reviews for: listing #61392 - Jaco, Costa Rica Villa rental

Jaco Beach Luxury Oceanfront House - Casa Rio Mar
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $775 - $1,300 /nt
    $5,425 - $9,100 /wk

sort by:

TT2

Review submitted: May 4, 2014   Date of arrival: April 29, 2014

If you like kind people ,great food ,the sound of waves breaking in a safe secure setting go here. These are very professional good people and you and your family will have a blast.
Superb Golf is 15 minutes away and you can walk to a great beach cafe.
I'm going to repeat for sure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible Beachfront Bliss

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: February 23, 2014

This place is sweet! Walk out of the gate and you are in the sand at the water's edge. Walk or run on the beach early in the morning or at sunset. Wake and fall asleep to the best sound machine you've ever had; the real waves of the Pacific. The rooms were perfectly appointed, the property maintained meticulously, and the pool a real joy to hang out at with friends. Adventures abound in the area from fishing, ATV rentals, surfing, zip lining, etc. Near town via a quick taxi ride where there are many great spots to dine and enjoy a few drinks with friends or family. I could not recommend more highly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unbelievable!!

Review submitted: March 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 23, 2014

From start to finish this was a fabulous vacation choice. Clean, great layout, perfect for couples wanting to get away or families to spend time together. The ocean views from the main living area, veranda, and pool were better then any photos. From zip lining to horseback riding, spa, ATV trips and boating/fishing. It all here to do. Five minutes from downtown Jaco makes it very convenient for dinners out and great nightlife. Whether you are a family or two, or a group of friends this is a special place to escape to. Three mile of beach to walk and explore right outside the pool. I would recommend to anyone and I look forward to returning next year!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The BEST place to stay in Jaco Beach!

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

The house exceeded expectations on many levels! The location itself is perfect. It is right on the beach, literally, just a couple of steps away. The house is away from any major roads, which makes it a very quiet place, perfect for vacation. And you are still a five-dollars-cab-ride away from town.
The front patio is big and perfect for relaxing and watching the sunset. If you come with kids, you can watch them play on the beach. That's how close it is to the water!
The house inside is beautiful too. Very spacious and cozy. You enjoy a nice view from every single room in the house. It has a big kitchen and living room space, which we utilized a lot. Garden is very well maintained with palm trees in the front- and backyard.
Everything about this house is spectacular. I definitely recommend this place and would go there again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Could not have been better!

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

Casa Rio Mar is an absolute beautiful beach house. The pictures simply don't do it justice! The rooms were nice and beds were comfortable. The house is well-stocked with most everything you could need, (although it would be awesome if the owners added a portable crib and high chair for families.) The pool is gorgeous, clean, and the perfect temperature. We loved sitting out on the balconies at night. The outdoor shower and the bathroom accessible from the patio are both super convenient. We felt very safe with the security guards and the gate.

The beach has soft sand and a very gradual slope... perfect for families and surfers alike! The house is away from the hustle and bustle of town but still within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants.

Do yourself a favor and be SURE to have Chef Carlos prepare a meal or two for you. He is friendly, helpful, a fantastic chef, and an all-around great person.

The house is up for sale, and I hope that when it sells it stays as lovely as it is now so we can visit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect Location for a Relaxing Vacation

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

Everyone knows the expression "too good to be true," but that is not the case with Casa Rio Mar. The house itself and the view from the house are even more impressive in person than they were in the pictures and video posted online. Aside from being just a few feet from the beach, the house is less than a 5 minute cab ride to the center of town where all of the shops and restaurants are located. Mark was waiting for us when we arrived and he helped us plan all of our activities (such as ziplining and ATV tours) while we were in Jaco. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation with an unbelievable view.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Simply Amazing...

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

The title says it ALL. This house is just that, simply amazing. It was the best nights away from home you could ever ask for. I have rented homes all over for vacation and it always seemed that the pictures were better than the house. Casa Rio Mar out does its photos and the views are perfect. If you want to be ON THE BEACH, this is where to be ON THE BEACH, you can't get any closer to it, walk past the private pool and you are on the beach. Everything has all been thought of here. We will go back to many times and I can't wait to go back..

