reviews for: listing #62668 - Santa Fe, New Mexico House rental

Luxury Home 5 Min Walk to Plaza; Nov.-Dec. Rates Reduced!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Plaza and Railyard
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $120 - $240 /nt

sort by:

Lovely House

Review submitted: August 17, 2014   Date of arrival: August 8, 2014

We spent a delightful five days in this house! The house is well appointed and has everything you need to enjoy Santa Fe! It is walking distance to the Plaza and to many great restaurants and other sites, including the SF farmers market. We loved the house -- the two bedrooms and bathrooms met our needs perfectly and we were very comfortable. The common space was great -- for being together inside and out -- since the garden is delightful and the dining area and living room have comfortable seating! Parking was easy, though we only used our car for outside of the city excursions. The owners are extremely knowledgeable about the area and very helpful. A great experience for us in every way!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT Location!

Review submitted: August 3, 2014   Date of arrival: June 23, 2014

We have stayed at several homes in Santa Fe. This home is ideally located to the plaza, and it is a beautiful place to stay. The house is comfortable, clean, and well-equipped.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding Home, Amenities, Location, Owners, Santa Fe Vacation

Review submitted: August 2, 2014   Date of arrival: July 15, 2014

We enjoyed everything about this meticulously kept, absolutely beautiful home. It was a perfect place for the four of us to stay during our first visit to Santa Fe.
The outstanding location enabled us to walk to many of the wonderful attractions: The Plaza, great restaurants that the owners recommended, Loretto Chapel, Georgia O'Keeffe Museum...We enjoyed our morning coffee and afternoon happy hour on the beautiful, private, hollyhocks-blooming-all-around patio, relaxed near a roaring pinon wood fire in the pretty living room kiva fireplace and slept soundly in the comfortable beds. We have already recommended this home to friends who are planning to visit Santa Fe. Don't hesitate to contact Susan and Andy, the owners, who are knowledgeable about the area and will assure that you have a comfortable, enjoyable vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home again - away from home

Review submitted: July 12, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2014

We recently returned from a Santa Fe getaway in late June/early July. It was our third stay in this lovely house, which is conveniently located within easy walking distance of the governor's palace and local restaurants, galleries, etc. The house is nicely appointed, with great beds/linens, comfortable furniture, quiet AC units, and good bathrooms. A real bonus is the outdoor patio; wonderful at all times of day, but particularly in the early morning and after dinner. The whole setting has a "vibe" that really appeals to us; we feel very much at home at Agua Fria.

With that in mind, we strongly disagree with the recent reviewer who found that the house had "too many rules." The rules don't amount anything more than practicing the "Golden Rule" to treat others (and their houses) the way you would want to be treated. Common sense, really, and nothing that we haven't seen in other rental properties. We love the Santa Fe area, and plan on making more trips there in the future. When we search for lodging, we'll start by seeing if our house on Agua Fria is available.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Judy & Bob

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: May 26, 2014

This is a lovely comfortable home with all the amenities. We were very impressed that the cabinets were stocked with the necessities you need if you want to do a little cooking while on vacation, I.e. Spices, oils, coffee, etc. The house was furnished with great care and everything was to be used,had instructions for usage and what to do if you had problems. everything was within walking distance if you are coming for the art scene and cultural activities with many good restaurants close by. The house was spotless when we arrived and definitely did not look like a rental, but someone's much loved home. We would not hesitate to recommend to friends and family and will definitely return.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

lovely get away close to everything

Review submitted: July 6, 2014   Date of arrival: June 27, 2014

House is with in walking distance of plaza, art museum, wonderful art galleries at the renovated rail station. Lovely place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Terrific little house in Old Santa Fe

Review submitted: July 6, 2014   Date of arrival: June 27, 2014

We immensely enjoyed our stay in this modest house -- clean, well-equipped, and well-organized with a booklet prepared by the owner with things to do, places to go, and quite reasonable requests about caring for the place.
House is bright and airy, well cooled by fans that made the air conditioner unnecessary. Minutes from restaurants and galleries, farmers market, music venues. Private back yard with lovely trees and flowers and a table with sun umbrella. No street noise, either. Gosh, what more could one want?

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house, Great location

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: May 2, 2014

All I can kindly say is that the home is beautiful , perfectly appointed and has every amenity you may need. It is located in a perfect location on a quiet street a short walk from EVERYTHING!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful house but...

