reviews for: listing #61641 - Deep Creek Lake, Maryland House rental

Special Memories Lake Front Home
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $295 - $748 /nt
    $2,090 - $3,495 /wk

sort by:

We'll be back!

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Our extended family of 2 parents, 4 kids, and 6 grandkids, had high hopes for our 2014 summer vacation, and Special Memories lived up to our expectations! The location was what we wanted - off the main roads but not too far from attractions, and on the lake, not just near it. The house was great too, with bedrooms on each floor so the family could spread out when desired but still have plenty of space to be together when we wanted. Special Memories is very kid-friendly with a swingset and volleyball net, plus a sliding board on the dock into the lake. We all had fun going from the lake (which could be chilly) to the hot tub. The second refrigerator made keeping food and drink for 12 people easy. We loved this house and we WILL be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a lovely place for a family reunion

Review submitted: July 1, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The house is spacious and well appointed. I loved not being cramped for space. The kitchen was well-equipped. Everything is comfortable and clean. The setting beautiful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 16, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The house is very spacious with plenty of room for group activities. Short drive to Ski Wisp and great view of the lake. I would definitely go back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A comfortable rustic vacation

Review submitted: February 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This house was amazing. It was more than I exected. We had 12 people staying there and everyone was really comfortable. Also, the property management staff is very responsive. We had a water heating issue the first night with the showers and they came out to the house within an hour to fix the problem. Would definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great location

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great place! Manager was pleasant. Location was great. We were able to walk to the beach (20 minute walk) and row across the lake in our canoe to grab an ice cream cone. Great setup for families with young kids!

Owners response: Hi Jennifer, thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed the house. Hope you come back again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great family vacation

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
just returned home after spending 9 days at Special Memories with our family(ages 1 thru 66)..could not have asked for a more perfect setting..house is amazing and the lake is totally accessible with private dock and slide..this is our third time staying at this house and we are already looking forward to our next vacation there.

Owners response: Robert, thank you for your review and for being a repeat renter. We are so glad that you enjoyed "special memories". Hope to see you again next summer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Our families were exceptionally pleased with "Special Memories". The house was clean and comfortable. There was enough room for all 16 of us comfortably. The entire family made use of the back yard and the lake. We had a wonderful vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We'll be back!

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This was an outstanding rental. For once, the place was actually better than its pictures. We had 13, sometimes 15, people stay at the house and it was roomy enough to accommodate all without feeling like we were on top of each other. The interior has a very "warm" feeling with comfortable seating throughout, but it was the outside amenities that really topped things off. We got great use from the volleyball court, fire pit, horseshoe pit and large deck. The close proximity to the state park was also very nice in that there was significantly less traffic both on land and on the lake. It's a little longer drive to some of the main areas/amenities of the lake, but the privacy and decreased traffic was a much better trade-off. Everyone was very impressed and agreed we will rent this again next year. Highly recommend!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Family Getaway

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The layout of the house and great outside area was perfect for our group of 7 adults and 4 kids. Long days at the dock and volleyball net followed by card games at night. The grill gas canister was empty and we replaced it. The house could use some updating. Biggest issue is the musty smell which is attempted to be covered up with air freshiners. This would be eliminated by installing central air. Ice in the door did not work and the main floor bathroom door could not be locked.Overall, we had a great time and would return

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

House for everyone

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The house had everything we could have asked for and more. Had a great weekend with friends while enjoying all the outdoor amenities and the lake.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good luck

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Rating Details:
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Special Memories was indeed a special experience. Overall we had a great time there but the place needs improvement. I called the property manager twice prior to my arrival because I had a few questions. He answered the first time I called and was busy and asked if he could call me back. He never did. That was a month prior to my scheduled arrival date. So I decided to call again a week before our arrival date and left a message and that call was never returned. Disappointed with the pour customer service. The house was clean overall except for lots of leaves around the house and deck and doorway entrances. The grass also looked like it had not been cut this year. Another complaint was the grill. It was completely disgusting. Food particles and grease everywhere and was completely rusted on the inside. Was not happy with that considering I had bought a bunch of burgers and hot dogs to cook. The house was also very hot and there was no central ac or window units to cool the house down. Other than that the backyard was great for yard games.

