reviews for: listing #61158 - Big Sur, California House rental

The Teapot
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Clear Ridge
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $495 - $495 /nt
    $2,995 - $2,995 /wk
    $8,000 - $8,000 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful Place

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 14, 2013

My husband and I spent several days at this house in January 2013. It was absolutely perfect. The views are unbelievable, the house is very comfortable and well-equipped. It is very private, up a winding road. The caretaker was extremely helpful. I only wish there was another bedroom so that we could return with some of our kids. One of the most beautiful places I have ever been to.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Teapot is "As Advertised"--It's great!

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

This is truly a great place to stay if you want the views from the top in Carmel. It is WEST of the highway and WAY up top. The view can only be described as magnificent. The home is very comfortable and has all you need. We spent the majority of our time on the deck reveling in the incredibly scenery. We hope to return...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredibly Awesome Place in one of the most Inspiring Places on Earth

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

The property description was accurate the location defies words. The photos are nice but again, the actual property is just incredible. Very clean and well maintained and the Owner was very helpful answering questions and providing information. Our experience there was awesome and inspiring - we're already talking about our next visit to the Teapot. Highly recommended !!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Magnificent Teapot

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

we loved it. well appointed place with a terrific view, as advertised.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet retreat.

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

The Teapot is an elegant but simple get away with great views of the Big Sur coast. It is perfect for a couple with everything you need provided. Access is quite easy is you are at all comfortable with dirt roads. There are spectacular views in many directions and the setting is very quiet. Many windows and sliding doors offer great natural views from almost every part of the house. Pfeiffer Beach located nearby is also very nice. Not too crowded and lots of interesting whitewater. There were large waves and a surfer one day we were there. The Teapot is an easy drive to most of the northern Big Sur attractions and even the Hearst Castle is an easy day trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Memorable moments

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

I keep wistfully perusing the photos from our stay at the Teapot: what a special place! It fully delivers on its description, and then some. Very comfortable, clean, well-maintained, and both owners and caretaker were so attentive and helpful. Loved the winding drive away from civilization---but also access to a phenomenal meal at Deetjen's when the mood struck us. Woke up to see four deer browsing out one window, and a spectacular pink-fingered dawn out the other. The Andrew Molera loop trail recommended by Doug was a great hike. Would love to go back in warmer weather to enjoy the decks and the outdoor shower. We felt so lucky to be there!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise Found!

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

Magical spot! Lovely home with beautiful artwork. Gorgeous views from deck, fully equipped kitchen, satellite radio, dvd player, wi fi. Short drive to beautiful Pfiffer Beach on private road. The ultimate Big Sur experience!

Big Sur Bakery, Henry Miller Library, River Inn, Nepenthe, Andrew Molera State Park all nearby.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Surprise

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

My wife turned 40 on Sept. 12th. She was informed at her birthday dinner that we would be flying out of Chicago at 8:00am the following morning to a secret destination. She packed and hardly slept. Typically, she plays a big role in our trip planning. Therefore, her excitement was 50 parts pleasure and 50 parts anxiety over my choices for our extended weekend.

Everything was a surprise. It went fantastically. We flew into San Jose and she still wasn't sure of our ultimate destination. We stopped for a great lunch in Carmel and wandered the town, then back onto Hwy 1. Throughout, she smiled and soaked it in. However, nothing could have prepared her for the view from the Teapot. As we rounded the bend in the driveway with our car pointed out over the Pacific, all she could do was mumble in awe.

Thanks for being the cherry atop a wondrous surprise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Truly inspiring, off-the-grid retreat

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Having just spent a magical week at the Teapot, we have returned to our lives rested, inspired, and fully filled with the wild pleasures of Big Sur—mountains, redwoods, eucalyptus, ocea, whale-sighting from the porch, curving ocean roads, wildflowers, Pfeiffer Beach wind, fog, sun, moon...amazing.