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

While the house is beautiful and centrally located be prepared for a long list of rules.... shovel the drive, put out the trash, don't put bags on bed, don't bring golf clubs in the house, and much more. I understand the owner plans on using this house as their future retirement house, but if they are SO concerned about the house then maybe they should reconsider renting it. I'm on vacation and don't want to shovel the drive and worry about putting a scratch on the hardwood floors. Had I seen the list of rules before I entered into the rental contract I would not have booked this house.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are baffled by this guest's critique. Although we are sorry that she felt so put out by the house rules, these rules are sent to all guests as a part of the contract they sign when they make their reservations. So, this person knew the rules and had the opportunity to decline to make the reservation if they posed a problem for her. Furthermore, the only real "chore" that was requested of this guest was to roll the trash can a few feet down the driveway to the street because she checked out on the day that trash was picked up. And, even with that, we offer the means for having this (and other jobs) to be done by our caretaker. Furthermore, we've never penalized anyone for not putting out the trash.
Although our rules might seem onerous to some, we are really only asking that guests treat the house as if it were their own and that they not do things that might damage or infest it or that break City ordinances. Our goal, which we've been very successful at achieving, is to maintain the house in pristine condition for future guests. By reading our overwhelmingly positive other reviews and our high rate of returning visitors, one can see that most of our guests actually appreciate that the house is consistently maintained in excellent condition and don't mind abiding by a few commonsense rules that serve to keep it that way.
We also want to be sure that prospective guests understand that our visitors are never required to clean, do laundry, make beds, or the like. Our housekeeper does an outstanding job at making the house spotlessly clean and in order, inside and out, for each new set of guests. Susan and Andy, owners

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mother and Daughter weekend in Santa Fe

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 6, 2014

This was a planned mother and daughters trip. None of us had ever been to Santa Fe. We had
a great time. The house was close to everything. We hiked, shopped, cooked at home (beautiful kitchen) and played cards till the early hours. The home is also beautifully decorated and well equipped with everything you would need. Recommendations of restaurants and hikes in home as well. We would definitely go back. Only there for 4 days -- not long enough. Next time we will stay for a week.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This place is a gem!

Review submitted: April 20, 2014   Date of arrival: April 15, 2014

What a perfect place for our 6 day visit to Santa Fe! If you're planning a visit to this beautiful city, you will find no better place to stay than this comfortable, lovely, spotless home. The house is on the north side of town, in a quiet neighborhood, with easy access to routes 84 & 285 (so convenient for us as we headed north to hike in Bandelier National Monument, the Ghost Ranch outside of Abiquiu, the White Rocks on the Dar Es Islam mosque in Abiquiu, Taos, the Santuario de Chimayo, etc.). And it's an easy walk to all points in the Old Town and the Railyard. The home is spacious, with two large and lovely bedrooms (with very comfortable king size beds and pillows) each with a bath. The kitchen and dining room are bright, and the kitchen is fully equipped (the washer and dryer is in the kitchen too behind a door). Every appliance is easy to use. When we travel, we love to have a comfy place to stay, to come back to at the end of a long day, to have breakfast, pack a lunch to take on our hikes, and cook when we want to. And this place fit the bill perfectly. We cooked supper in three times and ate out three times. Grocery stores are nearby (easy to get to). My wife and I and another couple stayed in this lovely home for 6 days. Weather was perfect so we never needed to turn on the heat or the AC; and we never used the kiva fireplace or the TVs = we were too busy! But they're here for your use if/when you need them. The back yard/patio is private and comfortable; and a lovely spot to enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the day. Easy-to-use, secure Wi-Fi access. Susan, the owner, was great to work with throughout the process. She was responsive to our requests, answered our questions quickly, kept in touch by email promptly. Her "house information" is superb and fully describes everything you need to know about how things work, where things are, what needs to be recycled and when, etc. She also sent info about places to see, hikes to take, restaurants to try, and a whole host of other things. You'll receive her packet by email after your final deposit is paid; and the "welcome manual" in the house contains the same information. I should note that we ate at the Cowgirl BBQ just around the corner; La Choza, a few minutes drive away on Mercer Street; and La Boca up on West Marcy - easy walking distance near the Plaza. If we come back to visit Santa Fe, we know where we'll be staying: right here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming home in great location!

Review submitted: April 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

The home was very charming with interesting art work and decorating. It is located very near town so that even old folks like us could walk to restaurants and many attractions. We especially enjoyed the Georgia O'Keefe museum. We were also lucky to have great weather in February.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guest

Review submitted: February 13, 2014   Date of arrival: February 9, 2014

We have just returned to our own home after staying in this wonderful home in Santa Fe. This was our very first VRBO rental, and I know it will be THE standard of any we ever book. The owners have gone out of their way to make sure every need/want of their guests is met. There truly was nothing lacking. Every pictures and every word the owner says is the truth. The home was beautiful, comfortable, clean, and convenient.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home in a perfect location!

