reviews for: listing #61729 - Playa del Carmen, Yucatan Condo rental

Porto Playa
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $275 - $425 /nt
    $1,920 - $2,670 /wk
    $5,775 - $8,925 /mth

sort by:

Paradise @ Porto Playa

Review submitted: March 16, 2009   Date of arrival: May 15, 2008

Enjoy gentle breezes from the balcony of this enticing property. Walk to the beach or the restaurants on 5th Avenue. Lounge @ the pool with a refreshing cocktail.

Overall, this property is a slice of heaven with plenty of amenities and great location. The unit and property are well maintained.

I hope to return in the near term and have recommended this two bedroom, two bath unit to my friends!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have 1, 2, and 3 bedroom condo's in several properties in Playa del Carmen as well as a 2 and 3 bedroom penthouse unit. Penthouses include a private rooftop with jacuzzi, gas grill, lounge furniture and palapa's. All properties are on the beach or within 100 steps of the beach in the Premier Zone. Please email me for rate information or visit my web sites

Laura

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Porto Playa is great for everyone!

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 6, 2014

My husband and I traveled to Playa del Carmen in March and stayed at this unit. First of all, I cannot write this review without first touching on how amazing Playa del Carmen is. It is the perfect vacation for everyone. It has so much to offer - beautiful beaches, adventures to ruins and jungle ziplines, wonderful shops, delicious restaurants and easy access to one of the top rated snorkeling sites in the world in Cozemel!! And Porto Playa is in the middle of it all. The location is ideal - a five minute walk gets you to the beach, the clubs, the food and shops, but also provides enough distance for a peaceful retreat when returning to your condo. The staff is unbelievably attentive and the grounds are pristine. This unit is on the second floor and has a beautiful view of the pool and is the right height to be surrounded by the wonderfully landscaped courtyard. The cool breeze the balcony gets provides a perfect spot for enjoying coffee in the morning and cocktails at night! We have nothing but great things to say about Porto Playa and are already planning our return trip with some friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Much Needed Girls Getaway!!!

Review submitted: November 10, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

I just returned from Playa Del Carmen where I stayed at Porto Playa with four girlfriends. We had the perfect room, # 216. It was everything as described and more.The location was great, we had a beautiful breeze as we sat on the patio each evening and shared a bottle of wine before going to dinner. Restaurants and shopping are so close and the choices unbelievable! One of the best parts of our day was taking the very short walk to the Indigo Beach Club, which had the best sand, crystal blue water and margaritas anywhere!!! I travel a lot and this is my favorite place to go!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Playa Lover

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

The unit was impecable with breath-taking views of the water from the balcony. The condo was spacious and well-decorated. IThe space was conducive to entertaining and the cleaning staff kept the unit spotless!! I would definitely stay at this property in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls Just Want to Have Fun

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

What a great place for a girls getaway. Kelly helped me book unit 216 at Porto Playa and it was just perfect for the 4 of us. In the condo was a packet of information and discount cards for many restaraunts and nearby attractions. After a relaxing day at Indigo Beach Club, literally only 100 steps away, we had cocktail hour every night on the balcony overlooking the pool. Afterwards we headed out to Fifth Avenue for dinner, music and nightlife.It doesn't get much better than that. We're already planning to go back next year for our girls trip. Luxury accommodations, beautiful weather, outstanding restaurants, & fantastic service made our girls getaway the best ever!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad you had such a great time. I love going with my girlfriends too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Porto Playa....Oh La La!!

