reviews for: listing #6213 - Gualala, California House rental

Oceanfront Cottage, Romantic, Comfortable, Spectacular Views
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $235 - $335 /nt
    $1,450 - $1,750 /wk

sort by:

magnificently beautiful!!

Review submitted: August 27, 2014   Date of arrival: August 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here and it was wonderful! very clean and cozy, and the ocean view was spectacular . Just what we needed for a quite getaway and would recommend this to any one who wanted to have a romantic, peaceful time.
totally relaxing..
Thank you !!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: August 8, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2014

Two large souvenir Gualala coffee cups appeared so everything is perfect again. We liked them so much we bought two at the Surf Market to take home. Found a book from the library, the sun room is great for reading. Enjoyed the sound of sea lions barking in the distance. The place and the area deserve a week next time. Thanks to the owners for letting us visit this wonderful place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gualala Getaway

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 9, 2014

The coffee cups are too small. That's pretty much the only thing I can find to complain about. Otherwise ... very private, thorough instructions/directions from the owners, wonderful layout, great views, quick 5 minute drive to town, complete set of appliances, linens, & utensils, and VERY spacious .... just a great rental for a more-than-fair price

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Romantic Getaway

Review submitted: November 27, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a romantic weekend at this spectacular cottage last weekend for his birthday. The place was absolutely spotless - so clean that we marveled over it. The view was amazing and one to be enjoyed day or night. The hot tub was hot when we arrived and super clean. We also enjoyed two sunsets in the lovely meadow. The climb down to the cove was easy and the tide pools were fun. We drove up the coast one day to Mendocinco and had two great meals right in Gualala. We highly recommend St. Orres for a romantic dinner. We hope to make this our regular get away place and can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Peaceful and Breathtaking at once!

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

We were thrilled with this home...it had every convenience and the location was at the edge of the world. The sunsets we watched from the hot tub on the deck were gorgeous beyond description, and the peacefulness was perfection. We felt totally safe even though we were in a sparsely populated area of California. There was an incredible library which we took advantage of, including bird identification books. Our time there felt like heaven on earth. I sincerely hope we can return some day, as it was beyond our expectations.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cove House

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

What a beautiful home! Wonderful view of the ocean and the cove seems to be a popular fishing place as there were several boats daily. The house is very clean and cozy.
My only complaint is the neighbors are closer than I expected with full view of the hot tub, so no naked tubbing! One of the neighbors spent the entire weekend remodeling or building something so we got to hear hammering, nailing and power tools all weekend. Not the fault of anyone, just bad timing on our part.
Aside from that we had a very relaxing anniversary weekend.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're sorry you happened to be at Cove House when the neighbors decided to do that project! They're generally very quiet, and are rarely even on the side of their house that faces Cove House.

For everyone else reading this, we assure you that the neighbors are across a fairly wide creek gully and truly are unobtrusive. This is honestly the first complaint in 12.5 years we've gotten about the neighbors, and we think we only need to point to every other review being a 5-star review--with no mention of the neighbors--as proof that the neighbors are really not an issue for the vast majority of people staying at Cove House. Typically the only people you'll see across the gully are people from the neighbor's few rental cottages, when they use their path to the shore (Cove House has a separate and private path to the shore).

Many of our renters in fact report a great feeling of seclusion at Cove House, which we completely agree with. While there are neighbors within sight, Cove House is oriented towards the cove and away from the other property, so it's easy to forget about them. Yes, getting in & out of the hot tub naked during the day would be a bit exhibitionist, so if you like to hot tub nude, just bring your swimsuits and slip out of them once immersed, or wait until dark! (And yes, the hot tub is cleaned and treated between all rentals!)

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Pacific Beauty

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

This rental was everything I could have hoped for. The pictures cannot truly convey the gorgeous sunsets and comfort of the home. Laying out on the deck in the afternoon with the warm sun and cool ocean breeze was a welcome change from the high humidity I live with every summer. I would definitely return for future visits!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful week

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

The house and view are even more lovely than the photos can show. The library is extraordinary. We spent a week in total relaxation!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Honeymoon and BEST vacation EVER

