reviews for: listing #61948 - Hanalei, Hawaii Cottage rental

2 - Bedroom Cottages nestled along the Hanalei river
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $220 - $260 /nt
    $1,430 - $1,690 /wk
    $5,005 - $5,915 /mth

sort by:

Hanalei Dolphin Cottage 2

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

This is a great cottage by the Hanalei River and within very easy walking distance to Hanalei shops and restaurants and an easy walk to the beach. We stayed for a week and found it extremely comfortable with great views of the river and outrigger canoeists practising at night. With is 2-3 bedrooms (1 is a bed in a lounge area) I would recommend it for couples or a small family. You can hire kayaks nearby and kayak up the river to the bird sanctuary. Hanalei Bay is a great base on the island for the Na Pali coast and just chillin' out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hanalei Cottage

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: December 17, 2013

The Hanalei Dolphin cottage was perfect for us. It was clean, well equipped, and walking distance shops, restaurants and the beach. The river location is very peaceful -- it was fun watching kayakers and paddlers pass by. We have already recommended this cottage to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 20, 2014

We could not have asked for much more in a vacation rental. The Dolphin cottage was clean and comfortable. Being right on the Hanalei river was great for daily kayaking and paddle boarding and only a few steps to the fish market or Dolphin restaurant. The shops in Hanalei are a couple minutes walk away. Our host was very friendly and responded to calls and emails promptly. I look forward to staying again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: I would like to thank Kevin for his review of our cottage. We are thankful to have such wonderful guests who take care of our cottages while enjoying them to the fullest.
We surely look forward to accommodating Kevin again in the future.
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great cottage in an amazing spot

Review submitted: February 2, 2014   Date of arrival: January 19, 2014

What a great place to spend a week!
The cottages are in a beautiful location, nicely kept and very clean (we stayed in Cottage IV).

We found everything we could possibly need for an amazing week in paradise:
- clean, practical kitchen with plenty of dishes, cooking utensils, even paper towels, Saran Wrap and cleaning supplies, basic cooking oils, soy sauce and S&P. Everything else (including amazingly cheap, fresh fish!) can be picked up at a couple of little supermarkets within 5 mins walk)
- good beds with nice bedding, ceiling fans for balmy nights.
- Plenty of towels and even soap provided in the bathroom. The outdoor shower is basic but amazing! There's also an indoor shower and plenty of hot water.
- the beach towels, chairs, body boards and umbrella were great! They got a lot of use!

Mornings, having your cup of tea or fruit smoothie by the river, watching the hibiscus flowers float by, wishing the first kayakers a 'good morning' as they paddle upriver... I wish every day could start like this!
It's a peaceful spot, yet only a 5 min walk into 'downtown' Hanalei to get coffee and scrumptious waffles as Hanalei Coffee Roasters or a MaiTai in the evenings.

One tip for future travellers (and a reminder to myself for our next visit)- bring warm clothing/ pajamas for the nights. I underestimated the temperature and packed light, summery PJs, then had to ask the very helpful Lucas for extra blankets, which he dropped by within the hour.
Hanalei (in January) is a humid and sometimes stormy place, so when the temperature cools at night things can feel a little damp and chilly. There is no heating, which is fine, just bring your warm PJs and you'll be toasty.

We're fairly adventurous travellers, staying well clear of resorts and big hotels and this was by far the nicest and best kitted-out accommodation we've stayed in yet!

If you're looking for tranquility and a beautiful setting while still being within easy walking distance of awesome coffee and waffles as well as one of the most beautiful and scenic beaches in the world, I'd highly recommend this place to you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are truly grateful that our guest enjoyed our cottage and gave us such a great review. Thank you!
We look forward to more happy guests.
Aloha

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great spot

Review submitted: December 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 5, 2013

Very convenient and comfortable. Love the location on the river. Everything is in walking distance. We enjoyed having our own paddleboards and jumping out on the river. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A wonderful hawaiian experience

Review submitted: December 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 3, 2013

We enjoyed our comfortable cosy little cottage on the river at Hanalei. The decor was wonderfully hawaiian and the atmosphere was welcoming, clean and tidy.
It was great to have a washing machine and dryer at our disposal and the outside shower was a buzz!
Hanalei was a beautiful experience on its own but it made it so nice to have lovely accomodation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed our cottages We take great pride in keeping the cottages clean and tidy for our guests to enjoy. Thank you for your honest response!
Aloha!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely amazing!

