reviews for: listing #62292 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean House rental

"Casa Caribe Del Sol" Beach Front Home with "POOL"
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $300 - $350 /nt
    $1,600 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Family Reunion of 17 in a Perfect Vacation Spot

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 8, 2010

We are the Carter family! 9 adults and 8 children ages 12 thru 19. We got together from every part of the United States for a holiday reunion. We really wanted to stay somewhere that gave us time to all reconnect as we had not been together in years. We wanted a space we could call our own and not have to share space as we would have at any resort. We started with looking for home rentals that could fit all of us. There was really nothing available without spending far beyond our budget. We decided to rent both Casa Caribe Del Mar and Casa Caribe Del Sol as this was far more affordable. Well we thought we were settling and not what we really wanted to do. What a wonderful surprise that we made the best decision as these two properties were a perfect fit. The adults stayed in Del Mar and we put all the teenagers in Del Sol. They loved feeling a bit independent with there own place and we had the security of having them next door. They were able to play there music, watched what they wanted on TV and swam in the pool. We had peace and quiet in Del Mar and enjoyed all there excitement and energy when we spent time together. Both of these homes are superbly appointed, colorful, not a speck of dust, the linens were crisp and fresh on every bed in both houses. Extremely well cared for. The houses had all the amenities we needed and more than expected. Franchesca brought fresh fish twice during the week right to our doorl. NOW for the location. The beach was basicly ours!!!! The scenery was amazing with Coconut Palms lined up and down as far as you could see. I walked on the beach every morning, The locals in this residential community waved to me as I walked along. I felt very welcomed with warm smiles along my way. The sea shore had shells and pieces of coral. Literally untouched as a tourist beach usually is. The water is shallow for swimming and that we did all day. The water pristine clear with a magnificent view from both houses. The only negative is the sea is really for shallow swimming. There are many large patches of coral in these shallow waters to see the sea life but I think the big reef is to far out to explore and also a bit rough where the waves break. This is not a crowed beach saw 5 other people all week and there is no lifeguard. Sherry takes her time in the rental process and made it a breeze. She is very professional and her staff takes a personal interest in making sure we had everything needed. Great Houses, location, Staff, and Owner!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Amazing Review! Thank you! This is what it is all about for me! Famlies getting together in this beautiful and peaceful tropical beach front and having the time of thier lives. Spending down time together and creating memories. I was a bit concerned with so many of you! Thank you for taking such great care of my property while you were there. Hope to see you next year and of course with my return guest discount. You are the perfect family for both houses and I would be honored to have you back :)
Sherry

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

PA Jeff

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

We stayed at Casa del Sol for one week, wishing it would've been longer. The house was easy to locate, using the directions and pictures we received from Sherry. The pictures only show a little of the true beauty of the property. Everything was perfect. Her local staff treated us exceptionally well. Irene was only a phone call away and so helpful with everything we asked of her. Francesca made us a traditional PR Christmas dinner which was excellent. Brenda the house cleaner was so thorough in cleaning and providing assistance with the kitchen area. English/Spanish was not an issue at all. All staff speak fluent English, in fact, most all locals speak and comprehend English. The people there were so cordial and helpful. One lady, after helping my wife explain and select local produce at the grocery store, then thanked her for visiting PR. WOW! What could be better than having a glass of wine while sitting out by the pool at night and listening to the coqui frogs and the ocean waves. The lawn area reminded me of a golf course, well manicured. I wish the breadfruit tree would've had ripe fruit so we could've tasted it. The starfruit that Irene brought us from her own tree was so much better than store bought. Imagine this...... it was approximately 2 hours after we arrived that a local fisherman stopped by to sell us 4 large lobsters and a bag of fresh caught fish at a VERY reasonable price. What a first nights' dinner! Irene arranged a repeat a couple of days later. We only saw approximately 6 people/day walk by on the beach, it is that deserted. You couldn't ask for a better vacation value!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a great review :) Thank you so much Jeff for taking the time to write this and mentioning my girls. They all read it. They all so appreciate your kind words, and it makes them understand how important their job is. Same goes for me! I also hired a professional landscaping company last year and they do an exceptional job. Very pleased you noticed this as well. So glad you enjoyed our quaint little fishing village, the wonderful people who are grateful for the business my guests like you bring to Patillas and Casa Caribe Del Sol, my little piece of paradise on the sea. I hope to have you back again.
Sherry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

All the Perks and MORE!!!!

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

This is a house I would dream about actually owning. It was surreal when we walked in. I looked around and thought this has it all. It really hit me when we got home. Thinking back on the amazing location clean home, walking on this beautiful secluded beach and activities we did during our stay are still talked about constantly. We have 4 children. Our air fare was three times the cost of renting this house. I want all to know you can go on vacation here on an economic budget and get a private home with a private pool on private beach front at rates you never find at a hotel motel or resort. 5 star accommodations. Sherry does not just rent you a house. She helps plan a vacation with you. The attractions and tours Sherry advised us to take were a perfect fit for our family, rounding out our entire experience. Her staff is the best when you get there. Sherry said don't leave to long of a review. I don't think I could have left one thing in this review out. I could probably write two more pages on our stay so I will close by saying there is no doubt why Sherry is number ONE! Thank you so much for every minute of our stay being the very best vacation we have ever had.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A VACATION TO REMEMBER!!!!!!

