reviews for: listing #6227 - Dominican Republic, Caribbean Villa rental

Sunrise Villa - Luxury Beachfront Villa
  • bedrooms  8
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  10
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Orchid Bay
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,690 - $2,600 /nt
    $10,000 - $18,000 /wk

sort by:

Paradise Awaited for my Honeymoon - WOW!

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: November 24, 2008

Our honeymoon at Sunrise-Villa in Cabrera, Dominican Republic was magical! After viewing pictures of the luxurious villa property, my husband and I couldn’t resist inviting 2 other couples to spend a week with us at Sunrise Villa. What better way to enjoy paradise, than with some of our closest friends. The pictures by far don’t do the Villa justice because you cannot capture the wonderful spirit and hospitality of the staff, the beauty of the lush tropical plants and flowers, or the magic of the Manana Bar…the property’s resident Bar, where we spent many evenings unwinding from a long day in the pool or the hammock. From the Property Manager who greets you aka Mr. Roark from Fantasy Island, to the massage therapist on staff who sets her table up near the crash of the waves, to the excellent chefs…every wish was granted. One day while lounging in the pool we mentioned to each other how good some homemade chocolate chip cookies would be and the next day, out comes fresh, hot chocolate chip cookies! If you can think it, it can happen. We had trips organized for us to explore the stunning panoramic views of the ocean on horseback, gambling at a nearby casino and we even had a homemade picnic lunch at one of the beaches where the locals visit. It’s true at times you can’t swim in the ocean in front of the Villa because it’s not safe, but we spent so much time in the pool and at a nearby beach, we never missed it! The staff even surprised us on our last night at the Villa by decorating our bed with a heart, shaped from fresh rose petals! It looked and smelled amazing. I recommend the villa to anyone who wants to truly relax and experience the beauty of the Dominican Republic. My friends keep asking if we can go back for an Anniversary trip in a few years! That's the best review in my book.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Second Visit Better Than The First!”

Review submitted: July 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

We recently returned from our second family reunion at The Sunrise Villa and we were already discussing our next return while still on premise during our vacation. Our family has booked several vacation rentals, both domestically and internationally and we all agree that The Sunrise Villa tops all the trips we have taken thus far. The reasons behind The Sunrise Villa ranking as numereo uno are simple:

1. Top Notch Staff - From the property manager Chris, who bends over backward to ensure all your needs are met, to chef Frank who prepares fantastic meals, to Ramon the bartender who never lets you go thirsty, and to the rest of the staff, all of whom make your stay comfortable and worry free, this crew can’t be beat.

2. Location, Location, Location - The Sunrise Villa is beautifully situated right on the ocean with a view that is second to none. You truly never have to leave this paradise while on vacation but if you happen to be the more adventurous type, beautiful beaches, world class golf and other activities are all conveniently located right near the property.

3. Accommodations - While The Sunrise Villa easily and comfortably accommodated our extended family, the biggest advantage of this property is the ability to spread out across their various dwellings, some of which offer picturesque ocean views while others provide peaceful tranquility away from the group.

Take it from a repeat customer, you will be hard pressed to find a more suitable private resort in the Caribbean or anywhere else the world!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very, very good!

Review submitted: April 30, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

Sunrise Villa, its owner and staff truly deliver. There were three families in our group, including preschoolers, tweens, their 40-something parents and grandparents, and each of us proclaimed that our recent stay was one of the best vacations ever! Among many other things, we enjoyed the spectacular views, gorgeous suites, the bonfire and merengue dance party on the beach, our Playa Grande excursion, drinks and dinner at La Catalina, Ramon’s “el venao” and “el perrito” lessons, Frank’s yummy cooking, Ramon’s smoothies, Chris’ hospitality (and the ride on the back of his truck to pick up baby wipes), Papito’s thoughtfulness, Sandy’s sweetness, Mariela’s awesome mani-pedis, Rosa’s pampering massages, Viviana’s kindness , Yonathan’s merengue moves, Alberto’s vigilance, Negron’s smile, Francisco’s brawn . . . I really could go on and on. If you decide to stay at Sunrise Villa, rest assured that you will wallow in the casual luxury of a well-run holiday villa with a warm and wonderful staff and where concerns like cooking, babysitting or even planning your day will be handled perfectly. You will arrive home relaxed and happy but likely already planning your return trip to Sunrise Villa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The nicest place on planet earth