Review submitted: February 1, 2014   Date of arrival: January 21, 2014

I have stayed in several VRBO rentals and enjoyed them all. This house in Santa Fe is my favorite and I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Santa Fe. The home is very quiet and, even though my sister is a morning person and I am an evening person, we did not have to worry about disrupting each others' routines. We generally ate out at many of the excellent local restaurants, but it was nice to have all the conveniences of home to prepare a few meals in. There were plenty of excellent restaurants within walking distance so my car was conveniently parked off street most of the trip. The house looked just like the photos in the listing and I would recommend this property to anyone visiting Santa Fe. There are many museums that are definitely worth a trip including the Georgia O'Keefe Museum and several museums on the hill. We were fortunate to be in Santa Fe during the Goya Exhibit at the New Mexico Art Museum.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming, comfortable and close to Plaza and Railyard Districts

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

The home's layout is perfect for two couples with 2 separate bedrooms and bathrooms. The location is great with a short walk to the Plaza, restaurants and shopping. There is a nice private backyard although we didn't get a chance to enjoy it and good parking next to the house for two cars. Susan provided a helpful manual about house information, as well as, restaurants and activities. Highlights were a walking tour in the Plaza area, visiting the Monroe Gallery and Museum of International Folk Art. We would love to return for a longer stay next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic winter break

Review submitted: January 28, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

This is a very cosy house perfectly located in downtown.
Our family had a great winter break (Dec-Jan) in Santa Fe. While we mostly spent our time skiing, this convenient location is perfect for shopping or just walking to the historic part of Santa Fe. This house has everything one may need. Just think about it as if you relocated your house to Santa Fe.
The house is located on a quiet street with a very good parking (we have a large SUV and had no problem in parking it). It takes only 20-25 minutes to get to the ski resort and there are a few grocery stores nearby (whole foods, trader joe's).
We definitely will come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best first-time visit to Sante Fe

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: December 6, 2013

Incredible, convenient location, easy off-street parking, very comfortable (and very clean!) abode, everything one might need furnished. Very clear directions about everything in the house and out and about, great restaurant reviews (although the farmers market and the fabulous kitchen encouraged us to stay in to eat quite often!). We were there in December - and an unseasonably cold one at that - so no hiking, just great walking. But, that only means we'll be back. And, we know just where to stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home for our Girls Trip

Review submitted: January 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

Three of us attended a wedding in Santa Fe, we chose this house over the hotel location because of the extra space. We were very impressed with the space, location and all around quaintness of this house. The weather was a little too cold to walk everywhere, but believe me, in warmer times, the location would be perfect for walking to the plaza. We took cabs, the wedding venues took place in and around the plaza that weekend, our cab fares were very reasonable. House is all around quite nice.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Land of Enchantment

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 28, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. Clean, comfortable and close to everything.
I am a cook and loved the kitchen and dining areas. Only one small complaint,owner had plenty of knives but not one was sharp!!! Even Henkel knives need to be sharpened sometimes! Otherwise, the kitchen is fully stocked with everything you could need. Loved the copper sink and beautiful tile in kitchen.
Living room was comfortable and we loved the fireplace. T.V. could be bigger although we spent so much time away in the beautiful area that it was not too bad.
I loved the outside patio area. It was in the 50's to 60's when we were there and we still were able to enjoy it in the afternoon. I imagine it is great in a little bit warmer weather.
One really nicely done bathroom and one just average. But plenty of towels and super clean.
The house was walking distance to restaurants , bars and shopping and even when car needed,everything was very close. Susan made a super nice booklet that had so much info on what to do and where to eat. I have rented many VRBO places and I think she had the best info!!!
This was our first visit to Santa Fe but hope it won't be our last. I would rent this wonderful home again as it was just perfect for our needs. The owners were very helpful and had phone numbers for any problem that could come up, we had no problems.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Splendid fall visit in beautiful house in great location

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2013

I can’t imagine a better place to stay when visiting Santa Fe. This is an extremely clean and perfectly maintained house that’s walking distance to everything in town. I really appreciated the historic adobe, bungalow-style architecture and lovely furnishings. The house has so many beautiful and high quality features and an attention to detail not often found in most vacation rentals.

I’m a light sleeper, but there was no audible outside noise to disturb my sleep in the back bedroom, where I slept. While there, I remarked to my travel mates at how particularly comfortable the bed and bedding were and so was surprised to see the a recent review criticizing these.

I also concur with the many guests who found the owners’ detailed house manual to be helpful in house operations and also an invaluable travel guide. Their obvious love of the house and the area shines throughout the guide. Santa Fe is a special place, and staying here made it a perfect vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A great anniversary trip

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

This was our third stay at the property; we have not found anything like it for the price in the Santa Fe area. The house and yard now feel like "ours" when we arrive. Furnishing are classically Santa Fe, and give the house a very authentic appearance and feel. King-size beds are quite comfortable and provide a restful sleep, with plenty of warm covers when the mountain air gets cold in the Fall.

