reviews for: listing #62219 - Santa Rosa Beach, Florida House rental

Lazy Lizards
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Old Florida Village
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,200 - $1,800 /wk

sort by:

Great Family Vacation!

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

I can only echo what others have said. This is a great house with a nicely equipped kitchen & outdoor grill, comfortable bedrooms and nice extras (like plenty of beach towels and 4 TVs). The back porch and back yard provide a peaceful backdrop and Diane has been great to deal with!

Our 3 generation family trip was our first time in the Santa Rosa Beach area and we loved it. Being able to stay at Lazy Lizards made the entire experience even better!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You won't be disappointed!

Review submitted: June 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

Beautiful, well kept home! The community is very quaint and family-friendly. Diane is so easy to work with and very accommodating. Excellent restaurants nearby, within a 5 to 10 minute drive. Gorgeous beach is easily accessible. Fenced backyard is a huge plus for anyone with a doggie companion.
We will be back for sure! Thank you, Diane, for everything! We loved our stay at Lazy Lizards!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lazy Lizard is WONDERFUL!

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 16, 2014

My family (including the small dogs) had a great vacation at the Lazy Lizard. The home was clean and in very good condition. The fenced in yard is great for dogs and the decks overlooking the pond were wonderful. The location is within walking distance to the beach as well as dining/shopping (including the new Pizza by the Sea!).
My daughters also loved their 3rd floor "tower" bedroom.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming house with great location.

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

My wife and I spent a relaxing week at Lazy Lizards. The house has all the amenities one needs. It was clean, well decorated and has plenty of space for a large family. Our dog loved the fenced back yard too. The beach is only a 10 minute walk max. The weather was not nice enough, but two nice neighborhood pools are a 30 second walk away. Only downside is that most of the nice restaurants in the area require driving. Great place. Would visit again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Thanksgiving

Review submitted: December 14, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

We had a great Thanksgiving at this rental property. It had everything you could possibly need to make an entire Thanksgiving dinner! The bedrooms are all separate from each other so great for families sharing a rental house. The house is nicely decorated and really makes you feel right at home. The warmth of this home makes you treat it like your own. The yard was perfect for our 4 legged kids. Neighborhood is cozy and friendly. A slight walk to the beach but everything is very accessible. Diane, the owner, was very friendly, responsive, and accommodating. We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An AMAZING house, GREAT location, WONDERFUL host

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

Where do I begin?

Lazy Lizards was immaculate and had enough space for our whole crew. We arrived on Friday and stayed through Tuesday and had 10 people and a dog. It could not have been a more enjoyable stay and we really enjoyed the neighborhood and close proximity to the beach access as well as a couple great restaurants!

Will definitely be calling Miss Diane whenever I head back to Santa Rosa. Our group of friends actually mentioned making this a 'yearly thing' where we can all come together and it is great to know we have a place to stay!!

Thanks Diane!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great home, great neighborhood

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

This home fit my family's needs perfectly. The neighborhood is quite and relaxing. We walked just a couple of houses down to the pool and the beach is just a short walk or bike ride away.
Our dogs enjoyed the backyard and I could hear the ocean waves early in the morning when I went out on the porch. We took daily walks around the neighborhood while pulling our son in his wagon.
The home is beautifully decorated and very well stocked (bath towels, beach towels, kitchenware).
The owner, Diane, was wonderful to work with. She was very helpful and answered any questions we had.
We would love to return to this house!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Fun + Happy Pet

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Lazy Lizards. The fenced in back yard was perfect for our little dog. The home was lovely and everyone in our extended family was very comfortable with their accommodations. The kitchen was well appointed with everything we needed to enjoy dinners in. The neighborhood location is perfect... close to the pool, but not too close which allows for peaceful reading on any one of the 4 porches. All the nearby attractions on 30A are very accessible with a short drive to all the necessities. The beach is close enough to walk to, but if you need to drive older/younger family members there is ample parking at both public access beaches. We loved our time in this relaxing and comfortable home making special family memories!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great beach week

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Lazy Lizards. The home was better than advertised, clean, and plenty of room for our family. The neighborhood is really quiet with a lot of families. We drove to the beach each day so we could load our chairs, toys, etc. but it is not a long walk either. Our favorite restaurants were Goatfeathers and The Local Catch but were dissapointed with Stinky's. I think the kids favorite thing the entire week was the ice cream truck which drove through every afternoon and reminded us of our childhood trips. All in all a great week!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation Dad

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

This vacation home was much nicer than it had to be.
We have stayed in this vacation neighborhood four out of the last five years and this property has been the best. The owner has done a great job making this house a home and was done better than expected.
'First class' and 'well done' come to mind as I write this review. Hope to stay at the Lazy Lizard again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

R & R Retreat for a Soldier and his Family

Review submitted: June 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

Great location and a great home away from home. Lazy Lizards was a restful and relaxing, beautifully decorated home that was perfect for our family of four to include an 18 and 21 year old and our dog. Everyone ad their own bathroom, and our dog loved the large, fenced yard. The neighborhood was lovely with mature foliage and two beautiful pools. We did drive to the beach and always got a parking spot. We could have walked there too as it was not far away. We have vacationed in Destin but Santa Rosa is our new favorite. Great shopping, restaurants and fun. We hope to return!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

The Lazy Lizard is a beautiful home located in a very quiet pet friendly neighborhood. We loved being able to take our dog on vacation with us and the fenced in yard made him feel right at home. This house was large enough for us to share with another family. The four teenage boys loved the upstairs loft with four twin beds, the adults took the middle floor bedroom, and our two young girls shared the main floor bedroom. This was just enough space for our two families. The house was fully stocked with everything we needed, from dishes to beach chairs and toys. The kids loved that the icecream man came each evening. We didn't have the best of weather but being able to share this home with our friends made this vacation a fun memorable one. I would definitely recommend this home and definitely hope to be returning in the near future.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great experience!

