reviews for: listing #62240 - San Francisco, California House rental

Beautiful Large San Francisco Home in Heart of Marina Distri
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $485 - $635 /nt
    $3,150 - $4,150 /wk
    $10,000 - $17,000 /mth

sort by:

Excellent Property!

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

Our family rented the home months ago to attend my sisters graduation from USF. The location is PERFECT. Right on the Marina with Starbucks and Safeway near by. We walked on the Marina in the mornings. So close to everything!! Very homey feeling. Comes with everything and anything you can imagine. The adults and children loved it! VERY spacious would stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Marina home

Review submitted: May 10, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

Excellent!!! It was a great stay at a great home with an unbeatable location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lots of room!

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 27, 2013

Our family had a great visit to SFO, especially staying at this family friendly house with lots of room to put all our luggage and computers and stuff all around the house and rooms. My two daughters loved the kids' rooms (5 and 9) and we appreciated the dining room could fit our group of eight.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect family base for San Francisco (England)

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2012

The house is even better than described - photos can't do it justice - and provided spacious accommodation for our 11-strong extended family group. Everyone, from the 1 and 2 year olds, to the 30-somethings, to the over sixties, just loved it. Those who were exploring S.F. walked to Fishermans Wharf and all points beyond, the super-fit hit Marina Green for exercise each morning, the little ones couldn't get enough of the playpark a few blocks away, and even walking the lovely (and quiet) neighbourhood was a joy. We hit a real bonus when there was a block party on the Saturday afternoon, and the neighbours welcomed us as if we were full-time residents. And what a party it was!
The house was clean, attractively furnished, and had everything we needed, and more. We self-catered, and the kitchen was well-equipped for catering for those numbers. A big Safeway was only about a 15 minute walk away, so keeping ourselves well-stocked was relatively easy.
We would definitely recommend the house to any group that need a base in San Francisco.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Location Location Location

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

The house is in a safe, convenient, quiet for the city (except for the wonderful sound of the Golden Gate fog horn), and fun neighborhood. Being only a block from the Marina Green, we enjoyed walking to the July 4 fireworks vantage point and catching public transportation nearby to explore many sites. We didn't realize that we'd have a view of Alcatraz from the living room, so it was a nice surprise to be able to see ships passing by. We envy Lawrence having such a nice house. Lots of character and plenty of room. The kids enjoyed having their own room. We live nearby but needed more room for our family reunion. This accommodated 9 of us luxuriously.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Fun

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

We came to San Francisco for a family wedding and enjoyed every bit of the trip. The home was very comfortable and easily fit the 12 of us. The owner was very helpful and easy to contact. The location was great, be ready to do some walking, but that is true all over San Fran. The description of the property was accurate. The livingroom has a great view and was nice to relax in during morning coffee. We would recommend this property for anyone traveling with a large group.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Girls' Weekend to Remember

Review submitted: February 8, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

Eight other girls and myself stayed at this wonderful home for a bachelorette weekend. We could not have asked for a better location, amenities, and warm surroundings. The owners truly have made this house feel like a home. Everything was very clean, the kitchen well-stocked, and there plenty of linens to go around. The home is located in the quiet Marina district with spectacular views of the Golden Gate Bridge. But, it was also only a 10-15 minute walk to various shopping and restaurants. We would not hesitate to rent this home again on a future trip to San Francisco. Thanks again, Lawrence, for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A real find!

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

Our group enjoyed this spacious home -- light-filled rooms, cozy spots for chatting, and large areas for hanging out together. We prepared meals in the well-equipped kitchen and also ordered out from excellent local restaurants.The location near Chestnut Street, the Marina, and Palace of Fine Arts was a treat for all of us. Everything about the house was as described. The owner was pleasant and easy to work with. We hope to return again next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our family week in SF

Review submitted: December 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 4, 2011

We enjoyed our 4 nights in the Marina district - the house was spacious, and there was lots of space to gather both in the evenings and mornings. What a treat to be able to walk and run along the Marina and Chrissy Field and to walk up to enjoy the great coffees and shops on Chestnut and Union streets... Thanks for sharing your space with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Roomy fun for large families