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 14, 2013

My husband and I were married on May 11. We could not wait to get to the Cove House and finally unwind from all things wedding. The Cove House far exceeded our expectations. The house had everything we needed. The views and serenity were amazing. The pictures listed on the site are beautiful, but the Cove House and its views are so much more beautiful in person. If you are looking to get away from the world and the big cities, the Cove House and Gualala, California is the place for you. We drove up the coast several times visiting local tourist sites and Anderson Valley for local wine. Everything was amazing. My only regret, is that we did not plan to stay longer at the Cove House. We are already planning our next trip back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very enjoyable stay

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Very comfortable, clean and quiet. And, I am a tough customer because I have vacation rentals in Santa Fe. We were very relaxed by the time we left the house. Many thanks.
Roxanne

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Honeymoon Stay

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon. As soon as we walked in, the view took our breath away. The large windows face the setting sun in the west. You have a private walk to the cove below to explore. We had great weather and everything worked out perfect. It was an outstanding get away location and a great deal for what you get. The home has everything you need. Town is close and the people are wonderful. Day trips to all sorts of places are near. There is tuns to do or tuns not to do. I do not know how many hours we spent just looking out at the ocean. We saw whales and heard seals barking. We soaked it all in and loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cove House 2013

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 18, 2013

What a wonderful place!!! We were specifically looking for A place on the ocean to celebrate our anniversary and the Cove House did not disappoint. The home was so comfortable and clean, that the moment we walked in we felt like we were at home.

The home has access to the cove below and there was plenty of opportunities to go down to the tide pools and see ocean life. We were even able to see whales off it the distance coming up for air in the first day there. The sunsets from the meadow are beautiful and the evenings in the hot tub were so relaxing. The surrounding area has plenty of fun things to do for day trips, such as visiting the Point Arena light house.

Thanks you Lisa and Patrick for opening your home up to me and my boyfriend. The rental process was easy and you answered all my questions before making my reservation. The driving directions were perfect and the location and amenities were all we had hoped for.

Our only regret..... We stayed four nights. Next time we would stay for the whole week!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lisa (Flagstaff, AZ)

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2013

Absolutely wonderful property. Very private and peaceful. Hot tub is the best! Much newer and nicer than picture appears. Spent a lot of time just sitting on the deck listening to the sound of the earth. Although there is much to do in the surrounding area, you may just want to stay put! House is very clean and I would definitely consider renting property again. Owners made rental process smooth. I would definately love to return for another visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The perfect getaway at the perfect price!

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

We will be back! We spent time beach hopping up and down the coast, visiting artists in Mendocino and eating wonderful local cuisine. We found that our best time was spent relaxing at the beautiful cottage and playing in the private cove below. The sunsets were amazing, but the stars were the real treat! A glass of wine, a slip in the hot tub and an incredible night sky made this vacation shine!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Splendor on the coast

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: January 14, 2013

To the owners,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful cottage. It is exactly as depicted in the photo's. The view is absolutely magnificant, your cottage is very well maintained and appointed. It was so relaxing to just enjoy the sunset in the sun room. An evening fire , a glass of wine and a good book took away all of our daily worries and troubles.

Thank you again. We will return

Al & Peg

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfection

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

Our perfect stay began with a very easy rental process with great instruction on how to get there and how to get in. Extremely clean and well equipped. We did a lot of cooking and had everything needed at our fingertips. Linens were lush and elegant. Hot tub is much better tand bigger than the one shown with a wonderfully simple lid removal/stowing system. We used it a lot because it was so easy to get to, get in to and get out of. The dryer in the bathroom was perfect to dry your suit and not have to put it on wet when you got back in a couple of hours later. The furniture arrangement allowed for lots of space to move around in. Very open environment. Beautiful view from the house, deck and meadow. Path to the Cove was taken by one of us. Since I just had surgery, I am saving that treat for next time. Cove House has everything! I was outside for all of the daylight hours never tiring of the incredible views and ocean colors that changed moment to moment. You can throw a small pebble from the deck and hit the water with ease because it is right there beneath and in front of you. 2 nights is too short a span. Next time we will want to stay 3 os 4 nights. Aaaaahhhhhh. Wonderful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Oceanfront Vacation

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

If you want to surround yourself with wonderful views,  watch whales blow sprays of water in the air, experience beautiful sunsets, have the best view every night for dinner without ever spending a moment in a restaurant, and feel the comforts of a home, not a hotel...stay at The Cove House.