Having your own kitchen to prepare/eat breakfast is wonderful, and avoids having to go out for every meal while on vacation; that's a real plus. The sunny backyard is great for morning coffee, an afternoon glass of wine, or just reading a book.

We have stayed at the house by ourselves, and also with another couple. There is definitely room for 4 adults, though some may prefer one couple in order to have the whole house to themselves. We did not use/need the computer equipment, but it was nice to know it was there.

As a busy physician who very much appreciates comfort and quality, I can attest that this house offers plenty of both. My wife and I will most definitely return, and would not hesitate to recommend the property to friends visiting Santa Fe.

As an aside, I would note that the guest information book was very complete, and most helpful. Lots of good ideas on dining, sightseeing, restaurants, etc. It is clear that the owners want their guests to feel at home. We did!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

C&M from San Diego CA

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

Loved the home. My wife and our oldest daughter and son in law, had a great time in Santa Fe during the Indian Market week. The home was perfect for four adults. We brought home a pizza one afternoon and made good use of the the nice setting at the back yard. Had pizza and beer and listen to some good old rock & roll. Thanks for sharing your home with us. We plan on coming back again!

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice Rental on Aqua Fria St. in Santa Fe

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

This home is marketed as "luxurious" and that is an exaggeration from the perfectly fine home that it is. This home is well maintained and was suitable to meet our the day-to-day needs, but Luxurious is an over-selling of the home. The beds were probably a good grade a number of years ago, but I had trouble getting a good rest. The pillows and bedding also could use an up-grading. The dining room and kitchen were the most appealing part of the home. There were adequate pots, pans and china to make our mostly in-house dining a pleasant experience. There was also a basic set of stapes in the cupboard which was very nice. Tho the fridge seemed to run at all times which made it seem to not be very energy efficient. All and all our visit to Aqua Fria St. was fine- even very pleasant. The push button lock with our own private combination was very convenient- not needing separate keys for each of us (3) as we sometimes went our separate ways. The back yard looked very pleasant but because it rained most of the time we were there (Sept 13), we did not get to appreciate it. Susan was a delight to work with making arrangements, and her detailed notes were helpful if one needed direction in dining or day-to-day activities. All were well researched and well commented upon. It ended up that we probably did not need such a convenient in-town location since we mostly pursued out-of-town interests like Tent Rocks, Bandolier Cliffs and the Jemez Springs valley. The Valles Caldera is a highlight not to be missed! We are grateful for our time in Santa Fe and hope to return one day. Thank you Susan!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

DEFINITELY AWESOME HOME AND SO VERY CLOSE TO THE FUN OF SANTA FE!

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

We walked to and from all amenities and it was a very short walk and safe. Great place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Rental!

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

We loved this place. Fantastic location and super clean and comfortable. Looking forward to my next visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply the best

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

Every detail of our stay-from initial online preview of the property and amenities-to locking the door on the way out-was exceptional in every way. The house was exactly as depicted, if not better. I felt the owners were personally invested in the success of our stay in Santa Fe on all levels.

The "How to, Where to" binder in the house was much appreciated. Especially the level of detail regarding the operation of every appliance, the a/c units, check out procedures, etc.

It's difficult to imagine a better place to stay. Thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Home Away From Home!

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

This is a comfortable adobe house on Agua Fria, which is located within walking distance to the Railyard District (and the organic farmer’s market among other interesting places.) We have stayed in rental homes in 3 countries and I feel like I can make a pretty good check list for what makes a great rental experience. It was so nice to return to this house after a long day seeing the sights or walking through galleries. We’d kick our shoes off, pour cold drinks and relax. We had a wonderful time!

1. Location – Agua Fria has it. You can walk to lots of places to eat, drink, shop.
2. Parking - Check. It’s free and off street.
3. Bedroom comfort – Agua Fria has 2 bedrooms with en suite baths. Both rooms are nice, comfortable, and quiet. There are extra pillows. Both have on demand ac and heat with individual room controls. Both have a window that opens. One has a tv. There is a tv in the living room too, but we never turned it on.
4. Bathrooms - The showers have great water pressure, and there is 1 tub. It is nice to have a bathroom for each bedroom when you travel with friends.
5. Kitchen – The kitchen is in the back part of the house and has great windows which look onto the courtyard. These windows all have screens and can be opened. There is a nice dining table adjacent to the kitchen. We sat there a lot because the light was so great. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you might need, whether you cook or just open wine and eat what you gathered at the market or Trader Joe’s. I really loved the kitchen. It has a nice layout.
6. Outdoor space - The courtyard is a real bonus. It is private and spacious enough to have a few trees, a bbq grill, and a dining table & chairs (with umbrella.) We used it daily.
7. Free WiFi - Check!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beautiful Home in a Great Location!

