reviews for: listing #62154 - Galveston, Texas House rental

Galveston White House (Beach Front)
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Bermuda Beach
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $350 - $500 /nt
    $1,500 - $2,350 /wk
    $3,500 - $8,500 /mth

sort by:

In love with the White House!!!

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

My family and I have rented many vacation homes and normally we don't take the time to write a review however, we had such a wonderful week at the White House that I could not resist. The house is beautifully decorated giving it a fresh, light and airy feeling. It is so NOT your typical stuffy dark beach house with wood paneling and cheap furniture. The walls of windows allow for amazing views from almost every part of the house. Even while inside preparing food in the kitchen or lounging in bed or on the couch I only had to look up to enjoy the beautiful beach views. I was a bit intimated by the white couches and decor but what a pleasure it ended up being. And can I say again how nice it was to have real furniture and flimsy wicker stuff! The house is pleasing to the eye and very beach friendly - we had no issues with kids and messes and all was very easy cleanup. When we arrived the house was very clean and impressively stocked with everything you might need in the kitchen, barbecue grills, wonderful beach chairs and what a pleasure it was to rent a beach house that provides great beach towels! The washer and dryer was super appreciated – nobody likes to do laundry while on vacation but having fresh clean towels made the difference between being at the beach – to being on vacation at the beach! The outside shower was super handy and having two bathrooms (one up and one down) was a life saver! After a long day of playing I have to say that my favorite feature is the immensely comfortable beds - no expense was spared as the mattresses and the linens were amazing. This is a beach house were my family and I felt at home, had fun, relaxed, played and had wonderful night’s sleep. Thank you so much and we will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

weekend getaway

Review submitted: August 18, 2014   Date of arrival: August 15, 2014

Fantastic, beach front property with everything you need. I have stayed at this property multiple times and it is always spotless. The ocean is only steps away. Cars are not allowed to drive on the beach. You can't get a better view. This house has very nice chairs on the upstairs patio that allow you to see over the railing for an unobstructed view. Floor to ceiling windows/sliding doors allow for ocean view even when inside the house. All modern appliances including a full size washer and dryer. It is pet friendly and includes a small fenced area. The outside shower downstairs is perfect for rinsing off after a trip to the beach. Close proximity to all the main attractions in Galveston.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family friendly home, ages toddler-seniors

Review submitted: November 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 14, 2013

My family stayed in the Galveston White House, we found it relaxing and very clean. I stayed in the downstairs with my senior aged parents, we had no issues with the house. The house was very well stocked with a full kitchen, 2 small but very nice bathrooms (1 is on ground floor) and comfortable beds. The second upstairs bedroom is small more for children than adults but very comfortable.

It was nice that it had the room on the ground floor as my Dad couldn't climb stairs, the family could still enjoy time with him and he felt comfortable with bedroom, bathroom downstairs. We enjoyed the beach right across the street, nice big deck on second floor, we had a quite peaceful vacation. Enjoyed walking on the beach and fishing close by. Close to Seawall and Moody Gardens. Restaurants and Grocery store a short car drive away.

Our only issue was the parking was tight as we all had large cars and trucks, there is no parking on the road, you will be towed. 4 large vehicles will not fit on the driveway at this house. Just know you are limited on parking space if you all drive larger vehicles as we do. And the downstairs area did not have very good lighting at night, it made the steps harder to navigate for my Mom, we made it work with flashlights. Our family had members ages 5 months old to 75 years old staying together and pets, it was very comfortable for everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Has a Mold Problem

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the White House. The main house is just lovely but the downstairs has a very serious mold problem and is not habitable. This property is really best rented as a wonderful 2 bedroom. If you are in need of a 3rd bedroom you may want to consider another option.

Owners response: It is unfortunate when a renter attempts to spread false and inaccurate information about a beautiful home. There is no mold in the house. The renters and their many many guests used the entire home without complaint for the entire stay.

The beautiful downstairs master suite referenced sleeps 4 and is a wonderful place to relax or read a book whilst overlooking the ocean steps away.

The bed is incredibly comfortable, the linen rich and the view superb.

I hope you will take into consideration the other reviews and the many opinions of returning guests choosing this home year after year for their weekend getaways and vacations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions.

Carlos Ortega

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 

Galveston White House

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

Excellent choice for true beachfront getaway - we recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

galveston white house

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

This rental is ideal for anyone desiring a serene, beautiful place to relax, walk on the beach and prepare simple meals. The white, airy decor is wonderful but the main draw is the the beach which is uncrowded for as far as the eye can see. Sitting on the deck, having a cocktail and gazing at the sea were my favorite occupations. Of course, the proximity to some great bird watching and shopping and dining in downtown Galveston are also on our list of favorite ways to pass the time.

Our dogs felt welcome here and questions and concerns were quickly addressed by the courteous landlord. So all in all, this was a fabulous vacation spot and I certainly hope that I am able to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great House for a relaxing and fun trip!!

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

Went up for a last minute weekend with a friend and my dog--- the house was even better than expected!! Every ammenity has been carefully thought of, it was very clean, comfortably furnished, and perfect for us! It was great having upstairs and downstairs master suites to either share with another family or have separate bathrooms when trying to get out on the town in a hurry. The wraparound deck was wonderful, my dog LOVED the yard, and the chairs on deck were perfect to watch the ocean and relax/unwind with a drink... I hesitated to review this house because I'd like to keep it all for myself!! Thanks Carlos for a fantastic stay :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

Absolutely LOVED our stay at the Galveston White House!!

Review submitted: July 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

This home has everything you could possibly need, and then some. Very comfortable beds. TONS of linens, towels, beach towels, etc. The kitchen is better stocked than my own. Electronic library of DVDs, Blue Rays, VHS tapes, etc. is extensive. LOVED the gated wrap-around deck and the fenced in back yard. Felt very safe for our dog, and would be great for small children, as well. So much glass and so many windows that you can view the beach from everywhere, with an amazing view. Awesome top of the line ront-loading washer/dryer. (Not a fan of doing laundry on vacation, but with a sandy beach it's a lifesaver!) I would not hesitate to recommend this vacation home to others. We enjoyed an amazing week there, and made some great memories!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Absolutely the BEST deal in Galveston!!

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

I cannot say enough good things about the Galveston White House!! The house itself was absolutely gorgeous, very clean and well kept. And when they tell you it is beachfront, they MEAN it! You have to drive ON the beach to get to the driveway, so needless to say the view is fantastic. The owners are so accomodating and the price really cannot be beat for such a beautiful property. I will definitely be a returning customer, and I am telling all my friends about my wonderful experience!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Enchanting House

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Galveston White House and it was... enchanting! The house is beautifully decorated; it exceeded our expectations in every way. The house is exactly as described and just how it looks in the pictures. We enjoyed every second of our stay; the sound of the waves as they arrive on shore is very relaxing. We highly recommend this house.
Also, the owner is very attentive and courteous. He responded to our questions within a day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Review submitted: March 12, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

We absolutely loved Galveston White
House! The house is charming and
beautifully decorated. The views are
perfect and the beach (other than some
really odd dead storks) was pristine. We
love to cook, and although the kitchen
is small, it had everything we needed.
The bed was very comfortable, the
flatscreen TVs and movie selections are
great, and best of all, we were able to
bring our dogs! We really loved this
property and recommend it highly.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review