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: January 5, 2014

FIRST OF ALL I WANT TO THANK SHERRY FOR ALL HELP WITH PLANNING OUR VACATION GETAWAY. WE LITERALLY TALKED OVER AN HOUR THE FIRST NIGHT I CONTACTED HER. SO EASY TO TALK TO, FRIENDLY AND PROFESSIONAL. HER DEDICATION, ADVICE AND CONFIDENCE IN THE THIS PROPERTY MADE IT AN EASY DECISION TO BOOK THIS RENTAL. THAT BEING SAID, I'M SO GLAD WE DID. THIS WAS A CHRISTMAS PRESENT FOR OUR 4 CHILDREN, AGES 19-23, AND OF COURSE THAT IN ITSELF WAS STRESSFUL ENOUGH TO MAKE SURE EVERYONE HAD A GREAT TIME. I CAN'T EXPRESS THE SATISFACTION OR RELIEF I FELT WITH EVERYONES REACTION WHEN WE ARRIVED. THE SOUND OF THE SEA WILL FOREVER BE EMBEDDED IN OUR MEMORIES. WE ARRIVED AFTER DARK SO THE SOUND WAS AMAZING. AFTER A COMFORTABLE NIGHTS SLEEP, WE MADE A POT OF COFFEE AND WATCHED THE BEAUTIFUL SUNRISE OUT BY THE POOL. AS THE PELICANS WERE DIVING FOR THEIR BREAKFAST, GECKOS PLAYING IN THE GRASS, AND COQUI SINGING IN THE BACKGROUND, WE SAT THERE TOTALLY TAKEN ABACK BY THE VEIW. AFTER WALKING TO THE LOCAL BAKERY(JOCKEY)AND HAVING BREAKFAST POOLSIDE, WE VENTURED OUT ONTO THE BEACH LINED WITH COCONUT PALMS AND WERE EXILERATED BY THE VEIW AND THE ROARING SOUND OF THE WAVES. THE BEACH WAS SANDY IN FRONT OF THE HOUSE AND ALSO HAD AREAS WHERE ROCKS AND SHELLS HAD BEEN DEPOSITED A SHORT WALK AWAY. THERE WERE ALSO REEFS CLOSE TO SHORE WHICH WERE FULL OF SEA CREATURES, ESPECIALLY THE REEFS AROUND THE BEND TOWARD THE EAST. DEFINATELY WORTH CHECKING THESE OUT, I COULD LITERALLY STAND IN THE WATER AND SEE THESE WITHOUT ANY SNORKELING GEAR. MAKE SURE TO BRING YOUR SWIM SHOES AS IT WILL MAKE WALKING EASIER, AND YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT IS OUT THERE. WE SEEN A GIGANTIC TURTLE RETURNING TO THE SEA, AND OF COURSE NO ONE HAD A CAMERA HANDY AS WE WERE SWIMMING, BUT NONE THE LESS, STILL AN AMAZING SIGHT TO SEE. IRENE AND THE FISHERMAN BROUGHT US A SELECTION OF FRESH FISH ONE DAY AND WE BOUGHT SOME SNAPPER AND CRAB. WE ARE NOT EXPERIENCED WITH PREPARING THEM SO IT WAS AMUSING TO SEE MY HUBBY GOOGLE FISH PREPERATION TECHNIQUES. WE FINALLY JUST WRAPPED THEM IN FOIL WITH BUTTER AND SEASONING AND COOKED THEM ON THE GRILL(AFTER REMOVING THE HEADS AND FINS) THEY HAD BEEN CLEANED ALREADY. THEY TURNED OUT UNBELIEVABLE, WE WERE ABLE TO LIFT THE BONES RIGHT OUT AND IF OUR KIDS THAT DON'T TYPICALLY LIKE FISH ATE THEM I THINK THAT SPEAKS VOLUMES. THERE WAS A LOBSTER POT IN THE KITCHEN AND WE WERE ABLE TO FIX THE CRABS ON THE STOVE TOP, ONCE AGAIN, YUMMY!!! DON'T MISS THIS PARADISE ON THE BEACH, WE'D RETURN IN A HEARTBEAT!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Loved reading this review. It was special to me. What I did not realize when I started renting was what a positive impact this would have on our little fishing village. That fisherman has 3 children and one on the way. He fishes every morning before dawn for my 5 houses. He loves his job and is so grateful to you my guests as this provides for his family with the sale of his catch. We spend so little on this fish and yet it gives him that income he could not provide otherwise. The same with the baker down the street. The pastries are the best I have ever had. Made fresh everyday. Again it's you my guests who are helping provide for a local family. It's a win win win...You my guests, my staff and local vendors, and me with happy everyone :) With an experience you just can not get in the big tourist areas. My guest are treated with respect and very much appreciated by us all. Thank you so much for the wonderful review Dee. So happy you enjoyed our very special piece of paradise.
Sherry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 28, 2013

WE ABSOLUTELY LOVED STAYING HERE. WE DIDNT WANT TO GO HOME. VERY CLEAN, COMFORTABLE AND WELL MAINTAINED. VERY QUIET ANDF SAFE NEIGHBORHOOD..WE BASICALLY HAD BEACH ALL TO OURSELVES. WE WILL DEFINITELY RENT THIS HOME AGAIN.IRENE(MANAGER) RECOMMENDED MUSAFA RESTAURANT. ITS ON THE BEACH AND FOOD WAS GREAT!!! THANKS IRENE.!! WE HAD A LATE FLIGHT AND SHERRY, THE OWNER, LET US CHECK OUT LATE. THANKS SHERRY FOR EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE. WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK!!!

Owners response: Beautiful review :) Thank you so much for the compliments on my house and staff. We all work hard to make your vacation relaxing and easy. So happy to hear you had a good time. Whenever I can allow an early check in or late check out as in your case I do. See you back again next year

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun For All

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2013

Just came back from Puerto Rico. We stayed at del Sol and del Mar next door which is great for a large group (8). First Sherry was amazing to deal with. This house was everything she said and more. Irene the property manager is a true gem. Both houses were EXTREMELY clean and well maintained. Patillas is quiet and laid back but the people are extremely friendly. We loved talking to the people and the neighbors to the right brought us fresh mangos and bananas as did Irene. She even drove us to the best bakery in the town of Patillas. We did have a car to drive where we wanted. Activites we tried were the biobay, wave boats with snokerling, horseback riding, deep sea fishing, and the Hilton casino in Ponce. DONT USE Yunke Zipling: rude, rude, rude.

Thanks again Sherry for sharing your houses.

Owners response: Thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review. I think this is the fastest any review has come in :) But even more rewarding is comments like this. I love the fact that you enjoyed and explored all Puerto Rico has to offer and found coming home to our paradise on the sea at the end of your day the highlight. Just what I want to hear. I put a new system in place last year. Irene has been my Property Manager for years. She is wonderful and takes care of you my guests and anything you may need. But I now have a new position for Franchesca who has also worked for me for years. She is now my quality control manager. Her job is to oversee and check the housekeepers jobs on all properties at the finish of cleaning. She also checks for any repairs that may be needed. They have a check list that must be signed off by both. It seems to be working as my number one compliment is how clean and well kept up my houses are. This is very important as you my guest come to our island to enjoy a vacation and the last thing on your mind should be about the house. It should and will look just as it does on my videos. The island and it's beauty does the rest for us. A 5 star vacation for you and a 5 star review for me and my staff. We all thank you and hope to see you come back.
Sherry

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I just re-booked for the next trip!

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

My family loves Puerto Rico and we always have a lot of fun but having a well-maintained, clean, beautiful place to stay enhances the visit. Casa Caribe del Sol is a comfortable, relaxing home-base for us and we enjoyed our second stay as much as the first. This is a great property for travelers who want to be a little off the beaten path but not isolated from attractions, restaurants, stores, etc. My advice: if you are looking for a vacation rental, book with confidence at any of the "Casa Caribe" properties. Sherry and Irene are the best!