Review submitted: April 27, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

Nowadays, traveling abroad is a real drag, but once your taxi pulls through the gates of Sunrise Villa you sure do get over it fast ! Chris was there to greet us and get us acclimated and Ramone was waiting diligently to serve us a drink. We had a wonderful dinner, all of the food is excellent and very well prepared (you will never eat better fish ). The entire staff makes you feel totally at home and relaxed. The grounds are impeccable, you have total privacy and the views are breathtaking. If you want to be totally relaxed, have no pressure and have one of the best experiences of your life, you really should visit Sunrise Villa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A touch of heaven

Review submitted: April 10, 2014   Date of arrival: March 12, 2014

I booked the Villa for a family vacation, ten of us total (ages 22- 54). Kevin did a great job of representing the villa and the booking. Chris was very helpful helping us with planning our activities during are stay and is a better golfer then he let's on.The property is very well kept and clean, staff was incredibly helpful and met every need we asked for... the food is great and pizza at the beach party was incredible!! Ramon the bar tender actully became part of the family and when we left there where a few tears shed by the girls. this is diffently a place where great memories are made!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise

Review submitted: December 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

I know exactly what you're probably thinking, "Are all these great reviews true? It's just not possible." but the answer is YES it is possible! After a long day of group(22) travel we were all a bit tired. However, the travel was well worth it. We were greeted by Chris, Tanya, and Sylvia who made sure once we arrived we had nothing more to worry about including luggage. We were able to just explore and discover the beauty of Sunrise Villa. It was so spacious that we all had our own space, yet were able to have great moments together. Ramon was ready and waiting to help us start relaxing with drinks and appetizers from Frank. Once we were settle in we had dinner followed by a beach bonfire with dancing, drinks, and s'mores. It was hard to believe that was just the first night. We had excellent meals all week long and they even made special food for the kids. If we weren't lounging by the pool we were all hanging out in the mañana bar with Ramon(which is how we beat the house rum record lol!). We went horseback riding with Abe at Rancho Paraiso; had a fun beach day at La Playa Grande; went out 2 nights 1 at La Catalina and 1 at Manny's; and visited Lake DuDu. It was so nice to really have no worries for the week. The staff made sure everything was covered. It was the best! Not to be forgotten, Sylvia, made sure all the details of my wedding were covered. She was even very supportive when the ladies were late as usual. It all ended up perfectly(besides the wind, thank you mother nature) and I wouldn't have changed a thing because it made the day memorable. I loved every moment and I know that the rest of my group feels the same way and will never forget our week together in paradise. We hope to return in the future!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: December 24, 2013   Date of arrival: December 14, 2013

Sunrise Villas is a slice of heaven !! The accommodations are so warm and comfortable and the staff is more than just friendly. After just one day of being there we were so relaxed and felt at home. The views and and sights are beyond spectacular. The whole place is very clean and so well kept up by the staff. One of the best parts is where it is. There isn't the whole touristy feel. The town of Cabrera is small, but there is plenty to do and see. Much more intimate than a big tourist town. If you want to get away and just relax Sunrise Villas is the place. We will always go back !! A+++

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Wow- what a slice of heaven. The staff- such as Ramon, who became our best friend quickly, the wonderful massages, babysitting services from Viviana, terrific chef- Frank, very accommodating to our every need. We were sad to leave and face reality!! Truly an amazing family vacation which we will never forget and always cherish!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nothing Can Beat It!!!

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

Well, what can you say except perfect. The property, staff and weather were awesome!!!! The only problem is we had to leave.

The property is laid out extremely well with the main house serving as the meeting place for the various couples/families. One couple used the Diamante Suite in the main building. The accommodations are beautiful and well appointed. Even when others stayed up late with music playing, they were not disturbed. The combination of the dining facilities (with indoor and outdoor seating), bar, pool table, lounging and television areas along with the tremendous pool and spa (which we figure can easily hold 20) make this the ideal communal area for a group.

The other suites we used were in great condition and offered their own individual features and advantages. All of them are in relatively close proximity to the main building but provide privacy. The Presidential Suite is large, well designed and furnished and features a great personal/small group bar. The Samana Suite provides the full beach experience as it is the closest villa to the private beach. The porch and outdoor showers are its highly notable features. The Royal Palm has the same design but is in the middle of the property (an excellent compromise for those wanting to be equally close to the main house and beach). Although we did not use the Garden Suites, we toured them. They are newer, provide a more private experience and have some notable luxury appointments in terms of furnishings and fixtures.