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

I would definitely recommend this beautiful. roomy home for any large family looking for plenty of space. The home is located in a perfect area for all types of people. We are runners, and found a new, amazing run every day. Bars and restaurants are close and the Fishermans Wharf and Exploratorium are both in walking distance. We had an amazing time at the home, and the kids (all 9 of them) are already asking when we can go back. Thank you again for the use of your amazing home!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Excellent place to stay for large groups

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

We stayed at this property in February 2011. There were 8 adults in our party and there was plenty of room in the house for everyone. The three levels gave everyone the ability to have some 'space' when required. The kitchen facilities were excellent and we wanted for nothing. The Marina district is very picturesque and a Safeway was only a short walk away. The owners were excellent to deal with and very prompt in their responses and also provided an excellent information pack on the house and the district. Top marks.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Magical House in the best location in San Francisco!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 9, 2011

This house is amazing! If you are considering it just book it now! The listing and photo's really don't do it justice....it is even more lovely than pictures can convey. I stayed here for my wedding with a huge entourage that all slept comfortably. We had guests from 3 months old to 66 years old and everyone enjoyed the house. The house is so comfortable great for casual families like mine. We loved all the books and photos to look thru as well as the different theme in each room. The kitchen was super user friendly and fully stocked. The garage worked perfectly and parking in the neighborhood was not bad this time of year. Lawrence was a dream to work with and was always very prompt in returning calls and emails. A more helpful owner could not be found. The place was clean and very well maintained. We enjoyed views of Alcatraz and walking up and down the Marina Green....just outside our amazing front door. We can't wait for our next visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved the location

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

10 of us rented this property for 5 nights in August (5 adults and 5 teenagers), there was plenty of space to sleep us comfortably. We found everything we could possibly need in the house and we all thought it was great like a home from home. The kids loved trying out the roller blades! The location suited us perfectly as we had no car while staying in San Francisco. We found we could walk easily to Fisherman's Wharf area and from there we could catch buses etc to wherever we wanted to go. Tip - if using public transport buy a day pass as it allows you to hop on and off as many times as you like in 24 hours. If you want a trip on the cable car, and who doesn't when they vist SF, be sure to get there early in the day to avoid the worst of the queues.
Being able to walk to the end of the street and see the Golden Gate Bridge was awesome - we walked across one day but be warned there is nowhere to get a drink on the other side so if hot take some water with you (however, there are restrooms). Alcatraz well worth a visit even all the teenagers agreed but make sure you book in advance as you can't just turn up and get a ticket.
We found the owner very helpful and prompt at replying to emails when making our booking and would recommend this property to others. Should any of us have the opportunity of visiting this city again we would certainly try and book this house. Thanks for everything Lawrence.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 10, 2009   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

I rented this property for 5 days to host a 40th birthday with a huge group of
women. We LOVED it for several reasons...it had wonderful charm and was
nicely laid out to host a very large group. It had great proximity to
Fisherman's Wharf, Golden Gate, and Chestnut area shopping...all in very easy
walking distance. Only issue at all in area is parking; you're required to move
your car if you park on street every 2 hours during the day. But would highly
recommend the house to anyone as it was cute, charming and the whole
experience of working with the renter was extremely positive.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Loved this property and highly recommend

Review submitted: October 9, 2009   Date of arrival: September 23, 2009

I rented this property for 5 days to host a 40th birthday with a huge group of women. We LOVED it for several reasons...it had wonderful charm and was nicely laid out to host a very large group. It had great proximity to Fisherman's Wharf, Golden Gate, and Chestnut area shopping...all in very easy walking distance. Only issue at all in area is parking; you're required to move your car if you park on street every 2 hours during the day. But would highly recommend the house to anyone as it was cute, charming and the whole experience of working with the renter was extremely positive.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 5, 2009   Date of arrival: October 5, 2009

Thanks for renting to us. We had a great week at your house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 7, 2009   Date of arrival: September 7, 2009

My family had a terrific time in the house, and were very sad to leave. The
house was wonderfully comfortable and well-equipped.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 12, 2009   Date of arrival: August 12, 2009

We had a fantastic time! The weather was perfect, the location was central to
what we were doing, and we loved the house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 5, 2009   Date of arrival: August 5, 2009