Owners response: Don't know how I missed responding to this amazing review but thank you so much. I guess because we have been talking on the phone a lot these days :) I not only have a return guest I have a friend too! I am so glad you found me and my treasure on the sea.
Sherry

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely place

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 26, 2013

Sherry was very prompt and patient in answering questions before renting. We have three young kids who were quite comfortable and safe in the house and on the property. The house door locks with a key, limiting childrens' access to the pool, and the yard and parking area is secured by a high fence. We enjoyed eating outside every evening on the patio. Irene was kind and timely, coming once during our ten day stay to tidy up the land. The pool was a bit deep for our little ones but clean and not too full of chemicals. The only complaint I have is the level of road noise coming from the busy road in front of the house. On the weekend, there are many passing cars with loud radios, trucks, and loud pipe motorcycles during the day and night. This was striking because we are accustomed to sleeping in our quiet home in the forest! I imagine people living in the city are used to it. The beach was wonderful for walking and snorkeling. We found many kinds of fish in the shallow waters right outside the house. There are 2 restaurants within walking distance on the beach, both with yummy food. Thank you for a wonderful, easy stay in a lovely place.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review. The town sleeps during the week and celebrates on the week ends :) The village church is full all day and the locals sell fresh chicken and fish on the side of the road. Yes the traffic increases. This is local flare in an authentic Puerto Rican Village. A bit louder on the streets but always calms down before 10:00 PM. I am sorry the noise was a bit much for you but I personally love this about our village. They are a happy and close community and am proud to be a part of it. You are wonderful people and took excellent care of my home so thank you and I hope to have you back.
Sherry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here, it was a family reunion in Puerto Rico with the extended family. The house was the perfect amount of rustic with the luxury of a pool and a great view. The kitchen had everything we needed and more. The kids enjoyed the cable and wi-fi that were available. My family absolutely loved it so much so that we almost thought of buying. Sherry was very attentive and ensured that our needs were met. Initially I thought we had the house with the washer and dryer but that was the one next door.

My only issue is that I still haven't received our deposit for the house but we would definitely rent again. Hopefully this will be fixed soon.

Owners response: Thanks Alexus for the wonderful review. This party changed their email account and the deposit was delayed. They informed me of this and the problem was solved. The deposit is now on the way. I try very hard to ensure that all deposits are returned in a timely manner. That is why this is never brought up in other reviews. Other than the delay in the deposit I know theu had a great time as I was there at the same time this party was. It does my heart good to see a family play and enjoy our back yard on the sea shore as they did. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. It lets other know I do offer what I advertise and more.
Sherry

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unique Oceanfron Island Gem Far Away from the Tourists

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

The many five star reviews are well deserved. If you want to vacation away from corporate America and live within the real local economy, where food and goods are often sold by the side of the road or from modest small shops/restaurants, this is the place for you.

Rather then repeat what everyone else has said, I'll try to add some new insights.

1. The house is much nicer than the pictures lead you to believe. There is an unexpected attention to detail that makes this house feel more like a home than a rental. The house was spotless upon arrival, without a so much as a crumb out of place and I didn't see a single bug all week. Not only are the house and grounds immaculate, even the beach is raked and kept pristine.

2. The landscaping is very well done, attractive and functional. While the neighboring houses on each side are very close, the landscaping provides total privacy. The world shrinks to you, your family, the pool, and a million dollar ocean view.

3. Many reviews mention the road which gave me some concern before I went. Having been there, here's my take: the road (route 3) is the primary east/west route and heavily traveled by trucks and cars. The house sits 12 feet from the road (very common in the area for houses to be built so close to the road). You will hear traffic in the house and while sitting by the pool. But it quickly becomes background noise to the point where I stopped noticing it. Like another reviewer, I would suggest ear plugs for sleeping.

4. Entering the road from the driveway doesn't have to be the problem some made it out to be. The driveway is a blind entry due to the way things are laid out. But this is easily overcome by having your passenger get out and simply signal you when no traffic is coming. You might have to be a bit patient for traffic to clear, but if you wait there will be a large break and then you can exit the driveway stress free. There is a small road to pull into right across from the driveway where you can stop out of the main road and let your passenger get in. Returning home is just the reverse scenario.

5. Sherry's directions to the house are in paragraph narrative form. I created website with step-by-step directions and included mileage between each step. I also embedded a map for the major turns. I can't post the link here (VRBO rules), but Sherry has it. Note that Google navigation does not cover Puerto Rico so you can not use a smart phone for gps navigation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Tom for the wonderful review and great new directions to the house. I now send it to all my new guests. It was so great of you to do this and letting others know that I offer more than what is described on the wen sites. I provide personal attention to house details. This ensures that you my guests enjoy what you came for. A private get away in an authentic setting on the Caribbean Sea. the house should be pristine and not a worry. This is my goal. Thank you for letting others know this is what you get when visiting my homes on the Emerald of the south.
Sherry

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing House

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

My family and I just came back from Casa Caribe Del Sol. To start with the house is a little slice of paradise, private, quiet, beautiful. The pool was a great feature to have we used it every day. The grounds are clean very well kept. We loved the fact that it was off the beaten path, yet we traveled all most everyday to a new location and it was great to see the whole island. The property management team is great. They are there in a second for anything you need. We snorkeled, swam, just sat around watching the beautiful view. Two houses down is a great restaurant with very friendly owners. I feel its the ideal location away from the city, but easy to go north, west, or east. The beach is so beautiful, and quiet walk it, swim, just lay in the sun. Any family or couple would love some time at Casa Caribe Del Sol.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful review Cyndy :) I not only have a return guest. I have a new friend. This party made the best out of their Christmas vacation. They did it all from riding the Zip lines to deep sea fishing. They posted the greatest pictures of their stay on my face Book page.......And they are coming back!!! They have already booked Christmas for next year! Thanks again for taking such good care of my home. Stay in touch and see you on Face Book.
Sherry

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Isla Del Encanto

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2012

I would like to start off by saying,Patillas is where I grow up. It as been 18yrs since my last visit. Experiencing my visit at this amazing house made my trip priceless. The memories that i take back with me will never be forgotten. My highlight of the house were the Pool and the ocean and palm trees. Sherry was very efficent in making sure her guests were happy. All i have to say is if theres any problem she is sure to fix it right away. The house was spectacular and I would recommend and go back again. Thank you sherry stay blessed.

Owners response: Thanks Maddie :) I ask all my guests when returning deposits, if they would please write a review. I have not had a complaint in a couple of years and I always hear what a wonderful time you all have during your stay. They all have good intentions. But life I am sure goes back to hectic busy for most of them once their vacation is done and few find the time. You are one of the special people who took the time to do this and I thank you very much. It helps those
( just like you) who are looking for a vacation home they can trust is what it is advertized to be. I surely hope you come back to our sea shore treasure. I was there during your visit and It was nice to see a family having so much fun and enjoying our beautiful little Patillas. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family.
Take care :)
Sherry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Marisol from NY

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

We had a great time at Casa Caribe del Sol. We rented the home for 10 days and made good use of the pool. What you see if what you get. Pictures are very accurate. Sherri is a pleasure to work with, as well as Irene the Property Manager. As a matter of fact, Irene knows my father. Small world. I rated the property four stars only because the entrance is on a bend in the road and was sometimes a little scary to back up into the driveway. I would certainly rent this home again for my next adventure in PR.
Sherri, You have a lovely home. Thank you for sharing it with us, including Jorge my sister's silky terrier.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am so glad you enjoyed your time at our treasure on the seashore. There is a small curve in the two lane road. Not much I can do about that. I'm just glad our house is at the end of town in a residential area and not a busy highway. Would love to have you come back along with your little silky terrier. Thank you for taking such good care of our home during your stay.
Sherry

