reviews for: listing #61336 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii Condo rental

KonaJem-Your Home Base to Relax,Play,Explore
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Keauhou
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $750 - $850 /wk

sort by:

Great place to stay at affordable rate

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 12, 2013

The place was great, with everything that may be needed for a long term or short term stay. 2 TVs with DVD players are great in the evenings, especially with kids. The kitchen, wash room and bathrooms were loaded with all of the essentials, making for less trips to the store and more relaxation time. It was like being at home, only much better. We also appreciated the tub in the kids room full of any beach gear we may have needed. We were expecting to use the bbq often, but ended up not using it because the kitchen was so nice and furnished with just about everything we needed for cooking. Really great, and likely less expensive than staying in a sparsely furnished resort. Perfect size for a family too. Its not walking distance from the beach, but it is about a 3 minute drive to what became our favorite beach on the island for snorkeling with the kids.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay.

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

My husband, son (17) and I very much enjoyed our stay here. The condo has everything you could need. It was like staying at home. The place was clean and looked better then the photos showed. If you needed anything you could most likely find it in one of the cabinets. I had asked Elaine before our trip if there where cake/cupcake tins or cookie sheet in the condo as I want to make my son a cake for his birthday. She had said there were the cookie sheets but there weren’t any cake or cupcake tins but she would be happy to pick up some if I want, just to let her know. I was happy with the sheets. When we got to the condo I did find cupcake tins. I am not sure if Elaine got some for me or if they were already there, but it was nice to see them.
We loved the location just far enough from down town Kona to not hear all the noise but close enough to get to everything that we needed or wanted to see. We were able to relax and recharge in this lovely place. The view from the lanai was just what you want to see early in the morning (I was up at 5 most mornings) or to watch the sunset.
We were impressed with the grounds of the condo; they are looked after very well. The pool and hot tub are very clean and was a great way for us to finish our day. It would have been nice if it was open earlier then 8 am as I love to start my day with a swim, but most morning we were gone by 8 am. If you head down to the pool don't forget the key, you will need one to get in the gate. The key is on its own key ring. This was the only thing we had problems with. Not knowing we needed a key and where it was.
This was our first time to Hawaii so we spent most of our time at the beaches the ones we went to were close to the condo, with in 30 min drive. We did one day where we went to the Volcano National Park. We stopped at different places on our way there, South Point, the green sand beach, the black sand beach and a few our sightseeing spots. The weather at VNP was rainy the day we went. We started out with sun and warm weather but as we went up the Mt. we had rain. We went ready for rain but didn't take a change of clothes just our swimsuits. We were very wet by the time we were done our 4 mile hike.
My husband said that he would stay here again, which is very high praise from him. If we make it back to the big island we will look into staying here again as we enjoyed it so much.
Lauri & Don Fraser

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Condo

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this condo. It was central to our activities on the island. The area is quiet and very well maintained. The accommodations are excellent we felt very much at home. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you need, the gas grill is great. This gave us more opportunities to eat in. The extras that come with the condo such as beach chairs, coolers, snorkel gear etc are well maintained and are definitely a plus. The owner was very helpful to us in setting up the rental and while we were in Kona. We would recommend this condo to family and friends who wish to visit the big island.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous facility

Review submitted: February 23, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

Fabulous facility
After working and traveling over most parts of the world, I have settled on this well placed and equipped unit. Without a doubt I have over the last three years called this a home away from home and will do so for many more years.
The unit is well equipped with everything that you may want or require. It is close to a shopping mall and many fine restaurants. Grounds are well kept with a swimming pool and hot tub at your disposal.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Amazing!

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

What can I say? First of all the pictures that are up on this page do not do this place justice! They only give you a vague idea of what you are in for. I have been to the big island several times now and rented several condos, this is by far the best ever! Spacious, comfortable, just all around wonderful, and it comes with everything you can imagine. My friends and I made the usual stop at Costco on the way in from the airport and we were set for the week! We fired up the grill almost every night and hit the water every day. Thanks to all the snorkel gear and body boards being provided we were set out on the beach. Elaine and her husband are both fantastic, and Elaine was nice enough to let me split the hour massage between my two girlfriends. If you decide on staying here at KonaJem I can say that you will not be disappointed! I'm already looking to going back next year, I just hope that it will be available the next time I'm out.

Big mahalo to Elaine and her husband!

Nathan, Natalie, Vanessa, and Anthony

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Better than expected

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

Aloha Elaine,
Our vacation on Big Island was wonderful and very relaxing! KonaJem was perfect, in fact, better than expected: snorkeling gear, BBQ, pool, comfortable bed and many more... We will keep your address preciously and will be coming back and recommend to our family & friends! Mahalo, Merci beaucoup!
A&M from Montreal, Canada

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful respite!

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 12, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks at the KonaGem. Everything we needed was provided. We found a few restaurants we hadn't tried before and they were great. One was a locals gathering spot (Jackie Ray's). Best Hummus I've had! We also took a couple of day road trips, one to Hawi, which is a quaint little town. Lot's of galleries and good Hawaiian ice cream. We had our first Hawaiian shaved ice (kiosk in the Lanihau shopping center next to Long's Drugs) and are yearning to have it again.

