reviews for: listing #6196 - Jamaica, Caribbean Villa rental

Datura Villa, a luxury and affordable 5 bedroom guest house
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Reading/Montego Bay
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $3,400 - $4,800 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Datura villa will not disappoint!

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

We visited Datura Villa in Jan. 2014 for the 2nd time. Our first trip was a group of 3 families and this past trip was 5 couples. Both vacations were amazing. The staff makes the trip. Yes, the house is wonderful and the view beyond belief, but the staff makes the house come alive and enhances everything. Don't hesitate to book a week at Datura. Whether you want to be on the go the whole week or relaxing with a good book, you can have that type of vacation at Datura. 2 thumbs up!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quiet, Crazy Wonderful

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: February 23, 2014

Dutura - Peaceful, beautiful, quiet, lush, green, roomy, comfortable, spacious!

Dutura Staff - Amazing, kind, caretakers, fun, Great Cooks, great trainer, attentive, major attention to details that make you feel comfortable.

Those are the words that describe this place. We were met with warmth and smiles. Chisholm took us to some great spots for Crazy adventures but really safe. Then home to an amazing staff that felt like family from day one!

We stepped out of our comfort zones, we rested, we ate, we laughed, we Yogaed, we walked in beauty, we were challenged and we did not want to leave. Thank you Randel and Dutura for an experience we will never forget. We were the crazy 8's becoming indigenous! haha inside joke!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An amazing magical adventure

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

The villa, people, food, surroundings and of course the staff are terrific . Madge definitely knows her way around the kitchen and every meal served was way beyond amazing. Chisholm is courteous, knowledgeable, punctual and made sure we had a good time on the way to our many destinations. Shereen and Carol are both dolls, always smiling, friendly and ready to help with whatever we needed. Henry is just an amazing person all together, we all enjoyed learning the local games he taught us, the workouts he offered in which he kicked our butts and just his company in the evenings. His energy and enthusiasm are infectious and contagious, and his attention to the smallest details around the property are fantastic. I personally being the second time on this trip have adopted the staff as my " Jamaican family" and everyone else agreed. This trip was the most amazing magical adventure and I hope to be lucky enough to visit Datura Villa again very soon!!! Thank you and send my love to all my new family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

No one wanted to leave the villa.

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

We had a grand time. The villa is so perfect, the staff so welcoming and attentive. The meals were delicious. The week before we arrived I spoke with Chisholm and, during the conversation mentioned that we enjoyed eating out two or three times a week. His reply was, you won't need to do that. As it turned out, I had to admit to him and to the staff that he was right. We only took one lunch out, no breakfasts or dinners. The food and the service was just that good.

Views from the villa were just stunning, but we still were able to do all the things we wanted except our visit to Negril; No one wanted to leave the villa. Some evenings after dinner we would watch movies, and were glad to have Henry sit on the steps and watch movies and talk with us.
All the staff were friendly and responsive to our many questions without being intrusive. Chisholm was a great resource and a very good driver. We kept him busy every day.

Thursday evening my #2 grandson and his lady friend had a special dinner with flowers at the small table just below the pool, where he proposed and she accepted. Very romantic.
And Friday was her birthday so the staff had a birthday cake at dinner for her. Everyone, including staff, sang Happy Birthday to her. It was like being one big happy family.

As you must know by now, we really enjoyed our first visit to Jamaica, most of it due to the lovely villa and the warmth of the staff there. We had a great vacation. Thanks for your assistance.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was just what the family needed.

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

We Loved it!!!!
What a beautiful place. It was just what the family needed. The pictures do not showcase the true beauty of the place.
What an Amazing view and staff!!!!
Big hugs to Henry, Shareen, Carol, and Madge.

Henry has an awesome spirit. And was a tremendous help to us in a small emergency one evening. He is genuinely kind and funny. We enjoyed our workouts with him!!! The few we committed to;)

Madge, next to my grandmother is the greatest cook hands down. She was very accommodating to my youngest sons food allergies. Which wasn't easy. Surprisingly, she actually was able to get him to EAT. Which is a feat in itself since he is picky eater. His favorite was her vegetable soup!!