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Vacation of Dreams and Nightmares

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

I will start by saying I read reviews. One of the answers the owner commented on makes complete sense to me today. She said different people come and stay week after week however my house and location are always the same..... I went on this vacation with my wife and 2 children. My brother also went with his current girlfriend and her 9 year old daughter. My family’s opinion is this house was exactly what we saw on the web site video and pictures. It was clean had all amenities including the clean large pool with the Caribbean sea as a back drop. The owner and staff a personal touch. They were on hand for everything from greeting us at arrival to fresh fish, etc. There was a new flat screen TV and all the major networks. We swam in the pool and snorkeled in the shallow waters. We walked the beautiful secluded beach of which the views from the house were wonderful. I can say without hesitation this place was everything we wanted and more. I would highly recommend this property to everyone. My only complaint is we had to share this house with my brother and his 2 guests. As in their opinion it was a nightmare vacation for The Mother and daughter from day one. It started with a complaint about no Animal Planet on TV. There were many movies to watch in the DVD collection but not good enough. Heard about this all week. Every time she complained about Animal planet the Mother said this is a nightmare! Then complaints about it being to hot. She didn’t like BBQ fish, or chicken I guess hot dogs and Burger King is the only thing she will eat. The Mother said the pool was dirty. I explained the bottom was a bit modeled from age but the water was very clean. Her answer was it would be better at a resort. How can I blame a child with this Mother's attitude. I will end this with the two of them spent the week looking at screens on I pad or video games and complaining. But technology has in my opinion taken away from this younger generation, the beauty this planet has to offer for those who choose not to enjoy it. This place is there to take in all the natural wonders of the Caribbean. Our family marveled and made the most of this unique paradise experience all day and played Uno and Yahtzee on those warm nights. A time to be family and entertained by one another to connect together. It was not hard for us to understand hoe they could not enjoy this wonderful paradise. But some I guess will make a negative out of the best possible experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: First....Thank you for the wonderful review and taking the time to write it. I am so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed our beautiful beachfront home in Puerto Rico. However I do know full well that we can not please all the people all the time. I am sorry to hear you had to spend your week with such negativity. For a 9 year old to spend time playing with a computer instead of swimming or walking the beach looking for shells and playing with sand crabs is truely a sad new reality of today. I am glad to hear you are a parent who is teaching your children the real treasures this incredable world has to offer.. Hope you wil come back.
Sherry

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful location, nice property, local flair

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

My wife and I and our 8 year old son stayed at Casa Caribe Del Sol for 3 nights recently and loved the area and the property. The location is all locals, not touristy, and fairly remote. We explored the beaches along 53 from the town of Lamboglia to the Tuna Point lighthouse south of Maunabo. Lots of small roadstands along the way with fresh fruit, empanadas, grilled pork and chicken. We picked up some whole red snapper from a local standing on the corner with a cooler full of fish and grilled them in banana leaves at the house, wonderful. There are awesome views from cliffs overlooking the ocean and sandy beaches if you want to explore a bit. Right behind the house is a nice beach for relaxing or beachcoming, maybe a bit rocky but beautiful. Lots of coconuts and countless mangoes all over were in season. The pool is refreshing and the beach house clean and comfortable. All cooking utensils, even WIFI. Yes, there are cars that go by, but you're just on a tiny two lane road so you can't call it traffic. You don't hear anything but the ocean in the backyard anyway. Sherry is nice and helpful, as was Irene the property manager. We really enjoyed the property and recommend it to anyone who enjoys beachcoming and exploring the undeveloped part of Puerto Rico. If you want nightlife, you need to make it yourself or stay in San Juan!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a fantastic review! Thank you for bringing up just some of the many wonderful points of interest the south side of Puerto Rico has to offer. often people are set on just what they know about the San Juan area. Thanks for letting others know there is so much more to Puerto Rico. Going to south side is like going back 20 years to a true tropical paradise with an amazing Spanish flare. And yes it still has all the modern convienences like WiFi lol. Glad you enjoyed my home for your short stay and would love to have you back again :)
Sherry

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Paradise "Memories" are made from

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

It's been two months since our vacation in Puerto Rico. I will tell you we all loved this place. We are all ages with four children my husband and In-Laws who visited this special unspoiled treasure on the Southern Coast of the island. We stayed in Casa Caribe Del Mar and my In-Laws stayed in this house Casa Caribe Del Sol. It is still very cold here in Montana and I often think of those beautiful warm nights we spent on the sea. I had to write this as I am not the only one! My Mother-in-Law is 84 years old with progressive Dementia. She has very little short term memory these days and it is very selective as well. She would not remember how clean the house was or all the amenities I know we had. But she remembers this vacation and it's most gorgeous setting. I was complaining of the cold last week and she said “ Oh when you get chilled just remember the warm breezes from the sea passing through the Palm trees bringing them to a dance of life and then the breeze would gently touch the pools surface bringing with it ripples and movement and then the rush on our faces bringing the smell of the fresh clean salt air and then without a thought our eyes are suddenly drawn to the sea and we are with the sun setting on the water looking out to eternity. Yes you will find you are warm again child. You may think this a bit corny, but for me I know I have given a very old wonderful woman a cherished memory. I will close by saying anyone staying here will see, feel, and smell the wonder of this magical place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I sat here stunned as I read this review. I have experienced the beauty of this place but could have never explained what this wonderful woman so eloquently put into words. I am grateful to have been able to provide even a small part of this memory for her. A clean home should be expected so that all can come and enjoy what they really came for. A tropical paradise where memories like this are made of. Thank you for sharing this with me. It makes what I do in life a joy.
Sherry

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Yearly Stay at Del Sol

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

Stayed here last year and knew this was the spot. When we arrived this year we saw many new things in the house, bedspreads paint etc. Therefore we can say that this house is always being updates with new fresh things. With the location staying the same. That old authentic Puerto Rican Village that we have come to call our second home. Great stay our 10 days went just to fast and we have already booked our 2013 visit. I can honestly say...........It just keeps getting better.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Dave and family......The highest compliment is a guest who is past, present and future :) We are so glad to have you back again and again. Thank you for choosing our treasure on the seashore.
Sherry

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house with pool right on the Ocean Amazing Vacation

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

The 7 of us Just left this great one of a kind home. We normally stay in Rincon PR once a year. But we decided to stay at this house as it was on the Caribbean sea and closer to more activities and tours on the island. This house was amazing. The beach had calm clear waters. No big waves was nice for swimming. The location can not be beat. The house is as described and better than the pictures when you get there. The beach is right there no walking down the street. Just walk out the back pool gate and your on the beach. House has everything!!!! Clean and great outdoor areas to relax and swim in the sparlkling pool overlooking the ocean. We have found our spot. Our only complaint is that we did not find this and make the change a couple years ago. We recommend it to all.
Taylor Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, and for taking such good care of my home. I am so glad you had a great vacation. Hope you come and stay at our little piece of paradise again soon!
Sherry