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

Well normally I would never take the time to write a review however after my recent experience in Playa Del Carmen Mexico I felt compelled. My boyfriend and I decided to take a trip south of the border with some friends and settled on Playa because we overheard sombody talking about it in the deli at the grocery store. When we shared that we were in the process of booking a trip they recommended that we stay at a condo-hotel called Porto Playa. I wish I had this wonderful womans address because I would send her a gift basket for sending us down the right path. EVERYTHING from check in to check out was MAGNIFICENT!! NOT KIDDING!! We stayed in room 216 and saying it far excedded our expectations would be an understatment. We checked it out online and the pictures do not do it justice. Beeeeeeaaautiful!! The view was amazing, the pool was perfect, the staff was so cordial. The people there are so sweet and happy to help. Two blocks from the most amazing white sand beach!! One block from tons of great shopping and great boutiques on 5th avenue!! We cat wait to go back!! We have found our every year vacation spot hands down. Oh and by the way plan on gaining at least 5 pounds when you are there because the food is off-the-charts! You can find anything from the best street tacos you will ever eat to at least a dozen 5 star restaurants within blocks. If you are smart enough to book this trip toot sweet you have to try this little restaurant called Oh La La. Its about a block west of 5th avenue. Just ask at the front desk. Its a quaint little outdoor eatery with no more than 6 tables and the owner and chef George.........Oh La La!! The food is great too!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Porto Playa 216

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

Just arrived home from Playa and am already planning my next trip!! Cant wait to get back!! We had the pleasure of staying at what is quite possibly the nicest condo/hotel we have ever experienced in Mexico. Our room was amazing!! Perfect for two couples or a family!! And quite economical considering the 5 star accomodations!! I have been to mexico many many times and I cant imagine staying anyplace else. Have stayed at the Ritz and Four Seasons and I am going back to Porto Playa. Everything about our stay was tip top. The room was magnificent, the enviornment was tranquil, the locals were inviting and the food was amazing. Did not have a bad meal. Everything from street tacos to formal dining....You can find anything you want. Wether you like authentic Italian or authentic Mexican, 5th ave (which is about a block from Porto Playa) is riddled with 5 star restaurants. If you travel just one block west of 5th you will find one of our favorite restaurants, Oh La La. Its terrific!! We had dinner there twice in 5 days!! Oh yeah and it is exactly two blocks from a white sand beach!! GO NOW!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Michael,

Thanks for your nice comments. I'm so glad you and your girl friend liked 216, and we're happy to help you with your next trip. Although all guests receive complimentary beach chairs at Indigo Beach Club, which is 2 blocks from Porto Playa, there are other beaches and clubs 1 block away. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you soon!
Laura

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply Perfect

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 4, 2012

Loved staying in this tastefully decorated condo! We were steps to the beach as promised and loved the giant pool this complex offered. We spent the mornings at the chic beach club, the afternoons by the pools and the late evening on our private terrace overlooking the lighted waterfalls in the lower garden.
We are returning to this condo!
thanks to the owner who helped us with great recommendations for dinning!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Been there and loved it

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

I stayed at Porto Playa for 3 weeks in March and had a great time. This condo building is very well situated - very close to the beach and 5th avenue, and something important - just far enough away from the noise of the bars/clubs that run to well past 4AM. The pool is great - it was never crowded, so you have the best of both worlds - busy at the beach or quieter at the condo. The condo is better than the pictures convey - very clean and very well equipped. The owner is great, and responds quickly. She helped with questions, passed on suggestions for transportation, suggestions for restaurants, etc. I'm already planning my next trip back !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Richard. I believe in my commitment to guests, especially ones as nice as you! Welcome back!
My promises to you:
Laura
1. We respond to all emails within hours.
2. We want you to have the right property for your needs and desires even if it means renting you another unit (not ours) in any of our 5 properties: Porto Playa, El Taj Ocean, El Taj Beach, Maya Villa or Villas Sacbe, or someone else’s property
3. We will be honest with you on any and all questions you may have.
4. We are committed to getting you the best rate we possibly can and can match the Property Management’s rate on all units in all 5 properties.
Our goal is for you to have a fabulous experience and come back again.

