reviews for: listing #61314 - Breckenridge, Colorado House rental

Two Mile High Retreat
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $525 - $1,400 /nt
    $2,800 - $8,400 /wk
    $7,500 - $14,000 /mth

sort by:

Great place but...

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

The house was great! View was beautiful! Couple things I wish I knew before we arrived though: altitude at 10,000 feet unfortunately caused sickness with almost everyone in our party.Coming from IL we knew about altitude sickness but we weren't prepared for how bad it hit us. Finally, we were told to call the handy man if we had any problems but where not informed that we would be charged a fee if he had to come out. Wish it was listed how much we would be charged by the hour ahead of time. We were not aware that the plumbing was in the garage. It would have been nice to be given more details besides the number of bedrooms/bathrooms, etc.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Two Mile High is located above 10,000 feet. Acute mountain sickness is unpredictable and can occur in some visitors beginning at elevations above 8000 feet (this includes the town of Breckenridge). We are sorry that this family experienced symptoms and discomfort. Drink plenty of water, avoid alcohol and excess exertion to reduce symptoms and seek medical attention if the symptoms increase or do not subside.

The renters were charged for a maintenance call on Christmas night due to a report of frozen pipes. It is not our practice to charge against the security deposit, but in this case, it was determined the garage door had been left open in -13 deg F weather.

The Home Away website contains information for the home, and guests are referred to the home website and provided extensive information before arrival. Additionally, there are complete instructions for major household systems located in the guest binder at the home, available upon arrival.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house for an extended family gathering

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We gathered for a 50th wedding anniversary. The number and variety of rooms made it easy to accomodate multiple families with small children, with a fantastic master suite for the grandparents. The house came equipped with high chair, pack and play, bouncy chair, and toys and puzzles to keep the kids entertained. Outside, there was a play fort with rock climbing wall, sandbox, and slide, and a swing set for the kids, and a hot tub for the adults. The view of the mountain and the nearby beaver ponds is great. We enjoyed some local hikes (Blue Lake in particular was a favorite draw) and South Park City in Fairplay, as well as some trips into Breckenridge central (the house is a few miles outside the town center, which was just fine with us, but you would need a car).

Kitchen was well stocked and the house was clean and in good shape. Lots of TVs and DVD players throughout the house. Having laundry facilities on hand was helpful.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Summer in Colorado is fun! Winter is a joy too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great spot for whole family

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

This was a fantastic place if you enjoy being out of the busyness of a tourist destination (Breckenridge), yet still want easy access. Our whole family, from grandparents to kids, had a blast and enjoyed both the personal privacy the home provided as well as the great open spaces (inside and out) where we could all congregate. The kitchen, dining and living rooms are excellent for all to gather comfortably. We had two families (one with 3 kids the other with 5 kids) and grandparents (14 of us in all). The large bedrooms gave every couple a nice, private room and the kids could easily pile into the other large rooms (one with bunks). The fishing pond was a huge hit and the little playground was great for the little ones. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. It will definitely be talked about for years to come.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We enjoy sharing our home. Colorado has lots to offer year-round.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Feb 2 - 6 2012 San Jose CA Crew Skiing Visit

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

The property was in great shape and everything was as advertised. The bedrooms were huge and the master was amazing. We had no problems with anything and would definitely recommend this property to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Good that you were able to enjoy some time on the slopes and then relax at Two Mile High Retreat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

Our family celebrated Christmas in Colorado--the house was all we hoped it would be. The large kitchen accommodated our many family meals, the bedrooms allowed for plenty of space for everyone, the house was clean, beds and linens wonderful, TV and DVD great for watching Christmas movies, and the fireplace was warm and inviting. The view from the living room--priceless! Alan and Linda were most helpful through the whole process--thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We are glad your family could enjoy Christmas together in Colorado.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best of the Best!

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

It was glorious! We loved the house and the location. It was breathtaking! Yep, the difference in weather is astounding! We arrived back in Jacksonville, Florida to a hot, hot day of 95 and high humidity. It was a perfect week. Your house is extraordinary with all the amenities. You thought of every luxury to the house. In the 15 years that we have been renting vacation homes around the world, your home was the best of all. You thought of everything and it was so appreciated. Not to mention, you were wonderful to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Linda and I are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you arrived home safely.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely perfect -- 6 stars out of 5 !

