reviews for: listing #62166 - Bahamas, Caribbean House rental

Luxury Home At Beach With Private Pool Near Casino And Shopp
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Grand Bahama/Lucaya
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,500 - $3,000 /wk
    $3,000 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Relaxation at best

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 16, 2014

The place was well kept, cozy and just beautiful. The pool was very relaxing. The hot tub specially became handy on windy days. The kids enjoyed all the shells around the house. The beach is beautiful and calm short distance away. Overall we had a great vacation

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 16, 2014

We had a great time in this property. Property is well kept and the owner or his agents are very helpful with all needed information. The beach is very nice and clean. The kids enjoyed the pool, specially the hot tub during the "cold" days. We highly recommend this rental.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!!

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

We found this house and felt like it was a perfect match for what we needed. The house was amazing with plenty of room for our family of 4 and grama. We spent lots of time outside near the pool and walking on the beach across the street. We would definitely go back and book the same house if it was available. The fish fry across the street was a blast and all of the neighbors were great! I love the Bahamas, and now I know that if possible when we return, it will be to this house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxation at its best!!

Review submitted: January 1, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

This home was perfect for our family of 6 and we will most definitely be back! Spacious, clean and well maintained, my 12 yr daughter and 19 month old granddaughter enjoyed the private pool in the back just about every morning. Taino Beach just across the road is absolutely breath taking, so relaxing and peaceful. Be sure to visit Tony Macaroni and try his famous roast conch, fish, lobster and shrimp. So good and he is a really interesting and entertaining man who my family grew to love as we spent just about every day on the beach! The Lucayan Marketplace is just a few minutes away and has some great restaurants, bars and shopping. Be sure to try the Wednesday night fish fry just across the road too. Everyone is so friendly and happy here! The house was amazing and we truly hated to leave. Thank you Nick. We will be recommending this home to others and we will be coming back soon too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

perfect getaway for a retreat

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We looking for a nice place to stay away from our hectic lives. This location allowed us to be alone when we wanted to and to also be close to activities when we chose to so. The house and grounds are well maintained.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation at a great house

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

We had a great vacation at this great house in Grand Bahamas. It was a georgeous house with full of different amenities. We found everything what we were looking for. A safe and secure house with an awesome pool and wonderful garden with beautiful landscape. The house was absolutely clean and large enough for me, my wife and our four kids. Grand Bahamas was fantastic place with full of different attractions. My son did parasailing in the shore on his 15th birthday. He liked it so much. We found very secluded beaches. It was just us, sand, sun and ocean. It was one of the most memorable vacations we did. We loved Bahamas.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Beautiful house in great location

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

This is a very beautiful and large house. We travel a lot nationally and inter-nationally with another couple and generally stay at rental properties. We always make sure the house is in a warm locale, close to the beach, has a pool and hot tub. This property met all these requirements and more. The kitchen is very well stocked with the necessities and the pantry had numerous additional items for cooking (spices, etc.). The bedrooms and bathrooms are very spacious and the back porch is great for relaxing in the sun. The property is located right across the street from the beach which was a beautiful casual walk. Everyone talks about Tony Macaroni's and believe me it is for a good reason. We went there and had their roasted conch several times which was some of the best food we ate. If you like good tropical drinks definately try the Gulley Wash. It is a local drink made with coconut water, milk, gin and shredded coconut. It is so good we duplicated it when we got home (some times we substitute the gin for coconut rum). The weekly fish fry on the beach was great but do get there early. We went to the Lucaya Market several days and had conch fritters and conch salad plus ate at several of the restaurants. All were very good and you get to watch them remove the conch from the shell...that is what you call fresh conch. If you like to fish, which I don't but the other guy in our group loves it, you should do the fishing excursion at the market. We did and we all loved it. I even caught the biggest fish. I highly recommend this place for great fun and relaxation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful House in Great Location

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

This is a very beautiful and large house. We travel a lot nationally and inter-nationally with another couple and generally stay at rental properties. We always make sure the house is in a warm locale, close to the beach, has a pool and hot tub. This property met all these requirements and more. The kitchen is very well stocked with the necessities and the pantry had numerous additional items for cooking (spices, etc.). The bedrooms and bathrooms are very spacious and the back porch is great for relaxing in the sun. The property is located right across the street from the beach which was a beautiful casual walk. Everyone talks about Tony Macaroni's and believe me it is for a good reason. We went there and had their roasted conch several times which was some of the best food we ate. If you like good tropical drinks definately try the Gulley Wash. It is a local drink made with coconut water, milk, gin and shredded coconut. It is so good we duplicated it when we got home (some times we substitute the gin for coconut rum). The weekly fish fry on the beach was great but do get there early. We went to the Lucaya Market several days and had conch fritters and conch salad plus ate at several of the restaurants. All were very good and you get to watch them remove the conch from the shell...that is what you call fresh conch. If you like to fish, which I don't but the other guy in our group loves it, you should do the fishing excursion at the market. We did and we all loved it. I even caught the biggest fish. I highly recommend this place for great fun and relaxation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful week in Grand Bahama

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Our travel group of three couples rented this house for a week at the beginning of April. We prefer rental houses to resorts and this spot fit the bill perfectly. The house was just the right fit for six of us. A few minutes walk away is the Junkanoo Beach Club which was a great spot to grab some wifi and check in at home, relax on the beach, and grab some drinks and light eats. Right next door is Tony Macaroni's conch stand, and right across the street from the house is the Bus Stop Fish Fry (GO EARLY!). We met several locals, found some great nearby spots like Redbeards and the Lucaya Market, and had easy access to resorts, casino, UNEXSO for diving, and a central location for day excursions to Gold Rock Beach and Deadmans Reef. Great house, great spot, great people, great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time in the Bahamas!