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

2 families shared the home during our stay. 10 people total and there was plenty of space for all.
Condition and location excellent. Decorated very nice.
Would definitely recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

New Favorite Place

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

Lazy Lizards is undoubtedly at the top of my list of favorite vacation rentals. Location is great, just a short walk to the beach, view of the lake from the living room, master bedroom, and back porch is very serene, and a nice large fenced in backyard was perfect for the doggie. Oh, and did I forget to mention the owner, Diane, is AWESOME to work with. She’s very responsive and very nice. She didn’t overlook any detail in stocking, maintaining, and decorating the place with says a lot being a vacation rental. The large parking area next to the house was a great place for the kids to play and the streets were filled with other vacationers and residents walking their dogs in the evening. If our stay at Lazy Lizards wasn’t due to us relocating to the area, I would have a new favorite vacation rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Experience at Lazy Lizards

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Beach retreat seemed like home to our family. Situated in prime location on 30A. We woke up every morning and went to the beach across 30A (~.4miles). After spending the majority of the morning there we came back to the house to refresh, top off drinks, and then hit the pool 4 houses down the street. Backyard was big enough for us to play baseball in which was a perfect afternoon hiatus from the beach crowd.

Although not our family's scene, Destin and all the attractions are just a short drive away. We did spend an evening in Baytown Wharf and my son (5yr old daredevil) enjoyed the zipline way to much. Hint if you go...get the $80 all day pass instead of purchasing tickets separately. If you are looking for a GREAT bite to eat, try the Local Catch or Stinky's Fish Camp. Each are really close to Lazy Lizards and serve some of the best seafood.

Diane is fabulous and answered our questions in a timely manner even during the week. We would definitely rent from her again. Thanks for an experience we will not forget soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Perfect Spring Break Vacation II

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

Our two families spent a wonderful week in the pet friendly Lazy Lizards in Old Florida Village. This was our second Spring Break spent at Old Florida Village--we love the location. We truly enjoyed our seven days in Santa Rosa Beach and look forward to staying there in the future. The pet friendly aspect of Lazy Lizards is great--the two dogs loved the fenced-in semi-private back yard and we felt very secure leaving them there. Other than a couple minor problems with appliances (Diane was very proactive!), we had a great time. Goat Feathers Seafood Market is very close and we loved the fresh seafood. Red Bar in Grayton Beach was fantastic! Two beach access areas are very close and have ample parking and bathrooms! We made a couple trips to nearby Panama City and caught shark and spanish mackerel from the fishing pier. The beaches of 30-A are the best beaches in Florida! Park the car--the bike trail takes you everywhere!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful vacation getaway!

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

Our stay at Lazy Lizards was perfect. The home itself is lovely - very clean, beautifully decorated, and so comfortable. Diane was a delight to deal with - very accommodating and excellent at communicating all the things we needed to know about the property. I loved the setting in Old Florida Village, too - it's secluded in that it's set back off of 30A but it's so accessible to everything that I felt we had the perfect balance of privacy and access. The whole stretch of beaches along 30A seems very safe, and I felt completely comfortable letting my teens and tweens ride bikes and swim as a group without adult supervision. The adults had fun, too - there are so many great shops and restaurants in the area. Overall, we just had a great time and look forward to a return visit to Lazy Lizards!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous house, Fabulous Area, Fabulous Vacation!

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

When we booked Lazy Lizards we really hit the jackpot! It is beautifully appointed and cared for. Even better than the photos. And, the landlord could not be more helpful or accommodating. Inside and out it was delightful! Loved the floor plan, the way the kitchen worked, the washer/dryer, and the three balconies were lovely places to relax when not bike riding around the adorable, quiet, friendly neighborhood, or lounging at beach or pool! Oh, and with the fenced in back yard, our Yorkies loved it too. It's close to a grocery and drugstore, the outlets and movies are nearby, and the shopping/dining area called Gulf Place (as well as Goatfeathers restaurant/seafood market) provide both convenience and ambiance. Other pluses were the ease and availability for renting beach chairs, umbrellas, bikes and baby gear. We've gone to the panhandle for years and I would pick this over any other development. Already looking at the next 12 months of our calendar to book it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful home in a gorgeous setting!

Review submitted: July 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This home was very nice, comfortable, and well equipped. We enjoyed the multiple porches and beautiful setting next to the park and the lake. It was a pretty long walk to the beach but the pools were very close and convenient. This development is very family friendly with lots of room for the kids to ride their bikes.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lazy Lizards

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

My family and I enjoyed our stay at Lazy Lizards. The house had anything of necessity and was very beautifully decorated. Our girls loved, loved their room on the top floor. Thanks so much for a beautiful week and great vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What's snot to like?

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 5, 2011

REVIEW
A well laid out house with a wonderful decor and great landscaping. Spacious, clean and well maintained. Pet friendly with large fenced in yard. Quiet street located in a dog friendly neighborhood. They provide the clean-up bags! Great access to.... several large shopping malls;good restaurants; bike and hiking path and churches. Two beaches within walking distance. Perfect location for walkers or bikers. Easy access to Panama City airport for guest and family. We're already singed up for our fourth year in Old Florida Villages. What's not to love?
Tom

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review