Review submitted: January 16, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2010

It was amazing on several levels:
- beautiful house and view
- hot tub, fireplace, and pool table
- and Alan (the owner) was very helpful in coordinating lift tickets, a rental Suburban several $100 less than I could find anywhere, and in-home rental equipment fittings

We will be back! This is amazing. I cannot give his impeccable level of service justice here

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that we could help you save a few dollars.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Wedding

Review submitted: October 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

In mid-September 2010, my daughter was married at Two Mile High Retreat. It was a beautiful ceremony accented in the perfect backdrop. The wedding was held outside next to the pond. The mountains with the Aspens in their full Fall yellow were in the background.

I can't say enough superlatives about this location. The furnishings are excellent. The house is in perfect condition. And if there is even the smallest problem or question, the owner was always easly reachable.

I recommend Two mile retreat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad to have assisted in making the wedding a memorable event. Thankfully, everything came together as planned including a perfect Colorado day.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Vacation!!

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: March 8, 2010

I just wanted to tell anyone considering staying at this property, that you can't go wrong!! Not only is the home...BEAUTIFUL, it is close to town...any of them....Breckenridge, Frisco, Copper Mountain. They have plenty of space at the house to play outside in the snow, or stay in and enjoy a game of pool or relax in the hot tub. We stayed there in March of 2010...major snow!!! So Beautiful! And the owner's of the home are very nice! Thanks so much for letting us stay in your beautiful home....we will be back! Thanks again, Joni

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Home away from Home!

Review submitted: June 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

Our experience at the Two Mile High Retreat was fantastic! The home is open, airy, very well appointed with quality-everything! Everyone in our party was impressed with the home and it's beautiful grounds. Alan (the home owner) was so easy and pleasant to work with when arranging to rent the home, he really made sure that we felt comfortable and were happy!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You, Thank You, and Thank You

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2009

OMG I couldn’t have asked for a better 40th B-Day weekend! My wonderful husband planned for both sides of our family to gather at this lovely home to celebrate my birthday. I couldn’t have asked for anything better! There were 18 of us ranging in age from 3 to 63. There was more laughter, giggles and cuddles shared in your home than you could ever imagine. The sounds and the smells took me back to my childhood at the farm when families would gather for holiday….sigh…how I miss those times. What a treasure this will always be for me and my family.

Your home is incredible, the view is incredible, and our time was incredible! Thank you, thank you for sharing this blessed place with us and we wish many blessings to you in return. They say you only turn twenty oops I mean forty. Ha, ha, ha once, and it’s a good thing, this can’t be topped. I close this as family packs and clears out. The time has ended but our memories will last forever!

One last thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

VRBO Bear Visit and Review

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

8/17/2009 - The Two Mile High Retreat was the perfect Blue River getaway for this Bear and his family. This 5 bedroom, 3.5 bathroom house was simply spectacular. The breathtaking views of Quandary Park through the large living room windows were the very first thing we noticed when walking into the house. After settling in, we decided to bake some cookies. The Two Mile High Retreat kitchen was very spacious and well-stocked. It was great having 2 ovens to bake our cookies and with the luxury of extra cooking space, we baked them in half the time as it took at home.

The upstairs master bedroom was very roomy and featured a nice sitting area and a double-sided fireplace. One fireplace side faced the master bedroom’s sitting area while the other side was above the Jacuzzi tub in the master bathroom. I chose to relax on the comfy couch next to the fireplace while reading a book and unwinding from a hectic day. For those bears needing to do a little work while on vacation, the master bedroom had an adjoining office.

The home was very accommodating for the typical bear family. On the main floor, there was a second master bedroom with a full bathroom. The other 3 bedrooms were found upstairs. Two of the rooms included king sized beds and the third bedroom had a bunk bed with twin on top and queen on the bottom, in addition to a queen sized trundle bed.