Owners response: Sorry to hear about the inconveniences. Regarding the leaves and air conditioning, keep in mind we had snow on the ground until roughly May 10 and there are always some left over leaves from the fall--we do clean the leaves up in the fall but without fail there are always more in the spring. All of the AC units have been installed and a new stand alone unit has been added to the living room. The gas grill has been replaced with a new one. Again, we had snow and winter like conditions until roughly May 10. Thank you for the feedback.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything was great until the 10am checkout...

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We loved the view and were impressed with how huge the house was. We had a great time.
The only snag came when we had to check out by 10am and also were expected to clean/empty dishwasher. We've rented many cabins before and never had to make sure the dishwasher was empty before leaving. It also felt weird that there were no cleaning supplies. If you're expected to clean and still make the 10am checkout, there needs to be some give and take with supplies provided... and so vacation could still end on a feeling vacation kind of mood.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice Getaway

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Enjoyed our stay. The photos are spot-on. Don't expect more or less. Great Lake location with great view. Awesome basement for cards, shooting pool, and a bar. Nice TV to watch the Masters. And plenty of beds for everyone. If you want fancy, this is not your place. If you want fun, this works perfectly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Came Here Twice; Great Everytime

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My friends and I have came here two winters in a row and always have a great time. Management has been very responsive and helped bring a plow after we had some troubles leaving. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Everything was great except that the downstairs TV was not working (with the cable) and the soap dispenser in the dishwasher was broken.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ravens Fans Make Special Memories at Special ...

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Ravens Fans Make Special Memories at Special Memories!!!

Our family planned early on to watch the Super Bowl from Deep Creek, but never dreamed our beloved Ravens would actually be in it. When we arrived at Special Memories, we were pleased to see that the pictures on the site were current. The house was clean, cozy, and had plenty of sleeping room for everyone. The kids loved playing pool and the poker table was used all weekend. When we arrived, the first thing we did was check out the television situation in anticipation of the big game. We were sickened to find that the big screen t.v. was broken. However, we called management and they brought out a new 60" flat screen on Saturday so we could enjoy the game on Sunday. We were close to the slopes for snowboarding and tubing and close to restuarants and stores. Perfect location!!!! Add the Ravens win in, it was the perfect weekend.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Maybe

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had a leak in the furnace which caused a strong odor of kerosene our entire stay. It was overwhelming. The owners need to update their furnace. If we had not experience this issue we would have enjoyed our stay and the house in general was nice. The roads during our stay were dangerous on state park road and even with the driveway plowed it was tough getting in and out (even for the truck with the plow).

Owners response: This situation was truly unfortunate and the guest was refunded 100%. The furnace has since been repaired. As far as the roads are concerned, we are at a ski resort and it does snow...our county does a very good job at keeping them passable that is not to say that from time to time they get snow covered.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful Family Getaway

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Large property right on the water with private dock. We used the outside firepit, which has seating around the pit, the horse shoes and the volley ball court.
Inside is very comfortable with plenty of room for all to spread out. We all played games on the large dining room table and enjoyed the deck outside.
Just wish it were centrally airconditioned, but we were all comfortable with the room conditioners and dehumidifiers. Will definately go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Special Memories

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had a wonderful week! The place as very nice and roomy. I would saty here again and again!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Wonderful place for families - big house, great shady yard leading down to dock, badminton, fire ring, lots of tables and chairs both indoors and out, swing set...all conducive to good family fun.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

fun at deep creek

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had a great time-nice being close to bait shop,caught fish,had lots of fun on water,you need a air conditioner in the top of steps bedroom and the little bath in loft needs vented bad smell. The beds where very comfy and we all had a great time would definitely rent here again. Bedroom behind fire place the cable doesn't work at all. All other tv's work. So nice to have washer and dryer!! Kids loved pool table and hot tub was a hit!! So was slide-great land mark to find house again also. Thanks for a great place to vacation!! The Kilgore's and Gochenaurs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Weekend

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This was our third year staying at Special Memories - we love the house,the yard and the location. AC units were an added welcome this year. The ladder to the dock had not been put on yet and made it very difficult for everyone to get out of the lake. Overall a great time and just might be back for a fourth year next year!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best place ever for a vacation on a lake !

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
I was looking for privacy/wooded property on the lake and my wife advised me this was the best decision i've ever made by picking this cabin/house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PERFECT GETAWAY SPOT.