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 21, 2013

The home on Agua Fria Street is beautiful and exceeded our expectations. My friend and I enjoyed a most perfect week in Santa Fe and enjoyed the house (photos accurately reflect the home), perfect weather, and all the wonderful things there are to do in this special southwest area.

This was my first time to visit Santa Fe, so I wasn't certain about the location -- but it turned out great! We were easy walking distance to the rail yard station, which was perfect for experiencing the Saturday Farmer's Market (a must-do!), and walking to restaurants and shopping, and an easy drive or walk to the Plaza. Given it was in close proximity to the main highway, it was easy for our day trips to Abiquiu, Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs, and Taos.

I would recommend making reservations for the Georgia O'Keeffe Studio Tour in Abiquiu if you are interested in her art -- it was one of the highlights of our trip. Lunch and the gift shop at the Abiquiu Inn was lovely and the surrounding scenery amazing. Ojo Caliente Spa and Mineral pools were awesome. The Santa Fe Cooking School is an easy walk from the house and the next time I visit, I will make arrangements to do one of the cooking classes or walking/eating tours they organize.

The food in Santa Fe is amazing and worth the plane ticket in and of itself. La Choza and The Shed for the red chili sauce, Love Apple in Taos was fabulous, guacamole at Gabriel's (on the ride back from up north), lunch at Tia Sopia's, the fun atmosphere at the upstairs bar of Coyote Cafe. So much fun and good food! Susan and Andy's recommendations were all excellent -- try to read all their good information in the House Book at the beginning of your vacation.

This property is wonderful and the owners take great care and pride in it. What a treat they are sharing with others! Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wisconsin visitors

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

We loved this home away from home in Santa Fe! It was perfect and within walking distance of everything! It was great to have the binder full of good information about dining, entertainment, etc. The kitchen and back patio were super...just wish we would have done some cooking at the house, but there were too many restaurants to explore!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Location & Very Comfortable House

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

The house was well-suited to two couples with plenty of privacy - - two bedrooms and modern bathrooms. It was an easy walk to most downtown locations as described in the listing. The photos accurately portray the home's furnishings. The property was well cleaned prior to arrival. Susan was helpful in further describing the house and its location as well as making recommendations for attractions and dining. There is also a binder in the house of helpful instructions, maps, attractions and dining options. We would strongly recommend this house to friends or relatives.
The dining options are too numerous to list but Pascual's, Santacafe and the bar at the Inn of the Anasazi are among the many standouts. We enjoyed the Georgia O'Keefe Museum as well as the New Mexico Art Museum. We made a day-trip to Taos taking the High Road going and the very long way around returning - - I wouldn't necessarily put Taos at the top of the list if your time is constrained. When coming from ABQ, first time visitors may want to travel to Santa Fe by the Turquoise Trail.
As a recommendation for visitors to this or any house on VRBO, keep in mind the next visitors when purchasing staples and other items. Don't skimp. You will be rewarded when arriving by high quality goods and, ideally, the next visitor will have the same experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Santa Fe

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

Very nice place within short walking distance to plaza. We rented this place for a fraction of the cost that our friends paid for an upscale hotel room & we felt that we had the better accommodations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Santa Fe Getaway

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2013

My husband and I found this rental to our satisfaction in every way. The house itself is beautiful and well-equipped. The location is ideal. It's close to the plaza and even closer to the many shops and restaurants near the railroad station. And yet you have all the benefits of living in a quiet, residential neighborhood. We also enjoyed some of the nearby opportunities to explore New Mexico terrain and history. Susan and Andy, as others have said, make it all easy. They provide guests (and you do feel like guests!) with tons of local knowledge, and Susan is open and friendly throughout the rental process. We are retirees, but I could see from the entries in their guest book that families and groups of all types enjoyed their stays as much as we did.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Location!

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2013

What a beautiful home and what a fabulous location!

This is a HOME: comfortable, welcoming, airy, and fully "loaded." We enjoyed cooking full breakfasts and enjoying our coffee in the sunlight kitchen in the morning, and grilling our dinner in the evening. The kiva fireplace was a wonderful bonus!

The location is marvelous. Just a couple of easy blocks to the Plaza and all the shops. We walked everywhere from the house, even up Canyon Road to meander in and out of the art galleries located there.

Andy and Susan have done so much to make the stay as comfortable as possible. Their notebook of household information and their take on local attractions, including restaurants, nightclubs, and local hikes, was an invaluable resource.

