reviews for: listing #62401 - Austin, Texas House rental

Garden Bungalow--close walk to downtown
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Central East
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $199 - $219 /nt
    $1,310 - $1,453 /wk

sort by:

Charming Bungalow and Gardens in a Great Location

Review submitted: March 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay and plan to return on our next visit to Austin. A charming bungalow in a great location. We have stayed in many homes/apartments during our travels and yours is one of the nicest. Martha was also so kind and helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great, Relaxing place to stay

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 5, 2012

This was a cute little bungalow, but plenty of room for 4 people to stay in. Nice to have the patio and little back garden too with a BBQ to cook on. They had everything we needed to cook with, towels, even blowdryer and first aide kit. Debora and Lorne were fantastic and made sure we had everything we needed. Payments were easy and refund was timely. I will definitely stay again if I have the chance.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Thankfully, Precisely as Presented Online - No surprises

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

My husband and I just returned from moving our son and daughter-in-law into their new home in Austin this past weekend. While there we rented the bungalow in hopes of having a nice, quiet, clean place to resort to after wrestling with the heat of Austin and the chore of packing and unpacking. This property was one of several that fit for location and price, but had certain additional assets that caused me to choose it.

Eponymous Gardens, unlike many VRBOs listings, allowed for a 2 night minimum. I like that. Often, once you arrive you can extend your stay if needed, but not be obliged to before actually seeing the place and sleeping on the bed.

As for the house itself, I think the outdoor picture can be deceiving. The house is exceptionally clean, spacious, and airy with lots of light. Loved the front and back porches. The backyard deck w grill offered kids a good excuse to come rest a little from moving in, while Dad cooked out, creating additional memories before saying good-byes.

I suppose what surprised me THE most during our stay was how amazingly quiet it was despite the fact we were so close to downtown! A lot of “out in the country” nature sounds. And of course being greeted by a nice rain while we were there didn’t hurt any. During the day occasional neighborly visits were heard and one night beautiful music from a nearby wedding floated our way. Otherwise really felt tucked away, out in the country.

As for the bed, I have low back trouble so finding a good bed is hard for me. Though I prefer a queen or king, this one slept well enough for me. But my husband who is very picky really loved it. He's pretty picky about everything and loved everything about this house, inside and out. In fact, all of it really began to grow on both of us the longer we were there.

In a nutshell, our likes: Clean, Roomy, Light, Quiet, Good Location, Privacy, 2 screen doors w/locks, Front porch, Back deck w/ cooker and table for 4, great air conditioner, adequate parking.

Personal preferences I missed? Two bedside tables w/ lamps, rather than one as I'm a big night time reader.

By time we left we almost felt like part of the community. Homes are so much better than hotels when you can find a good one. There's something about hearing a screen door slap behind you, neighbors laughing and chatting over fences that makes you feel like you're home.

Thanks y'all! We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Philadelphians want to move IN!

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

This was my first trip to Austin, TX and the first Homeaway experience for my husband and I, and both the city and the Garden Bungalow were fabulous! We came east from Philadelphia, and we stopped first in San Antonio before we headed north to Austin. I really appreciated the quick and informative communication between Lorne and myself to set up the arrangements, and to make us feel very comfortable about what to expect upon our arrival and who was to assist us. The bungalow is located in East Austin which is a colorful neighborhood with restaurants, shops, bazaars, markets, library, food trucks, etc. within a comfortable walking distance of the bungalow, and we easily walked into downtown Austin as well. Deborah greeted us and toured us around the bungalow and compound - she is lovely! She was very patient with our questions about the household amenities and the neighborhood highlights. The garden bungalow is lovely - a simply sweet home with great design, decor, and energy. The kitchen was fully stocked to cook almost any meal, and if we needed something in addition, Deborah found it for us. Coca-Cola was in the frig as a welcoming treat, and there were spices and oils from previous travelers, and we left some too for the next guest! We spent two hours in the flagship Whole Food store romping around the aisles and loading up our cart - what fun!! Back at the bungalow I loved the bathroom shower, and the quick drying towels that I am running out to buy when I get home. The bedrooms were spacious with plenty of storage drawers and closets, and the beautiful hardwood floors cover the entire floor plan. We were able to wash and dry our clothes right there, so you do not need to bring a lot of luggage. My husband and I hung out a lot at the bungalow, because it was so comfortable and we were just happy to be anywhere in Austin. The vegetation in the garden secluded us, the artwork and "exhibits" intrigued us, and the variety of birds entertained us as we lounged on the back deck with the covered table and chairs to protect us from the hot sun, and we were also able to grill out and enjoy a late night dinner under the clear Texan sky. Every day we headed to the hot tub for a relaxing, private soak. There were other travelers close by in adjacent "aways" in the compound, but we only occasionally saw them and they were very friendly and having a good time as well. We will be back as we told Deborah at our departure. Austin is a super friendly city!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Absolutely Fabulous!!!!!!