Kevin (the owner) and Chris (the local contact) made the preparation easy and attended to all of our groups wants and needs. Once we arrived, the staff was totally prepared, including having the rooms in pristine shape and the appetizers and dinner ready. Ramone, the bartender. is the best, having highly honed bar and psychology skills. The chef, Frank, is incredible as he catered to our various requests without missing a beat (including vegans). Lastly, Tanya runs a tight ship in the house and Chris is the master of the local area, arranging for any activities we desired and giving us tours of local hot spots!!!

We may have just been extremely lucky, but the weather was delightful. The temperature was about 70 at night and low 80's during the day with a constant, pleasant breeze. It only rained one night and very briefly the next morning.

We are definitely headed back next year!!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Spectacular family reunion at Sunrise Villa

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

Our family held its family reunion at the Sunrise Villa during New Year’s week in December 2012. We had a spectacular time.
Property – the property is wonderful – it is a beach property in a perfect tropical location, and with a beautiful view of the Atlantic Ocean. The main house and separate villas are very nice and clean, and the grounds are well manicured. That said, this is a beach property, so the environment is casual. The website indicates that men should have long pants and a collared shirt but we really didn’t need them. One night the villa takes its guests to a nice local hotel for dinner (so the in-house chef can get some time off), but casual clothing was fine then as well. Although not a swimming beach, the beach at Sunrise Villa is a quick walk down the steps and it is just beautiful. The staff set up a beach volleyball net for us, which was great fun.
Management – Equally important, Sunrise Villa has a staff as good as any high end hotel property in the world and more friendly than any group of staff we’ve known. The manager and part-owner of the property, who is American but lives in DR, comes by each morning to help you with whatever you need. No matter what the request, he “knows a guy” and will arrange it for you. The onsite manager and her 2nd in commmand speak very good English, as does the bartender. So you have someone who speaks English from early morning until later in the evening. The chefis great – good American or DR breakfasts, casual lunches and a variety of types of dinners. If you tell the manager that you want a certain type of food or ask for local suggestions, he will get it for you. We have some great – caught that day – seafood. We also had a whole roasted pig, which was great fun. The chef also made piaya (a big pan of rice with seafood and sausage). We had the best bon fire celebration one could imagine, with a lot of drinks dancing and fun with the entire staff. Excellent swimming beaches are just a short taxicab ride away, although with the wonderful pool, spa, and beach at Sunrise Villa, we only went to the swimming beach once.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Party 'Til Sunrise

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 9, 2012

If you're headed to the Dominican you must stay here! For years our couples group (8-12 people in any given year) has taken an annual trip to the Caribbean. Previously we stayed at all-inclusives but this year wanted to try something different. This beautiful,oceanfront Bali-style resort hosted our best trip yet. Sunrise Villa offers a friendly, attentive staff, great food and amazing amenities including a huge pool, bar service (with awesome bartender Ramon) and private beach. While we were there to party it looked like a great place to hold a family reunion or wedding. The managers Chris and Tanya are American and Dominican respectively, so language is not a barrier and Tanya is the "fixer" who gets everything in-country done including the important task of getting you to and from the airport quickly and safely. The meals are prepared by staff member Chef Frank and consist primarily of Dominican-style comfort food such as freshly caught fish and great local fruit. The Villa even planned and catered an off-site beach lunch for us. You can walk to the nearby town of Cabera and visit Manny's beach bar which is a classic. A couple of guys in my party golfed and raved about the local oceanside golf course as well as the low prices. Sunrise's private guest quarters are very clean and roomy and most offer ocean views. There is indoor-outdoor dining, a TV room in the main house as well as a pool table and a great sound system to rock to. Finally, the Villa grounds are absolutely stunning. The place looks like a Dominican arboretum. If a leaf falls to the ground a groundskeeper almost literally darts out and scoops it up. If you're looking for a classy yet casual vacation experience, particularly with family or friends, you can't go wrong with Sunrise Villa.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PARADISE!!

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about Sunrise Villa- oh my gosh! From the moment we arrived at the airport- with VIP transportation arranged- we were completely catered to.

First of all, the property is BEAUTIFUL! The rooms are spacious and absolutely gorgeous! There was plenty of room for three of us to be in one room- we had so much space! The main room is super cozy and comfortable and then of course, the pool and the hot tub are the icing on the cake. The grounds are well cared for and we felt totally and completely safe while we were there!

The staff is just amazing! Tania handled all the details including taking us to the ATM when we needed and making phone calls when we desperately needed (more on that in a minute). Ramon was like our own activities director and what a friendly, fun loving and awesome guy he is! Anything we wanted, we had- more coffee in the afternoon- DONE, pitchers of Rum Punch- DONE, dancing on the beach- DONE! I mean we couldn't have asked for anything better! The food was always yummy and plentiful! Oh and don't skip the chocolate ice cream- trust me!

