reviews for: listing #61438 - Pacific City, Oregon House rental

Kisleys' Cove
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kiwanda Shores
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $235 - $265 /nt
    $1,350 - $1,650 /wk
    $5,400 - $6,500 /mth

sort by:

Luxurious Perfection!

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 10, 2014

This is the most beautiful home with every amenity you could want. The view of the ocean, the close location to everything, yet on a very quiet street. The attention to detail; the huge down filled couch, the rattan swivel chairs to watch the waves, the soft color palette, everything is perfect! The weather just happened to be the most beautiful 70 degree day, got a sunburn! Will come every year if there's room on the calendar.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Home on the Oregon Coast!

Review submitted: November 27, 2013   Date of arrival: November 17, 2013

The pictures don't do justice to how beautiful and elegant this Oregon Coast home is! Not to mention the amazing ocean view! We felt totally pampered with all of the amenities... and it felt like we were in our own home. The kitchen has absolutely everything you need and we loved staying in and cooking in it. The bedrooms are fabulous and the beds very, very comfortable.

We had the good fortune to see sea lions swimming out in front of the house! Needless to say, we didn't want to leave and return to reality.

We cannot wait for our next stay in this beautiful home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I hope to be back many times

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

The descriptions do not lie, stunning views (360!), easy access to the beach, nice furniture, quality linens, very clean and well kept property, it felt like staying in a 4 star hotel and not just another house rental. we had a minor problem figuring out the new audio/TV system but the owner was very quick to respond and remedy the situation (and the new system just put in sounds great!).

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Serene and Beautiful

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

We had our annual girl's week-end at Kisley's Kove. We loved the house and it was so comfortable for the six of us. We enjoyed the lovely bedrooms and bathrooms with the serene color scheme. We were totally relaxed and enjoyed preparing our breakfast and lunches in the well equipped kitchen and then enjoyed having meals together in the lovely dining area. The great room was perfect for watching the lightning, thunder and rain from the huge windows overlooking the ocean. The house was very comfortable and warm with the gorgeous fireplace and cozy blankets. We plan on staying at Kisley's Kove next year again for our annual girl's week-end. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unforgettable

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2013

Kisley Kove is even better than advertised. This home easily accommodated our 3 families with space to be together...and apart. An updated decor in serene sand and sea colors featured a wonderful cook's kitchen where multiple people can easily work together. A dining area seats 8 allowed us to share meals together. Just steps from the beach with ocean views from the second and third floors--breathtaking! A great base camp for day trips to McMinnville, Tillamook and Newport. We did wish for a "universal" remote and/or upgraded cable tv for those inevitable rainy days. We'll be back! The Knight-Ruether clan, Centennial, Colorado

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Couldn't have asked for more!

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

My husband, step-daughters, and brother, sister, sister-in-law, and I stayed at Kisley's Cove in April and couldn't have asked for a more wonderful and relaxing few days. The girls loved the house, the kids room was well appointed. In addition to toys, there is a big basket of shells that they LOVED looking at. The kitchen was well-appointed, including staples and plenty of condiments in the fridge.The furniture is beautiful, in good condition and very comfortable. And the view...I'm sure its the best in the neighborhood. I highly recommend this home to families and groups. There is plenty to do in Pacific City, but we would all have been just as happy to just sit in the house and enjoy just being there.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous retreat!

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

We came to Kisleys' Kove for a weekend girls escape. The house was amazing!

The property had everything we needed. The kitchen was well stocked and the house is well cared for. The photos online do show exactly what you will find. We loved the living area with the huge windows, ocean view, gas fire place, great kitchen and movie library. It is perfect for relaxing all day long. As for bedrooms we chose the master and room with the twin beds. The bathrooms and bedrooms were comfortable and the layout was good. The other room on the second floor with the queen bed was also nicely appointed but the bed was a bit too firm for is. There is also a bedroom on the lower level though is is a bit segregated from the rest of the house.