Thank you for your hospitality. We are sorry we disn't get to see you this visit. Next time.

Thank you, again.

The Blonde Sisters,
Cathie and Chris

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A perfect month

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 8, 2011

We couldn't be happier with our stay at KonaJem. It was quiet, comfortable, and well-appointed. We experienced at least 25 different sunsets from the lanai, many beaches within an hour's drive, great snorkeling 5 minutes away. The walk to the End of the Earth was always surprising. Next time I'll try the jump when I see how to get back to the platform. Thanks, Elaine - it was a pleasure to meet you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was spectacular!!!!

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

We now have a special fondness for The Big Island since our visit in December. We fondly remember your beautiful condo and all the amenities you provided. It was spectacular!!!!
D&C

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Aloha Hospitality

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

We couldn't have asked for a more perfect Hawaiian vacation! The condo was clean, well stocked and exactly as described in the information. The pool was clean with lots of chairs to lounge in, the grounds were well maintained, the area was quiet and relaxing,and the trolley (a short walk away) took us to shopping and beaches for $1.00. Thanks to Elaine and her hospitality we truely experienced the beauty of Hawaii's people along with turtles, dolphins and the world famous Kona coffee!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent Condo!

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

This condo was absolutely PERFECT! Well stocked, beautifully maintained, and wonderful owners. The view of the ocean from the front looks like it is pretty far away, but really it is only about a 3 block walk (down a pretty steep hill). Not good swimming there tho. You have to hop the trolley or rent a car to get to a snorkeling or swimming beach. Beautiful views from the lanai, where we ate every meal.
The BEST thing about this condo is the OWNERS! They are very hospitable, helpful and friendly. We had a few travel issues along the way and they helped where they could. This was a very memorable vacation! Highly recommend this condo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Dream Holiday !

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed your well stocked comfortable condo. The first day we were there we stocked up on groceries, and didn't need to worry about anything else. There was a large selection of DVDs, CDs, Books, Games, and all kinds of equipment to take with you out to the beach. The lanai was fantastic, and we spent a lot of time there reading, eating, playing card games, and just relaxing in the sun and watching great sunsets. We used the BBQ, and the Pool. In the condo, there were several reference books, that helped us to become familiar with the island. Our friends golfed 18 holes several times at the Kona Golf and Country Club. The 8th fairway was adjacent to the condo grounds. The Keauhou Shopping Centre was close as well, and had a few shops, and several eating places along with a Drug Store and Grocery Store. Elaine, the owner of the condo, was always readily available to assist in any way. We look forward to returning again, and certainly would recommend this Kona Jem !! Mahalo !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You have thought of everything

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

Elaine you have thought of everything. My girlfriend and I were so impressed with the condo and had everything we desired. I brought way too much stuff and did not need half of what I brought as you had it all right there!!! You truly have thought of everything and I cannot think of anything you could add to make it any better!

Many thanks, Nice

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best condo experience I've ever had!

Review submitted: August 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

I took my two teenage daughters to Kona and we rented the condo for a week. I wanted to stay two! I've rented condos before and I've never had such a great experience. The owners have gone above and beyond to stock the condo with everything you could possibly need. We loved the video library, games and all the beach/snorkeling/picnic stuff being available to us to use. The kitchen was surprisingly well stocked with every appliance you could need, as well as many food/spice staples, which is nice when you are only staying a week.

The condo is remodeled and beautiful, the pictures on the site just don't do it justice. The bed is very comfortable and I slept more than I have....ever! My girls used the new pool and hot tub every evening and loved how they had it to themselves nearly every day. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful and there is a great restaurant right on the golf course to enjoy as well as a resort within a half mile walking distance if you don't want to drive for a great meal.

I will definitely be returning and recommending this condo to all my friends. We enjoyed our vacation so much and the owners are fabulous!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Condo Rental

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

The condo was a truly a "gem". We have rented many condos for our family vacations and this Condo was by far the best we have ever stayed in! The kitchen is well equipped with quality utensils and cookware. A lot of thought was put into stocking the condo from the kitchen to the snorkeling gear. We had everything we needed for our stay. I especially enjoyed the peacefulness of the resort. We truly felt we were on vacation, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. I enjoyed the early mornings on the lanai watching and listening to our many bird visitors.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You will love this condo! Highly recommended.

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2010

We absolutely loved this condo and it had everything you needed. My husband and I stayed there with our two teenagers. The kids had their own bathroom and the master suite had a great bathroom with a fantastic shower.

We never ate inside, because the lanai was too nice not to use. We liked the location and could walk down the hill to the ocean and a lot of activities.

If you’re like me it is scary booking on line sight unseen, but you will love this condo. Highly recommended.

Sue & Family
Salem, OR

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was perfect!

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 30, 2010

Just wanted to thank you for letting us stay at your condo. It was perfect! We loved it! Not to mention beautiful! I would recommend you to everyone I know! Thanks so much. You helped us capture ever lasting memories!

Warmest Aloha
Andrea & Salty from Alaska

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review