reviews for: listing #61755 - Lexington, New York House rental

Ski Hunter/Windham! 5 Bedrooms! Wifi!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $700 - $700 /nt
    $2,500 - $2,500 /wk
    $8,000 - $8,000 /mth

sort by:

Great weekend

Review submitted: January 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

We spend a beautiful weekend at this house. Its much bigger and nicer than looks at the pictures)))) very well maintained and clean.
There are huge five bedrooms with extra bedding at the loft. Nice and clean bathrooms, kitchen has all you may need for cooking. We were ten adults and three kids and it was more than enough room for everyone. Dining room has beautiful huge antic table, so 12 people can sit and eat very comfortable.
Highly recommended for big groups and also skiers. This house is located very close to Hunter, Catamount and Windham ski resorts.
Very responsible owner, answered all our questions in a minute.
We loved this house!!! Will definitely come back again and again.

P.S for those who like to stay warm and cozy - there is an underfloor heating everywhere even in basement

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the house. Please do look us up next time you are coming up to ski! Thanks for posting the review. Debbie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Yearly Tradition

Review submitted: January 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

For the past three years, I have gone with a group of 12-15 friends to this house to escape NYC for a weekend and enjoy some skiing. The sizable house has several bedrooms and two full baths, and easily accommodates us. The biggest draw is the large living room with cathedral ceilings and fire place, and the adjoining dining room that has a table big enough to host family-style meals. The house is a short drive from both Hunter and Windham mountains, so we easily get in a full day of skiing before coming back to the house to make dinner in the well-equipped kitchen. If you are a large group that wants private sleeping quarters, but a common area big enough for everyone to hang out, this house is a great option. The owner, Debbie, is very responsive and easy to work with.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We welcome repeat renters and hope that all continue to come to the catskills! DB

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay at this house

Review submitted: November 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

This was a great place to stay for the weekend. Had a group of fathers and sons coming from upstate NY, Maine, Boston & Philly - so this place was centrally located from each direction. The house was plenty big enough, and had enough beds for all of us. The kitchen was large and well equipped. The dinning room had a large table that could comfortably seat 12. We had alot of fun in the gameroom downstairs with ping pong and billiards. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Once again, this is a great house for families to share and we are happy that it was enjoyed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My Weekend in The Mountains

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

We arrived to the house Friday evening even thought it was dark out, It was everything i had hoped for. The house had so much charm, The dinnng area was so big, the kitchen had everything you would need to make a great family meal. The livigroom was very large and cozy, Pleanty of bedrooms, The largest room upstairs was beautiful and the bathroom took my breath away. The kids room was awsome plenty of games to keep the little one busy,The gameroom was great for the older kids and young at hart. I had a great work out with ping pong.There truly was not a part that I didn't Love. This would be a perfect hoilday getaway. Thanksgiving would be awsome there. I can't wait to go again. If you like the mountains. This house is the perfect country home to stay in.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: All I can say is that I am very happy to share our home in the mountains!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Don't Bother!

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

The owner was responsive and easy to work with, however, I think that is where the nice things I have to say ends. We have rented many homes, but this by far, was in the worst shape we have ever seen. When we first arrived there were gas cans strung out all over the side of the driveway and tons of other things that just shouldn’t be there if your getting paid to have guests at your home. There were someone’s socks in the driveway! The siding on the house is not finished. The grass was easily a foot high. This was not a weeks worth of growth b/c she told me she was at the house the weekend prior to our rental. How do you not cut the grass? This was just thoughtless. The finishing touches are just not there with this house. The front door needs a good paint job as well as some wood replacement around the doorjam. It is rotting. Let’s go inside…because it all needs a paint job. It just feels icky when you walk in b/c the doors and doorways are filthy. A Mr. Clean wipe won’t work on this filth. It needs paint! . You can see exposed beams (not ornamental)! Oh! And the finished basement is a garage with a painted floor! If you look closely at the picture of the hockey table (which didn’t work) you can see the garage door opener. This is far from a finished basement! So dirty! The direct TV didn’t work on this TV...no signal. Good thing we brought our Wii. The only other TV that worked was the living room. No other TV had a signal. There were only 3 bathrooms that we could find. One of which is more like a closet with a toilet which had no grout in the tile!! We were not expecting perfection, but as you can see all the little things really do add up to basically a house that is just not ready for rental. If you can house 16 people then you should probably have more than 2 garbage cans. Only one was for trash…the other had to be used for recycling, but it was full of yard debris. The side yard was also filled with old propane tanks and tree stumps. I can’t write anymore. I am just so disgusted and majorly disappointed in this rental. We were celebrating my mother’s birthday. Good thing we had good drinks. We needed it to see past all of the dirt and lack of care in this house! I hope I can save you from making the same mistake we did. 2 words – Don’t bother!! I have pictures to show all of this but you can't upload pics with your review. I would be happy to share to prove what mess it really was!!

Owners response: I was very shocked and saddened by this review. I never heard from these renters and if I had known they were so unhappy I would have tried to compensate them. To say nothing and then post this review was quite thoughtless. I have been renting this home for three years and have never had a negative response. I would like to address the fact that prior to this reservation period Hurricane Irene devasted this area. Our home was not flooded but friends lost their homes. As soon as we found out what had happened upstate (particularly in Prattsville, one of our neighboring towns) we opened our homes to one particular extended family and the many volunteers that had come up to help them in their devastation for five weeks. Everyone pitched in, we did what we could on weekends since we do not live there full time. When they had moved out there were things that were left on the property (gas cans, propane tanks etc) that were supposed to be picked up by volunteers and this was not done before the renters arrived. I had the house cleaned (by a cleaning crew that usually takes care of the house for us) when the displaced family moved out. The house had been scheduled for painting this fall, but once the storm came those plans were put aside. We have since had the painting and moulding work done. It is a very large house and we have to do these jobs in increments, it is too large to do at one time. As far as the tv's-these are three new flat screened and the house has a satillite dish (they didn't know how to work the remotes)! Again, they never called to express any feedback. This is a wonderful home and many great memories have been had here. We are happy to share this home and this part of the mountains with guests and do hope that this one group does not discourage future renters. This is our third year and we have many repeat renters that have come back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review