You're going to love it there!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Henry Kilty

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

This property is definitely outstanding. The location is perfect for any and all activity in and around SanteFe.The home is within walking distance of the Plaza, and several outstanding resturants are also very close walking distance for the house. The interior of the home is fabulous. Everything is extremely clean and updated. We enjoyed this home like it was our own. We throughly enjoyed being located so close to the town plaza.There are so many things to do while you are in SanteFe and the surrounding area. We were very pleased that we rented this property. The owners are wonderful and very helpful about what to do and where to eat in SanteFe. We enjoy our time there very much.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

267211 Great House

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at this house. It is a darling and roomy house in a GREAT location! We were two couples and the house worked out great with the two full bathrooms. We made ourselves at home and enjoyed the recommendations for restaurants and other ideas for Santa Fe and surrounding areas left by the owners in a very organized book. Thank you! We would definitely go back again to this property and will tell our friends about it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Casita & Location

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

This charming casita is just around the block from the north end of the Railyard District and an easy walk to the Plaza, making it the perfect location! Very comfortable, large kitchen, sunny dining room, and wonderful kiva fireplace made it a very enjoyable stay. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Santa Fe Charm

Review submitted: February 16, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

Two couples had plenty of room in this home, and the Kiva fireplace kept us warm and cozy. Good central location was convenient to many downtown sites. Would recommend to friends and family.
Instructions and dining recommendations were excellent.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

home away from home

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

Beautiful, clean, comfortable home. Easy access to so much in Santa Fe. Owners were extremely helpful with information before arriving, willingness to make the stay perfect by providing information about activities, eateries, local events and places to visit. I definitely wold recommend this property to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice Condo!!

Review submitted: December 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 12, 2012

We really enjoyed our time at this Condo. It was within walking distance of the Plaza and many restaurants. It was perfect for two couples as we each had nice bedrooms and bathrooms. The kitchen and dining room were very nice and we spent a lot of time playing board games and reading. We would definitely stay in this Condo again. Nice, nice place!

Owners response: We're so glad that you loved our house. I just wanted to be sure to clarify to others, though, that ours is a free-standing house, not a condo. Thanks. Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation!

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

Stayed at this lovely, comfortable home on Agua Fria May 23-27. The photos and description truly described the house. Everything was spotless and well maintained. Susan was a pleasure to speak with when booking and provided comprehensive information covering everything we might need to know. We appreciated the suggestions for restaurants and things to do. The house is so conveniently located that we walked everywhere, and after a day exploring Santa Fe we were able to go back to the house for a rest before venturing out again for dinner. Four days were not enough for us, so we plan to go back again some time and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely home, easy walk to plaza, culture, art, and a variety of dining choices

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

We enjoyed an extra long weekend in mid May in this beautiful, clean, well-appointed adobe home. It was an amazing respite for us in every sense of the word. We spent our mornings relaxing on the patio under a lovely apricot tree, and evenings on the second patio taking in the twilight and stars.

Most amenities are within a short walk or short drive, if you have a car. Lots of dining choices available, both in terms of cuisine style and price range, and most are steps from the door or a short walk or drive. The information provided for guests is clear and useful, making it very easy for us to find our way around and make informed choices about what to do with our time. Better yet, the house was so comfortable and inviting, we had no trouble just hanging out, listening to music, reading, chatting, and enjoying the gorgeous Southwest skies. The house is roomy and well-stocked, with a nicely updated kitchen and second bath.

We flew into Albuquerque and rented a car to drive to Santa Fe, but since the rail station is an easy walk to the house, we will likely take the train up from Albuquerque the next time we visit. And there will be a next time for us – this is one of those places that can get under one’s skin and come to epitomize the Santa Fe experience. We highly recommend the 526 Agua Fria home to others seeking a charming getaway in a beautiful and historic city.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Santa Fe Vacation

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

We just returned from a week's vacation in Santa Fe at the Agua Fria property. We found the home to be exactly as depicted in both picture and verbiage. The home was immaculately maintained with a very lovely high-end kitchen which was important to us. The furnishings were very comfortable and the individually controlled room air conditioners kep the home very pleasant. The welcome packet received from the owners was without a doubt the most comprehensive and informative we have ever seen. We took advantage of that information by visiting manyof the restaurants, all of which exceeded expectations. We would highly recommend this property to anyone vacationing in Santa Fe.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming Santa Fe Home

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

My friend and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at this lovely Santa Fe home. Besides being a beautiful and cozy adobe home, we appreciated how clean, well-maintained, and spacious it was. All applicances were in working condition and the owner left detailed notes on how to operate all of them. We also greatly appreciated the owners well-organized listing of local restaurants and sightseeing suggestions. We tried a number of the restaurant recommendations and they were excellent. The location was an easy 10 minute walk to downtown Santa Fe as well as being just minutes from many additional shops and restaurants. The neighborhood was fun and the home included a private backyard for further relaxation. I would definately recommend this property to family or friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

This house is even better than advertised. We felt as though we lived in Santa Fe, with non of the home ownership hastles. Location is the best. Simply great place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding Vacation Home!