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Puerto Rico Style Living

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Our family wanted to experience a tropical island vacation, but did not want to leave the US. We are not world travelers (no passports), so we researched PR and the beauty the island had to offer. My husband found this house and I found another on the Atlantic side. We decided to go with this one because of the location (Caribbean ocean). The house is located in a native area. It is not filled with tourist. Locals do speak Spanish as their primary language, but there are those that do speak English. The house is PR charming and the pool was essential to us with the ocean being a little rougher during the summer season. If you’re looking for nothing but relaxing this house is good for that. However, there are many places to see if you want to drive. Sherry (the owner) is wonderful and her house manager Irene was very helpful. Sherry is like talking to a friend. It does take about 20 - 25 min to get to a food store. The highlight of our trip was a boat ride "East Island Tours" with snorkeling to 3 different islands off of PR. They were beautiful! I really did see the kind of tropical waters I wanted to see and swim in. It's not just in pictures and TV...it actually exists. The house does sit on the street and the traffic can be loud. The beach was rocky this time of year (June). We were surprised about that. Not really a good spot to lie out on in the sand. There are no sidewalks along the road so I did not feel comfortable walking around the small "in town" area. PR drivers can drive slow and some drive fast. One minute you’re behind someone not even keeping up with the speed limit and then you run into a California driver, who can't go fast enough. The mountains are beautiful and the views are gorgeous. I never felt unsafe, but I deal feel like I stuck out from others. We did not get to experience the fresh fish. The house is equipped with everything you need. The dishes are plastic and for good reason..."pool area". You never should have glass in a pool house or area. If you’re looking for the Ritz hotel style then this is not the house for you. If you’re looking for PR style livings then you’ve found it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I agree I did find a friend and not just a guest. It was great to speak with you before, during and after your visit. Thank you for the comliments, cander, tips and advise. We have had some unusual low season weather for this time of year. Our worst rain and rough seas are Ausgust and September. But It has hit starting in May this year. And I was there in August expecting the worst and the weather was incredable. I guess our global waether is playing some Mother nature tricks on us. Anyway I know you had a great time and have been telling future guests of your great Catermeran trip to the other Islands. Thanks for the tips. It was great to have you come and stay. I truely do hope you come back again during peak season to enjoy the great weather and calmer seas.
Sherry

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a place

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

I just came back from this little piece of paradise, and I got nothing, but the best experience in this place. Everything you need is there for your use, and Irene is very prompt and responsive when you need her. The pictures don't do any justice to this place. I took naps 15 feet away from the ocean on the grass, the waves sound is so relaxing and druggy that puts you to sleep. I will definitely come back and recommended this place already to a couple of people. Sherri keep up the good work, great place to be.

Thanks for such a lovely tranquil place

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. And thank you for taking such good care of our home. It's people like you that appreciate our little hidden piece of paradise that make what I do such a great experience and so worhwhile.
Thanks Again and I look forward to your return!
Sherry

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Steven & Joyce's terrible vacation

Review submitted: May 14, 2011   Date of arrival: December 11, 2010

this place was dirty-only 1 bathroom inside - no master bedroom and master bedroom's bed horrible -cheap mattress-something like LOW RENT motel. Bathroom sink leaked and shower had no water pressure. Bathroom outside the door was too big to close so not good if you are with other people. Pool was NOT clean and pool people were there cleaning pool when we arrived and put in so much chemicals we could not use until day we left. $200 was taken from our auto parked inside the grounds within minutes of our arrival. The manager has little or no control of the property so when asked about the internet and cable she could not help us as the cable and internet kept going out. Manager didn't even know who cleaned the pool to have them come back and brush sides down as it was still green on 3rd day with all the chemicals they used so it must not be taken care of weekly. Owner does not live in PR and keeps control of property and is so cheap about paying for a good cleaning and upkeep on property and decent beds and bedding. I don't mind rustic but dirty and cheap beds and bedding I can't handle also was told the pool would be sparkling --DID NOT HAPPEN IN A WEEK THAT WE STAYED THERE.
AGAIN WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE.

I would NOT recommend this place to ANYONE and I have read a review and I can't believe they stayed in the same place.

Owners response: These people stayed in my house 5 months ago. They told me they loved the house and had no complaints about the house or pool while they were there or when they returned home. They got thier depsoit returned. However they have emailed me several times to reimburse them for money that was stolen from the dashboard of thier car. I of course did not reimburse them for somthing irresponsible they did. Therefore thier revenge is this very late bad review. False allegations are as dishonest as the person (if any) who stoled thier money. First who puts 200.00 on the dashboard of thier UNLOCKED car? Then she emailed it was stolen when they got to the house. I am not sure what happened but I know I should not be responsible for people who do not protect thier belongings. Or reimburse them for NOT putting thier money away in a safe place or at least locking the car. I have never had a problem with theft. She said the money was stolen by the pool cleaning service that was there when she was in the house with my property manager. She admits it supposedly happened in minutes. They would have had to leave the pool area.....check out the car (right next to the house) and see the money and take it with the owners less than 5 feet away with windows in that house that the car is visable from. If they had gotten caught they would have lost there job. I know for a fact that Puerto Ricans who are lucky enough to have steady work to feed there famlies would not jepordize ther jobs with something as risky as this. That is my belief. Regardless I will not be responsible and reimburse for foolish behavior.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Perfect

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 13, 2011

This clean, comfortable, well-maintained house was exactly the right size for me, my husband, my 13-year old daughter and my tia. We know the island well and have stayed in other rental properties but this one gets our vote as #1. Although conveniently located on route #3, this area is not congested or tourist-y - the best of both worlds. We easily drove to the grocery store, attractions and activities and still had the birds, lizards and crystal-clear water just steps from the back door. We are an active family and loved snorkeling around the adjacent reef area. We saw a wide variety of fish and even a little octopus! The ocean swimming is a little tricky - but the pool is clean and very nice. There is diving in nearby Salinas and Parguera; fantastic snorkeling at Caja de Muertos (short boat trip from La Guancha at Ponce - if you love snorkeling - you MUST do this trip!) and hiking and natural beauty just north in the bosque. Charco Azul is lovely and the drive is scenic. By chance we met Sherry and she is a kind and helpful host. Irene her on-site caretaker was attentive and hooked us up with some freshly caught fish. We are already planning our return visit. Thank you so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Especially from people who are experienced in Puerto Rico and have stayed other places. This is a true compliment of our unique property and all it has to offer. I got the rare opportunity of meeting these guests and it was a pleasure to meet this family. They are the perfect fit I look for in renting and am so glad they feel this way about my home. See you next year with my return guests discount.
Sherry