We all wish we were still there. And have encourage folks to experience Datura!! I know we will be back.
Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our expectations were exceeded

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

My whole family thoroughly enjoyed the stay at Datura Villa. Our expectations were exceeded, which made for a memorable visit.
Our interests were varied, and all were addressed and met.
You have a wonderful, pleasant, and gracious mix of staff members. Each added to the stay in his/her own special and charming way.
The "workouts" with Henry were truly an unexpected and welcome treat.
This for us was a "real" vacation. My husband is already wondering when we can visit again.
Thank you so much for the opportunity to experience Datura Villa.
S.B, Gardenia, CA, March, 2013

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This trip was absolutely beyond all my expectation

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

We just returned from our home at the beach on the Pacific Ocean where the waves are often very wild. The other side of the house is on a large bay. We do have lovely views, but nothing can compare to the beautiful view that we saw every morning from your lovely veranda. Those blue waters are gorgeous and something every one of us on the trip thinks about every day. Everyone agreed that it was the best vacation they had ever been on. My sister who travels to Italy every few years said it was the best ever, because she never had to do anything. Everything was taken care of for her and she could just relax and enjoy. She went to Jamaica many, many years ago. We all loved all of the staff and
enjoyed their company. My daughter worked out almost every day with Henry. Chisholm was fabulous. He even got a 4 piece band for us the night we were celebrating a birthday. We danced the night away! Carol and Shareen and her husband danced too and everyone had lots of fun after our fabulous lobster dinner. Everything was just perfect. We loved the house, the pool and the workout room was quite handsome. We really liked the people we met in Jamaica.

When we went to Ric’s in Negril my son and son in law jumped off the high board. We loved the food so much at the Villa we never even went out to dinner. Everyone got along just great and there was never anything to complain about. You certainly have the most wonderful spot. Thanks for sharing it with us. This trip was absolutely beyond all my expectations, and we have traveled a lot. We called it a dream vacation. The weather was great, also.

Thanks again for sharing.
M.D., Oregon, USA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing and fun family week

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

We had a wonderful week.
The three children practically lived in the pool and hot tub.
The fact that the house is spread out enough allows people to have quiet time in their own space. Others can sleep later if they want.
Our weather was excellent. We had a little bit of rain on just one day.
We utilized Chisholm the whole week. We took a beach trip to Negril and also we went to Doctor’s Cave Beach.
We had one meal out at the Boat House Grille. We really enjoyed that also.
I think my sister-in-law thinks that feeding the hummingbirds at Rockland was her favorite thing.
The staff were just great. Henry was a big hit with his fitness initiatives and he was attentive morning and night.
The food was extra special. The girls all got together Monday morning and planned the menu for the week keeping in mind that the three children
wouldn’t go for heavily spiced food. Madge and Shereen took care of all their needs. Carol was great too and she braided my six year old granddaughter’s hair. My other granddaughter had hers done at the beach in Negril.
My son made a comment one night that the lobster dinner meal we had was the best meal he had experienced in ten years.
The fresh squeezed orange juice and fresh fruit was a hit every morning. The youngest in our group, my granddaughter Kendall, smiled from ear to ear when she got pancakes and bacon one day for breakfast. My grandson, who is ten, wanted Lemon Cake every night after it was served Monday night.
It was great to have WiFi access also. We used the TV/DVD to watch movies in the house every night.
My son and I played tennis on three different days.
All in all the family comments were all positive. My sister-in-law is interested in going back to Datura with an adult group sometime.
My daughter-in-law was talking about the same thing except with children.
If my wife and I were to come back we would bring our golf clubs as we both play a lot of golf annually.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another Great Week

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 3, 2013

I wanted to let you know that we would like to book the same week for next year if it is available. Everything was wonderful at the Villa. The place looks great and the weather could not have been better.

The addition of dinner on the patio was a big hit with everyone. The night we ate outside was absolutely perfect and we all are looking forward to doing it again next year. As usual, Madge outdid herself with the meals and Shereen treated us to some of her new cocktail treats which was fun. Henry held exercise class in the pool for some of us and Carol made sure we had whatever we needed. Chisholm is ever the gentleman and always responds to whatever request is made with the answer "No Problem."!

Again, thank you for everything. We are looking forward to another good trip next year.

EL, Needham, MA., January, 2013

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Staff and Loved Jamaica

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

Our trip was wonderful and I loved Jamaica and Datura Villa and your wonderful staff. The property itself was wonderful and Chisholm, Madge, Henry, Shereen, and Cara were FANTASTIC!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Week

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 27, 2013

I was just looking at some of our pictures of the trip and wishing we were still at Datura Villa. We had a wonderful time at the Villa and the staff was top notch. They made us feel so at home and we will definitely plan another trip back in the near future. Thanks for an awesome trip with memories we will cherish forever.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another Great Week

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

It has been two months since our visit to Datura Villa and I thought it was about time to tell you how much we enjoyed our repeat stay! Bob and I got home on that Sunday night at 2:00 AM and left 5:00 AM on Tuesday morning for our 7 week trip in our motorhome to Eastern Canada! So we just got home about a week ago!

