reviews for: listing #62094 - Opelousas, Louisiana Cottage rental

Palms on the Teche
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Leonville
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $110 - $125 /nt
    $700 - $800 /wk

sort by:

Great family place

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: July 6, 2014

This house was perfect for our family of 6. we were visiting family for the week and need our own space and a cramped hotel room wouldn't cut it. SO glad we found this home. The screened porch was great for the little ones to be "outside" without sunscreen or bug spray. The kids had room to run and every one had their own bed! Kitchen is very well stocked and we had everything we needed. The house was very clean and homey. Television and Wi-Fi were great too. We will definitely be back on our next visit. When we left our 3 year old said "No, I want to go back to our little white house!"

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun on the Bayou

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

Excellent home to relax and fish! Was looking in my calendar for the next trip back before we left.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy cottage on the bayou

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

This quaint little house has charm as well as everything one could need to have a quiet country vacation! The extra little touches of style and comfort made us feel comfortable and welcome. The bed was very comfortable and the entire place was clean as a whistle!

We only needed one of the beds, so we had plenty of room to spread out. Our local family came to the Palms for supper one night and there was plenty of room for everyone.

We know where we will stay next time we visit our LA family! The Palms is the place!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Little House (cottage) on the Prairie (Bayou)

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Visiting Opelousas was a regular for me and my family, because both of my parents were from that area. But being able to visit and have the freedom of being in "your own place," even if it was for a couple of days, was so relaxing and free willed. I spent Thanksgiving with my family at the Palms, and to watch the kids run around freely, rolling on the ground; playing games on the huge screened porch; or trying to break a dance move or two, was surely a memory that we will never forget. The house offered everything you would expect at your own home. It was very cozy and welcoming. I will definitely be visiting the Palms again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great vacation home with comforts of home

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

Just spent a great vacation at this wonderful cottage on the bayou. I was impressed with how clean and roomy the house was, after renting this house I plan on returning for future visits for a relaxing vacation getaway . We enjoyed the kitchen which is fully stocked with pots, pans, and some staples, and having a kitchen helped cut back on costs during our stay. the country side here is just beautiful and there are lots of fun things to do. This cottage with its home like atmosphere beats a hotel any day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You will not find a better value for your money....better than any hotel could offer....come and stay with us. We want to be your "Lodging of Preference" Tell us how we can make it better for you

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Mireille, Daniel Claude and Hervé from France

Review submitted: June 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

Super!
We enjoyed our holidays in a very fine cottage near the bayou.
A lot of marvelous souvenirs!
We hope to return an another time....

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home base to explore Cajun country

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

Great place to stay with all of the comforts of home set in a rural part of the northern tier of Cajun country. If you want the real deal, this place is great. Kids watched and caught green anoles and toads, while scanning for other more interesting critters (like gators in the bayou out back) outside the LARGE screened in porch while we relaxed or BBQed watching the Teeche roll by. We went to: Layfette's Friday night block party, Holly beach, explored the bayous, ate incredible food (both out and brought back to eat on the porch). The house has lots of modern updates (kitchen) and a great rustic rural feel and you can't help but unwind.

Pet friendly, just keep on a leash when outside.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay in Cajun/Southeast Lousiana.

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

I would recommend this cottage to anyone who wants to be near attrations yet in a country setting. It was so peaceful and relaxing. When we arrived in the area I was concerned about the rain the area had recieved. There were several homes we passed that had flooding. However, the quaint cottage withstood the elements with no problem. There was no water for us to go thru or standing in the yard.

The owners are outstanding. Spices, and little extras to make our stay there complete were there for us. It was truely a great vacation. My two children,10 & 7 and my parents went and we all had a blast.

We plan on coming back next year and staying at The Palms on the Teche!
Taresa

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for the kind words. As advertised, The Palms is a "piece of heaven" tucked away in a quiet, peaceful environment, yet close to the many wonders of South Louisiana. Please come and experience for yourself!

Merci Beaucoups!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Piece of Heaven

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

Heaven must be like this! The photos are very accurate. Fabulous visit, sleeps six adults confortably,clean, quiet, manicured lawn, and screened back porch overlooking "Bayou Teche". It's hot & humid in the summer there, but the brief evening rain shower cooled thingts down; besides the indoor A/C made you feel like you needed a blanket. Friendly staff that were eager to please. We enjoyed fishing, horseback riding, and eating fresh friut from the tree in the backyard. Some of us enjoyed the local live horse racing track & casino (Evangeline Downs); a 10 min.drive. There was a small general store less than a mile from the property, where we could pick-up extra snacks, etc. Also a local butchery (Champahne"s Marche), a 2 min. drive, where you can purchase fresh-cut meat and other popular native foods. This was our first visit; we plan to make this an annual trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay at Palms on the Teche

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

I had the best relaxing time at the Palms on the Teche, I had friends join me from out of town there. This area is where my parents grew up and alot of my relatives still live so it was extra special to be able to stay at this location and utilize the large grounds to have family out and have a fish fry. My family also had a local band come out that gave my friends and myself a welcome reminder of the rich culture of Louisiana. This place supplied all it listed and much more. I hope to make it a yearly tradition to stay at the the Palms on the Teche!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Like sounds of home

Review submitted: August 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 20, 2010

We could easily have stayed longer at Palms on the Teche. Who knew staying at this comfortable cottage would bring back fond memories of our favorite things.

We are originally from Louisiana and thoroughly enjoyed getting reacquainted with the sights and sounds of home. It was good to hear the French/Cajun accents of the local people; good to again hear the familiar night sounds of the cicadas to lull you to sleep. From the screened back porch, we had a beautiful view of the Bayou Teche which inspired thoughts of fishing from the banks as the water flowed quietly down the bayou.

We attended the horse races at Evangeline Downs – something we had always wanted to do. While visiting local museums we discovered Chef Paul Prudomme and Tony Chachere were from Opelousas. Just down the road a piece we discovered Savoie’s meat packing plant, where they make our favorite andouille sausage and tasso and you can buy dark brown roux in a jar. We bought plenty to take home.

But the best thing was the Louisiana food. We ate Seafood Gumbo at the original Mulate’s in Breaux Bridge. (At last a gumbo that tastes right!) We ate crawfish, shrimp, oysters, and crabs cooked as only they can in Louisiana.

Each evening, after a day filled with new and interesting sights and sounds, we had Palms on the Teche waiting for us with a refrigerator filled with cold refreshment, a big screen TV and DVD to entertain us and a comfortable bed to rest our bodies. Then, after the days had flown by, sadly, it was time to go. Until next time…

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Anniversary Stay

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Palms and would highly recommend it to our friends and family. The place was clean and comfortable. The screened in back deck was enjoyed for morning coffee and breakfast as well as evening cocktails. Every utensil and appliance we use at home was there for our convenience. We fried fish for 25 family members and friends on the back deck. The weather was fabulous and the screen kept the insects away. We only spent a few minutes fishing in the bayou but still caught a couple of small catfish.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review