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Super Super Home Right on the beach

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

My wife and two children spent new years at Casa Rio Mar and what a time. the pictures on the listing do not do it justice it is beautiful. Mark and Carlos are the best hosts I have ever erncountered i own a 5 bedroom vacation home listed on vacation homes and wish I had Carlos and mark working for me. They keep the property in perfect condtion looking at every detail!!! We watched the fireworks on New Years Eve from our balcony on the 2cd floor what a show and comfortable. Carlos I wanted to take home can that man cook and anything you want he can make and it is suerb he should be working in a five star restaurant... Anything we wanted they provided. I would recommend this property to anyone with families or a romantic getaway. Thank you Mark and Carlos... Dr Joe and Natalia and family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Costa Rica and Casa Rio Mar = Paradise!

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

Casa Rio Mar, Jaco beach and Costa Rica in general is the most beautiful place I've ever been. The amazing beach, warm ocean, the perfect weather and the amazing people of Jaco made our vacation the best ever. The house quality and location is exactly as on the pictures - amazing!

I would recommend this property to all my friends and colleagues as their choice for a relaxing & exciting beach vacation full of walks on the beach, surfing, jungle hiking, fishing and all kinds of other cool things you can do and see in Costa Rica. And don't forget to try the local beer Imperial :)

Pura Vida

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Look No Further!! This Property is Awesome!!

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

We just returned from our stay at this property. This was my 6th time visiting Jaco to Golf, Fish, and have fun with friends. We will never stay at another property after our stay at Casa Rio Mar! Our cook "Carlos" was awesome and very helpful. The security detail is always there to call a taxi or give directions etc.. Our transportation / guide service was "Jaco360" and they were also 1st class just like the Casa Rio Mar property. Thank you very much for making this an excellent vacation! Cheers.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

This property is AWESOME!

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

We just returned from our stay at this property. This was my 6th time visiting Jaco to Golf, Fish, and have fun with friends. We will never stay at another property after our stay at Casa Rio Mar! Our cook "Carlos" was awesome and very helpful. The security detail is always there to call a taxi or give directions etc.. Our transportation / guide service was "Jaco360" and they were also 1st class just like the Casa Rio Mar property. Thank you very much for making this an excellent vacation! Cheers.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Simply amazing!

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

My friends and I vacationed in Costa Rica during our break from grad school. Casa Rio Mar was the highlight of our trip. This place is beautiful! The house was clean, nicely decorated, and had everything we needed. The pool was clean and inviting... The security gaurd and property manager were very friendly and helpful. It was perfectly located right on the beach and minutes away from everything. It was everything we hoped it would be and more... I would definately recommend this place and plan to come back to Casa Rio Mar on my next visit to Costa Rica.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Two Thumbs Up!

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

My friends and I visited Casa Rio Mar for a couple of day, and we had an amazing vacation. From arrival to departure, we were treated like royalty. I would definitely recommend Casa Rio Mar to my friends and family, and would visit as soon as I can for any event. Thanks again for making our trip one we'll never forget!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Amazing Property!

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

My friends and I visited Casa Rio Mar for a couple of day, and we had an amazing vacation. From arrival to departure, we were treated like royalty. I would definitely recommend Casa Rio Mar to my friends and family, and would visit as soon as I can for any event. Thanks again for making our trip one we'll never forget!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Large Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

Casa Rio Mar is a wonderful place to stay while visiting Jaco. The house was beautiful and in a great location. Only a short walk or quick $4 cab ride to town, and right on the beach. The staff was so wonderful. The chef cooked for us most days and made our trip even that much more enjoyable. He made traditional meals as well as food from home. The security guards were helpful and friendly. We had 12 adults and 1 baby and there was enough space for us. The power did go out several times, but came back on pretty quickly. Apparently that happens frequently in Jaco. The only other thing that was an issue was that the house phone didn't work the whole time we were there. But the security guard or the chef would let us use thier cell phones or call a taxi for us if we needed. Overall, we had a great time and would stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous house on Jaco Beach

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2010

Wow was this place nice. Beach out front; small river in the back. Scarlet Macaws are regular visitors to the tall trees. We found a number of nice restaruants nearby, and also had their cook prepare some meals for us (definitely recommend this!). It was a great launching point for our excursions. Very quiet evenings. Enjoyed it so much we've booked another trip there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fantastic property and area

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2010

Big, beautiful house right on Jaco beach. The house was recently built and it is gorgeous. We saw scarlet Macaws, Jesus lizards and a lemur - all while sitting in the backyard. We also used their cook for a few meals, and boy was it a treat! Enjoyed it so much we are going back again this summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded expectations!