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

My family stayed in this house for a February ski vacation. This home-away-from home is so inviting, beautiful and comfortable. Loved the decor...especially the Santa Fe Artwork, and antiques... it was delightful. The remodeling of the house was truly grand. They did an excellent job! And my husband and I have remodeled 4 houses ourselves.

This house has everything (amenities) we could have asked for. We only wished we could have stayed longer... we all wanted to see and do more. I loved the book that the owner sent us with all the helpful hints.

Loved, loved, loved this home :)...Santa Fe... the town, the shopping, and the mountain :). The skiing at Santa Fe was terrific...I feel, even better than Colorado.

After we returned home, my youngest daughter had to write a paper about an event. She wrote about our "awesome" vacation to Santa Fe. We are looking forward to going back sometime :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful home and PERFECT location!

Review submitted: January 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 4, 2012

My husband and I along with our 2.5 year old daughter just visited beautiful Santa Fe in early January 2012 and had a wonderful time - thanks to this beautiful and well located vacation home that we rented for 4 nights! We were without a car, so we wanted something in walking distance to all the excitement of the plaza and the railyard and THIS was the place! We spent several nights using the kitchen because we love to cook and I was impressed with the amenities. We loved the kiva fireplace at night and sitting in the beautifully lit kitchen in the morning with a cup of coffee. There are lots of windows in this home (curtains and blinds to be drawn for privacy too, of course), offering plenty of soft, natural light in the mornings and early evenings. Just wish the weather was warmer so we could have sat out in the lovely courtyard. It felt like home and that's exactly how I want to feel when I'm on vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfection!

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

We rented this house for a girls' weekend getaway and it was perfect! Great amenities, cozy, homey feel, and great location! We walked to the plaza, were able to enjoy the fireplace, and used the kitchen and DVD and TV regularly throughout our stay. The instructions that were provided by Susan were perfect and we used her recommendations for dinner a couple of nights, as well. We had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend this house to friends and family if we weren't using it again ourselves!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this wonderfully appointed and clean home. A plus was the computer hookup. The location is perfect for walking to sights and restaurants. Santa Fe is a beautiful city to walk in. There is easy access to roads for sights outside of Santa Fe. For those we recommend Tent Rocks and Bandelier. Los Alamos has a good museum with hands-on exhibits for children and adults. For your stay in Santa Fe, we highly recommend this home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Santa Fe Heaven

Review submitted: October 30, 2011   Date of arrival: October 25, 2011

Hello Susan,
What a wonderful week in Santa Fe and your lovely home. Everything went very smoothly in the house thanks to your excellent renters' manual and the excellent condition of the house. We had no problems at all with the appliances and the house itself. Your home is serene, highly functional and has an excellent interior design as well as very tasteful and elegant objets d'art. We were very comfortable and always looked forward to our return after a full day of activities.
Santa Fe is an exciting and wonderful city. We hope to return next year. 5 days are not nearly enough to savour the many attractions of the city and the mountains. We hiked, visited Taos and Bandelier pueblos, saw the New York City Ballet, tasted the delicious cuisine of the Compound restaurant and others, visited museums and explored the Plaza and other areas of the city.
Could not have done much more and managed to do as much as we did thanks to the excellent location of your home.
We never managed to find the opportunity to enjoy the fireplace, nor did we use the BBQ- too many good restaurants!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great casita in Santa Fe

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

Four of us (two couples) stayed five nights. The layout of the house worked perfectly for us. Two large bedrooms w/ attached baths. We cooked several meals in the kitchen that was equipped with everything we needed. The backyard patios are perfect for dining, relaxing, entertaining. Nice gas grille, too. Good front porch, plenty of off-street parking. Very convenient location close to dining, shopping, galleries, etc. Walked to the farmer's market saturday morning for breakfast and shopping. Though close to the street, the house was very quiet at night. A/C worked perfectly during the warm afternoons. Ceiling fans made for comfortable sleeping. Good beds and linens. The whole house seemed to have been recently renovated, with fresh paint, nice wood floors, modern HVAC equipment, shining plumbing fixtures, big shower w/ glass enclosure. Very cozy place. Would not hesitate to return some day or to recommend it to a friend.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It couldn't have been nicer, more convenient and the location was excellent

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

My friends and I stayed 5 nights in this wonderful, totally comfortable, beautifully furnished home. Susan was extremely helpful in guiding us to places of interest and answering our questions. It was a short drive to Whole Foods and Trader Joe's and most important, easy walking distance to the Plaza and other Santa Fe locations, including many restaurants and shops. We walked all over the place! I would love to come back and stay here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: June 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