The restaurant selection in town was slim but we did enjoy the Mexican restaurant and then found the grocery store for home cooked meals the rest of our stay. Lincoln City is about 40 minute away but we chose to stay in, relax and enjoy the beach instead of driving to shop/dine out. On my next stay, I will pack a cooler with meals planned ahead of time to make it easy. The grocery store is not a chain store so the selection is not as large though adequate.

I would definitely recommend the property to those seeking a getaway with friends or family. The three flights of stairs may be tough for those with physical limitations.

As soon as I can find an open weekend that works again we will return! Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing Couples' Retreat with Views

Review submitted: February 23, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

Kisleys' Kove exceeded our expectations! Every single thing was perfect-- even the sunshine and blue skies. We had our adult kids and their friends/spouse come for a long weekend to play, eat and rest. It was such a great time and everyone had space to their own, yet a terrific top floor to be together. Views from every room, decks to eat our lunch on outside and a home full of so many amenities, that we were never lacking a supply. We loved the big table and meals together looking out at the ocean too! WOW!! We even got take out from Pelican Pub because we wanted to 'stay in' one night.

This was such a great place to spend President's Weekend/Valentine's Day. We walked up and down the beach, got coffee at Stimulus Coffee (a must!) and just "stopped" -- it was a joy to spend it at this home and we will come back! Thank you for sharing your house with us!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved this house!

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful beach house - it had everything we hoped for! The views from the 3rd floor living area are gorgeous! We hope to stay here again someday!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beyond perfect

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

We love this home. LOVE!!! We had the pleasure of being able to celebrate my mom's 60th birthday here and it couldn't have been more perfect. The house is SO WELL equipped-especially the kitchen. And the towels and sheets...they are all the absolute best of the best. You feel like you are staying in a 5 star hotel. And the bathroom floors are heated-can't get much better than that!

Thank you again for the most lovely home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Karen A. Howells

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2012

This was one of the best vacation home at the Oregon coast we've ever stayed at! A beautiful view of the ocean, a quiet street, perfect kitchen, dining room and lovely design! We will absolutely seek this home out again. It was very comfortable for 8 people and provided a perfect and restful stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

We just finished a seven day stay at this great home. The home and furnishings are beautiful and almost everything we needed was already there (staples for cooking, beach toys, wood for a fire, plenty of towels, baby gate!, etc. etc.). We left a few stable things ourselves for the next renter. From the beginning, the owner was extremely responsive and helpful. The beach access is literally across the street. At low tide, there were plently of places our kids could splash in and smaller dunes if we didn't want to walk down to the large dunes or tide pools. Just as the sun set, my daughter and I took a walk along the beach and found several whole sand dollars and other treasures. The downstairs shower was extremely helpful in trying to hose off the little ones before they were let loose in the house. There is plenty of room in the garage to park two large vehicles. At one point, we thought we would have too many cars, but a senior center within walking distance offers free parking for any extra cars if they have room. Luck was on our side, as most days were sunny and the last was even warm!

One note of caution for elderly guests - that gorgeous view and wonderful family/eating area on the third floor means a couple flights of stairs. This was fine for almost everyone in our family, but grandma and grandpa had a slightly tougher time going up and down.

We will definitely go back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pacific City beach home

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We had a great time at your beach house over the 4th of July. Your house is amazing! Thanks for being so kind and easy to work with. You are blessing families. Thank you!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Remarkable House in a Remarkable Place

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

My wife and I took our 5 small children to see the coast and couldn't have been happier with this house. We have already recommended it to friends and hope to visit again. Pacific City is a wonderful place to experience the beauty of the Oregon Coast and the Kisley's house, their thoughtfulness, and the impeccable hospitality they display only makes it more lovely.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

Kisley Kove has a really nice sandy beach just in front of the house where my children loved to play on sunny days. When it rained, we still enjoyed ourselves in the large great room on the top floor looking out at the ocean. Very relaxing. Important for me and my wife was the high speed broadband connection as we were able to keep in touch with our respective workplaces (even on holidays we don't manage to get away fully). The owners were perfect hosts, and even called us to see if we were doing well during our stay. We would certainly want to stay there again when we come back to Oregon in the future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

We (six adults) had a great time and would return again. The house is nicely-appointed, well laid out and well-equipped. The views were gorgeous. The location was perfect....what more can we say? Thank you for a wonderful stay and for being such gracious hosts.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We'll definitely come back and stay at Kisley's Cove again!