The staff at the Villa was just as wonderful as they were the first time. No matter what we requested, they were able to accommodate us and even go beyond what we would have expected. Chisholm is so knowledgeable of the area and what we should and should not do. I lost a pair of my sunglasses thinking they were left in a store dressing room. When I realized the next day that they might be in that room, he graciously took me back to the store! And they were there!

We did different activities this time and even had a band come in and play for us around the pool. Of course, Chisholm arranged all of that too! Madge is precious and made us gain weight! Henry kept us busy in the exercise room and made us take the weight off! Sherene was the helper six years ago when we were there and was the quiet one. This time she was the lead and so much fun to be around. We enjoyed her immensely. It is Carol who is now secondary but quietly takes great care of her guests.

We had family sleeping all over the place and Sherene and Carol were helpful in getting beds for our extra family. It all worked quite well and everyone was comfortable. We had a wonderful time!

Not sure when we will get to come back, but we love the Villa. Thank you for making your Jamaican home available to all of us.

God bless

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Week!

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 13, 2013

Thank you, we had a great week! I really don't know how you could improve upon what is already provided, it is awesome.The place was beautiful, well maintained and immaculately clean. The staff was courteous and very accommodating without being intrusive. The meals were fabulous and plentiful. Chisholm was courteous and informative and the transportation was both safe and convenient.

Everyone in our group wanted to offer our highest compliments to you and the Datura Villa staff for a truly spectacular vacation. We hope that we will be able to visit Datura and Jamaica again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The property is beautiful. Thank You!

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

Our group thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Datura. The property is beautiful and we were all able to completely relax. We were pleasantly surprised to have private yoga classes every morning from Henry - such a treat.

Thank you for following up. I understand you will get to visit the Villa in September - enjoy your visit and say hi to the wonderful staff for me.

Hope to have the opportunity to return someday!
E.S., CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We couldn't have imagined a better vacation

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

Just wanted to thank you again and let you know we had an amazing time at Datura Villa.
What a magical place! We couldn't have imagined a better vacation. The staff was amazing, we felt so well taken care of while we were there. They were all so kind and friendly. It was a real treat having our meals prepared for us. We really enjoyed spending time with Henry.
Everything was fantastic !!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

Everything was magnificent! We all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was unbelievable! Madge is an amazing cook. Henry helped us all keep the pounds off during our stay and introduced the men folk to yoga. Chisholm was great, he made us feel very safe while we adjusted to driving on the opposite side of the road. Thank you for following up. We all hope to return to Datura in the near future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a great week in Jamaica

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 4, 2011

Our trip was absolutely amazing. We truly enjoyed every aspect of the villa and it was more than we had hoped for or imagined. What a great week in Jamaica.

We read your guest book so I'm heard you had read so many times how the staff really made the stay at the villa so nice. We all absolutely loved Henry, with his positive attitude, huge smile, and wonderful zest for life. Being an athletic person at home, it was an unexpected treat to have a "personal trainer" all week that really whipped me into shape. Even more so, he was able to get my husband out each morning for his classes and yoga. Everyone on the trip really enjoy Henry so much; we wanted to bring him home with us!!

Thank you again for opening your villa to us so we could experience such a relaxing week (our first without kids in 5 years!) We dream of one day being able to return and get treated so well again in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Simply Perfect

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: December 18, 2011

We had an absolutely WONDERFUL time. The staff members were all excellent and made us feel right at home, and oh…the food!! Simply perfect. Hope you had a good holiday season and look forward to booking a stay at the Villa again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sad to leave

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 8, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Datura! The house is warm and welcoming, as are all the staff. We had many side trips with Chisholm, all very professionally done. Madge took good care of all our needs in the kitchen, and I enjoyed going with her to the market. Shireen and Carol made sure we were well waited-on and that our rooms were clean and lovely. Henry gave us a fabulous garden tour and samples of all the fruit growing on the property, plus provided us with entertainment in the evening with very challenging games of dominoes and ludo.
The weather was perfect and the view of Montego Bay will stay with me always. I can still hear the lilt of the Jamaican language as questions were answered and food and drink were offered. I am sad that the week had to end! We have lots of pictures to pique our memories of a great vacation. We all hope to return to Datura one day.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review