reviews for: listing #61870 - South Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida House rental

Oceanfront Beach Cottage By the Sea
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $275 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,450 /wk
    $2,200 - $3,200 /mth

sort by:

A FL beach house getaway

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 12, 2011

The beach house met all my expectations and more. It was cozy and comfortable. The ocean is literally 10 feet away. There is no one to disturb your peace. Every morning I would start the day by walking over to the beach with a fresh cup of coffee.
On rainy days, I stayed inside read and watched TV. The leather couches were really comfy. The space is very clean. The screened porch is a nice bonus. I imagine it would help keep bugs away but when I visited there were no bugs. But I did enjoy having my meals there on rainy days.
Everything you need is at your fingertips. I mainly spent my days walking on the beach and relaxing. But there's a lot of culture and history to explore in the nearby quaint towns. The location could not be better. I did some nice shopping, went over to an Alligator farm and explored restaurants galore.

I am very pleased. The house provided me exactly what I needed-a tranquil beach getaway in comfort and style.
I was looking to getaway from the fast pace of my daily life and this was ideal that really recharged me.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

Unplug and relax!

Review submitted: February 4, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed here for a long weekend as an escape from winter up north. Making a reservation was easy, as we spoke directly with the owner. She gave us some great local information and was attentive and caring.
The location is great - a short drive to the charming historic town of St. Augustine to the south, and about 30 minutes to all the conveniences of Ponte Vedra and Jacksonville Beach to the north. So its easy and convenient, but feels secluded once there.
We picked up some groceries for breakfasts and evening snacks, but enjoyed the easy access to restaurants in St. Augustine and especially to 'Caps on the Water' (a fantastic local restaurant for quiet, romantic sunset dinners on the deck overlooking the river. We would have never found that hideaway without the owner telling us about it).
Our favorite aspects of the house itself were the large screened in porch (we should have invited some friends!), and the deck with palm trees, and boardwalk to the beach, which seemed pretty new. There's even a couple little benches at the end of the boardwalk - very thoughtful.
Although there are other vacation homes along the beach, it is essentially a private beach, limited to use by the few local residents who were around. The closest public beach seemed to be several miles away, so we saw very few people on every one of our morning walks along the placid beach (sunrise is amazing, and my fiancee collected some beautiful seashells too).
The deck is a great place to enjoy breakfast in the morning sun or a glass of wine under the stars. The house was equipped with everything we needed, had some nice furniture, a TV we never turned on, and comfortable beds. It was very clean, well-maintained and comfortable. As the pictures suggest, its tasteful, spacious, but also perfectly simple and uncluttered (unlike rental houses where the owner has a lot of personal stuff around, which makes us feel weird), rustic (in a good way) and a perfect place to unplug, sleep with the sound of the gentle waves, and enjoy some peace & quiet along a great stretch of coastline.
We hope to return next winter and would certainly recommend it to our friends and family. We miss it already!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 

Great Florida vacation

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

We came from Russia with two kids (3 and 5 yrs old) and had the best vacation we ever had. Beautiful Beaches, a lot of seashells, nice December weather, close to St.Augustine and Disney. It's an old, very cosy house, very clean and well maintained, great for family with kids.
The owner was very helpful when we had to make a decision being thousand miles away from Florida. We felt welcome, were provided with extras - boogie boards for kids (play in the ocean in December!!!) and fishing poll.
We came back home very refreshed (despite 11 hours flight from JFK to Moscow)and would definitely recommend this place to our friends in Russia for unforgettable vacation.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 7

 

This house is infested with brown widow spiders.