Please also visit our websites: http://www.portoplayaplayadelcarmen.com and http://www.eltajplayadelcarmen.com

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Playa del Carmen Paradise Vacation

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

Porto Playa was paradise. The beautiful view of the pool from the patio was so relaxing. Each morning we sat outside and drank our coffee and each evening we had drinks and appetizers while listening to the sounds of the waterfall spilling into the pool. We spent the day lounging in comfortable beach chairs, while every request for drinks, food, and umbrellas was handled graciously by the staff. Late afternoons we languished in the pool relaxing after a day at the beach. The evenings were so much fun as we headed down to 5th Avenue for delicious food, drinks and entertainment. We're already planning another "Playa del Carmen Paradise vacation" at Porto Playa!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls Getaway in Paradise

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

Porto Playa was the ideal location for a beach vacation with the girls! We were steps from the crystal clear Carribean waters of Playa Del Carmen and one block from the hip 5th Avenue strip of restaurants and shops. The condo was luxurious and the service was impeccable. Porto Playa also has a fabulous pool and deck perfect for soaking up the Mexican sun. The condo included a full service kitchen which was great for early evening cocktails and appetizers. Overall, our vacation to Playa Del Carmen was a wonderful experience and we are looking forward to going back. We would definitely recommend this condo to anyone looking for luxury, relaxation, and some fun in the sun!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous Condo and Property

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

I recently stayed in a unit at Porto Playa. This unit is a large 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo. The bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen, and living area are all very big, with nice views of both the sanctuary and pools. Everything is this unit makes you feel at home. The owners have thought of everything, and there are special touches that make your trip downright delightful. I especially enjoyed the pillow top mattress that was heavenly to sleep on. The grounds at this location are beautiful, surrounded by a sanctuary with 2 lovely pools on site. The locals are some of the nicest people I have met, and I enjoyed my time with them. I would highly recommend this unit to anyone. It is 1 block from the beach and steps from 5th Avenue.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Porto Playa 100 steps from the beach

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

Gorgeous views and beach front. The condo was beautiful and spacious. Easy to cook in or plenty of great restaurants near by. The staff was wonderful and we loved the work out room. I would do it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much, CJ. Please remember that you are now a VIP guest and will receive a 10% discount off your next stay with us.
Laura Leli Carmine

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 2, 2009   Date of arrival: July 2, 2009

This property in Porto Playa #216 in Playa Del
Carmen was so wonderfully honestly represented. It
was gorgeous and immaculately maintained. The
staff was always friendly and accommodating.
Everything you could possibly want from a
Caribbean vacation was just steps away! Not having
a vehicle was never an issue. Great restaurants,
beautiful beaches, lovely pool and a gym in the
same block made our vacation perfect.
Any and all questions were promptly and friendly
answered by the condo owner.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 19, 2009   Date of arrival: April 19, 2009

Our stay at Porto Playa in Condo 216 was an absolutely fantastic experience. First of all the area surrounding the hotel exceeded my expectations. The condo location is ideal--just steps away from unique dining and shopping down Playa's cobblestone streets and a block away from white sand beaches with crystal blue water.

The Porto Playa Condo itself was the perfect accommodation for our leisure trip. With two full baths, kitchen, two twins and a king size bed you can have all the conveniences of home while being able to step outside into lush tropical gardens surrounding a luxury pool with waterfall and all. Not to mention that everyday was sunny with clear blue skies. Although we really enjoyed our time spent at the condo and at the beach, we got the urge to do a couple excursions. Based on the helpful recommendations of the owner we had a private guide named Fernando and transportation to and from the nearby Mayan ruins at Tulum, the "cenotes" or underwater freshwater caves, and secluded beaches that we never would've discovered on our own.

Overall it was a great trip and I would recommend the Porto Playa condo to anyone! I definitely hope to return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 19, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We recently spent five wonderful days at Porto Playa in Playa Del Carmen. Unit 216 was so comfortable and beautifully decorated. The view over the pool and courtyard area was very pleasant. We found many activities in the area for all ages. The location of the hotel is perfect. The beach is just a block away and a great place to relax with clean sand and clear blue water. There is no shortage of great restaurants very close by including the Negrosal right in the hotel which had excellent food. There is plenty of nightlife just a block away along with enjoyable shopping and a fun atmosphere throughout the town. The owners of the condo were so helpful giving us suggestions before we left for our trip. They connected us with a tour guide who drove us to the Mayan ruins in Tulum, some quiet lagoon beaches, and a cenote that we never would have found on our own. We also spent part of a day at Discovery Jungle which included ATVs, ziplines, and a cenote. Nothing but fun! The guides there were great and we loved the adventure. Playa del Carmen offers a great mix of opportunities for those who want to relax or those who are seeking an adventure. Our group ranged in age from 16 to 52 and there was something for everyone! It was a great family vacation destination. We can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 14, 2009   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