To say the least, this cabin is the best vacation sport we have ever visited. To say the most, our lives in the desert pale in comparison to the natural wilderness of that awe-inspiring spot. But don't get the wrong impression: regardless of its natural splendor, the best cappuccino and ginger scone are just at the bottom of the hill at the Big Sur Bakery!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Views from in a Beautifully Appointed One Bedroom Home

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 2, 2012

The Tea Pot sits high on a ridge top, exposed to the elements, overlooking Pfeiffer Beach and the mountains of Big Sur. The 15 minute drive from Hwy.1, down Sycamore Canyon and then up a steep and winding private road that is paved at the beginning and then continues onto a well maintained dirt road, makes it a bit remote and you will probably only want to make the journey up and down once a day. This works out perfectly if you plan for a morning adventure followed by a late lunch or an afternoon adventure followed by an early dinner so you can drive back to the Tea Pot while it is still light. If you plan your time this way you will have ample time to just enjoy the place and all it has to offer. Nicely decorated, fantastic views, well equipped kitchen, good books, big decks and cozy places to hang. You need to be OK with making a fire in the wood burning stove, as it is the only source of heat. Pros- fantastic views, privacy, spacious yet cozy. Cons- king size mattress a bit soft, no bathtub, no iron

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Extremely Beautiful and Relaxing

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 11, 2012

We just returned from a rejuvenating three night stay at The Teapot , and feel replenished and thrilled at the same time . The views are inspiring , offering glimpses of whales and other sea life . The cabin is a very short distance to Pfieffer Beach and exquisite restaurants , although spending time at The Teapot was wonderful in and of itself , without having to go anywhere at all . We found the fine art and interior design enchanting and comforting .

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Majesty of Big Sur

Review submitted: November 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 17, 2011

The majesty of Big Sur could not be more apparent than from The Teapot. The rugged and unmatched beauty of Big Sur is at your fingertips from the privacy of The Teapot atop Clear Ridge.

We celebrated our 10th Anniversary at The Teapot. We witnessed a sunset above the clouds, gaxed at thousands of stars in a bright band of the Milky Way, watched beautiful sunrises in complete silence, admired a hummingbird working diligently mere steps away from our lunch table and listened to crickets crowd out all other sounds at night. The Teapot is surely a place to disconnect from the daily grind and reconnect with a significant other through the grandeur of Big Sur and its connection to nature.

Beautiful hiking, great dining and the rest of Big Sur are all close at hand if you choose to leave The Teapot. We can not wait to return.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

10 years trying every hotel, motel and house in Big Sur and the Teapot STOLL THE SHOW! BEST EVER!

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

This place will BLOW YOUR MIND! we've been coming to Big Sur 6+times a year for YEARS, and the teapot blows every place we've ever stayed out of the water! The most incredible space--- like living in a piece of art! Views that are some of the best in the whole world. total privcacy, incredible all glass home perched perfectly on the most incredible spot in all of the Big Sur Valley. Perfect indoor furniture for cold morning by the fire, perfect outdoor furniture for every waking second! And the Art-- WOW! I run a Art School with 30+ resident artists, jury monthly art shows that are top notch.. and Pat's orginial work all over this house was FANTASTIC!
We always hike all over the valley, but being up at the Teapot, we found this place better than any we could drive to--- walking distance to the beach, great roads to walk on, incredible views with every step. Doug and Trey were great, everything was so easy, I just can't say enough about how totally fantastic the Teapot is! YOU GOTTA SEE THIS PLACE FOR YOURSELF! WORTH EVERY PENNY, COME ON-- Do IT!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Perfect for a romantic weekend getaway

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

We knew that Big Sur would be beautiful and that the Teapot would provide a great weekend, but both far exceeded our expectations. The Teapot offered the seclusion that we needed to truly relax. Both nights, we enjoyed sitting on the patio and grilling lamb chops and tritip. We finished our evenings with amazing star gazing. We enjoyed living "off the grid" but still having the comfort of wireless internet. The location can't be beat, but make sure you get your provisions on your drive in. Once at the house, you'll not be eager to leave. It's centrally located to several state parks with Pfeiffer Beach being just down the hill from the Teapot. We found a perfect little vantage point above Pfeiffer Beach on the drive up to the Teapot. It'll never be forgotten as that's where we got engaged. Thanks to Doug and Patricia for letting us stay at the Teapot.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Teapot - Pure Relaxation and a Wondrous View

