, allowing us privacy while being close at hand if needed. We were given excellent restaurant and attractions advice via email before we arrived which helped us get the most of our 5-day stay.

I can't say enough about the grounds and gardens and outdoor spaces. We thoroughly enjoyed late night wine and conversation in this lush setting of blossoming trees and plants. There's a rustic area they call The Grotto that's filled with old photographs, antiques and collectibles that's just a fun place to hang out or take photos. There are conversation areas everywhere...on the spacious decks as well as several places in the gardens.

We will definitely return, and will recommend it to our friends and family. We heard that previous guests had used Eponymous Garden for a family reunion because they have other bungalows on the property - we might try that!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

wonderful stay

Review submitted: May 7, 2011   Date of arrival: April 7, 2011

This is a lovely home with lovely hosts. I stayed at this rental for a girls get together with my sister and mom. We all had a wonderful time! The house is spacious and cozy with a great back yard! Austin is a fun city! We loved the location. It was nice to be in a regular neighborhood and we got around to other areas very easily. I would recommend this house as a great place to stay in Austin!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

the pink house

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2011

This was a wonderful vacation home for our week in Austin. The home is everything described and more. The owners have a great flare for artistic style and humor, and it is evident in every room and around the grounds. The owners are also very generous in providing staples for those who enjoy cooking, including a good supply of spices and a startup 1/4 pound of french roast coffee for us. The spa was clean, hot, and used almost daily. This was truly a unique and welcoming home. The neighborhood is perfectly located to either walk or bus to town and just a few blocks to miles of biking/running trails along Lady Bid Lake. The only need for a car was an out f own trip. You will find the neighborhood to be friendly, funky, and full of surprises as a very transitional community is developing. It might not suit those who look down their nose at staying in a highly integrated neighborhood, but we found it quite charming and spent one full day just walking around taking photos of all the quirky homes and shrines. It was great to see a neighborhood game of pick-up football being played on the streets by two families. We would recommend this house to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review