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We stayed for presidents weekend 2012. This homes location to Wisp is perfect. We spent lots of time beside the roaring fire and enjoying the fabulous veiw. We would love to try this home in the summer time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent!

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We really enjoyed our experience at Specisl Memories. The house was spacious, clean, and had plenty to do for adults and kids. It was a wonderful New Year's weekend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house and Great vacation with friends

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Special memories is a wonderful vacation rental. We had 12 people staying at the house....6 adults and 6 kids. The loft area actually sleeps 6 (2 double beds, a single and a trundle) and then there is an additional bedroom right by the loft that was great for any kids who couldn't fall asleep with the group. It was really comfortable and a great set up for our group. The other bedrooms were also comfortable and the linen service makes for an easy vacation!! The backyard was our favorite spot....the flat area for the volleyball court also served as a corn hole area (a favorite game of our group). We made several fires in the fire pit, the kids loved the hot tub and the dock was great for swimming and for our boat rental. Unfortunately the water on the slide wasn't working when we were there but it looks really fun. The deck was large and has two tables with umbrellas and some additional seating so we could have people eating inside and out. Also, the basement is fun filled. There is a large TV there that made for a great movie night for the kids (there is a Redbox at the Walmart if you are looking to rent a movie)!! The guys also made use of the poker table and the bar area was great for cards! All and all, the house was very spacious and it worked perfectly for our group. Thank you to the owners for sharing their wonderful vacation home!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

"almost perfect"

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Just returned from a 10 day stay at house and could not have asked for a better vacation for our entire family..the only complaint i have is the master bath shower was broken before we arrived and they had tied it up with plastic ties..this really was not what you would expect for the master bath..could have been easily fixed and they didn't do it..Other than this we cannot wait to spend our next big vacation in the same house..we were here two years ago and the new owner definitely improved the kitchen so the cooking was much more enjoyable..Air Conditioners were a welcome addition too..we give the property a solid 10..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Summer Vacation 2011

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Had a great week at the lake with the family. Kids had a fantastic time. The house was well adaptive for all of our crew of 14. The only thing that we all agreed that this house is a must is Central AC. Even thought the weather wasn't smoldering it was very muggy expecially late at night when we were all down in the game room trying to enjoy some game time with everyone. We want to come back to this house, but will have to look elsewhere until the AC is upgraded. Loved the lot and the location. Please upgrade AC before our next vacation next summer!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Ejay

Review submitted: January 28, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

We rented the house for a weekend in January for my birthday. It was a great weekend, very spacious, and slept 13 people comfortably. The house was everything and more. I did not need to bring much since the house was stocked; blankets, towels, kitchen ammenities, and fire wood.
It was only 20 minutes from Wisp which was the main reason we decided to stay there.
Our cars had some difficulty in the icy driveway but there were plenty of resources to help with that; shovels, salt, and gravel.
We would love to come back to experience Deep Creek in the summer.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Special Memories

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2010

Just returned from a 4 night stay with 7 college mates and friends. This rental was great. We all had beds to sleep in, the game room with pool table, card table, large TV and bar was enjoyed constantly.
The house was clean, only negatives (if you would call them that), were that there was no fooseball table & the light over the pool table didn't work. We will definetly rent again if available in 2 years, when we return for the Go SU vs WVU football game in Mo-Town, WV. The owner was very helpful and pleasant to deal with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

a very special house

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

This is our third year in this house and it just gets better. We love the layout, the volleyball court, the firepit, and being on the lakefront. The remodeled kitchen and the expanded deck were wonderful. We love being close to the hiking trails and the discovery center at the state park. Our whole family loves Deep Creek and enjoys staying at this house each year. Great location and wonderful amenities.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Deep Creek Weekend

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

The place was fantastic - we loved it - the house was beautiful and clean - the property was very nice and all of the amentities were a plus. We brought 16 (9 adults and 7 kids)and everyone one was pleased. This is by far the best house we have stayed at since coming to DC. We brought a boat and the private doce was perfect. One disappointment was that the slide is no longer off of the dock - the kids were really looking forward to that. We cooked and/or grilled everyday at the house, everything you need is there! Lots of sunshine to top it off!! If we bring 16 we would stay there again!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: The slide has been repaired and is now back on the dock. Sorry for the disappointment.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review