When Hurricane Isaac hit, the Villa was completely safe and dry, but flights were not going to Miami as it was moving that direction. There were some moments of panic but Ramon made sure we had plenty of wine to keep us calm. We were going to be stuck for a few days, so Tania helped us arrange accommodations at a local hotel and even DROVE us there herself! The villa also made an extra lunch for us AND bought us dinner at the hotel. Those little kindnesses meant everything to us when we were stuck.

We will definitely be back and absolutely enjoyed every single minute there! THANK YOU for your hospitality and extreme kindness! We will never forget how much you helped us!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

I cannot say enough great things about my stay at Sunrise VIllas! WOW! What an amazing experience! From the moment we arrived at this tropical slice of heaven, we were treated well and waited on hand and foot. The guest rooms, main house, pools, and grounds are absolutely immaculate with immense attention to detail. It was meticulously clean, and the staff always had something up their sleeve for helping us with activities. My favorite two people on the trip were Ramon and Tanya though. Ramon always had a smile that was "VERY VERY GOOD", and I still miss his rum punch! (Can I get that recipe please?) Tanya quietly worked behind the scenes to ensure that we wanted for nothing. In fact, when weather resulted in having our flights cancelled, Tanya helped us get in touch with another hotel locally where we could stay until our flights left. Both Ramon and Tanya went above and beyond their duties! I cannot say enough wonderful things about this amazing place. The food was delicious. The people were wonderful, and I can't imagine anything more perfect! We will DEFINITELY be coming back next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest posts on the villa Facebook page

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2005

Please visit our "Fans of Sunrise Villa" Facebook page to see many guest reviews and photos

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rejuvenation Unequalled

Review submitted: December 31, 2011   Date of arrival: December 11, 2011

We were long overdue for a stress relieving vacation, so much so that we couldn't even get motivated to put together our usual caribbean bareboat cruise. We looked into a few exclusive resorts, but they somehow did not feel like the right medicine either. Out of the blue a friend recommended this villa and said it's "what you're longing for". We had never been to the Dominican Republic. After a few email exchanges and phone chats with the owner who seemed to read my mind, and after perusing the reviews here, we took the leap.

Wow. Beautiful and luxurious are not sufficient words. We spent a week at Sunrise Villa and got exactly what we were looking for -- a total rejuvanation of mind, body, and spirit -- and more. From the moment we walked into the open air great room, we never wanted to leave the property, although the restaurant, public beach, and local bar that we visited were outstanding memories in their own right. We got massages, read books, swam, hot tubbed, napped, walked on the beach, and RELAXED to our hearts content with the the breathtaking views and pristine property entirely enveloping us every minute. The staff at the villa cannot do enough for you and the food was authentic and superb. The manana bar is, well, THE manana bar! It begs for a party! And we got one! With Chris and Captain Steve and a few neighboring villa owners all telling entertaining stories with good music and delicious hors d'oeuvres. All under a full moon. Is there anything you and your staff cannot make happen here?

Oh yeah, we will be back. With a bunch of friends and family next time. You have created a paradise there in Orchid Bay (did I mention the orchid gardens?) and it is most assuredly now on our list of best places on earth. Thank you Kevin, Chris, Tanya, Frank, and everyone for pampering us and sending us home with a full tank of optimism and positive energy (and maybe a few extra pounds)! The glow is still with us after several weeks back home and that is the ultimate measure of a true vacation in my book.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving in the Caribbean!

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

Our family of 17 which included 8 adults and 9 children ranging in age from 3 to 16 arrived for what turned out to be a wondrous vacation in paradise. Imagine the thrill upon arriving at a compound more beautiful than even the pictures portrayed. The setting overlooking the ocean, and the grounds and cottages were exceptional. The pool and adjacent hot pool was perfectly designed so that all of us including the 3 year old, were able to enjoy its beauty and its refreshing waters, The pool was definitely the focal point of our activites.The common rooms were so comfortable and spacious for all activities (cocktail time; rummy-cube; reading; watching football on tv) that everybody could be doing something with or without each other. In fact, except for leaving to swim or snorkle at a few other beaches, and one night out "on the town" for dinner, we never felt the need to leave our "home." One note: the private beach was beautiful but not really meant for swimming because it was too rocky and there were sea urchins lurking in its depths. However, the bonfire on the beach with toasted marshmallows was a winner. When you wish to go to the lagoon or another swimming beach which are not more than 5-10 minutes away, the staff arranges for the transportation. The staff was spectacular. Everyone was warm and friendly and anxious to please. Chris, the manager was gregarious, fun to be with and so knowledgable, and Tonia who was in charge of the staff, saw to our every wish and need.The food was great...we even had a real thanksgiving dinner, and the kids were thrilled to know that snacks and juice were always available. Every appetite was served. To sum it all up: Sunrise Villa is an exceptional place and we would not hesitate to return and to recommend it for a most unique experience.