Stayed with an 18month old, convenient location, clean, quiet, comfortable, and overall perfect. The back patio under a shady tree was the perfect spot for my daughter to play with a bucket of water. A quick and easy walk to the Plaza and many restaurants and sights. We would highly recommend this rental to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

This was a perfect spot to enjoy our two week stay in Santa Fe. The house has everything you need and the owners really do a great job of giving careful instructions about everything. The location was just perfect. It was quiet and was close enough to "town" so that we often took a walk to the Plaza after eating at home, just to see what was happening. But, it was also just far enough away so that after a wonderful meal we had a long enough walk home to feel like we were digesting. The railway area was one I didn't know before, and I liked it. Lastly, I loved having the little desk to set up my computer and we looked up hikes to take, sights to see, and poured over maps. Restful and enjoyable vacation. Thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Santa Fe house!

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

We stayed in this wonderful house for eight days in April/May. It was just as described by the owners and as shown in the photos. We loved it - it is stylish and comfortable, and has everything we could have possibly needed [and more!]. It was a great temporary home, and also an excellent base for exploring Santa Fe and Taos, and the surrounding areas. [So much to experience!] The downtown location was perfect. The courtyard is a lovely space, and bigger than we imagined, and on sunny days we enjoyed sitting outside [with accompanying birdsong!]
The comprehensive information regarding the house was very helpful - thank you.
We hope to come again!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Santa Fe getaway

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

Lovely house well located for exploring central Santa Fe, very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The owners have truly thought of everything to make your stay easy and pleasant - from clear instructions about how to operate everything in the house to abundant, high quality linens and towels, to a flashlight to illuminate the cabinet where the iPod dock is so one can actually see the controls! Terrific kitchen and a lovely yard. Really appreciated the thoughtful recommendations for restaurants, bars, and activities.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great House! Location, location, location....

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

My girlfriend and I rented this home with another couple over the holidays and it was perfect! The house was very clean, comfortable and nicely updated. The house is laid out very nicely such that we didn't feel like we were on top of each other. The kitchen worked very well for breakfasts and snacks when we weren't in town gorging ourselves at all of the wonderful restaurants. The home is very conveniently located to the Plaza and other areas of interest...even in the driving snow that we had for a couple of days. All in all, this was a great house...perfect for what we wanted: nice, roomy, close, clean and comfortable! We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect getaway!

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2010

My family stayed at this lovely home at Thanksgiving. It was well appointed, nicely decorated and situated within easy walking distance to the plaza, making for good shopping and sight-seeing opportunites. The kitchen was wonderfully equipped even for making a holiday meal for a group. During warmer weather the yard would provide a peaceful escape. We had everything we needed and thoroughly enjoyed our time in this house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Better than we expected

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2010

Our month-long visit was better than we expected. The property was even more attractive than the photos portrayed it. The courtyard was a haven where we spent many quiet hours together and often alone as well. Grocery stores were within a very short drive - several of them. Everything else we needed was nearby - restaurants, shops, the Plaza. - all within easy walking distance. When even a small problem arose (the printer didn't print dark enough) the owner and the property manager were quick to respond. Towels, bedding, dishes, decorations, - everything was better than we expected - a delightful place to be and one I'm hoping to revisit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house, great location

Review submitted: June 20, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

We loved staying in this clean, well equipped and wonderfully sited home in Santa Fe. We walked easily all around town, to the Plaza and many restaurants. The garden is lovely. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful home in Santa Fe!

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: March 30, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Santa Fe. Your home is a perfect spot and a wonderful home away from home. Both my husband and I enjoy cooking and so we appreciated your well appointed kitchen and the outdoor gas grill. The outdoor patio would have been a nice place to eat or relax if the weather had been just a bit warmer (early April weather was pleasant, but not yet 70). Our daughter loved having On Demand TV -- something we don't have at home. The beds had very comfortable mattresses with nice bed linens. The house was very clean and well maintained. We also appreciated having Internet connection having a printer.

The location was a short walk to the plaza and also close to the Railyard District which is now home to the Santa Fe Farmer's Market, contempory art galleries, antique stores, restaurants, many small shops, as well as Borders Books and REI (our favorite outdoor gear store!).

We visited Bandelier National Monument (ancient Native American cliff dwellings), the Bradbury Science Museum in Los Alamos (well worth a visit from both a historical and scientific perspective!), Kashe Katuwe tent rocks (a great hike around the rocks), the Santa Fe Ski Area, the Georgia O'Keefe Museum, the Museum of Indian Arts & Culture, many churches, toured the city, and Taos.

Thank you for sharing your home with us. It has been one of our favorite vacations. There is so much to do in the city and within a one-day drive that we will have to come back again!

Thank you for sharing your home with us. It has been one of our favorite vacations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review