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

We stayed at this house from 6/18 to 6/24. We were supposed to stay till the 25th but my 5 year old daughter found a spider in the bathroom, right next to her leg, that turned out to be a poisonous brown widow spider. After that we started noticing webs and nests everywhere. We counted 6 spiders and at least a dozen egg sacks. They are very easily spotted once we had looked on google and found out exactly what they were. I called the landlord and told her we would not be staying the last night because we have two small children and we did not want them hurt. She told us that was okay. This was at 10:00 in the morning. People came to clean the house at 3 and I was breastfeeding my 5 month old baby. I quickly stopped and put her in her car seat and left. 41 days later we received a letter stating we would not be receiving our full deposit back because (1) We did not leave by the check out time of 11:00 AM and (2) A screen was damaged and it would cost $80 dollars to fix. As far as the check out time is concerned I am not disputing that we were there till 3:00 PM, I just do not see how it is possible that the landlord would hold it against my family that it took us longer then an hour to pack up 4 peoples belongings. We were rushed, I had a 5 year old to feed, and a baby to nurse, we had clothes in the washing machine. My husband and I tried to get things packed as quickly as possible. If it were not for the poisonous spiders we would not have had to leave at all. This is clearly the landlords fault. Now I will address the screen. I have written to the landlord requesting, per Florida law, for proof of the alleged damages and proof of the expenses incurred. I am claiming NO responsibility for any damage because we did none. The house is old and not in very good condition. The windows were broken and we were asked to not raise the blinds because they were so old. This proves that the house was in various states of disrepair before we arrived. Furthermore the landlord would have forfeited her right to any of our deposit by keeping it for so long. Florida law states: Section 83:49 Upon the vacating of the premises, the landlord shall have 30 days to give the tenant written notice by certified mail to the tenant of his or her intention to impose a claim on the deposit and the reason for imposing the claim. She kept my deposit for 41 days and in my opinion only returned it that soon because I started to inquire about it. The beach is nice though.

Owners response: We rented our Beach House to approximately 20 families for the last two years with people enjoying their stay, referring their friends and planning to come back. This family violated their contract and asked to shorten their stay by one night. It started raining and we agreed on this change with no problem. They were supposed to leave on 6/24/11 at 11AM. When cleaning crew arrived they were still there and didn't leave until 4PM. It was the reason why we refunded only half day. We found the house in such disarray and extremely dirty with food and drinks spilled all over expensive leather furniture - no respect.
We have Indoor/Perimeter Pest Control service with Royal Pest Services(Jacksonville, FL). We called Royal Pest Service to assess the problem. They didn't find any dangerous spiders and submitted a written report.
We are very proud that our tenants enjoy their stay and we will do our best to make sure that everybody has a great vacation rental experience.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Peaceful sanctuary

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Very glad to have found this property. The decision was to have a vacation that purposely kept plans at a minimum and was right next to the ocean. The requirement was to have miles of beach in either direction, the sight and sound of the changing tide immediately accessible.

This place delivers. It's comfortably and thoughtfully furnished. The beach access is better than most of the properties around it. The yard between the house and beach is filled with beautiful wildflowers and dune grasses. Several late mornings were enjoyed, after a long walk on the beach, sitting on the raised deck area appreciating this natural environment.

The Florida room (large screened in "back porch") is the sanctuary. Meals and morning coffee and evening glasses of wine were taken there. Deep restful afternoon naps can occur there if it's time to get out of the sun for awhile but fresh air is still desired. There is an almost constant breeze flowing through it - a pleasant lure into mental quietude.

On a logistics note, there are some quality restaurants nearby and a grocery store just up the road. Amelia Island is a pleasant 1 hr drive away. If you want to get out and do some things, there's more than enough to satisfy.

There is an effect here of "exactly enough". If you want to recalibrate your internal gauges of perspective and response, this is the place to let that happen.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 9

 

Privacy by the sea

Review submitted: April 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

What we wanted for our vacation was oceanfront privacy and this location was perfect. Although there were neighbors on both sides, the way the properties set and the foliage grows you couldn't tell that they were there most of the time. One set of neighbors had both kids and dogs, but they were just not close enough to us, either at the house or on the beach, to interfer with our privacy or our relaxation.

We enjoyed beautiful sunrises, the surf and changing tides. We walked the beach and for most of our week a 1/2 mile walk in either direction didn't take us past more than five or six people. Sometimes, even in the middle of the day we went down to the beach and looking both directions there were only a few people as far as the eye could see.

The deck area around the palm trees is bordered with large cactus, which started to bloom the last couple days of our visit. The deck area was very pleasant.

The screened porch was large & wonderful. We didn't see many when we were walking the beach, but were sure glad we had one. In the heat of the day we could retreat to the porch and still see and hear the ocean. In the evening we sat on the porch safe from the normal nightime mosquitos and other pests.

The outdoor shower, foot shower and connecting door to the bathroom were very useful after swimming in the ocean.

All of the facilities were in good working order and about like you might expect in a lake cottage.

Frankly, we had intended to do more sight-seeing in the area, but enjoyed the cottage and the beach so much that we did not really roam much during our week.

If you don't want to share your beach vacation with the rest of the world, you should be looking at this cottage.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review