Nancy & Arthur Sobel, New York, NY

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Sunrise Villa Wedding

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 15, 2011

We stayed at Sunrise Villa for our wedding and had the most amazing time. There were 16 of us in total, including two young children, and we all had the most fantastic week long holiday. The villa and grounds are spectacular, very well maintained and perfect for a fun, relaxed and very special vacation. The food was great and all the staff are very friendly. Plus we loved the organised trips out to Playa Grande beach and La Catalina hotel for our last dinner.

Our wedding day was perfect, lots of gorgeous flowers, beautiful cliff top ceremony, fantastic dining area set-up and amazing fireworks and bonfire to end the day!

Thank you to Kevin, Chris and Silvia for our wonderful holiday!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise in the Dominican Republic

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

We just got back from a glorious week at Sunrise Villa. We traveled there with three other couples, but easily could have gone with several others. The property was pristine, the grounds and especially the views were spectacular, the accommodations were luxurious, and the staff was fantastic. Could not have picked a better place to stay with friends. Planning to go back with family - can't wait to return! Thanks again to the owners and staff for a wonderful week in paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Magnificent Villa

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 20, 2010

My wife and I decided on Sunrise after viewing hundreds of properties for our destination wedding. We were accompanied by 16 friends and family members. All of which were well traveled. Not one person was disappointed. In fact it was amazing receiving all the accolades upon arrival at the villa. Everyone was ecstatic with their accommodations. Each couple had their own privacy. Kevin did a wonderful job designing Sunrise Villa taking into consideration privacy and still maintaining and atmosphere for togetherness. The property is very user friendly. The views are spectacular and the grounds are meticulously kept. The villa staf was the icing on the cake ! Every member of the staff were VERY accomodating. The staff informed us upon arrival that this was our vacation and that any request would be met, met they did. They went above and beyond in making sure we had the best possible service. The food was SPECTACULAR ! Not once did we receive a bad meal. Our wedding was held on the property and was one of the most amazing evenings. The staff and wedding planner worked tirelessly to make our wedding perfect. Perfect it was !! We are from a small community and many of our guest are from this community as well. Suffice it to say everyone here at home knows how wonderful Sunrise Villa was, its been the talk of the town. You will not be disappointed if you choose Sunrise for your vacation.

Phillip and Cindy Mouser
Bardstown, KY

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The ultimate group fun spot

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: January 9, 2010

Sunrise villa is the perfect spot for a Dominican vacation. Our group of 12 had a great week. Forget all-inclusives - this is the way to go. Chris is an excellent host - his advice on activities is invaluable. The staff especially Tania and Sandy take good care of you. This villa's unique setup allows your group it's time together but you can also have your alone time afforded by the individual suites. We were in the Samana suite and the view of the ocean is incredible. The outdoor shower was my favorite. Open all the doors and the sound of the ocean lulls you to sleep.

Our group definitely made use of all the villa's amenities - pool table, sound system, manana bar, outdoor chess set, hot tub and pool. Especially the Manana bar - Presidentes always miraculously appeared. The masseuse is well trained and having a massage right above the ocean is a definite must.

We snorkled right out back and explored the entire area of Cabrera on foot with no problem. The 4 wheeler ride in Abreau is a hoot. The company does a great job of showing you the area and the locals.

One of our gang reached a milestone birthday - we celebrated with him on the beach with a bonfire and music by a local Merengue band then up to the villa to dance the night away to the great CD collection. We were 20 again.

We had lunch on the beach one day at Playa Grande. It was great fun. The food was delicious even served on real plates not paper. The golf course at Playa Grande is architecturally beautifull - so ignore the lack of maintenance. It's still worth playing.