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

All of us fell in love with this house the minute we stepped foot into the door! The house was beautifully decorated with tasteful furnishings, and it was very well organized and clean. There was ample space for six people, and everyone was amazed by the 180 degree view of the ocean in the living area. The kitchen was very well equipped and for those who enjoyed cooking appreciated the high end appliances. The avid surfers would appreciate the location of the house, because they could check the surf breaks from the windows of the living area. Beach combers would enjoy the long walks on the beach. Hikers would enjoy a short hike up the dunes to the lookout which is only a few hundred meters away from the house. All of us agree that we will definitely come back and stay at Kisley's Cove again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

familyNfriends

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

Our family stayed at Kisley Cove a couple of weeks ago and it was absolutely wonderful. The view from the top floor is amazing. If you like to cook this is the kitchen for you, it has everything you would need and more. The owners were very helpful and easy to work with. Everything about the house is quality and we hope to return very soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful stay

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

We all wanted to say we had a wonderful stay in your home. It was more than beautiful. It was the best vacation home & location I think I've ever stayed at.. It's so well equpped with everything you could possibly need. Thank-you again!!! Karen & Steve C. and Friends

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

10 things we love

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

Here are the top 10 things we like about Kisley Cove from our family. I’ll let you add them to the website yourself…

1. The living area is surrounded by windows with awesome views of the beach and Haystack rock to the west and the mountains to the east. Gorgeous!
2. The open high ceiling makes the place full of light and wonder.
3. The master bedroom has the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in.
4. Beach access is easy and the beach is as scenic as anywhere in Oregon.
5. All the bedrooms are on the 2nd floor, away from the noise of the living area in case you want some private peace and quiet.
6. The place is beautifully appointed with comfortable furniture, chairs and living spaces that make it totally relaxing.
7. I’m not missing out on cell phone or internet access.
8. Great stereo and TV with a lot of CD’s and DVD’s.
9. Gourmet Kitchen
10. Amazing bathtub for taking a bath.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The best beach house we have ever rented

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

My family rents beach houses for long weekends a couple times a year. Our criteria is pretty simple; the house needs to be clean, comfortable and have a good view. This house by far exceeded our expectations and I can say without hesitation that it was by far the nicest and best equipped house we have ever stayed in. The owner is very nice and the kids loved the beach and sand dunes. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Best Family Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

This is a beautiful home in a somewhat less-traveled area. Amazing views. Kitchen-dining-family room area was great-we spent a lot of time there cooking, eating, and playing games. Beds are extremely comfortable, and all rooms are very nicely appointed. Just steps from the beach! It's nice, too, as there were not many people when we were there- at morning, when the tide is out, there is great beach-combing, and dunes and tide pools are a short walk to the north.

My family, my brothers family, and our parents stayed for a week very comfortably. Because it is four bedrooms, the kids had their own room, which was nice for the parents. We would all stay there again in a heartbeat. Do NOT overlook this property- I assure you that if you stay, you will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Heaven on earth

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

This is not a home, it's an experience. "Kisley's Cove" is without a doubt my families' favorite place on earth to relax, recharge, and have fun. The house is beautiful, spacious, well decorated, spotlessly clean, stylish, comfortable, and marked by dramatic views. Plus, it's right on the beach, which makes for great walks, hikes, runs, swims, and play along the Oregon Coast. If I had to use one word for this getaway, it would be "rest". Yes, it's a great base to go adventuring in the nearby areas, but it's so restful and reinvigorating, my family never wants to leave it. We're an active, busy family, but we can hole up there for days just soaking up rest and refreshment.