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Home Vacation Paradise

Review submitted: April 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

This was our first try at a home rental. We really wanted to get away from the busy,and crowed tourist type of vacation. This is the spot. The house had that spanish flare and the beach front was amazing. Shallow water for swimming and sea shells everywhere. Had the pool for those late night swims. House is spotless clean and in top condition with a well equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances all full size and even beach towels and beach chairs to bring down on to the sandy beach. Palm trees all along the shore so beautiful! The outside shower next to the pool was fun to use during the day too. This is a slow paced peaceful and quiet little town. The nights were so quiet and peacful and you could see stars so bright over the sea The town wakes up on the weekend days with vendors selling food and tinkets along the road. Very authentic Puerto Rico. A great experience. Our family loved it and we will be back again. Irene the property Manager brought us fish and gave great directions to get up to Carite Forest!!! A must see and do while you are there about 20 minutes from the house. I want to thank Sherry for setting all our tours up and being available for all our needs during our stay, She is a true proffessional.
Gina

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: An owners Best Compliment!!!! Thank you!!!!
And thanks so much for writing this review! I really needed to hear this as I work very hard to ensure my guest get what they expect and more. I had one rough week this year with a guest that complained about anything and everything. It was tough. But it feels great that I have gotten this reminder of what a wonderful place my home is. This guest has already booked for next year and that is the best compliment! It shows what I offer with my home, staff and personal service that I provide each and every one who Chooses Casa Caribe Del Sol and Casa Caribe Del Mar. It is guests like you that make all this worthwhile :)
Sherry

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Disappointed

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

We just returned from our vacation at this property and could not recommend this location. While we ended up enjoying our vacation there are things a renter should know that were not properly disclosed to us. First of all, this property is located on a VERY busy & noisy street. We literally could not hear the sound of the waves over the traffic noise. We were also traveling with two small children and it was difficult for them to sleep due to the traffic noise. Also, the beach is very rocky with random broken glass and the ocean is not really swimable due to shallow water and very strong currents (there is a sign next door that says caution swimming due to the currents.) We were under the impression that this would be a good location for swimming and snorkeling and it was not. Irene was very nice but we did notify her of things like the toilet was leaking, there were no batteries in the remote controls, and the cable was not working and she simply said, I know. On a positive note, she did provide us with a high chair and walker for our 11 month old which was great. The master bedroom has a full size bed and overall the place seemed to need some TLC, I can't say it is worth the 1.5 hour drive from the airport, we won't be returning. Luckily, we had great neighbors at the house next door and enjoyed ourselves but felt we could have had so much more out of a rental of this price.

Owners response: I did not get one phone call from this guest during his 9 day stay of any complaints. When he returned home, he informed me he would write a bad review if I did not give him a refund. He complained of noise, dead batteries in the remote and that he had to buy toilet paper when they ran out. He had absolutely no complaints about the beach. This is the first I have heard this and I will gladly forward his email of complaint to any future guest who has this concern. The TV, wifi and phone are all on Direct TV. They are working in both houses. Extra batteries and light bulbs are in the kitchen drawer next to the emergency medical kit. My guests next door are the great neighbors he spoke about as I own/rent this property as well. I take complaints very seriously so I called them and asked about any noise. He informed me that he found out that trucks were carrying dirt off a road 2 miles away from a hill slide. There was noise from this for one day and the next morning, but not where it effected their vacation. Overall their stay was wonderful and they had a great time. I then called my current guests in both houses and they also said they did not have any noise problems or any complaints. I asked them to please take the time to write a review. The street my houses are on is a very narrow two lane road at the end of small town in a residential area. There is a curve in the road so you do need to watch for normal traffic when pulling out. I advise all of my guests of this in advance. I am sure when big trucks drive this road it can be very loud and I am sorry they experienced this. I had guests experience this a couple years ago when they were building a tunnel 2 towns away. But this is NOT the normal pattern or I would not be the number one rental on the south side period. I have been booked in full in 2011 alone Please see my calendar. During this time I have had 26 families with one to two families staying in my homes each week with no complaints. I also have a list of return guests who book in advance each year. When I get a real complaint I take care of it immediately. When the pool pump went out last year I had it repaired and gave the guests 3 extra days at no charge. Us private owners are experiencing guests who try to get money back when they return home to avoid bad reviews. Something they would not even try at hotels. Bad reviews hurt us but, We are making a stand. If you read all reviews you will see the problem is not my home or location here.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

A Paradise vacation Home

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

This was our first try at a home rental. We really wanted to get away from the busy, noisy, and crowed tourist type of vacation. This is the spot. The house had that spanish flare and the beach front was amazing. Had the pool for those late night swims. House is in top condition and well equpped with even beach towels and beach chairs to bring down on to the sand. The outside shower next to the pool was fun to use during the day. This is a slow paced peaceful and quiet little town. Our family loved it and we will be back again. Irene the property Manager brought us fish and gave great directions to get up to Carite Forest!!! A must see and do while you are there about 20 minutes from the house. I want to thank Sherry for setting all our tours up and being available for all our needs during our stay, She is a true proffessional.
Gina

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the review :) We are very glad you decided on us for your first experience in a home rental. My home is the perfect for famlies like you and what I am looking for in renters. I also enjoy helping with the tours to create the best possible vacation in our beautiful Puerto Rico.
Thanks Again and hope to see you next year!
Sherry

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Family Vacation Home

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2011

This beachfront home was everything we had hoped for and more. The house sits right on the beach in this quiet little fishing town. We have 3 young children and the house had everything we needed from beach towels, a fully equipped kitchen and outside BBQ and even had a pack and play and high chair for the baby. The area is beautiful. The sunrises and sunset amazing. It was a great place for us to get away and get some quiet alone time together as a family. This is not a tourist town, It is a residental neighborhood with friendly people, great food and quiet uncrowed beach. It was our first home rental and it was important to us to be away from the noise and crowds to spend time together. If this is what your looking for. Loof no further than here You have found the best spot in Puerto Rico.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I do not usually request reviews. This is a guest choice. But I got my first bad review on the house and location and traffic noise from a guest just the week prior to this guests visit. This family was vacationing at the house when I got the complaint and they also had three small children. So I called to see if they were experiencing any problems during their visit. I was relieved to hear that they loved the beach, pool, house and location and that they were having a wonderful time. They were surprised to hear of any complaints about noise so I asked them to send in a review. Their experience with my home is what I normally hear from my guests. This was very important to me as I cater to family rentals. Thank you so much for sending in this review and so quickly. I work very hard to ensure my guests have a wonderful and memorable vacation.. I have had many guests this year being booked in full. It is my goal to provide the best possible service and accommodations I can. For the majority this is their experience. I am grateful I have had wonderful people like you to share my home with. You deserve the 5 stars :) Thanks again.
Sherry

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Nice Beach House

Review submitted: February 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

Our family of 6 adults stayed in this nice beach house at the New Year, 2011. It is as advertised and the service of the owner and the caretaker was good. The house was clean, well furnished and supplied. We took care of the house and got our deposit back promptly. The landscape in the yard was beautiful with great bushes, flowers and large palm trees down by the Carribean. There is a terrific pool and large porch on the water side of the house. The beach/water is close and a perfect elevation from the house. The view looking out toward the water is terrific. This is a quiet local area without tourists, but we always felt safe. We had 4 college age family members enjoying the pool and beach exploring. It is a nice quite area and we didn't have 10 people walk down the beach in front of the house during our stay. If we plan a visit to the area again, we would rent this property again. Sandi