This villa is the real deal. Everything is as advertised! The staff is quick to fix any problems. Imagine coming home with a suitcase full of clean clothing - can't get that with an all-inclusive. Want to have coffee by the pool in your pj's - can't do that at an all-inclusive. Privacy - fun - pampering that's what Sunrise is all about.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A dream wedding at Sunrise Villa

Review submitted: November 13, 2009   Date of arrival: October 30, 2009

My husband and I got married at Sunrise Villa in November 2009 and we could not have asked for a better venue for our big day! Our parents and friends stayed with us at the villa (occupying 7 of the 8 bedrooms) and other wedding guests stayed at a nearby villa and a resort 30 minutes away. We had a beautiful ceremony on the beach, followed by a delicious meal and non-stop dancing. The wedding planner, Monica, was professional, knowledgeable, well-organized, and very easy to work with. She was able to accommodate all our requests and made the wedding planning over email an enjoyable experience. The villa owner was also easily accessible via phone and was eager to answer any questions and offer advice.

The villa itself is a beautiful property, tastefully decorated and meticulously maintained. With 14 adults and 2 children staying at the villa for 4 nights, we all had plenty of space and privacy. The villa staff were wonderful: friendly, professional, hard working, and fun! They made sure we had everything we needed, cooked us delicious meals, and even gave us dancing lessons. The villa manager offered various trips and activities, i.e. golf, day trips, horseback riding...

Overall, Sunrise Villa far exceeded our expectations. The ocean views, the clean and spacious rooms, the privacy, the hot tub, the beautiful pool, the helpful staff... we could have not imagined a more perfect vacation spot. I don't think I can ever stay at a huge, all inclusive resort again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best vacation ever!

Review submitted: August 12, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

We took our 3 children, their spouses and 5 grandkids to Sunrise to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. None of us had ever been anywhere so fabulous...from the jaw dropping gorgeous Villa with all its amenities and picture perfect setting, the so very friendly and accommodating staff, Chris and Tanya who seemed able to make anything we needed/wanted appear or happen, to the postcard like beaches and the charming town and welcoming Dominican people. It is a corner of Paradise untouched by commercialism, where you can relax in privacy or get out and meet the people and see the countryside while the staff quietly take care of everything. The website is for real, except you see it in two dimensions. Walking into the Villa is amazing. If you have the chance to go, grab it. One 4-year old grandson declared he wanted to live there forever! Kids speak the truth.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Died and went to heaven!!!

Review submitted: June 18, 2009   Date of arrival: November 27, 2008

I don't know if I can express in words the experience we had at Sunrise Villa. I truly felt like I died and went to heaven. From the moment my husband, in-laws and I stepped off the plane, we were treated like royalty. Part of the "Sunrise Experience" was the VIP treatment you receive starting at the airport. It was the most hassle free airport experience I've ever had. We had our own Customs line, our own room with food and beverages and someone to retrieve our bags, put them in our car and take us straight to the Villa.

We arrived in the evening and my jaw dropped as we pulled up to the driveway. I believe as I walked through the front doors the first thing I said was "This is Sooooo Me"!!!

Our family graciously gave us the water front bungalow but since we arrived in the evening we could only hear the ocean. The next morning as we woke up and looked past our feet out the glass doors the ocean was Right there! It was stunning. The great thing about Sunrise Villas is that even if you go with a large group you still feel like you have your own space. Every couple that came had there own building. It was incredible!

From there the week only got better. We were served on hand-and-foot. My whole family golfed so I spent most of my time at the Villa receiving a message on our patio overlooking the ocean, laying out by the huge pool and reading books in the "Manana Bar". Breakfast lunch and dinner were served to us. I think my favorite part was "Happy Hour" where the staff would make us the most amazing homemade Pina Colada's and have snacks to munch on before dinner.

Chris, Tanya and the rest of the staff were the most accomodating people I've ever met. There wasn't a request that we made that was too big or too small. In addition to the Villa being amazing there are tons of things to do outside of the Villa (although, I preferred to stay there). We went on a sand rail tour that was an absolute blast. The staff made the reservations for us and arranged for a car to take us there.

If you are looking for a vacation destination that gives you 5 star treatment dedicated to you and your guests then Sunrise Villa's is your place.

A huge thanks to the Villa staff for an unforgettable experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving Holiday

Review submitted: May 31, 2009   Date of arrival: November 25, 2008

Chris, after the stay we had at Sunrise last year I promised myself that I sit down and write you a note telling you what a wonderful time we had during our last stay. Things being what they are, it’s taken me a while to really appreciate the care, comfort and first class luxury that you and your staff provided. We had, as you might remember, my family, my wife’s sister and husband, my newly married nephew and niece (a total of 10) over the Thanksgiving holiday.

While we expected to have a great time, play some golf and in general have a relaxing week, we were all somewhat skeptical about how a Dominican staff would handle an American Thanksgiving. Your reaching out to us about ‘our’ Thanksgiving expectations and Tanya and the Staff’s execution of our requests couldn’t have been carried out any better!