In the evenings, we enjoyed playing a game of pool in the home’s loft area. Afterwards, we headed out back to the hot tub, where we sat back and relaxed to the sounds of nature and the sights of beautiful star-filled skies. There were 2 fishing ponds adjacent to the house where we did a little fishing. For those lucky enough to catch some fish, there was a gas grill on the patio where one can grill the catch of the day. There are a variety of activities to do around the Two Mile High Retreat including hiking, biking, fishing, picnicking, horseback riding, skiing, and tubing. Breckenridge is just a short drive down the road where you can ski, shop, and find many places to dine.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Two Mile High Retreat. It was a very relaxing and peaceful place to unwind during our vacation. Plus, it was a great base for exploring the surrounding Breckenridge area.

The VRBO Bear

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wish It Could Have Been a Month

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

Absolutely stunning. Stayed a week. Wish it could have been a month…beautiful house, awesome view, wonderful ponds and streams. We plan on coming back next summer…for longer because it was such a terrific home and vacation!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

60th Birthday Gift

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

Thank you so much for allowing us to use your beautiful home. My two girls Melanie and Lauren and their husbands John & David from Golden purchased this weekend for us. John and I (Joanne) are from Crawfordsville, Indiana. This was a gift for my 60th birthday celebration. I couldn’t have had a more enjoyable weekend anywhere else. Between the scenery and the company we had a wonderful time. Looking forward to doing this again someday.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving Weekend Returning Guests

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: November 27, 2009

Alan & Linda,
Thank you so much for allowing us to stay at your amazing house! This is our second time visiting and we hope to make this an annual tradition. You helped make our Thanksgiving weekend memorable! Thank you for your hospitality and flexibility with our schedules. Best wishes and Happy Holidays!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy New Year

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: December 30, 2009

Alan & Linda
We would all like to thank ya’ll for letting us stay in your home. We had a wonderful time. Have a great New Year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 20, 2009   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

We had a family reunion here in July of 2009.
Absolutely loved this place. The views were
spectacular. The owners were very easy to work
with and answered every question we had. The
house was in perfect condition. It was a high end
home at a very good price. Would recommend to
anyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 31, 2009   Date of arrival: October 31, 2009

It is with such a heavy heart that I write this
GLOWING review about our time at the two mile
high retreat. We surprised my husband for his 50th
birthday with a family reunion at the house. We had
family from as far away as Washington State come
in for the surprise. We had a beautiful weekend
with fantastic food and great fall weather. We took
tons of pictures and enjoyed EVERY bit of the
house. I think that the pool table was the one that
the boys enjoyed the most because there was not a
time the entire weekend that someone was not
playing a game! My husband had a wonderful time
with everyone and his favorite moments were out by
the lakes. Spending time together was so precious
for us all. My husband passed away suddenly only a
few weeks later and I cannot tell you what that time
together has meant to us all. It is such a special
place to share time together. I feel blessed to have
had the chance to be together in such a beautiful
place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 29, 2009   Date of arrival: October 29, 2009

this cabin was terrific!! it was perfect for our family get a away, including 4 kids. we enjoyed the open and spacious floor plan. we want to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 16, 2009   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

Beautiful home in a gorgeous setting. We loved the view of the mountains out the windows and the sound of the creeks near the house. The house was very well equipped and spacious. Kitchen, bathrooms, and laundry room were stocked with spices, soaps, etc. plus all the kitchen cookware/utensils needed to cook at home. It was an easy drive to Breckenridge where there are ample shops, horseback riding, and a variety of restaurants. It was also an easy drive to Frisco for a chuckwagon dinner and west to Vail for an offroad tour.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 13, 2009   Date of arrival: August 13, 2009

Two Mile High Retreat was perfect for our family to spend time together. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The veiw of Quandary Peak inspired me to hike it. Being that TMHR is located very close to the trail head, I was able to get an early start and be back before noon. The drive up Blue Lakes Rd. provided a great oppertunity to see mountain goats and even see a coyote. We would love to spend more time at TMHR and will come back when in the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: August 4, 2009

This is an absolutely beautiful home! My family of 8 LOVED everything about the house and the property. Pictures are 100% accurate and home is VERY clean. Perfect location, perfect weather, perfect vacation home. I don't have a single negative comment. Our family will be visiting this home again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review