reviews for: listing #62353 - Chicago, Illinois Apartment rental

Writers Retreat near Wrigley and Brown Line in Chicago
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $185 - $205 /nt
    $3,000 - $4,800 /mth

sort by:

Large, Comfortable, Affordable, Convenient

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

This place is beautiful, spotlessly clean, eco-friendly, comfortable, safe, and also AFFORDABLE. The owners are so nice - we have stayed in their Peshtigo rental as well and both places are filled with countless, thoughtful little touches that make them like home - only BETTER. After having stayed at both places I only wish I could rent the OWNERS for a week so that they could make my own home as comfortable as their rentals are. I have recommended these rentals to dozens of friends and colleagues and I am a picky traveler. Thank you Donna!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a pleasure to receive such a wonderful review. We do work hard to provide excellent accommodations. We are thrilled that our guests are so happy with their stay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your place like Chicago is Fantastic

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 25, 2010

You have been very helpful and your place is like a home away from home. I know we'll be back soon and I will highly recommend you and your place to anyone coming to Chicago. Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

No hassles no fuss

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

A great way to visit the city. Relaxing meals in a clean and well kept apartment with Donna always available for questions. Easy parking. We were able to have our own son stay over and his Grandmother. We so appreciated your help and hope to be back some day.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Coming Back

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 16, 2010

We had a great time here! We loved your place. Thank you for the awesome service you gave us. Til we meet again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We've dubbed this "Our Chicago House"

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 10, 2010

We have truly enjoyed our visit to the Writers' Retreat! The apartment is so charming! We loved the location, walking to Chicago Joe's was an adventure for our boys! Thank you for the personal attention, also! We loved it and hope to return soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home Away from Home

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 6, 2010

We are traveling around the world for 7 months and finding your place was exciting, it really felt like a little and beautiful home away from home. We really enjoyed the beautiful city of Chicago and its architecture. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

We were very happy with everything. Close to everything - including Wrigley Field. Thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved the apartment!

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

Such a nice and quiet neighborhood too. We will definitely recommend it to our friends and family. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will be back!

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

We so loved our flat. It was quiet and well located. We were central to all our friends, as well as stores and restaurants and pubs. Thank you for your hospitality and for making our stay so wonderful!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfortable "homey" place to stay

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

We had a wonderful time. We felt we were so close to downtown, but staying in a quiet, safe neighborhood. We ate some wonderful food and saw some beautiful sites. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful, comfortable place to stay

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

Thank you. We have tried many places that would accept our two French Bulldogs, but this was a winner.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for a great spot

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 23, 2010

It was an easy place to be with our family with many thoughtful touches.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks - a great spot with many thoughtful touches

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

We were very comfortable and enjoyed our stay in Chicago. The museums are impressive. Everyone was very friendly and we regret we did not have time to explore it all more thoroughly. Best wishes.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

It was a working trip so not a lot of fun time, but this apartment was a great place to come "home" to. I am truly a small town guy and this place made me feel very comfortable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Parking in Chicago

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 7, 2010

Comfortable apartment, perfect location for us to use as a base when we visit our family nearby. Thanks for the warm hospitality and the fresh flowers!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time!

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

Thanks so much for your hospitality and generosity. Your place provided a comfy, cozy, homey place for us to rest. I appreciate your help with setting up our stay and all your tips for getting around.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So much better than a hotel room

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 19, 2010

Thanks so much for making our stay here great. We love the neighborhood and we're easily able to walk and ride the bus to Ed Deberic's (fun!). Wish we could stay longer. We will recommend you to anyone we know coming to Chicago.

P.S. Thanks for all the details, but especially the water!! And the mints! And the iron! And the big TV! And the internet.....etc., etc. Oh and the flowers, too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the flowers

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

We enjoyed our stay in your charming condo. We've been on the road for a week, so it was really nice having so much space to spread out. Also liked having a washer and dryer. Location near Wrigley was great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice Quiet Street and Free Parking

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: August 24, 2010

We loved this place! The beds were so comfy - the bedding great! We all felt so refreshed each day. We loved the location and proximity to my son's new college. All the extras were great. It was nice to stretch out in a comfortable living space for a few days. We hope to come back when we visit Chicago again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

We had a lovely time with all my family in one place in your nice apartment.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asante Sana

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2010

Thank you so much for the fantastic place. We will be back for sure.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you again!

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2010

Thank you for the wonderful apartment. I really enjoyed my time here with family. This is an excellent home you've built. Even though I live in the city, coming here to spend time with family was a real treat for me. I was so glad we could spend the weekend together.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for your help

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

The apartment is in an ideal location for exploring and really quiet. The weather has been kind to us. We've all had a great time in Chicago.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for the good apartment!

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2010

The apartment was great! The location was ideal for us to travel around the city on the train, which made it easy for us to get down to the marathon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ideal Place

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

This was an ideal place for our family to stay on our long weekend!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here. It was very relaxing. Thank you for providing a great place.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We really enjoyed the place.

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

We really enjoyed the place. We are from D.C., California and Wisconsin, but originally we are from Chicago.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice Place!

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: November 28, 2009

Nice Place! Love the woodwork. Great Location and good parking.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was perfect!

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2009

Thanks for a great time in Chicago. It was perfect!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

Thank You

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You!

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

We had a great time here in Chicago. The Men's Health Urbanathalon turned out great. We really enjoyed staying in your comfortable home. Thank You!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

Thank you for the apartment which is really comfortable!!! We really enjoyed our trip in Chicago!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review