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review. Even though it is not rain season in January it is still a wet island and I know we had a couple days of rain. Not what is optimal while on vacation but much needed to keep our island green and beautiful. I know you all enjoyed the house pool and beach and that is my priority. I hope to see you all come back again next year.
Sherry

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Paradise On the Ocean with a POOL

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

House is clean, updated and had everthing we needed even beach towels. It was very spacious for the 8 of us. Was here on business in October and came back in December 2010 both times with my family. I wanted a special place for them to vacation while I worked and this is just what I was looking for. The pool was a delight as we did a lot of swimming in the sea and pool during the day and the pool was great at night. Beautiful beach, yard and home as described. Back yard was made for enternaining. Better than the pictures on the web site. The house is at the end of an authentic Puerto Rican fishing village. Not a touristy crowded place at all. The town was beautiful.... it sits on the coast and the people very friendly. Franchesca brought us fresh fish and was very helpful with our excursions. There is a great place right in the hills in town with lakes and streams for a day of fun in the tropical forest. A very different experience from the fun beach house. This is about a 20 minute scenic drive from the house! Sherry was the best and made it easy to rent. Groceries are minutes away. Really loved this property and would recommend it to all.
DRussell

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and always happy to have return guests like you. Yes the Carite Forest with lakes steams and waterfalls are a beautiful place to go. The Botanical gardens in the park are a rare sight. I am glad you and your family had a wonderful time and yes these guests have already booked their next stay. We are so glad you have choosen our little piece of paradise as your home away from home:)
Sherry

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Beach Vacation House

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2010

If you have found this house on the internet, there is no need to look any farther for a perfect spot, lovely house, trustworthy owner and professional local staff. We are a family of 4 adults who spent a week for Christmas 2010 at Casa Caribe del Sol. The photos and descriptions are completely accurate. The house was perfectly clean and well-equipped. Lovely patio with large dining table and comfortable sitting area. Inside, the living room was very comfortable. The appliances are new and everything was quite functional. Seems like a small thing, but the coffee maker was great! Sherry and her staff provided excellent customer service (keeping in contact in the weeks leading to our reservation, providing excellent directions, making reservations at a near-by restaurant for Christmas dinner...) and follow-through--this is important for people who are not familiar with rural Puerto Rico. The neighbors were friendly-the next door neighbors waved us back when they thought we were drifting in the surf too far off the beach. When the neighborhood lights went out briefly one evening, we went out to the street to investigate and the across-the-street neighbors asked if we had enough candles (the house has plenty). We cooked almost every night, and there were plenty of utensils and cookware. The linen closet had plenty of towels. Lovely pool and garden, too--both well-maintained. Great air conditioners in every room. Most days we were the only people on the beach as far as we could see in either direction. Crystal clear water and beautiful palms right up to the water's edge. We snorkeled most days, using our own equipment. The house had a couple of foam noodles, which were fun, too. The current is very strong, so it was fun to walk up the beach, float back to the house and do it all again! There is a small resort hotel a short walk down the beach where we dined 2 nights. They also serve breakfast there and have a bar--massage service, too. We felt very comfortable and secure in the house and neighborhood and on the beach. Thanks, Sherry and Franchesca! We hope to see you again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: WOW!!!!! Thanks for the great review :) It is my pleasure to help my guests in all aspects of thier trip from planning tours, making rservations, etc. Most important is getting guests like you to come and visit our little piece of paradise. You guys are the best!!!!!
Sherry

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Reunion of 17 in a Perfect Paradise

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: December 8, 2010

We are a family of 9 adults and 8 children ages 12 thru 19. We gathered together from every part of the United States for the holidays. We really wanted to stay somewhere that gave us time to reconnect. A space we could call our own and not have to share with others. We started with looking for rentals that could fit all of us. A tall order for our wish list. We decided to rent both Casa Caribe Del Mar and Casa Caribe Del Sol. What a great decision we made as these two properties were a perfect fit. The adults stayed in Del Mar and we put all the kids in Del Sol. They loved having there own place and we had the security of having them next door. They played there music, watched what they wanted on TV and swam in the pool while we had the peace and quiet to ourselves in Del Mar when ever we wanted a break from all there excitement and energy.
Both of these homes are superbly appointed, colorful, not s speck of dust, the linens were crisp and fresh on every bed. I could tell how well cared for these homes are. MOST important is they both were spacious with enough room for us all. The houses had all the amenities we needed and more than expected. Franchesca brought fresh fish twice enough for us all. NOW location. The beach was ours!!!! What beautiful scenery with Coconut Palms lined up and down as far as you could see. I walked every morning, The locals in this residential community waved as I walked along. It had sea shells and coral. Literally untouched by regular tourist beach standards and star fish coral reefs, and shallow for swimming and that we did all day. The water pristine clear a magnificent view. The only negative is the sea is really for shallow swimming. There are many small coral spots to see the sea life but I think the big reef is to far out to explore and also a bit rough where the waves break. As it is private area there is no lifeguard. But we were informed of this before booking. Sherry takes her time in the rental process and made it a breeze. She is very professional and her staff takes a personal interest in making sure we were comfortable. We did some tours that were fun but nothing was better than being at the houses enjoying our private paradise. All in all It was an amazing vacation for us with something of interest for everyone and we look forward to returning next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You all were in a word Awsome!!!!! Loved having you and am so glad you are making my home your family reunion spot. What a compliment and what a pleasure :)
Sherry

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Simply wonderful!

Review submitted: August 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

This house will give you a feeling of vacation that really deserves the name. First of all, it is one of the notable exceptions where you can actually trust the description and the pictures on the web! Once you get there, you'll find it hard not to simply enjoy the atmosphere and the pool and the ocean and the landscape and the culture and and and...
We just returned after 2 1/2 weeks in this property and just loved it! Just imagine opening the doors out to the garden in the morning with the ocean right at your doorstep and gorgeous green mountains at your back and you get an idea of what it's like. If you're looking for 24/7 entertainment and a resort-like atmosphere, this may not be the place for you, but there is so much to see and do in the area that our kids (11, 5, 20 mths) never got bored for a minute!
But it's not just the house itself, I also have to commend Sherry and her staff for the excellent and professional service. We had asked upfront if a baby crib was available and Sherry actually went out and bought a brand-new one! When one day the pool pump stopped working and the water started getting nasty so that we could no longer use it she had it fixed in no time and actually let us stay three additional days for free as a means of compensation! And as for Franchesca, the property manager: a big thumbs up! She was at the house to greet us when we arrived and was always there for us whenever we had a question or needed something - thanks again!
One last comment: Some reviews mentioned the noise from the street but after more than two weeks I can assure you that except for the odd pickup blaring music or the latest supermarket offers it's nothing out of the ordinary and you get used to it after a day or two - no worries!
All in all, it is the kind of place you will want to return to, and I'm sure we will!
Frank