Review submitted: December 15, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

WOW....what a lovely property. Our family was seeking a relaxing vacation at a property that felt like home. We "hit it on the nail" with the Eponymous Garden Bungalow. The layout and amenities of the rental were fabulous. It is very well maintained and close to all of the attractions Austin has to offer. The property owner as well as property manager were great to work with......very attentive, professional and welcoming. The next time we are in
Austin, we plan to stay there again. We would highly recommend.

Lisa

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

I'd rather not share the Bungalow . . .

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

But, that would be too selfish.

This is THE BEST Downtown Austin location, in a historic, eclectic/funky neighborhood, with fun bars, restaurants, and shops, all within walking distance, all within the hottest "new" area in Austin.

The Bungalow is extremely clean, well-maintained, and comfortable, and the owners have thought of everything (wireless, coffee service, numerous amenities). Sit on the back deck overlooking the Garden, or hang out in the coolest "Grotto" in the backyard (a late 1800's shed with an amazing collection of visually interesting artifacts - a must see). Take a hot tub, or grill out on the deck. So much to do here, you might not make it out to see all that's nearby.

This is my 2nd stay in the Bungalow, and I'm done looking for a place to stay in Austin. I still really can't believe you can rent this place so affordably and be this close to everything that Downtown Austin has to offer. Walking through this neighborhood and checking out all of the creative houses, yards and gardens, and restored homes, is a really fun way to get an impression of just how neat this area is. And, the Bungalow is in the heart of it all. It's a perfect "home base" for your Austin experience.

Can't say enough about Lorne and Deborah. They are great, thoughtful hosts, and are really easy to work with. The whole experience has been a fun discovery, and I can't wait to return for some more Austin adventures.

Thanks again for everything!

Chris

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great and charming little spot!

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

We had a great experience at Eponymous Garden! This is a cute little house that somehow manages to be totally clean and modern but maintains a quirky, interesting style. I *loved* all the windows and light. The shared garden, of course, makes it all the more special. I loved the "grotto" in the garden... great for nighttime drinks and chit-chat. The hot tub is also a bonus, but we found we were out and about so much, we barely had time to enjoy it.

The manager was on-site and very attentive. We basically had everything we could need. (Thank you for having a coffeemaker!)

I also got a tour of the larger Victorian house, which they also rent. That is *amazing*. I would love to rent the whole house! Actually, I would rent the whole compound for an event.

In terms of location, we walked everywhere... to downtown locations, eastside locations, and to south congress (over the bridge where the bats are). It was a lot of walking, but definitely do-able if you are up for it. If not, a cab ride is close and cheap! Or you could bike.

Overall, we loved our experience. The only downside was that at times I felt like there were a lot of dogs barking outside and/or outside noises. There is not a lot of extra land around the property... it's on a regular residential street. Also, wouldn't recommend it for anyone who would want a ton of personal space. The place is small and the bedrooms are right next to each other. The garden is pretty large but also shared with other houses.

Thanks, Eponymous Garden, for a great Austin experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Eponyomus Garden Bungalow

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2011

Wonderful upcoming area,access to city,park,restaurants and shopping so easy. Great house and gardens. Dog friendly. WE will be there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Quaint and delightful Get Away

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

We were looking for a small place to spend the Thanksgiving holiday and found this delightful bungalow in the midst of the city!!! The place was perfect for our family and we spent a great deal of time enjoying the back deck, the gardens and the fabulous spa!!! We were pleased with all the little extras that our hosts provided--from the drinks and coffee in the kitchen to the lovely shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion samplers. The owners were fabulous to work with---attentive but not intrusive --and we had such a great time that we would highly recommend this place and the adjoining properties to anyone who is looking for a place to get away to in Austin! Convenient to walk to lots of restaurants and parks---lovely accommodations that we would enjoy staying at again!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

This was a wonderful place to stay for our girls' weekend! Relatively close to downtown - we walked one evening, which was very doable. Yet still quiet and peaceful. Loved the decor, the deck and the gardens. Would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

charming cottage perfect for a vacation

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 12, 2010

We had such a lovely experience in this cottage. A fun couples weekend spent with our friends from Chicago was excellent. The entire house is renovated. The beds were very comfortable and everything was spotless. Lorne was accommodating and always available for advice on the area or if we had any questions. The amenities in the house were above and beyond any you would get in a hotel. The back yard is a mini oasis with tall palm trees, a beautiful fountain and tons of fresh vegetables and herbs growing around the house. We had a lovely stay and are sure to go back soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review