reviews for: listing #61795 - Seattle, Washington House rental

University View House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  University District
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $180 - $250 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,500 /wk
    $2,950 - $3,950 /mth

sort by:

Certainly enjoyed our stay.

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

Four of us enjoyed our four days in Seattle at your home in the University area of Seattle. We especially enjoyed the spaciousness of the main room where we relaxed and spent down time. For the cooks of us, we never have seen such a well stocked kitchen, and commend you on your philosophy of providing a few staples that most everyone would need, as well as all of the other supplies. The furniture was comfortable, the single bathroom accommodated two couples nicely. We appreciate the ease of entering and exiting the property and found the street parking adequate for our needs.
If we were to recommend an improvement, it would be to replace the broken windows, which are beautiful. Scotch taped windows detract from the appearance. The other minor complaint are the plug in air fresheners. Some folks don't like them. We would recommend this property to others for a spacious, comfortable, safe spot.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very nice place to stay

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

I stayed with my husband and 2 young kids for 3 months in the summer at this house. Very easy checkin and checkout. Host is extremely easy going and communicates well with answers to questions. House is clean. Very quiet neighbors upstairs and downstairs. Good views. Close to grocery store and upscale University Village shopping. Can walk everywhere. Great restaurants nearby. Birke Gilman trail is 5 mins down the hill, can walk, run or bike for miles. Very easy to get downtown on the bus or by car. Only on street parking which can be tricky when school is in session. Would highly recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

University View House

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

Very nice house close to shopping and restaurants. Very comfortable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Annual Treat

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 29, 2012

We stayed here last year in March and liked it so much we returned this year for another few nights.
Everything was great again this time. The beds are very comfortable, the kitchen well equipped, and the view from the dining room windows is captivating. Our daughter pulled up a chair and ate her breakfast while watching out the windows every morning.
Thank you for providing a clean, safe, comfortable place for us to call home when we are in Seattle.
See you again next year!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A great place to stay to visit the UW

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 9, 2010

University View House is very comfortable and spacious with lots of character - hardwood floors, woodwork, a fireplace. There is an excellent view from the dining room and kitchen. It took us less than ten minutes to walk to the campus. It is also convenient to I-5 and the other parts of the city we visited. This is a great choice if you want the feel of living in a real neighborhood close to UW.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great stay!

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2010

Lovely house in a great location. Spacious living room and dining area as well as very, very comfortable beds. The portable crib and high chair were greatly appreciated! Fast and gracious communication with the owners along with a prompt return of our deposit. Thank you for a great rental!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It fit our needs perfectly

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2010

We were very impressed with the charm, comfort and all the amenities this home was equiped with. It worked perfectly for us - as we were here for our son's wedding and gave us the opportunity to entertain family and friends during the week of events. The kitchen was very well equiped and stocked with all the basic necessities and then some. It was so well organized as far as checking in, instructions on all the equipment - heating, TV, internet, etc. The beds were very comfortable and the view is really wonderful. The only drawback for us was the parking - we couldn't alway find a place nearby to park.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A perfect house in U-district

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

Great location: easy to get around, quiet street, beautiful views out of the back of the house
Very comfortably and thoughtfully furnished
everything we needed was on hand, even wifi
Only downside: we needed more coat hangers! Other than that, this was a perfect stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A great place for family to gather

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2010

University View was perfect for our family vacation in Seattle. The house had a well equipped kitchen, lovely dining and living rooms and comfortable bedrooms. Thoughtful details like Seattle guides, games and laundry detergent really made us feel at home. We came during a heat wave and Mike brought us fans to make our stay even more comfortable. Very central location. We'll choose this home again when we come back to visit family.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A great place to experience Seattle

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

The University house lived up to expectations in all areas except for the house next door which was under tarps! In all other ways the house was delightful. Beautifully restored and maintained with plenty of space for all of us, four adults and two children. We could walk to the University Village shopping centre and get some exercise walking back up the stairs! The kitchen was very well equipped with excellent appliances and accoutrements. I would recommend this house to my friends and hope to come back and stay again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A lovely home with great amenities

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

The University house lived up to expectations in all areas except for the house next door which was under tarps! In all other ways the house was delightful. Beautifully restored and maintained with plenty of space for all of us, four adults and two children. We could walk to the University Village shopping centre and get some exercise walking back up the stairs! The kitchen was very well equipped with excellent appliances and accoutrements. I would recommend this house to my friends and hope to come back and stay again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

My parents thought I was very clever to find this house. So much nicer than a hotel... able to have meals that we cooked rather than always eating out (although there are some great options for eating out!) Enjoyed sitting on the porch in the mornings with coffee and evenings with wine, even when a little rainy. Really enjoyed our stay and would love to come back. Thanks for all!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent Stay in Seattle

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2010

Everything was perfect. Mike is very protective and attentive. the house was perfectly furnished, view and location are excellent.
Will return in a couple of months.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect for Thanksgiving

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2010

We stayed in University View House over Thanksgiving. Meals with a dozen dear relatives went fine. The funky old electric stove served like a champ. Only slight drawback was that we felt bad about disturbing the guy in the other appartment.

I've had a dozen or so short term rentals on houses all over the world and this one was the best appointed of them all.

All the negotiations with the owner were by email and all went well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Seafood Feast

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2010

We had a great stay in "the cottage". We had a seafood feast both nights. The dining room area was perfect for it. It was rainy, as to be expected, but we still had a great visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

3 Cs: Clean, Comfortable, Convenient

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2010

The University View House provided the perfect
accomodations for our party of 4 in a great
location in the heart of Seattle.

Clean: The house was recently renovated and thus
spotless. The two bedrooms were kept with
comfortable linens while the bathroom and kitchen
were spotless.

Comfortable: The common areas (living and dining
rooms) provided great spots for gathering, eating,
and conversation. The living room also had a
futon, making it possible for the house to
comfortably sleep up to 6 people. Despite being
located near the U of W, the neighborhood was still
quiet.

Convenient: Bars and restaurants were only a 10
minute walk away; the Ballard Neighborhood was only
a 10 minute busride, and downtown was a $15 cab
ride. There was also a grocery stores in walking
distance, making it easy to fill your fridge.

Finally, the owners/operators of the property were
easy to work with and very helpful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A pleasant vacation in Seattle

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2010

A very beautiful old house with extraordinary view over the valley of University district. Two roomy bedrooms with lots of space for clothes. A spacious living room with plenty of place for activities. High standard overall. Nice and calm area for walking. Close to many buss lines.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 22, 2009   Date of arrival: September 22, 2009

Here is a review from one of our guests. To see the actual review follow the link to Reviews on FlipKey.
- Mike and Shelley Miksis

Reviewed by: w.bronston from Minneapolis, MN
Reviewed on: 09/17/2009 for their stay in 09/2009

The University View House provided the perfect
accomodations for our party of 4 in a great
location in the heart of Seattle.

Clean: The house was recently renovated and thus
spotless. The two bedrooms were kept with
comfortable linens while the bathroom and kitchen
were spotless.

Comfortable: The common areas (living and dining
rooms) provided great spots for gathering, eating,
and conversation. The living room also had a
futon, making it possible for the house to
comfortably sleep up to 6 people. Despite being
located near the U of W, the neighborhood was still
quiet.

Convenient: Bars and restaurants were only a 10
minute walk away; the Ballard Neighborhood was only
a 10 minute busride, and downtown was a $15 cab
ride. There was also a grocery stores in walking
distance, making it easy to fill your fridge.

Finally, the owners/operators of the property were
easy to work with and very helpful.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review