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

My family and I had such a wonderful time in the Bahamas at this great house! When we arrived at the property, we were greeted by the neighbors who help with the property. It is an absolutely beautiful house in a great location. If you have read other reviews, you have hear about Tony Macaroni and his conch stand across the street- it's a great time and he is very friendly. It was nice to get groceries and do most of our cooking at home. I would recommend this property to anyone who wants all of the luxuries of home with lots of room, private pool and many days an almost private beach. We can't wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great adventure trip

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

If you enjoy rental houses instead of hotels this is a wonderful find. House was clean, spacious and close to everything. The boys loved the the pool and the hotub. Right out back is a beautiful dock on a canal with fish. We do recommned getting a car w/ac for getting around. The Lucaya resort and nice grocery store are about 5 mins. The beach at the house is close and nice. There are a couple of beach bars right there. The first night we went exploring and ended up at the beach bonfire...to much Fun!!. The fish fry is right there also. If you go out...get a map. For some reason most popular spots dont have big signs.....ask locals lol. We literally went to both ends of the island.
Best spots...deadmans reef, gold rock beach. To much fun and thx Nick.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You for the wonderful review and we are so glad your family enjoyed our vacation home.

Nick F.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful & Relaxing!

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 20, 2011

We rented this home during spring break with our five sons. It was fantastic and we had so much fun. The canal behind the home is full of really pretty fish AND there's a live float full of conch (kids thought this was super cool). The beach is across the street and is absolutely gorgeous and pretty empty. Tony Macaroni's Conch Bar (right on the beach!) is a must visit. He is so friendly, will teach you all about conch, and he makes the best roasted fish and conch salad. The home was comfortable and clean and had everything we needed. Resorts were just a three minute cab ride. We highly recommend this home.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic trip

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 15, 2011

Our family rented this house for a week, for our first family vacation sine our child was born. Now 16-months old. The house itself was fantastic and very clean but the location is nearly unimaginable. Literally a 3 minute walk to an amazing and non-crowded beach. We actually saw a pair of wild dolphins one morning. The house was very comfortable with all the expected amenities at a much better rate than any hotel. Located within a 15 minute drive of the airport and 10 minute drive to the popular port where tons of places to eat and shop are located. A few great bars and the like on the nearby beach made it convenient as well, especially for the fish fry (a local thing). The pool and hot tub in the backyard were nice for our family as well. Anyone would have a great time there. I would highly recommend getting the rental car which we did and took multiple trips to the nearby grocery store and port. We will likely come back to this house, perhaps with more family members or another couple for a friends retreat. Definitely 5-star worthy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Very Comfortable and Attractive Home

Review submitted: January 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 30, 2010

This lovely home on the canal was the prefect spot for us. We immediately felt at home and the lay out of the house was prefect. Being right across from the ocean was a real bonus and an easy walk. We enjoyed the Wednesday night fish fry which was just across the street from the house. Being close to Port Lucaya and the marketplace was great and we visited and enjoyed many of the local restaurants. The pool was clean and cool which was great and one of our group used it everyday. Sitting on the patio by the pool was wonderful and we relaxed and totally enjoyed it. The house is well stocked with everything you need. The owner's representative was very helpful and immediately responded when we needed help or information. We were informed by the owner that the snorkel gear was no longer available but it was easy to rent some locally. Overall this was a wonderful relaxing vacation for us and we would recommend it to our friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

We had a great time staying at this house for the week. When we arrived everything was ready for us. The house was beautiful!! We were right across the street from the beach, which was never crowded. Some days it felt like we had the beach to ourselves. We really enjoyed staying here because we were able to experience more of the local life. However, we were still close to the resorts and able to go there at night for dinners. We also had a great time at the local fish fry, which was directly across the street and one of the biggest things to do on the island. All of the locals were very nice. They took us around the island and showed us different things to do. We would definitely go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation Experience of My Life

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

I am from Scottsdale, Arizona and have traveled all over the world and visited some of the most beautiful places imaginable. I can honestly say that my visit to Freeport, and being able to stay at this particular house, was the best vacation experience of my life. The house is not only in short walking distance to the most beautiful white-sand beaches that I have ever seen, but also has great proximity to Port Lucaya (the main island resort and tourist area), Casino and many other of the Island's amenities. The house is extremely comfortable and makes you feel right at home immediately. It was very nice to have access to your own private pool in the backyard, which the owners keep in pristine condition. In addition, Grand Bahama Island was very safe and the locals go out of their way to make you feel right at home. Thus, there is no question that I strongly recommend this experience and rental to anyone and I don’t see myself going anywhere else on vacation any time soon. I will definitely be back and hope to make it my yearly vacation spot.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks David. We look forward to having you stay at our home again soon. Take care!

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review