reviews for: listing #61289 - Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia House rental

Pinnacle Cabin 3 BR Lakefront , Wi-fi-, Hot Tub,Fireplace
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Ridgecrest
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $375 /nt
    $1,200 - $2,500 /wk

sort by:

Gorgeous retreat!

Review submitted: September 16, 2008   Date of arrival: September 6, 2008

My family and I had an excellent time at the cabin. We swam down by the dock, relaxed in the hot tub at night, and listened to all of the wildlife around us. The cabin was beautiful, clean and cozy. Our dogs enjoyed the fenced-in yard as we had a hard time pulling them back inside for the night. We went during the off season when the surrounding area was a little more quiet and most shops closed early. However, I enjoyed myself the most just being able to sit back, relax by the lake and read a good book.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You for staying with us, and thanks for the compliments, as the manager and Realtor at Smth Mountain Lake, I renovated that cabin myself and both the new owners and I appreciate your repsonse. We look forward to serving you again!

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

A very long week

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

The cabin is very nice and the landscaping is gorgeous and well maintained. The dock was beautiful and we spent much time there as well as on the lake with our boat. The kitchen was lacking in some basics. Since there were only 5 forks, we had to purchase additional silverware at the Walmart 35 minutes away. We did leave it behind so the next renters won't be forced to wash silverware after each use. Please read the rental agreement prior to hitting the commit button on the rental agencies website, because once you hit the button, you are locked in. There is a link that you have to click on to read the agreement. Also, no matter what, purchase the travelers insurance which will get you out of the agreement should an emergency arise. Unfortunately this did happen to us, just 2 days after committing to the rental and the rental agency would not let us out of the agreement. My husbands grandmother became terminally ill and we needed to cancel the vacation to travel to upstate NY for her funeral. Regardless of our plight, the agency said the only way to get our money back was if they were able to re-rent that week. We had no faith that they would do that, after all, what was their incentive. They had our money. So my husband went alone to his grandmothers funeral. Be aware that you have to provide everything for this rental, right down to the sheets, towels, trash bags and toilet paper. Also, there was no cable tv the entire week. We were repeatedly told that it was not the rental agencies fault when we inquired about it during our week vacation and that we could call Comcast ourselves to get status updates. The password provided for the internet, which fortunately was not Comcast, was incorrect and it took us a while to figure it out. The DVD player did not work properly (after we found the proper cables to hook it up as it was not hooked up properly to begin with), with the screen of the tv going light to dark every minute or so. Nights are very long on a lake when there is no entertainment and you have kids with you. The hot tub was the saving grace, but be prepared to shell out additional fees for the cleaning of it, above the rental charge. You'd think that the hot tub cleaning would be included in the rental rate. I left the vacation rental early with my kids to come home. My husband followed at the end of the week. Thankfully we had taken 2 cars.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us. We do want to address some of the comments. The rental agreement is standard for any home nearly across the world currently. We do offer trip insurance as well as you can purchase it thru AARP or AAA. We are deeply sorry for your husbands loss.
The forks, had we known- we would have bought some, you are the first in 10 years to report the shortage of any silverware. As far as the toilet paper etc, we do start you with this, however you do have to bring the rest, this is standard for any home rental anywhere unless you are in a luxury resort or hotel. This applies to sheets and towels as well, ( since they have to be sterile if owner provides them - in the state of VA). This is a good law to protect the tenants. We do offer the rental of sterile sheets and towels and you declined this service.
We provided the correct password the moment you called this in.
The on -goin saga of the cable tv- all of Smith Mountain Lake was out for over one month actually. No-one could do anything about this... You are the only tenant that appears to ahve commented at all within over 200 homes and one month that the service was out. We regret the children did not enjoy the great yard and swimming in the lake, that seems to be what every one else did all month. So yes, calling us every hour would not bring the cable back on- it was out of our hands, there was actually each week a newspaper article on this event.
Actually we re-rent all the homes each year when a tragedy occurs...we have no desire to keep your money, it is not our money to begin with. You still wanted to come, we have that in several emails from you.
Thank you for staying with us, and perhaps next time place more faith in any agency- this home has a beach, so it is very popular!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Pictures don't do it justice!