The die-hard golfers in the group loved Playa Grande, the adventurers were wild about the back road, mud slinging, four wheel Dominican version of Mr. Toad’s wild ride and another highlight was the beach lunch you and the staff arranged.

As a group we can’t wait to visit you again in the very near future. Thanks for a Thanksgiving to remember!

Steve

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another wonderful stay at Sunrise Villa

Review submitted: May 17, 2009   Date of arrival: July 26, 2008

We have stayed at Sunrise Villa twice. Once a group of 10 friends, the second the same group of friends but with our families. The vacation really begins when you land at the airport and are wisked away to a private room where you are provided with food and drink while someone gets your luggage and gets you thru customs. What a great way to start the week! When you arrive at the villa you will realize that the photos on the website do not do it justice. The grounds are stunning and the staff will go out of their way to make sure all your needs are met. One person in our group had severe allergic reactions to a lot of different foods and the Sandy, the cook, and the rest of the staff made sure to meet all her dietary requirements. Chris, the manager and partner, stopped by every morning to make sure everything is running smoothly and Tonia took care of all our day to day needs. When we were at Sunrise Villa with our families we had a group 23 ranging from 10 to 23. All the children (and adults) had a great time. We all enjoyed it so much our group of 23 is returning for our third visit in the summer of 2010 for our son's high school graduation. You couldn't ask for a more wonderful staff or beautiful place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The best vacation ever

Review submitted: May 15, 2009   Date of arrival: October 4, 2008

We had a total of 5 couples that vacationed at the Sunrise Villa. We arrived at POP airport and had an enjoyable cab ride to the Villa, where Tanya and Chris were there to greet us. The food is excellent and there is plenty of it,and the pantry is loaded with munchies for the late night snacker.
We had everything you could possibly want or need. Wireless internet, phone, satellite television, and a beautiful pool, where most of my time was spent. The bar is fully stocked with top shelf liquor, ice cold beer, pop, and water.
Tanya and Sandy took care of all of our Villa desires. Chris got us on a beautiful golf course called "Playa Grande" WOW! What a nice course. Chris also arrainged for an ocean side lunch, which was beautiful. At night after dinner we would drink, play pool, and listen to an endless selection of great music.
Sunrise Villa is by far the nicest place I've been to. They have a lot of insight as to what the vacationer is looking for, big comfortable beds, great air conditioning, tons of beach towels, lotions, sunscreens, and a staff that is second to none.
Be sure to bring back some of that fine Dominican coffee with you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best 40th Birthday Ever!

Review submitted: May 15, 2009   Date of arrival: January 12, 2009

I've been meaning to write you since we got home last week but it's been a whirlwind leaving me to wonder where all the blissful rest went!?!?! I've also been looking for the right words to describe our time at Sunrise Villa (or "Sunrise" and the "DR" as it affectionally know by the "Dominican Divas", "Dominican Dudes" and the rest of Dallas by now) and can only come up with WOW! I've heard stories about the trip and how wonderful it was from people who weren't even there!

Thank you so very much for creating such a perfect place for rest, restoration and relaxation. My husband and I enjoyed our two days in paradise together and then the 16 of us revelled in the beauty of the villa and beach and the care of your staff. The rooms were wonderful, the food amazing (love Sandy!) and the pina coladas won over even the "I don't like fruity drinks" crowd. One gal has told every one how great it was to think..."Hmmmm...I'm hungry and magically appetizers would appear! Hmmmm....I'm thirsty and magically a new batch of Pina Coladas would appear!" She used to work for Rosewood so that speaks volumes! And the 10 cases of Presidente in 4 days speaks for itself. :) We are meeting in a few weeks to look at pictures and drink Presidente if we can find it! There are a few with pool game scores to settle as well. :)

The guys loved the golf and surfing, too. The trip to the beach with the lobster picnic were fun and a slice of the DR. My dad and his friend are interested in coming next January/February to celebrate their 60th birthdays with all the adults kids and grandkids. I hope the course will still be available to non-resort guests. Hubby is determined to get the hang of surfing there, too, both of which make be very happy!

One of our friends said they thought the beach was the most beautiful they'd ever seen. It is so secluded and untouched, almost surreal. The beach party was a great way to welcome our guests! We'll laugh about the limbo with the snare drum and bongos in the background for years to come! The video is priceless!