As soon as you arrive at Porto Playa, a sense of peace, tranquility, safety, and privacy surrounds you. The gardens and tropical plants are mature and exquisite; the pool glistens in the sunlight. The staff are gracious and helpful. I truly felt welcomed and secure. The condo was wonderfully decorated with quality local furnishings and art, conveying a real sense of the Mexican Riviera. Rooms are spacious, complete with all provisions that could possibly be necessary for a vacation getaway. Beds are extremely comfortable, contributing to a wonderfully refreshing rest. The patio is perfect for any time of day, from breakfast coffee and rolls with exotic birds chirping softly in the beautiful morning sun, to a mid afternoon guacamole and wine fest. Beach is perfect. Right around the corner, with an abundance of restaurants with great food and drinks. The margaritas were my favorite – perfect for watching the clear beautiful Caribbean. I've already booked my next vacation at Porto Playa! Victoria

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 14, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

If you are looking for a quiet condo right in the heart of Playa Del Carmen within seconds walk of the beach and 5th Avenue, this is definitely the place for you.
We rented this 2 bedroom 2 bath condo along with another couple (all 4 of us are in our 30s). Suffice to say, we were NOT disappointed.
First of all, the condo offers you the privacy and independence that resorts cannot offer. At the same time, there is a full time staff as well as full time security to cater to your needs.
The best perk of the condo is the incredible location, right next to the action of 5th avenue (a pedestrian only street where all the restaurants and shops are). The walk is literally seconds to 5th avenue, great after a night of dinner and drinking. In addition, the beach is only a minute or so walk away (beach towels are included)
Despite being so close to everything, when you are physically within the condo premises, you feel completely isolated in your own sanctuary. Each condo is private. There are two pools and two jacuzzis. All are heated, which is great for the late night swim after a day at the beach. The condo itself is incredible. Modern, clean, and spacious. A/C included, although you don't need it. The showers were heaven. Really, the pictures do not do the condo justice. You have to see it with your own eyes!
Another perk of the condo is underground secured parking, in the event that you decide to rent a car to visit the mayan ruins or other excursions.
Finally, the owner and staff are so helpful. After talking to the owner to reserve the condo, I was sent a list of places to go and eat. The recommendations were dead on.
In summary, this condo offers everything you may need for a stress-free vacation. Very few rental places will not only meet, but exceed expectations, and this condo definitely does so.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 14, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Secluded feeling while being in the heart of Playa! The lush landscaping within the walls of this resort gave a serene atmosphere.
I loved everything about the condo: proximity to beach, and to the dining and shopping of 5th Avenue, and the friendly staff, who provided security and daily cleaning. Could spend the day surrounded by many people, and retire to the privacy of the condo. Relaxing to the hilt! We loved staying here, and would definitely recommend Porto Playa to our friends!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 14, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

This is a fantastic place to stay, both in terms of location and quality. It's practically right on the beach and right in the heart of Playa (right off of 5th ave). It's very roomy, comfortable, clean and well-maintained, and the customer service is outstanding. There are an endless amount of restaurants (and places to shop), no matter what your tastes. I would highly recommend staying here.
Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway, Age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 14, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

As soon as you arrive at Porto Playa, a sense of peace, tranquility, safety, and privacy surrounds you. The gardens and tropical plants are mature and exquisite; the pool glistens in the sunlight. The staff are gracious and helpful. I truly felt welcomed and secure.

