reviews for: listing #61268 - Carlsbad, California Apartment rental

Great Getaway 1/2 Block From Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $325 /nt
    $1,000 - $2,000 /wk
    $3,500 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

Totally Great

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

Great rental with really dedicated & caring owner. Just steps from Carlsbad Blvd & the beach & approx 3 min walk to Carlsbad village (shops, restaurants). Unit was clean, well-stocked and everything worked. Denis responded with hrs to any questions or fixes we needed plus he replenished supplies of basics such as toilet tissues & paper towels.

Best aspect of vacation rental was fabulous 30 X 60 foot deck/patio with patio table/chairs, umbrella, fire pit and thatched "tiki" bar & lights for ambience. Minor negative is proximity to Dini's bar @ corner of Walnut/Carlsbad Blvd where late night revelers make some noise - but owner has installed A/C so windows can be closed to shut out noise.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

We stayed here in the beginning of Sept. while in California for our son's wedding. I chose this unit because of it's location and it did not disappoint! It is a short walk to town, to the beach...and the view from the deck was great. The apartment itself was roomy, comfortable and stocked with everything we needed. I'll be looking to stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, clean, and comfortable

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2013

Great location right near the beach! Unit was clean and very comfortable. Owners were great to work with. We had no need to contact the owners during our stay as everything was set up and working great. We had 4 adults and 2 small children and had the perfect amount of space. The deck is huge, with a BBQ, and views of the ocean. Unit is close to restaurants. Our favorites-Pizza Port for lunch and the Armenian Cafe for breakfast- the cinnamon rolls are great there. We also walked to the Albertson's grocery store for groceries. We had enough room for 2 cars, one small one that fit in the garage and a large SUV (Mazda CX-9) that fit in the driveway in front of the garage. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Location

Review submitted: February 23, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

This rental unit is everything and more as posted.We were very pleased with all aspects of our stay.Dennis and Jean are quick to respond to any concerns.
2 small children and 3 adults and we never felt crowded.
Sunset views (from the 20 x50 deck) at this time of year were fantastic..
Weather was great although ocean temp is too cold to swim in mid Feb.
We hope to back next year.....

Bill,Ruth,Ann,Lucas and Veda
Prescott Valley,AZ

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great View

Review submitted: December 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

This apt. was fantastic !!! Everything from the deck to the location could not be beat. The owners were wonderful and right on it if there was a problem.
This is a perfect place for two couples or a couple with 2 kids that are willing to share a bed. The sleeper sofa NOT really usable.
We would go again in a minute!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cute, clean and close to the beach!

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

Our family stayed for ten days and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We watched the beautiful evening sunsets over the water from the huge front deck, and we took a 2 minute walk to he whole hose was totally equipped down to the spice cabinet. The owner's Dennis and Jeanne are wonderfully gracious and very easy to deal with. We will surely stay here again. Thanks Dennis and Jeanne.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Terrific place!

Review submitted: July 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our week stay in the condo! The place is very clean and well maintained. Dennis and Jean have equipped this place with everything you need. You can see the ocean from the large patio. The beach so close along with all the places to eat in the Village area. We would definitely stay here again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect beach rental

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

While we've stayed in other North San Diego county locations, this was by far one of the best trips. Carlsbad is a great beach town and they are a comfortable walking distance to the village area. When they say this apartment is 1/2 a block to the beach it truly is 1/2 block, comfortable walking distance to the beach entrance. The place was clean and airy. You could see and hear the beach from the apartment. They also had a great deck that during warmer weather is perfect for sitting outside, eating dinner and watching the sunset. The best part: Dennis and Jeanie were wonderful to rent from. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We stayed at your condo 3/31-4/7/12 and had the best time. My sister and brother-in-law were with us and the condo was just wonderful and the beds were so comfortable. We chose not to cook, but there was everything you would need in the well equiped kitchen, and we went to the Daily News every day for a scrumptious breakfast. For dinners we walked to Fresco, Olla's, Ocean House and had great meals at reasonable prices. It was great to walk everywhere for our meals. As far as sight seeing we enjoyed the San Diego Zoo, Safari Land, the Gliderport and Children's Pool where the sea lions congregate in La Jolla, Joshua Tree National Park (3 hr drive but worth it). Two evenings we made donations to the casinos at the Indian Reservations and had a good time losing. This was a great vacation and we would definitely rent this condo again when we return to Carlsbad. Thanks for the great stay!
Joyce, Walt, Bill and Jo

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

best vacation ever

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

The property was just as the description stated. It was well cleaned and the owner was friendly and available by cel phone. I would recommend this to a friend. Activities that we liked were strolling on the beach, visiting the Making Music museum, craftsmen miniature museum, the nature center at Buena Vista Lagoon and all the good restaurants. My favorites were Fresco, O'sullivans, West Steakhouse and the cafe at the Palomar airport. We had intended eating at the condo more often but the restaurants were so good and so close. The kitchen was well stocked with all the dishes and cooking implements that one would need. there were also condiments which was really nice.
The only drawback was the stairs which would not be good for the disabled or small children. It was great for us as it was like a built in stairmaster.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous vacation rental

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 25, 2012

This condo was just a pleasure to stay in while vacationing in Carlsbad. My family was thrilled with all of the amenities provided. The owners have taken great care to provide a clean and comfortable home to vacation in. The proximity to the beach and the view of the sunsets from the large deck were just breathtaking. Would love to return soon for another vacation !

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tina

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

This is a well cared for property with a great deck that has a nice view of the ocean. The kitchen was well stocked, the master bedroom comfortable, and the walk to the beach minimal. The weather was outstanding while we were there and we enjoyed ourselves immensely! I'm already San Diego dreaming for our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Christmas-time stay

Review submitted: December 25, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

Really nice Christmas-time stay for our family. The condo is less than a block from the beautiful beach and two levels of beach walkways. There's a nice beach view from the absolutely huge deck. We especially enjoyed the firepit on the deck at night. The condo was very clean, updated, and well-supplied with kitchen supplies. If you plan to use the pull-out sofa for a bed, you may want to bring an eggcrate to make it more comfie. Perfect size for 4 people and worked fine for our party of 5. Very responsive and helpful owners. Excellent value!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation in Style!

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

We had a wonderful trip to Carlsbad and our housing was perfect. Our family enjoys cooking and the kitchen was well stocked with good pots, pans, dishes and utensils. Sunsets were enjoyed on the deck with a view of the ocean and appetizers around the fire in the cool evenings. This property was very clean, well cared for and the owners were very friendly and accommodating. We would come back again and recommend it to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent location to stay

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

We had an excellent stay at this beautiful condo.
Loved every moment of the stay.
It is a clean home with all amenities you would expect.
The location is also great being right in front of the beautiful beach.
I would strongly recommend this place for anybody interested to stay for a few days to relax in the beach and may be take kids to Legoland.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Time

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

We had a wonderful time in the San Diego area. Loved the condo and the beach.
New York and Ohio

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

This place is fantastic, great views and walking distance to everything. Great place, we will be back once a year. P.S. Go to Dini's across the street for a great Sunday brunch.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bright and Airy

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

What a beautiful place - bright, airy and beautifully decorated. We love the view. Thank you so much. Denver, Colorado

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Relaxation

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

Thank you for the use of your Beach House - it is awesome and a wonderful place to relax.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Lovely Place

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2009

We loved the location, condo and especially the deck. We had a great vacation and will come again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review