I hope we'll return before then with another group of friends. We have such great memories which is exactly what I wanted for my birthday. THANK YOU for sharing the paradise you have there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

our stay at sunrise villa

Review submitted: March 28, 2009   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

We recently stayed at Sunrise Villa and were not impressed. We have done the whole vacation rental home "thing" before and this particular rental location will not be remembered as one or our better experiences. The grounds are beautiful, the staff friendly and the pool nice, but the whole package as sold on the website "oversells and under-delivers" on many fronts, therefore making our whole experience below average. The food was mediocre and for the vegetarians in the family they went home hungry. Processed, frozen bulk food was our afternoon snack, something that was obviously picked up at the local Dominican Republic Sam's Club type store. We had problems with the showers that we told the owner about on the 1st day, but these were never addressed and fixed, other than the token line of " oh you found one of our "quirks". So the afternoon COLD shower was a great way to get your second wind, not exactly the "luxury" that they are attempting to sell on their website. Laundry was not brought back the next day, but in a few days, and was delivered to the main house in a basket for all to rummage through,, vs. dropping off in the rooms that it was picked up in. The biggest "beef" we had with the place is the fact that at 14 days before our arrival, we learned that despite what the website said, there was NO swimming in the ocean out in front of the house. There are no beach toys, not enough beach chairs to accommodate the group, board games were all thrown apart, no videos to watch and no playstation. We felt that the web site is VERY misleading.

Owners response: It is unfortunate that the reviewer felt she was mislead. We would like to respond.

First, please read the other review on this website from one of our many repeat guests.

The food at Sunrise is not vegetarian-oriented, sorry.
Snack food provided was "kid-friendly" as requested
I am the owner and I never spoke with the guests during their stay.

I am sorry she felt our laundry service did not match a Four Seasons. It is just a private home with limited laundry facilities, not a hotel.

Sorry about the weather making the ocean unsuitable for swimming. We can hardly be blamed for the weather.

Gosh, I visited the villa a couple weeks after they left, plenty of beach toys in the guest closet.

The manager bought 6 additional beach chairs the day the guest asked for more.

The guests' own children destroyed a bunch of our board games. Perhaps thats why she found them such a mess.

I checked our DVD collection. There are more than 3 dozen.

The Play Station was replaced immediately, and then never used.

This was a multi family group. Thank you to the rest of the group for leaving such a large tip for the staff.

I am the owner. I have had no comments/communication from this lady since her arrival and subsequent departure.

We are happy for furnish numerous references from many happy guests.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Sunrise Villa - Best Vacation Ever (long)

Review submitted: March 18, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

19 of us (8 adults,11 kids age 2-17) booked Sunrise Villa for Feb break. The pictures on the website do not do it justice.
It all starts with the VIP service at the airport. While everyone else is waiting at immigration and customs, you are taken to the VIP lounge for drinks and snacks. They take your passports and bag claims and do everything. Your luggage is brought to you and you are off. Everyone standing in line watches as you walk past, wondering. About 1 1/2 hours later we pulled into the driveway.
The first impression is that this is so much better than I imagined. That impression stays for the whole trip. Everything is so beautiful and clean.
Everyone claimed their bedroom and met at the hottub for drinks (1st of many times). The rooms are unbelievable. We stayed in the Samana suite. It is right on the cliff overlooking the beach. We never used the A/C as the breeze was fantastic. We slept with our doors open every night. So cool and relaxing.
The food was supurb. We were asked if there was anything special that we wanted, but we said to just surprise us. There were never many leftovers. Sandy, the chef, we applauded at the end of the week.
The whole staff are fantastic. The grounds are kept meticulous, raked every morning. The rooms are cleaned and laundry collected every morning. Your laundry is returned clean and folded the next morning. Very cool to not bring alot of cloths and go home with most clean. Chris the manager/partner/"go-to-guy" comes every morning to check on things. While, his wife, Tonia, runs the day to day operations. Anything you need or want to do, Tonia is the person to see.
We spent most days at the pool or down on the beach. Played football and lacrosse on the beach. We had plans to see the sites, but the villa gets ahold of you and won't let you leave. One day we went to Playa Grande beach. It was beautiful and the boogie boarding was great. Another day some went horseback riding and had a great time. Just let Tonia know and it will happen.
There is a pool table and great sound system that the kids (and adults) loved. There is satallite TV that was almost never watched as well as high speed internet and playstation. Each night the kids played boardgames, charades or pool. It was so much fun to watch and play.
I could keep going, but I am running out of space. The bottom line is that we booked it again for next Feb as we didn't think we could top this year's trip. Thank you Kevin, Chris, Tonia and everyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review