My husband and I may have stayed only a week, but we will have a lifetime of memories and hope to grow those memories with additional visits.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Practically Perfect

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

My husband and I love to spend our special occasions on the Northern California coast and this time we chose The Cove House in Gualala. It was the perfect size for us and its location on the edge of a lovely cove was most romantic. We were enthralled with the alterating landscape as the tides and sunlight changed throughout the day - it was fun to paint the scenary (we are artists). We also enjoyed sitting in the meadow to watch the sunset. The full moon setting in the early morning was stunning. The kitchen was very well stocked, the home's furnishings charming and comfortable. The hot tub was perfect, we used it a lot. We ventured out a little (to Point Arena lighthouse) but were mostly content to stay at The Cove House and forget the world out there. Thank you Patrick and Lisa for a memorable rental, we will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic location!

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2012

The cove house is absolutely worth the 9 hour drive from Los Angeles! Our kids loved the private cove and we all enjoyed the well positioned hot tub. The location is breathtaking. The owners were very cooperative; we made our reservations at the last minute and they jumped through hoops to make it happen. the home was very clean and had good quality cookware.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

FANTASTIC oceanside cottage

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

We had the most wonderful stay at the Cove House !!!
The Cottage is GREAT...the view breathtaking with sea lions always barking in the distance and so well equipped, the kitchen and the game cupboard !
We packed a lunch when we went exploring each day and cooked at home every night.... the kitchen lacked nothing !
The tide pools below the Cove House are brimming with life.
I would come back to the Cove House in a heartbeat !
Patrick, Thank-You for sharing such a warm and welcoming home !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We Plan To Return

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

We have rented homes and cottages in several areas of this country and others - this is our favorite thus far. The photos on the VRBO site are accurate, but really don't convey the romantic splendor of the place. There is plenty to do in the area and relaxing at Cove House in the evenings was a highlight for each of the five nights we stayed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Romantic Getaway

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

My only complaint about this house is that I didn't book it longer! The view is incredible! We watched pelicans fish in the cove! It's super clean, quiet, private, and romantic. Our trip was peaceful. The kitchen is well equipped. It felt comfortable, like a home away from home. It was decorated with a classy-cottage-cozy feeling. There is a hike down to the cove, and Gualala State Park is minutes down Highway 1, with hiking, and access to the beach. There's even a vista point on one of the hikes for watching whales! We will definitely book this place again, no doubt about it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy Cottage in Gualala

Review submitted: February 18, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2012

We celebrated Valentine's Day and a few more relaxing at Cover House, what a treat. We loved sitting on the deck or in the Adirondack chairs on the lawn; reading books and looking out over the ocean. We took the advice from other reviewers and brought wraps for sitting outside as the winds were chilly some days. We enjoyed a walk down to the cove to check out the tide pools and saw seals sunning on the rocks. The instructions for everything at the house were so helpful, thanks so much and we hope to be back again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just wanting to relax in the hot tub.

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

Very nice stay. I was lucky with the weather. Once I found where they store the extra wood for the fire, I was able to build that up and that was nice. The hot tub was great, even sat out one morning right before the dawn and star gazed. One treat I found, that I wasn't aware of, is there is a great path to the south of the house that goes down into the cove. That was beautiful and nice. Bit of a climb, I needed a walking stick, but not far to walk at all. One thing too, is take your hair dryer and I could have used a throw to cover up with. So, I'd say I had nothing to complain about.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Their most special anniversary

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

Our stay in your lovely Cove House was unbelievable!!!

It was so very special and relaxing. Of all the places we have stayed, this definitely is the best of all! Thank you for sharing it with us.

Our anniversary was the most special one yet. We didn't want to leave! When do you start booking for next year? We would like to come back for our anniversary again, if at all possible. Please let us know if possible and how much.

Again,
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you !!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Next year, two weeks!

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2008

We had such a great time at The Cove House, last week. The location looking over the cove and ocean is beautiful, plus the house is very comfortable also!! Please keep our $300.00 Deposit/Security money, don't send it back, but apply it to next years rental: 2 weeks this time, for our wedding anniversary again. We had such a relaxed week reading our favorite books sitting on the deck, day & evening, and never turned the TV on once.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Took her breath away

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

The house was wonderful, more than we had hoped for. And to wake in the morning, walk out your bedroom door to the panoramic view, took my breath away each time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Establishing a ritual

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 23, 2009

We have already confirmed that watching the sunset from the hot tub with our glasses of wine and incomparable view will be a ritual for every day of our week-long stay. The house, location, and view are even more amazing than we hoped it would be from the internet site where we first found this place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Viewing Heaven

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

If there is a place from which to view heaven from earth, it is from the Adirondack chairs overlooking the cove. We spent many hours there with a few glasses of wine and couldn't leave.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Unparalleled views

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

What A spectacular property! The views from the deck are unparalleled. The cottage is very comfortable and we loved your collection of books.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful, cozy home!