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

I want to reach out and tell you that our stay at the cottages was absolutely amazing! The house was completely set-up with everything we needed for our week's stay. Having rented other houses in other locations in the past, I can say that the cottages are the best! Simple amenities like dish soap, a sponge and paper towels are all an excellent perk. The beach equipment available--boogie board, chairs and umbrella--are also such a nice feature. Our vacation in Hanalei was one we'll remember for years to come...and one we hope to repeat very soon. We will be in touch next year to reserve two cottages--we have now told all our friends and family to come with us to relax and enjoy the best part of Kauai.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely fantastic

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

We stayed in cottage 5 for a week. It is exactly like the pictures, although the pictures don't really show how great it is. Accomodation is clean, lovely wood floors, comfy beds, and although there is an inside shower the outside showers are absolutely great. Well stocked kitchen, and there is games if you want to stay in! The cottage has a great location right on the river, you can sit and watch people paddle past or rent some kayaks or paddle boards and give it a go. Easy to walk into the town itself, great shops to wander round. Great location for visiting the north shore, we loved it here and cannot recommend it enough. Lucas was great in helping to organise the stay, and we hope to stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Unforgettable

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

The Hanalei Dolphin Cottages are an amazing place to stay. We rented two of the three cottages while we took in the magic of the surroundings. Everything was perfect and it felt like home as soon as we walked in the door. We plan on returning and when we do we will stay at the cottages again. We can't wait!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cheers

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

I will recommend the Hanalei Dolphin Cottages to everyone I meet who is planning a trip to Hanalei - we loved it! The cottage was neatly kept and the grounds were manicured beautifully. The cottage was just as the photos represent.
Thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just returned from our stay in Dolphin Cottage number 3

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

My daughter (15&19) and I spent a glorious week in Cottage number three. The accomodation is just lovely, with spectacular views and evrything about our stay was perfect. The cottage was immaculate, well equipped and I intend to go back as soon as I can

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate all the wonderful guests that stay with us. We are a family owned and operated rental property.
We offer clean, comfortable cottages with all the amenities you would have at home at a resonable price.
Located in on the bank of the Hanalei river on the unique garden island of Kauai.
We hope you will visit us and enjoy a slice of paradise.
Aloha!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2009

This was an incredible vacation and one that we will never forget... full of sweet memories and so many experiences and sensations that our children will remember always.
Thank you for bieng that steward of thoughtfulness and pure Aloha spirit that made our stay so personal and inviting.
We will return to your cottages and please know that we will share our adventures with other and send them to your little slice of paradise.
We had the time of our lives!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

It was a great time as always!
We look forward to many more happy returns to the Dolphin Cottages.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2010

We had a wonderful time and we are glad that you were a part of the family activities. It was a memory that will last a lifetime! Everyone had such a great time at the cottage.
We will be back and will always send business your way.
You are the best!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

Thanks again for your kind hospitality. I had a lovely visit and your cottage was the ideal retreat I had hoped for, even nicer and more peaceful than I had imagined.
Thanks also for the prompt return of the security deposit. I truly appreciate your consideration.
I am so happy to say that I have found the perfect home base in Hanalei.
I look forward to reserving a cottage with you on my next visit to Kauai.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

Your cottage is perfect.
Mum and I felt like we had arrived in paradise. The cottage was extremely comfortable, and has all the modern conveniences one likes to have. The kitchen was kitted out perfectly and everything was spotless. The decorating touches in the cottage were sweet and personal.
Watching the paddle boarders and kayakers go by as we had a glass of wine (or two) next to the river was the ideal way to wind down from a busy day of sightseeing and discovering the wonders of the region. The cottage was quiet and very peaceful, yet conveniently located to enjoy the delights of town.
We have decided we will return only this time we will aim to stay for two weeks at least.
Please feel free to use these comments on a website if they are helpful.
Kindest regards, Lisa and Janice

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Vacation Memories

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2009

It was an incredible vacation and one that we will never forget...full of sweet memories and so many experiences and sensations that our children will remember, always.

Thank you for being that steward of thoughtfulness ans pure Aloha that made our stay so personal and inviting.

We will return to the cottages and please know we will let our friends know of your little slice of paradise.

We had the time of our lives!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy Camper

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

I had a lovely visit and your cottage was the perfect retreat that I hoped for, even nicer and more peaceful than I had imagined.

I look forward to a return visit at the cottages.
I am happy to say that I have found the perfect home base in Hanalei.
Thank you for your kind hospitality!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Cottage on the River

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 10, 2010

Your cottage is perfect. Mum and I felt like we had arrived in paradise. The cottage was extremely comfortable with all the modern conveniences one likes to have. It was spotlessly clean and the kitchen was kitted out perfectly.

Watching the paddle boarders and kayakers go by as we enjoyed a glass (or two)of wine next to the river was a delightful way to wind down from a full day of sightseeing and discovering the many wonders of your region. The cottage was very quiet and peacful, yet extremely conveniently located to enjoy the delights of Hanalei town.

We have decided we will return only next time we will aim to stay longer, two weeks at least. A month would be even better.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review