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 17, 2010

My wife and college son and I wanted a getaway in Big Sur that was relaxing with a marvelous view of the ocean. The Teapot delivered. The switchback one lane road up the side of the hill was disconcerting for my wife and son, but we did it many times with no issues. (the road itself is nicely paved for the first mile, and the dirt road the last mile is hard packed and wasn't at all an issue. The steepness w/o a rail is what spooked the family) We also stayed here because of its proximity to Pfieffer Beach - just a mile away, and how close it is to some unique state and national parks - as well as some wonderful restaurants. We enjoyed the cool nights and making a fire in the wood stove each evening. The solar power was a bit unusual for us. We'd have "full battery power" just prior to sunset - then with essentially nothing turned on, would watch the meter drop to 5 bars every evening - perhaps 40% power. We never lost power btw. The bed was very comfortable, the kitchen well equipped, the showers worked great, the view from the deck is far better than the one from the property photo leads you to believe. The property is very, very quiet and somewhat remote. It is nestled in a small clearing surrounded by oak trees in the back and pines on the side. You can see a neighbor a mile or so away - but this is very private indeed. The sounds are of the little birds, the distant sound of the waves on the beach 1000 foot elevation below, and the wind in the trees. The stars at night, depending on the phase of the moon - are stunning. Come see the Milky Way on the chaise lounge, drink some wine and relax to the sound of the wind. Also, the Internet service - which beams up from the valley below, worked great. Two nights we cooked at the Teapot. Also, we went to Deetjan's one evening for dinner and another night to Sierra Mar at the Post Ranch Inn. Both were great meals, with the view from Sierra Mar being exceptional (along w the price). If you aren't worried about the road like my spouse and pay a bit of attention to the power at night, you can not help but have a very relaxing and refreshing getaway on top of the ridge. The comings and going of the fog over the ocean, the clouds floating on the distant horizon, the humming birds buzzing about and the general peace and serenity will refresh you. Enjoy. --- Eric

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

On top of the world!

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2009

My husband and I spent our first Thanksgiving as a married couple here and we have found a new tradition! The teapot is the most amazing, relaxing and charming place we have ever stayed. The views are out of this world and the pics do not do it justice. You really feel like you are on top of the world and will truly relax and forget all your daily stresses spending time at the Teapot. We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 7, 2010   Date of arrival: January 7, 2010

the teapot is perfect...beautiful, peaceful, serene.
amazing views, great hiking, and everything is
provided for....just heaven. Big Sur at its best.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 4, 2009   Date of arrival: December 4, 2009

Dear Doug and Patricia,My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Teapot. It was so serene and private. We enjoyed the watching the wildlife and playing the drums. We definitely give your place a thumbs up. We look forward to our next visit. Sincerely, Jenaé and Brad

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 3, 2009   Date of arrival: December 3, 2009

We came to the Teapot for a few days of relaxation
after our wedding. We thoroughly enjoyed the
views, the outdoor shower and the isolation. We
saw the sunrise and the sunset every day. It's a
very luxurious cabin on the top of a mountain... a
great place to come if you want to hunker down.

You need a good car and a sense of adventure to
wind up the long private road. Make sure to bring
all food and beverage provisions with you. There's
a fully equipped kitchen and the single lane
winding road is very unappealing in the dark.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 3, 2009   Date of arrival: December 3, 2009

This place was amazing. Exactly the get
away from the rat race I was looking for.
Beautiful in every aspect and the owners
are great too! I will be back again and
again, as soon as I get some free time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 18, 2009   Date of arrival: November 18, 2009

I took my mother to The Teapot yesterday on her birthday, and you'd think she died and went to heaven! Thank you for sharing your sanctuary with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review