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2009

What a wonderful, cozy home! Even though we only spent a few days here it rates as one of our best quick vacations! The home & location exceeded our expectations even though we knew it would be great after viewing the website.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A new favorite!!!

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2008

Just wanted to let you know that the Cove House is beautiful!!! We thoroughly enjoyed the view, the hot tub, the deck, everything!! I will definitely recommend it to my friends and family and plan on going again sometime in the future. I'm keeping you in my "Favorites", so you will be easy to find when the time comes.

The accomodations were wonderful, and you were right...you do have a great selection of cooking tools and kitchen accessories. We especially enjoyed having the espresso machine. We were able to get up each morning and make mochas and sit out on the deck and enjoy the view. AHHH!!! WHAT A LIFE!!

Thanks so much for everything!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Pictures don't do it justice"

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2007

Just a quick note to say that our stay at your place was lovely! Pictures don't do it justice. Everything was in order when we arrived, the management company left the key for us and was very pleasant when we dropped it back off.

Thanks for making such a magical place available to others!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A note from some regulars

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2007

Had a great time, as always.

Stared at the ocean for hours. Wonder how long, before I tire of that? The endless play of clouds and sea...

Hot tubbed, napped, read. Down to the beach. Back to the nap. Build a fire.

Great library.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

What A spectacular property! The views from the deck are unparalleled. The cottage is very comfortable and we loved your collection of books.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

The house was wonderful, more than we had hoped for. And to wake in the morning, walk out your bedroom door to the panoramic view, took my breath away each time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

What a wonderful, cozy home! Even though we only spent a few days here it rates as one of our best quick vacations! The home & location exceeded our expectations even though we knew it would be great after viewing the website.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

We had such a great time at The Cove House, last week. The location looking over the cove and ocean is beautiful, plus the house is very comfortable also!! Please keep our $300.00 Deposit/Security money, don't send it back, but apply it to next years rental: 2 weeks this time, for our wedding anniversary again. We had such a relaxed week reading our favorite books sitting on the deck, day & evening, and never turned the TV on once.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

If there is a place from which to view heaven from earth, it is from the Adirondack chairs overlooking the cove. We spent many hours there with a few glasses of wine and couldn't leave.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

Our stay in your lovely Cove House was unbelievable!!!

It was so very special and relaxing. Of all the places we have stayed, this definitely is the best of all! Thank you for sharing it with us.

Our anniversary was the most special one yet. We didn't want to leave! When do you start booking for next year?
We would like to come back for our anniversary again, if at all possible. Please let us know if possible and how much.

Again,
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you !!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

We have already confirmed that watching the sunset from the hot tub with our glasses of wine and incomparable view will be a ritual for every day of our week-long stay. The house, location, and view are even more amazing than we hoped it would be from the internet site where we first found this place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 3, 2007   Date of arrival: August 3, 2007

Just wanted to let you know that the Cove House is beautiful!!! We thoroughly enjoyed the view, the hot tub, the deck, everything!! I will definitely recommend it to my friends and family and plan on going again sometime in the future. I'm keeping you in my "Favorites", so you will be easy to find when the time comes.

The accomodations were wonderful, and you were right...you do have a great selection of cooking tools and kitchen accessories. We especially enjoyed having the espresso machine. We were able to get up each morning and make mochas and sit out on the deck and enjoy the view. AHHH!!! WHAT A LIFE!!

Thanks so much for everything!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 20, 2007   Date of arrival: February 20, 2007

Just a quick note to say that our stay at your place was lovely! Pictures don't do it justice. Everything was in order when we arrived, the management company left the key for us and was very pleasant when we dropped it back off.

Thanks for making such a magical place available to others!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 15, 2007   Date of arrival: February 15, 2007

Had a great time, as always.

Stared at the ocean for hours. Wonder how long, before I tire of that? The endless play of clouds and sea...

Hot tubbed, napped, read. Down to the beach. Back to the nap. Build a fire.

Great library.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review