Try it out, it's worthy every penny.

John Mark

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Family Retreat

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2008

Whenever my children cone home from being out of the country, they always call ahead to be certain we can have a great family retreat at Kisley Cove. Every element of the home and surroundings promote a peaceful, yet playful, and adventurous times.
Perfectly located, only a few yards from the shore. Breathtaking views from every window, and on the back side is amazing views of the mountain and the lake. Enjoyed best on the deck with morning coffee in the sun.

Fabulously decorated,all aspects of the home is designed for quieting the spirit. All the right electronics for great sounds of music and movies. Plug you memory chip into the TV and enjoy your pictures as you enjoy your week. The cupboard is full of music and movies, no need to rent..
We love to cook together, and the kitchen is a gourmets dream. No worries about having what you will need.

Among our favorite activities are watching Dory boats come and go,watching kite surfers and, surf boarders, hiking over the cape, canoeing, kayaking, and sipping a latte at the cafe.
Before our time is over, we always visit the local art gallery and the Village Merchant,
topping it off with a dinner at the local Los Corporals for great Mexican food.

In summary, the owner has always been eager to be certain things are clearly defined and our needs are met. We are always anxious to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Strongly recommended - you'll never forget it!

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2009

I strongly recommend going and spending time at this house from the fairytales.
I was impressed by the panoramic view of the ocean revealed from the top floor (third floor), where are the living, dining room and the kitchen. The amount of natural light in that space, allowed to come in from the windows, makes you feel like you are in the air. It seems like the time stopped when I was there and took a rest along my side. The house is not only professionally decorated, but everything in it is so neat and comfortable that you really feel in a special place.
I went there in the first week of October, 2009. The weather was just perfect. Spending time on the beach, walking barefoot, or eating marshmallows around the evening fire next to the ocean is how you make unforgettable memories. The tide pools are a must to see and real fun for big and small. The sand dunes are fun to climb, but going down is what’s really worth it!
I am sure you’ll not only enjoy your stay there, but you’ll remember it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Strongly recommended - you'll never regret it!

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2009

I strongly recommend going and spending time at this house from the fairytales.
I was impressed by the panoramic view of the ocean revealed from the top floor (third floor), where are the living, dining room and the kitchen. The amount of natural light in that space, allowed to come in from the windows, makes you feel like you are in the air. It seems like the time stopped when I was there and took a rest along my side. The house is not only professionally decorated, but everything in it is so neat and comfortable that you really feel in a special place.
I went there in the first week of October, 2009. The weather was just perfect. Spending time on the beach, walking barefoot, or eating marshmallows around the evening fire next to the ocean is how you make unforgettable memories. The tide pools are a must to see and real fun for big and small. The sand dunes are fun to climb, but going down is what’s really worth it!
I am sure you’ll not only enjoy your stay there, but you’ll remember it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kisleys' Cove spells VACATION!

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

Kisleys' Cove is the essential vacation place! Luxury and relaxation, a spectacular location and full 140 degree ocean view, with great views of the Coastal Range and the Nestucca River out the back windows. The nicest, most uncrowded beach in Oregon just across the street. Our family loves the beautiful tidepools and a daily hike up Cape Kiwanda . . . and the run down! Great fishing and crabbing nearby. The whale watching and seals are great, as are all the wild sea birds. More pelicans than I've ever seen anywhere. The kids never get bored, and we parents get plenty of space and privacy with the beautiful bedroom suites. Barbara and Steve have created and share such a beautiful place. It is a one-of-a-kind place. Don't miss it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

serene; Beautifully Appointed

Review submitted: February 21, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