The condo was wonderfully decorated with quality local furnishings and art, conveying a real sense of the Mexican Riviera. Rooms are spacious, complete with all provisions that could possibly be necessary for a vacation getaway. Beds are extremely comfortable, contributing to a wonderfully refreshing rest. The patio is perfect for any time of day, from breakfast coffee and rolls with exotic birds chirping softly in the beautiful morning sun, to a mid afternoon guacamole and wine fest.
Beach is perfect. Right around the corner, with an abundance of restaurants with great food and drinks. The margaritas were my favorite – perfect for watching the clear beautiful Caribbean. I've already booked my next vacation at Porto Playa!
Victoria

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 14, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

What a romantic place to be! We were there celebrating an anniversary and another guest was getting married on the beach. It is beautiful.

5th Avenue is the Mexican equivalent to the Avenue des Champs Elysees in Paris.

Restaurants are phenomenal. Unit 216 has the best view of the pool, a little bit of the gulf, and was better than Hawaii.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 14, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

First time we stayed in this unit we were in Playa for a long weekend and some serious R&R. Within an hour of landing at the airport we were having lunch on the beach. We ate, slept and walked the beach for 3 days and totally recharged.

This last time we stayed fo 10 days. The first 2 we relaxed. Then we went on day trips. One day to Cozumel for the best snorkeling I've ever experienced.

Another day we went to XCaret, an eco park. We got there at 10 am and stayed till 9 that night so we could see the "celebration of Mayan Mexico". It was fabulous.

Another day we went to Chichen Itza, one of the 7 wonders of the world. It has Mayan ruins and was unbelievable. It's a long ride, but well worth it.

I can't say enough about Playa del Carmen, and the Porto Playa condo/hotel. We've stayed in unit 216 twice and the owner could not be more helpful with booking the reservation, to restaurant recommendations, to sights to see. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 14, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

The top 10 things I love about staying at Porto Playa.
1. luxurious accommodations
2. beautiful beaches
3. great restaurants
4. fantastic shopping
5. friendly people
6. the nightlife
7. margaritas, margaritas, margaritas!!
8. ceviche on the beach
9. sitting on the balcony at sundown with a glass of wine
10. a refreshing dip in the gorgeous pool

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 14, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Our stay was absolutely wonderful! We had everything we needed for a perfect vacation. From the minute we walked in, we felt like we where in a tropical rainforest! The flowers and palm trees are beautiful which surround the pools and waterfall. Our place was very comfortable and beautifully decorated with great views! We had coffee every morning on the balcony and drinks every night. What a great way to start and end your day! Every one was so friendly and helpful. We walked the beach every morning. The sand is so soft and white and the water is crystal clear. It was so easy to get to everything -- shopping on 5th, numerous restaurants,and the beach! Can't wait to be come back! We'll be returning in June !again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible condo rental!

Review submitted: March 11, 2009   Date of arrival: March 4, 2009

If you are looking for a quiet condo right in the heart of Playa Del Carmen within seconds walk of the beach and 5th Avenue, this is definitely the place for you.
We rented this 2 bedroom 2 bath condo along with another couple (all 4 of us are in our 30s). Suffice to say, we were NOT disappointed.
First of all, the condo offers you the privacy and independence that resorts cannot offer. At the same time, there is a full time staff as well as full time security to cater to your needs.
The best perk of the condo is the incredible location, right next to the action of 5th avenue (a pedestrian only street where all the restaurants and shops are). The walk is literally seconds to 5th avenue, great after a night of dinner and drinking. In addition, the beach is only a minute or so walk away (beach towels are included)
Despite being so close to everything, when you are physically within the condo premises, you feel completely isolated in your own sanctuary. Each condo is private. There are two pools and two jacuzzis. All are heated, which is great for the late night swim after a day at the beach. The condo itself is incredible. Modern, clean, and spacious. A/C included, although you don't need it. The showers were heaven. Really, the pictures do not do the condo justice. You have to see it with your own eyes!
Another perk of the condo is underground secured parking, in the event that you decide to rent a car to visit the mayan ruins or other excursions.
Finally, the owner and staff are so helpful. After talking to the owner to reserve the condo, I was sent a list of places to go and eat. The recommendations were dead on.
In summary, this condo offers everything you may need for a stress-free vacation. Very few rental places will not only meet, but exceed expectations, and this condo definitely does so.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent!