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

We stayed here in November and it well exceeded our expectations! Fenced in yard, fabulous decks, hot tub, beach area, fire pit area, and a very nice deck. There were many outdoor places to enjoy the leaves changing and the dog LOVED all that time outside! The outdoor landscaping around the water was very well done. A well kept cozy cottage that we'll definitely come back to!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your visit to Pinnacle cabin...truly a neat cabin with exceptional landscaping and offers convenient seating area near the water. Fall a beautiful season here at the lake

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Decent 1st Visit

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

The warmth and cozy feeling of the LR/DR and kitchen are wonderful. The wooden walls and ceilings truly give you that authentic cabin feeling. The kitchen has beautiful tiled floors, countertops and backsplash and a big stainless steel refrigerator (no ice maker or filtered tap, bring your own!) which, when combined with the rustic look of the cabin, really makes for a nice combination. The cast iron sink is beautiful as well. The kitchen is without a dishwasher (we really missed that modern convenience and with no washer/dryer, I’m not sure if we could have managed without those things for longer than 3 nights). We wanted to use the beautiful stone fireplace but the flu didn’t want to cooperate. There is a gas fireplace that sits just inside the kitchen that we used everyday to keep that cozy warmth feeling throughout the cabin. The bedrooms are small but charming and the mattresses are comfortable. The 2 bathrooms have only a shower stall which, although not measured, cannot be much more than 24” sq. and the opening is even smaller. Needless to say, it is very, very tight once you step in – I’m average height and weight and if you drop the soap, there is no room to bend over to pick it up! The water pressure is so strong that you feel like you’ve just been beaten up instead of having a relaxing shower. We woke the first morning to find ants covering the kitchen countertops. We had packaged dry goods that we had brought from home and the little critters managed to invade most all of it which, obviously had to be thrown away. The screened-in porch became our pantry for the remainder of our stay. The exterminator came the following morning to spray and the PM offered to put us up in another cabin but since we had family staying in the cabin next door it just wasn’t an option. We never saw the ants again but the experience really does leave a sour taste in your mouth. We used the hot tub a few times which was relaxing. The cabin is definitely dog-friendly with ‘pleather’ sofa and chair that can be easily wiped clean and the yard is fenced in but, because the fence was not custom made to the varying heights of the grounds, there are many openings that smaller bread dogs could get through. The owner has placed rocks around these openings but the fence is better suited to keep larger breads contained. All is all, my family did take home some very fond memories and we'll visit again soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Just one correction there is a washer/dryer it is downstairs Sorry you did not find it
We are also sorry about the showers we cant help the size of the of them
Thanks for the review and we are glad you had some good memories to take home and that you plan to revisit
Thanks again

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

delightful rental

Review submitted: June 17, 2008   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

We had a wonderful week at this log cabin! The place was immaculate, furnishings lovely, mattresses great, kitchen fantastic.
The yard was great for the pooch and the decks were marvelous. There was no sand beach though as stated above, but we weren't expecting one from our info. It would have been great though, because the access to the water was very slippery algae steps. We got around that with our water accessible sneakers, but sand would have been very welcome.
We relaxed on the dock for the most part, even though the seating on the upper deck was nicer, but there was no shade up there. That might be the only suggestion we could make, besides sand . The water itself was wonderful as was the canoeing. Pooch and parents swam very happily!
We hit a very bad heat wave, but were very comfortable in the cabin with the air conditioning and by the lake with a gorgeous breeze.
We loved it enough that we are definitely planning on next year.!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi
There is sand there, to the right, we are not allowed to add sand nor make beaches bigger here by AEP rulings, it is not a large sand beach, but it is a natural beach..
Thanks

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

Getaway

Review submitted: April 10, 2008   Date of arrival: March 29, 2008

We just took a trip to Smith Mountain Lake, VA and we were so excited to walk into our rental cabin to find a outershell of blue and white, then to walk into see a inner walls of log, probably the most well kept secret you could imagine the pictures can't describe to you all the little great everythings this cabin holds to see personally, the kitchen is so stocked that you don't need a thing in that dept to cook or eat with even the spices are available. The bedrooms are so adorable and our children were safe and secure because the screened porch allowed play time for rainy and buggy days or just to go in and out of a thousand times. Everything was so clean and my husband still goes on about the hot tub and the view. We loved the two sitting areas before the actual dock which because they were so well lighted was even utilized at night. We had everything we needed and didn't want to leave we will be seeing Pinnacle Cabin again my son said he has got to come back and jump off of that dock The water was beautiful and the cabin was nestled in a nice quiet culdesac. We had a great time and have many pictures to capture our great moments.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review