We felt as though a dear friend had shared their home with us at the beach; each room so thoughtfully put together, welcoming and comfortable. There was never the sense that, "Oh, I wish I had brought ____" Fill in the blank. It was all there. Top of the line appliances, linens and little unexpected creature comforts-- from a soft throw near the window seat, to the the down sectional with room for all the kids in front of the fire and TV-- made our stay all the more inviting-not to mention the heated slate bathroom floors. The large, open floor plan allowed three generations to be all together or take some quiet time on one of the decks or the TV room on another floor. Be sure to take the boogie boards in the garage for a slide down the side of Cape Kawanda; that is after you hike to the other side to watch the seals and listen to the waves cannon off the caves. We hiked the Scenic Loop Capes in shirtsleeves and sunglasses some days and played board games by the fire when watching sideways rain and skin-searing sand storms pound the beach on other days. Always 100' from the surf, you have a front row seat. I especially loved walking upstairs after dark or in the early dawn, when all the house lights were off--floor to ceiling windows showcase the moon bouncing off the waves with eery beauty.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WOW, This place is special!!

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2009

The accommodations at the Kisley’s Cove are absolutely wonderful! One of the highlights to me is the massive upper room overlooking the gorgeous and complete panorama of the Pacific Ocean. One side of the room is large windows facing the water with a telescope for viewing the many beautiful things that can easily be seen from that spectacular vista. The other side has a patio for enjoying the Coast Range mountains right next to a very convenient and awesome kitchen for easy access while spending time with the magnificent view.
I could spend days just sitting in that room enjoying the views. There is a huge, long table with a presidential or executive feel to it, making for a perfect centerpiece in a mansion like abode with the utter beauty surrounding you.
And that is just one room in the house! There are so many fun things I found there to entertain, just stocked with beach stuff and Frisbees, etc. There is a very nice back patio where we were able to have a church meeting there, roasting marshmallows with friends and family.
The attention to detail of the person who designed this house is amazing! As an example, I personally have never seen bathrooms uniquely fashioned with such exquisite taste. All the Kisley’s Cove glistens with immaculate cleanliness and pristine interiors. There are many very nice things to enjoy in the house including sea glass and collectables, and the feeling of finding interesting things all over is captivating. The bedrooms were extremely comfortable. The Kisley's Cove is Pacific Ocean JOY.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

WOW, This place is special!!

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2009

The accommodations at the Kisley’s Cove are absolutely wonderful! One of the highlights to me is the massive upper room overlooking the gorgeous and complete panorama of the Pacific Ocean. One side of the room is large windows facing the water with a telescope for viewing the many beautiful things that can easily be seen from that spectacular vista. The other side has a patio for enjoying the Coast Range mountains right next to a very convenient and awesome kitchen for easy access while spending time with the magnificent view.
I could spend days just sitting in that room enjoying the views. There is a huge, long table with a presidential or executive feel to it, making for a perfect centerpiece in a mansion like abode with the utter beauty surrounding you.
And that is just one room in the house! There are so many fun things I found there to entertain, just stocked with beach stuff and Frisbees, etc. There is a very nice back patio where we were able to have a church meeting there, roasting marshmallows with friends and family.
The attention to detail of the person who designed this house is amazing! As an example, I personally have never seen bathrooms uniquely fashioned with such exquisite taste. All the Kisley’s Cove glistens with immaculate cleanliness and pristine interiors. There are many very nice things to enjoy in the house including sea glass and collectables, and the feeling of finding interesting things all over is captivating. The bedrooms were extremely comfortable. The Kisley's Cove is Pacific Ocean JOY.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My Favorite Spot on Earth

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

This is not a home, it's an experience. "Kisley's Cove" is without a doubt my families' favorite place on earth to relax, recharge, and have fun. The house is beautiful, spacious, well decorated, spotlessly clean, stylish, comfortable, and marked by dramatic views. Plus, it's right on the beach, which makes for great walks, hikes, runs, swims, and play along the Oregon Coast. If I had to use one word for this getaway, it would be "rest". Yes, it's a great base to go adventuring in the nearby areas, but it's so restful and reinvigorating, my family never wants to leave it. We're an active, busy family, but we can hole up there for days just soaking up rest and refreshment.

Try it out, it's worthy every penny.

John Mark

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review