Review submitted: March 4, 2009   Date of arrival: September 14, 2008

This is a fantastic place to stay, both in terms of location and quality. It's practically right on the beach and right in the heart of Playa (right off of 5th ave). It's very roomy, comfortable, clean and well-maintained, and the customer service is outstanding. There are an endless amount of restaurants (and places to shop), no matter what your tastes. I would highly recommend staying here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

ceviche on the beach

Review submitted: March 3, 2009   Date of arrival: June 16, 2008

The top 10 things I love about staying at Porto Playa.
1. luxurious accommodations
2. beautiful beaches
3. great restaurants
4. fantastic shopping
5. friendly people
6. the nightlife
7. margaritas, margaritas, margaritas!!
8. ceviche on the beach
9. sitting on the balcony at sundown with a glass of wine
10. a refreshing dip in the gorgeous pool

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect getaway!

Review submitted: March 3, 2009   Date of arrival: July 2, 2008

As soon as you arrive at Porto Playa, a sense of peace, tranquility, safety, and privacy surrounds you. The gardens and tropical plants are mature and exquisite; the pool glistens in the sunlight. The staff are gracious and helpful. I truly felt welcomed and secure.

The condo was wonderfully decorated with quality local furnishings and art, conveying a real sense of the Mexican Riviera. Rooms are spacious, complete with all provisions that could possibly be necessary for a vacation getaway. Beds are extremely comfortable, contributing to a wonderfully refreshing rest. The patio is perfect for any time of day, from breakfast coffee and rolls with exotic birds chirping softly in the beautiful morning sun, to a mid afternoon guacamole and wine fest.
Beach is perfect. Right around the corner, with an abundance of restaurants with great food and drinks. The margaritas were my favorite – perfect for watching the clear beautiful Caribbean. I've already booked my next vacation at Porto Playa!
Victoria

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Porto Playa #216

Review submitted: March 3, 2009   Date of arrival: January 11, 2009

This unit is fantastic. Right in the heart of Playa del Carmen. The description was phenomenal. 1 block from everything, Beach, Fifth Avenue, etc. Seemingly brand new and very well maintained. We have stayed in other buildings in Playa, but this is by far the nicest place to be. I would recommend anyone interested in Playa stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We're coming back!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: March 3, 2009   Date of arrival: June 16, 2008

Our stay was absolutely wonderful! We had everything we needed for a perfect vacation. From the minute we walked in, we felt like we where in a tropical rainforest! The flowers and palm trees are beautiful which surround the pools and waterfall. Our place was very comfortable and beautifully decorated with great views! We had coffee every morning on the balcony and drinks every night. What a great way to start and end your day! Every one was so friendly and helpful. We walked the beach every morning. The sand is so soft and white and the water is crystal clear. It was so easy to get to everything -- shopping on 5th, numerous restaurants,and the beach! Can't wait to be come back! We'll be returning in June !again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

awesome place!

Review submitted: March 1, 2009   Date of arrival: October 3, 2008

very nice unit, great pool and hot tub, close to the beach and 5th avenue. all of the staff is very friendly and speak great english.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

joe & kris 1/22/09 - 1/29/09

Review submitted: March 1, 2009   Date of arrival: January 22, 2009

Overall, excellent stay. We loved the location and would definitely come back again. We went to Cozumel and Porto Aventura without much difficulty. The beach was wonderful, and we enjoyed exploring all the restaurants we possibly could. They didn't turn on the pool heater until we were there for a few days, which was a little limiting, but we just shifted gears to the beach more. The concierge, Guillermo, was very helpful, and the maids were very thorough. We loved it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Suzie and Doug's dream vacation

Review submitted: March 1, 2009   Date of arrival: March 3, 2008

Secluded feeling while being in the heart of Playa! The lush landscaping within the walls of this resort gave a serene atmosphere.
I loved everything about the condo: proximity to beach, and to the dining and shopping of 5th Avenue, and the friendly staff, who provided security and daily cleaning. Could spend the day surrounded by many people, and retire to the privacy of the condo. Relaxing to the hilt! We loved staying here, and would definitely recommend Porto Playa to our friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review