Words can not convey what a wonderful sejourn we had in San Francisco staying
at your warm and beautiful home.
Suffice to say it was the most perfect home we stayed in during the past 12
years of VRBO experiences.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: August 4, 2009

Thank you for sharing your home. We had a wonderful stay. The house was
very clean and comfortable. My 21 month old son joined us. What a perfect
place for kids. He loved the toys including the box of train tracks. We wish we
could have stayed longer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 19, 2009   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

We had a great time at your house. It worked very well for our family and the
wedding preparation. Your house is lovely and we felt very much at home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 23, 2009

We had a great time. Your home is wonderful! We even had a great time looking
at the family photos throughout the house and trying to guess relationships.
We flew in to San Diego and worked our way up the coast to San Francisco,
including a few nights in Yosemite and, of all the places we stayed, yours got
the biggest thumbs up from the entire group. We appreciate your sharing it with
us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 19, 2009   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

Our stay in your home was absolutely wonderful! Your house was a home away
from home for us and was extremely grand-child friendly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 24, 2009   Date of arrival: May 24, 2009

We had a terrific time at the house! Everything went smoothly and the
location was perfect.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2009   Date of arrival: April 30, 2009

We had a wonderful wedding and everyone that stayed in the house really
enjoyed it. It is a beautiful and comfortable house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 21, 2009   Date of arrival: April 21, 2009

The house was great for our family - thank you for making it available to us. We
had a great time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 18, 2009   Date of arrival: January 18, 2009

We have had a wonderful time in and around San Francisco. The house was a
great place to stay with 2 families - really a home away from home. Thank you
very much. We will recommend your place to others who may be thinking of
time in San Francisco in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 29, 2008   Date of arrival: October 29, 2008

Our stay was marvelous. Your house was the perfect venue!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 28, 2008   Date of arrival: October 28, 2008

The place was great and we had a fantastic time. What a great location! The ping
pong table was well used! Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 18, 2008   Date of arrival: October 18, 2008

We had a great time in SF staying at your place. You have a beautiful home
in a great location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 16, 2008   Date of arrival: August 16, 2008

We had an excellent stay!!! The entire family enjoyed staying at your home very
much. Perfect location and enough room for us all. Just never enough time to
do all the things we wanted to do. I so much enjoyed running along Crissy Field.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 30, 2008   Date of arrival: July 30, 2008

We had a great visit in SF. Your house was (is) lovely and was a wonderful home
base for us for 101 (at least) reasons.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 14, 2008   Date of arrival: July 14, 2008

We had a great time. The location of the home and the home itself were lovely.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 18, 2008   Date of arrival: June 18, 2008

We had a great time! Your home is beautiful and we look forward to staying
there again sometime soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 5, 2008   Date of arrival: June 5, 2008

The house was perfect! I will definitely be recommending it to other friends. It
was great for the family to be together before our wedding.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 13, 2008   Date of arrival: May 13, 2008

The house was perfect! I will definitely be recommending it to other friends. It
was great for the family to be together before our wedding.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 15, 2008   Date of arrival: April 15, 2008

Things here are wonderful. Your house is absolutely magnificent, and we feel
incredibly grateful to have the chance to spend a few days here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 1, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

We had a wonderful time in San Francisco, what a great individual house you
have and a fantastic location. Thanks for all your help.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2008   Date of arrival: March 17, 2008

We had a fantastic time. Thank you.... Your house is beautiful and the view
unbelievable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 9, 2008   Date of arrival: January 9, 2008

I can't say enough good things about renting Lawrence's home. I rented it for
my family when we went to SF to attend my sister's wedding and it was
perfect. The location is terrific, the house spacious, well-appointed, clean,
and beautiful with great views and is accessible to public transport,
convenient for walking to shops and restaurants, and parking is pretty easy in
the neighborhood. We had 10 adults and there was plenty of room for
everyone. The layout of the house makes it conducive both to having a big
family meal in the dining room (and the open kitchen makes for a fun place
to hang out while preparing the meal) as well as to finding a place to read a
book or otherwise have a quiet spot to get away from too much family time.
On top of that Lawrence and his family were terribly kind and answered
questions, gave advice, and were in every way lovely hosts. I would stay
there again without hesitation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review