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! I also want to thank you for taking such good care of my home :) I am so glad you had a wonderful time and home to see you next year.
Sherry

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

House with Pool

Review submitted: April 12, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2010

We enjoyed our week's stay at this house rental. We especially enjoyed the pool and the relatively deserted beach. We felt secure with locks on the front and back gates. The house was clean and well-supplied with appliances, flat screen tv, dvd's, etc. We were surprised that there was no hot water but that was not too much of an inconvenience. The house was on a curve and the only way to get out safely was for one person to watch for traffic while the driver backed into an intersecting street. One thing to check out before going to PR is whether or not you can get car liability insurance on your rental car. We rented from Enterprise and could not get liability insurance and were told that was standard. For that reason we will not return to PR since driving is very hazardous there and our regular car insurance does not cover PR.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for the review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. The house has a large hot water tank next to the washer and dryer. It has always been my priority to resolve problems as soon as they happen. I have a great staff who understands how important this is. If this guest had called me or my property manager of no hot water this problem would have been resolved in a matter of minutes.. My next guest informed me of no hot water on the night they arrived. A hot shower is needed after a day of travel for most of us in my opinion. And more important is it is not sanitary for washing hands or dishes without hot water as well. Hot water is essential. My property manager who lives less than two minutes away went to the house and found that the plug was only partly plugged in and had come loose from the outlet. She plugged it back in securely, and of course the problem was resolved :) I am surprised about the car insurance issue as all rental companies not only have liability but encourage insurance. Also my car insurance in the states provide insurance for me while I am in Puerto Rico at no extra charge, so I am always double insured. I would advise calling your personal insurance company on what coverage you have and checking insurance coverage on the rental car web sites when planning your vacation. Lastly my guest is right about the curve in the road. The house is on a small narrow two lane coastal road in a residential area at the end of town. Not a ton of traffic but because of the curve I let all my guest know of this and advise to back in to the drive way for easier in and out access.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just What the Doctor Ordered!

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2010

To escape a cold winter, our family spent the first two weeks of February at Casa Caribe Del Sol. We were 5 adults and 4 kids, ages 5-13. Our overall experience was simply excellent. This property has everything that is needed for a tremendous holiday. The house is in great shape, there is a private beach AND a private pool, the staff is very attentive and Sherry (the property manager) is a pro. Restaurants, points of interest and other beaches are nearby and easy to get to, but honestly, it's hard to leave this house. Home cooked meals, fresh fish, BBQ, sun and quiet make this a 24/7 pool side party. Why go somewhere else when you literally have everything needed for the best family holiday right out the back door? If you are looking for a first class place in the Caribbean that makes you feel like you are in your own home, then this is a great choice... much, much better than a resort for our family. Shelly and her staff will bend over backwards to help meet your needs. The price is right, and the environment is perfect. We now all feel warm, healthy and tan. We would also be happy to return, and that is the highest compliment!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: An owners wish come true :) I am very fortunate to have a family like you come and enjoy our amazing little piece of paradise. Appreciate it for all the beauty and make it the best it can be for a family vacation. Thank you so much!
Sherry

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Paradise with "IT ALL"

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: February 19, 2010

We are 2 families that go on an annual vacation. Because of the economy we decided to try renting a home as any resort costs for suites to accomadate all 8 of us was over our budget this year. We have forever changed our travel plans as renting this house was better than getting ocean front rooms at any resort. The house was in mint condition, spotless clean, top of the line everything. Gated and private had the pool with the ocean as a back drop "beautiful" . The pictures do not do this property justice. The smells of the tropical plants and ocean walking out the back door every morning was the perfect way to start the day. The sunsets were the best we have seen. We had this wonderful beach to ourselves. I think we saw about 5 people on it the entire week. We also took advantage of going down and buying fish and lobster at the docks. It is just what is described on Sherry's web site. We ate like Kings at the best prices ever. There were also 2 resturaunts just a walk down the beach. We worried the house might be to small with 4 teenagers. Not the case here. The house was very spacious and especially after renting the largest suites available at hotels for years, we found the house to be even larger than what we expected from the pictures on the web site especially with both outdoor living spaces where we spent most of out time. We opened both french doors from the house to the outdoor veranda I would bbq while the kids swam in the pool or watched movies on the warm nights with oceans breezes there was more than enough room for us all. We will be back! The value can not be beat. We have never been able to afford ocean front suites at any hotel. Having a beautiful ocean front home gave us "IT ALL" at the lowest prices we have ever paid on any vacation. Sherry was very proffesional, helped us with finding our specific attractions we wanted to see on the island and made reserving this house a breeze. Her staff is the best. We called Maria was there to greet us when we arrived and we also were able to call her several times during our stay for advise on best routes or best resturaunts etc. She was very helpful and made us feel comfortable to know we had someone to call at any time. This quiant little town has such friendly people and last but not least location location location!!!! After traveling around the island that week we knew and want to tell everyone this spot is the BEST!"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks to all of you! I have many very happy guests come and go but few take the time to write a review! It really helps others who are thinking about renting my home......so I am so greatful! Thanks Again :)
Sherry

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Authentic Puerto Rican Paradise

Review submitted: March 18, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

We are 2 families that go on an annual vacation. Because of the economy we decided to try renting a home as any resort costs for suites to accomadate all 8 of us was over our budget this year. We have forever changed our travel plans as renting this house was better than getting ocean front rooms at any resort. The house was in mint condition, spotless clean, top of the line everything. Gated and private had the pool with the ocean as a back drop "beautiful" . The pictures do not do this property justice. The smells of the tropical plants and ocean walking out the back door every morning was the perfect way to start the day. The sunsets were the best we have seen. We had this wonderful beach to ourselves. I think we saw about 5 people on it the entire week. We also took advantage of going down and buying fish and lobster at the docks. It is just what is described on Sherry's web site. We ate like Kings at the best prices ever. There were also 2 resturaunts just a walk down the beach. Sherry warned that it may be tight in the house as we have 4 teenagers. After renting small suites at hotels for years, we found it to be very spacious especially with both outdoor living spaces where we spent most of out time. We opened both french doors from the house to the outdoor veranda I would bbq while the kids swam in the pool or watched movies on the warm nights with oceans breezes there was more than enough room for us all. We will be back! The value can not be beat. We have never been able to afford an ocean front suite at any hotel. This gave us "IT ALL" at the lowest prices we have ever paid on any vacation. Sherry was very proffesional, helped us with finding our specific attractions we wanted to see on the island and made reserving this house a breeze. Her staff is the best. We could not get the outdoor shower handel on. We called Maria and they came and fixed it 30 minutes from our call. Real service, friendly people and last but not least location location location!!!! After traveling around the island that week we knew and want to tell everyone this spot is the BEST!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review