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

This property surpassed all my expectations. One step out of the gate and you're directly on the beach! The house and grounds are even better than the photos on the website--beautiful and well kept. I especially enjoyed going to sleep hearing the waves through our balcony door. The owner was very attentive to our needs and making our stay a positive experience. The nearby four-wheeling and zipline were a blast. Visitors to Costa Rica should definitely consider Casa Rio Mar!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Awesome Experience

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2010

This is by far the most incredible place to stay in Jaco. The ammenities are fantastic. The lavish details of this home are breathtaking! The incredible balcony off of the master suite was the perfect place to watch the sunrise on the beach and very romantic place to watch the waves rolling into shore. If I ever get a chance to go back to Jaco, this is the place I will come back to!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Place for Vacation

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2010

We have stayed at the place in January 2010. We would highly recommend it as it was clean, comfortable, quiet and the rooms had a fantastic ocen view. The beds were very comfy, and details in the house were very unique. There was plenty big enough for a family vacation. The ocean is just right infront of the house. When we stayed in the house, we could enjoy the view and the sound from the ocean.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Had a beautiful time at a beautiful home on a beautiful beach!

Review submitted: May 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

I was in Costa Rico and on Jaco Beach at Casa Rio Mar in April of 2010 and enjoyed every minute of it. We had a perfect view of Jaco Beach and could sit outside or inside and hear the waves out front. We had beautiful accomodations, everything we needed in the house, especially cool, cool A/C which was a welcome relief from the warm, humid outdoors. The pool helped with this as well. We were minutes from town and all the fun. Don't hesitate to book this house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Beautiful beachfront home PERFECT for a nice getaway

Review submitted: May 14, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

I stayed here for 4 days after christmas & the house is beautifully built and decorated both inside and out. The visit was relaxing & the view from the patio of the house is beautiful. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay & would love to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect vacation spot!

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

If you're looking for paradise, this is the place for you! The house is warm and cozy and perfectly accommodating for my friends and I during our stay. Having coffee on the front patio looking out at the ocean, which is literally the front yard, is a fabulous way to start your day! This house is right on the beach as promised! The backyard is beautifully adorned with banana trees, almond trees and many coconut trees for the perfect exotic park feel. Nature at it's finest gave us lizards fighting over mangoes and Macaws resting in the trees above the house. There was no real need to leave the property with it's beautiful surroundings but our group took in some of the local activities and sights. The transportation made available to us was prompt and reliable and very accommodating. The sights we chose to take in were convenient to our location and everything you would want a vacation to be. We enjoyed a crocodile adventure, zip lining thru the rain forest and drives with views of beautiful birds and animals and breathtaking scenery. The local eateries are fabulous providing beautiful ocean views and delicious fresh seafood. My overall experience was one of the best I have ever had. I would recommend this beautiful house to anyone wanting a family or group get away in a beautiful, exotic, beach front location. My friends and I hope to make a return visit sometime in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Rio Mar is a place I will never forget

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2010

The home is the perfect place to get away to enjoy the comforts of home while being surrounded by breathtaking views. You don’t even have to open the front door of this home to see the beauty of Jaco Beach. If you do, though, the calming waters of Casa Rio Mar pool and the beach are just steps away.

Once you do leave the comforts of Casa Rio Mar, adventure awaits. There are so many wonderful things to do in Costa Rica. It was easy to lose track of time taking in the views high above the tree tops on a zip lines, sightseeing on four wheelers or shopping while taking in the local culture.

Even though I could have easily stayed forever, the memories from this wonderful vacation are just a thought away. Thanks Casa Rio Mar for a great experience that easily became the best vacation I have ever had.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible house in Jaco Beach!

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

Just got back from a trip to Jaco beach where myself and four other friends stayed at Casa Rio Mar. The house is incredible! Just a few footsteps from the beach, the location cannot be beat. The house is new, well-maintained, clean, gated, and plenty big that made our stay comfortable. The house also comes with a security guard 24 hours per day. While sitting next to the pool, you also have a view to the beach/ocean. The owner was extremely helpful with any questions we had and made our stay an absolute pleasure. If you are planning a trip to Jaco Beach, I highly recommend staying at Casa Rio Mar.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review